Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 22 Jul 2014, 05:39
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Carolina - 1.2
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 47 of 91 [1358 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, ..., 89, 90, 91 Next
Author Message
umair

Joined: 25 Dec 2010
Posts: 205
Location: KUST Kohat, Pakistan

PostPosted: Tue 30 Apr 2013, 03:23    Post subject: Re: Elroy
Subject description: SAMBA in Carolina
 

rg66 wrote:

Did you uninstall gvfs-smb by chance? This happened to me, when I uninstalled gvfs-smb it uninstalled some libs needed by gnutls. To fix this I reinstalled gnutls.

rg66:
gvfs-smb is installed. I checked from repos.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 492
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Tue 30 Apr 2013, 04:40    Post subject: Re: Elroy
Subject description: SAMBA in Carolina
 

Quote:
rg66:
gvfs-smb is installed. I checked from repos.


I got the exact same thing, network removed from file manager side pane and the same error message. Sounds like a network app was uninstalled and it removed some needed dependencies.

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.1
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
inoxidabile


Joined: 13 Sep 2008
Posts: 148

PostPosted: Tue 30 Apr 2013, 06:35    Post subject:  

Hi, I would say that it seems quite similar to a bug I've seen in xubuntu having Thunar.
Unfortunately, it is still present and at the time being there are only few workaround.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1320
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Fri 03 May 2013, 06:39    Post subject: Carolina - 0.0.7-rc  

Carolina - 0.0.7-rc
has been uploaded to the repo for testing, due to the changes that have been made there is no delta file.

Hopefully there shouldn't be to many bugs, though as it is built from 005 the hardware issues that some have had will still remain.

Download link see the first post.
carolina007.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   40.76 KB
 Viewed   734 Time(s)

carolina007.jpg


_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
einar

Joined: 12 Nov 2010
Posts: 161

PostPosted: Fri 03 May 2013, 07:42    Post subject: R7  

Thank you Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Minnesota

Joined: 11 Sep 2008
Posts: 312

PostPosted: Fri 03 May 2013, 09:40    Post subject: is new iso OK  

Is the new ISO OK?
I downloaded on my phone, it would not boot when cut to a CD. I tried twice burning using Nero. Tried booting on two different boxes.

I next downloaded from a different computer. Burned same problem.

I checked Msum appears correct. I burned with a slacko. Still will not boot.

Thanks for checking.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1320
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Fri 03 May 2013, 10:22    Post subject: Re: is new iso OK  

Minnesota wrote:
Is the new ISO OK?
I downloaded on my phone, it would not boot when cut to a CD. I tried twice burning using Nero. Tried booting on two different boxes.

I next downloaded from a different computer. Burned same problem.

I checked Msum appears correct. I burned with a slacko. Still will not boot.

Thanks for checking.


Sorry about that the ISO was missing it's boot record, uploading a new one.

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Minnesota

Joined: 11 Sep 2008
Posts: 312

PostPosted: Fri 03 May 2013, 11:43    Post subject: is new iso OK  

Geoffrey wrote:


Sorry about that the ISO was missing it's boot record, uploading a new one.


No problem glad we found it....

It is snowing again! Yes literally. OH well.

LIFE Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Minnesota

Joined: 11 Sep 2008
Posts: 312

PostPosted: Fri 03 May 2013, 17:07    Post subject: still no goq  

Downloaded twice, again on phone and desktop...

Getting image checksum error when isolinux runs.

Sad((((

At least mist rain, snow stopped Smile. 35 degrees.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
yr1945

Joined: 17 Apr 2010
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Fri 03 May 2013, 17:35    Post subject:  

same problem here with burning iso to cd... however, frugal install works quite well...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Geoffrey


Joined: 30 May 2010
Posts: 1320
Location: Queensland Australia ɹǝpu∩uʍop

PostPosted: Fri 03 May 2013, 18:58    Post subject:  

Sorry guy's I've removed it, I'll fix it as soon as possible, I don't know what happened. Embarassed

I've uploaded a new one, this definitely works, I've tested it several times after burning it to cd.

_________________
Carolina: Recent Repository Additions
Create strikethrough text HERE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3205
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 04 May 2013, 12:43    Post subject:  

to Geoffrey: I've noticed that you've included Isomaster.

It small in size but you could, if you want ,avoid using it
by using a right-click menu item. I do this in my right click pet package.

Right click on a folder to make an ISO

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=701802#701802

______________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Minnesota

Joined: 11 Sep 2008
Posts: 312

PostPosted: Sat 04 May 2013, 13:25    Post subject: Thanks  

Geoffrey :
Thanks for efforts. Downloaded this morning, cut, and booted fine.

Smile>
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 330
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Sun 05 May 2013, 19:08    Post subject: Wireless changes since 0.0.6?  

Posting from 007 using my shared Opera. Frugal Grub4Dos installation boots fine with or without adrive on the fujitsu s6520 core2duo laptop, intel gma4500, intel iwlwifi wireless. Resolution, sound fine, ondemand governor default working correctly, synaptics touchpad pretty well set up ootb. Wireless connects with a couple of glitches/changes. Frisbee no longer seems to accept a WEP key, either hex or ascii. Network wizard connects as usual. Try installing a default firewall. For me, even though the install script shows the same version as 006, installations get stuck requiring a full port by port description. Just a quick first look, I'll fiddle more later.
_________________
tweaked 412 based boxpup, well honed 'lina-lite-005, alphaOS 321 Wink , X-slacko 2.1, Lxpup 14.07, and not to forget trusty Carolina/Carolite (now with 3.15 kernel). All lean and steady pups.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dromeno

Joined: 12 Sep 2008
Posts: 534

PostPosted: Mon 06 May 2013, 03:53    Post subject: Icewm XFCE conflict in Carolina?  

I like to have a Saluki/Carolina with Icewm instead of xfce. But after installing and activating Icewm, Saluki/Carolina still boots in xfce. Icewm starts on top of it.

No problem with that (in fact it is a good thing, now I have a system which has the beauty of xfce AND it understands my key combinations which I defined for icewm) but...

the icons for volume, battery, frisbee, network configuration and firewall are on the xfce taskbar, not on the icewm taskbar. Worse, immediately after booting (or ctrl-alt-backspace) the xfce taskbar appears, then disappears completely.

So I guess my first question is: how do I instruct puppy to put the icons for volume, battery, frisbee, network configuration and firewall on the icewm taskbar?

second question: how do I keep the xfce taskbar from disappearing?

third: how do I switch xfce off and icewm on in Saluki/Carolina?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 47 of 91 [1358 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 45, 46, 47, 48, 49, ..., 89, 90, 91 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1151s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0356s) ][ GZIP on ]