Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Apr 2014, 03:20
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Slacko 5.5 feedback and bug reports
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 9 of 12 [175 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 Next
Author Message
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 854

PostPosted: Wed 08 May 2013, 14:14    Post subject:  

duck@japan wrote:
I think it would be some fault in the time zone setting list of "Asia/Tokyo."

I think you may be right.

What output do you get for:
Code:
ls -l /usr/share/zoneinfo/Asia/Tokyo
ls -l /initrd/pup_ro2/usr/share/zoneinfo/Asia/Tokyo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
duck@japan

Joined: 08 May 2013
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Wed 08 May 2013, 22:50    Post subject: Time zone trouble  

npierce,

Thank you for your effort. These are the spells I got from the terminal. "月" means month.
Code:
ls -l /usr/share/zoneinfo/Asia/Tokyo
-rw-r--r-- 2 root root 255  5月  4 19:05 /usr/share/zoneinfo/Asia/Tokyo

ls -l /initrd/pup_ro2/usr/share/zoneinfo/Asia/Tokyo
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 331  9月 18  2012 /initrd/pup_ro2/usr/share/zoneinfo/Asia/Tokyo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 854

PostPosted: Thu 09 May 2013, 00:41    Post subject:  

Hi duck,

It looks like your /usr/share/zoneinfo/Asia/Tokyo file was overwritten on May 4. Your /initrd/pup_ro2/usr/share/zoneinfo/Asia/Tokyo file is the original that came with your Puppy, and looks like the same one I have.

This (one-line) command will replace your /usr/share/zoneinfo/Asia/Tokyo file with the original:
Code:
cp -p /initrd/pup_ro2/usr/share/zoneinfo/Asia/Tokyo /usr/share/zoneinfo/Asia/

If you are curious about what might be in the bad file, make a copy of it before copying.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
duck@japan

Joined: 08 May 2013
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Thu 09 May 2013, 06:07    Post subject: Time Zone Trouble  

npierce,

Thank you very much! It was fixed!

I don't know what I had done in May 4, 2013.
As for the Tokyo file. I saved it but I cannot read that and this forum denies uploading of it.

Anyway, I'm happy now. Thank you, again!
slacko-utc-settings-3.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   48.59 KB
 Viewed   866 Time(s)

slacko-utc-settings-3.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 854

PostPosted: Thu 09 May 2013, 10:52    Post subject: Re: Time Zone Trouble  

duck,

You're very welcome.

Sometimes a package contains files that it shouldn't, and so installing it causes problems. Maybe that's what happened. Maybe not.

Anyway, I am also happy that it is fixed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pelo


Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 2291
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Sat 11 May 2013, 00:31    Post subject: recording : no sound
Subject description: Capture Level is set ok
 

First time that Slacko does that, previous versions nothing bad. I cannot record sound. youtube gets the music well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
Pelo


Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 2291
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Sat 11 May 2013, 00:53    Post subject: No recording : Use retrovol, not alsamixer !
Subject description: Retrovol not in the menu
 

repaired with retrovol. I added a crucifix to the capture bar . Alsamixer was ineffectual
Last edited by Pelo on Fri 17 May 2013, 21:23; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 882

PostPosted: Thu 16 May 2013, 05:24    Post subject:  Corrupted kernel sources?
Subject description: Bug report.
 

Hi Mick et all

I think there's something wrong with kernel sources...

While copying contents of kernel_sources-3.4.17-slacko_PAE.sfs to another location I noticed a bunch of input/output errors (160).
Same happend with kernel_sources-3.2.33-slacko.sfs (76).

I thought my HDD could have been corrupted, so I re-downloaded 3.4.17 sources (from NLUUG and Ibiblio), but directly into RAM (PUPMODE=13).
No difference, though - the very same files are affected.

For comparison, I checked kernel_src-3.2.29-patched.sfs (the one from Precise-5.5) and all's ok there.

Using this one-liner I made lists of those broken files:
Code:
find . | while read FILE; do file "$FILE" >/dev/null; [ $? = 1 ] && file "$FILE" >> /root/log; done

If anyone would like to confim the issue, just mount (NOT load/install) appropriate .sfs, open terminal window inside its mount point and run the above line.
Results in /root/log.

Or, for quick insight, try to examine one of these files:
- k3.2.33:
./usr/src/linux/arch/ia64/include/asm/xen/hypercall.h
- k.3.4.17:
./usr/src/linux/drivers/video/i810/i810-i2c.c

Lists attached.

Greetings!
report.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  report.tar.gz 
Filesize  2.46 KB 
Downloaded  93 Time(s) 

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 16 May 2013, 05:59    Post subject:  

SFR,

No problem here.

BUT, I am using my local pristine version from when I first compiled the kernel.
Code:
# cp -a * /mnt/sda6/kernels/3.4.17/dist/sources/NewDir/
# cd /mnt/sda6/kernels/3.4.17/dist/sources/
# ls
build.log.bz2            kernel_sources-3.4.17-slacko_PAE.sfs  patches
DOTconfig-3.4.17-021112  NewDir                                vanilla
# md5sum kernel_sources-3.4.17-slacko_PAE.sfs
a857bd55c0c3378adf745ae3bb690624  kernel_sources-3.4.17-slacko_PAE.sfs
# cd NewDir
# cat ./usr/src/linux/drivers/video/i810/i810-i2c.c | more
 /*-*- linux-c -*-
 *  linux/drivers/video/i810-i2c.c -- Intel 810/815 I2C support
 *
 *      Copyright (C) 2004 Antonino Daplas<adaplas@pol.net>
 *      All Rights Reserved
 *
 *  This file is subject to the terms and conditions of the GNU General Public
 *  License. See the file COPYING in the main directory of this archive for
 *  more details.
 */
#include <linux/module.h>
#include <linux/kernel.h>
#include <linux/delay.h>
#include <linux/gfp.h>
#include <linux/pci.h>
#include <linux/fb.h>
#include "i810.h"
#include "i810_regs.h"
#include "i810_main.h"
#include "../edid.h"

/* bit locations in the registers */
#define SCL_DIR_MASK            0x0001
#define SCL_DIR                 0x0002
--More--



Can you check the md5 please? (in code block above) I may have to re-upload.

Cheers

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 882

PostPosted: Thu 16 May 2013, 06:08    Post subject:  

Yep, they differ:
Code:
# md5sum kernel_sources-3.4.17-slacko_PAE.sfs
2439fcef6ad00c2b0ec9a37c5d341487  kernel_sources-3.4.17-slacko_PAE.sfs

And 3.2.33:
Code:
# md5sum kernel_sources-3.2.33-slacko_4g.sfs
c11cc3f67571f7cdd352da5d9be73ce1  kernel_sources-3.2.33-slacko_4g.sfs

Thanks for checking &
Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Thu 16 May 2013, 06:11    Post subject:  

Ok thanks, I'm just downloading from Internode now and will check. If bad I'll upload. Should take about an hour, maybe more. (Have I ever complained about my sh*t bandwidth before? Laughing )

EDIT: actually, these were uploaded when I released 5.4, remember the dramas I had trying to upload? Rolling Eyes Actually, it was a week or so before release and I didn't have dramas, but the corruption problems on Ibiblio have been ongoing for way too long!

BTW, I got the same bad md5 as you Evil or Very Mad . Oh well, I'll re-upload.

______________________________________________________________

Re-upload will take 1.5 hours ( Rolling Eyes and yes, urban Australia). Md5's are with the sources.

Amazed that this wasn't discovered sooner, but I did notice tempestuous failed to compile some intel sources for powerVR (cedarview family). This is probably the reason. I'll mail him and let him know. Still, some things actually worked, I know Billtoo compiled radeon and nVidia drivers. If it only affected ~160 files, and they weren't core files then I can see why it wasn't discovered.

______________________________________________________________

Later...

Ok upload (and download check of PAE version only, we'll assume that the 4g uploaded successfully, appeared to) is complete.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 882

PostPosted: Thu 16 May 2013, 10:02    Post subject:  

Ok, I got them, both are fine now - thanks a lot! Very Happy

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4767
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sun 19 May 2013, 12:08    Post subject:  

No issues upgrading FULL 5.4 to FULL 5.5. Thanks, mick!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
kooliepup


Joined: 13 Jan 2012
Posts: 302
Location: Victoria, Australia

PostPosted: Sun 19 May 2013, 19:31    Post subject:  

Quote:
Ok thanks, I'm just downloading from Internode now and will check. If bad I'll upload. Should take about an hour, maybe more. (Have I ever complained about my sh*t bandwidth before? Laughing )


@01micko,
I am out in the sticks, and have been happily using Internode Mobile Broadband for 2 years.
Vastly better than Optus which I used previously, even 'tho the last mile is delivered by Optus, who, like Telstra, won't keep their equipment up with demand.

_________________
There's no place like 127.0.0.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
DaveS


Joined: 09 Oct 2008
Posts: 3726
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 27 May 2013, 16:46    Post subject:  

Installed on one of those dinky little Acer V5s, the 11.3 inch screen model. Bucket loads of ram and HD. Looks and runs beautifully but I had a tough time with the touchpad. Seems it is something called a clickpad. Actually more like a Mac track pad. Never did get right click to work. As a workaround I set a two finger tap to emulate a right click event. Kind of ironic Wink
_________________
Spup Frugal HD and USB
Root forever!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 9 of 12 [175 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0924s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0082s) ][ GZIP on ]