Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 21 Dec 2014, 23:36
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Puppy Phone - VOIP using SIP
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 36 of 38 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 34, 35, 36, 37, 38 Next
Author Message
russoodle


Joined: 12 Sep 2008
Posts: 667
Location: Down-Under in South Oz

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jun 2012, 09:01    Post_subject:  

smokey01 wrote:
With the help of OscarTalks we have managed to get Psip working without having to register with a SIP provider such as Iptel. Psip actually works quite well in peer to peer mode so you don't really need to connect via a SIP provider. The main problem though is dynamic IP addresses which most people have.

OscarTalks has suggested a solution which works very well. The answer is no-ip.

Check out this web site: http://support.no-ip.com/customer/portal/articles/374286

No matter what you IP address is the no-ip site will be able to resolve your address.

+1 Very Happy

_________________
This aging business really bugs me - it didn't bother me years ago, so why is it happening now??
meownplanet - puppylinuxstuff
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin


Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4507
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jun 2012, 14:45    Post_subject: Seems to be the same as DynDNS  

smokey01 wrote:
With the help of OscarTalks we have managed to get Psip working without having to register with a SIP provider such as Iptel. Psip actually works quite well in peer to peer mode so you don't really need to connect via a SIP provider. The main problem though is dynamic IP addresses which most people have.

OscarTalks has suggested a solution which works very well. The answer is no-ip.

Check out this web site: http://support.no-ip.com/customer/portal/articles/374286

No matter what you IP address is the no-ip site will be able to resolve your address.
One of the oldest and most reliable of these types of providers is DynDNS.

I have been a user for more than 12 years without ANY issues. I have installed this solution in more than 100 accounts. Its free, friendly, always up, has a 5-star reputation and, most of all, instantly reliable.

PSIP Users can and do connect to you using the URL you pick when you sign-up to DynDNS. The ONLY thing required after you sign up is to insure that your router passes the port number for PSIP to your PC. Its that simple.

Hope this experience helps others.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
technosaurus


Joined: 18 May 2008
Posts: 4425

PostPosted: Sat 02 Jun 2012, 16:06    Post_subject: Re: Seems to be the same as DynDNS  

gcmartin wrote:
One of the oldest and most reliable of these types of providers is DynDNS.

I have been a user for more than 12 years without ANY issues.

Lucky for you, new users may not have the same luck:
http://tech.slashdot.org/story/11/12/17/0141213/dyndns-cuts-back-free-dns-options
Quote:
According to the linked page, the free service is being drastically cut back for new users (one free hostname, rather than five, and from a shorter list of branded domains), but not ended entirely. Existing users, it says, will see no changes "as long as you keep your hostnames active and up-to-date. If you allow your account or hostnames to expire, you will have to select from the new domains instead and will be limited to the one free hostname."
so best to have a couple options
_________________
Web Programming - Pet Packaging 100 & 101
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
dogle

Joined: 11 Oct 2007
Posts: 360

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jun 2012, 09:30    Post_subject:  

Back in February, OscarTalks reported:
Quote:
For dynamic IP address problems I have used no-ip.com but you need to have the "Dynamic Update Client" running to maintain the connection from your name domain to the dynamic IP and I don't know how to install that in Puppy.

Is there now a fix/workaround for this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 939
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Sun 03 Jun 2012, 11:34    Post_subject:  

In fact there is a Linux version of the Dynamic Update Client available at the http://no-ip.com site which is very easy to install. I am still a relative newcomer to Puppy.

Incidentally if folks wish to test their PSIP Puppy Phone with a live human being rather than an echo test they can give me a call via the Iptel account when it is on-line. Sharing experiences and observations may help the further development of PSIP.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3556
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jun 2012, 06:30    Post_subject:  

Unable to get my sound working on my new PC.
See details of mobo and sound here.
I'm looking for a PDF manual for the mobo.

There are 3 sockets on the back:
Pink=mic? | green=line out? | blue=line-in?
Mic connected to pink.
Amplified spkrs connected to green, with headphones connected to the headphone socket on the front of the powered spkrs.
Speakers given power, and switched on.

Missed the opportunity to test in 1st run of Psip-1.2.

OK...
Just now managed to use the "Media Test" files stored on my Flash Drive.
Played the "wheelie.mov" file, and the sound was OK. Very Happy

So how do I test it and set it up in Psip-1.2?
Should be easy, right?! Confused

Now managed to play music in Psip.
Tried the echo, but heard nothing, even with mic switched on and plugged in.
Retrovol has mic [and "Front mic" (its mobo header not connected to any socket)] boxes ticked and volumes up.
I have SVR installed, but heard nothing when I tried to record and playback [don't know what I'm doing].
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1497
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jun 2012, 06:58    Post_subject:  

Hello Sylvander

Sylvander wrote:
Unable to get my sound working on my new PC.
See details of mobo and sound here.
I'm looking for a PDF manual for the mobo.


I wonder if this link is any good to you

CatDude
.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3556
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jun 2012, 08:14    Post_subject:  

Thank you. Very Happy

Got it. Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7100
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Mon 25 Jun 2012, 18:51    Post_subject:  

Guys, a note, we will be needing the executable binary used in Psip compiled for ARM (armv6) architecture.
_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2232
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Tue 26 Jun 2012, 06:20    Post_subject:  

Barry,

Attached is Puppy Phone (PSIP) compiled in sap6 Cool
- pjproject 1.14 (I thought this was the latest, but then I checked it after compilation I saw they have released 1.14.2 ... anyway I'm not going to recompile unless people have problems with it - pjproject compilation took hours!)
- osxcart 1.1 (latest)
- psip proper from fossil trunk (latest - I haven't updated anything since last november)

This is a straight-compile, I haven't optimised anything (or enable optimisation flags etc).
psip.tar.bz2
Description  psip for arm compiled in sap6
bz2

 Download 
Filename  psip.tar.bz2 
Filesize  684.3 KB 
Downloaded  542 Time(s) 

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13.
Contributed Fatdog64 packages thread
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7100
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 27 Jun 2012, 05:11    Post_subject:  

jamesbond wrote:
Barry,

Attached is Puppy Phone (PSIP) compiled in sap6 Cool
- pjproject 1.14 (I thought this was the latest, but then I checked it after compilation I saw they have released 1.14.2 ... anyway I'm not going to recompile unless people have problems with it - pjproject compilation took hours!)
- osxcart 1.1 (latest)
- psip proper from fossil trunk (latest - I haven't updated anything since last november)

This is a straight-compile, I haven't optimised anything (or enable optimisation flags etc).


Thanks for that! I'll put together a "puppy phone" psip pet and include it in the next sap6, for further testing.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
eowens2

Joined: 27 Aug 2008
Posts: 116

PostPosted: Sun 23 Dec 2012, 19:48    Post_subject:  

I have been trying to get PSIP 1.3 up and running in Precise Puppy 5.4.1.1 on an Asus EEEPC. My main goal is to call landlines and cellphones.

My sip provider is diamondcard.us (www.diamondcard.us). I think all of my PSIP setup is correct. I can connect to landlines and my own cellphone but I invariably get an audio disconnect (and the call disappears from the active-call list) after about 10 seconds.

I have set my console log level to 6, but the activity log and dmesg do not seem to have any useful information.

I have been using Twinkle/diamondcard.us as a softphone/sip provider under Precise Puppy 5.4.1.1 with no problems, but I would prefer to use the Puppy softphone.

Anyone know what causes the disconnects and how to eliminate them?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 939
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Sun 23 Dec 2012, 20:49    Post_subject:  

A long time ago I had a problem of calls disconnecting after a fixed period of 30 seconds and disabling SIP ALG in my router cured it (if I recall correctly).

Doing that stopped the disconnects, but did introduce a problem of connection established but no audio (sometimes one way - sometimes both ways) which in turn I resolved by making sure to always set a STUN server.

I have since changed my ISP and router so can't reproduce the problem now. These SIP softphones can be a bit temperamental and there are lots of variables which is why I like to have 2 available. Puppy Phone usually works well and gives great audio. I have Linphone as my alternative.

Is Twinkle still being developed? I didn't think so. I recall trying it once in one of my Puppies and it didn't perform very well.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
eowens2

Joined: 27 Aug 2008
Posts: 116

PostPosted: Mon 24 Dec 2012, 14:23    Post_subject:  

Thanks for your response, OscarTalks. I know zippo about how routers work, but I did manage to get inside mine and check all of its settings. However I could find no "SIP ALG" to enable/disable, and saw nothing about a STUN server. Just my inexperience as to where to look I guess.

Skype, Ekiga and Twinkle work with my router and its settings without disconnecting the call, which to my way of thinking, makes me doubt that router settings are the real issue when PSIP disconnects.

I want to use PSIP as a VOIP when travelling out-of-country, where international roaming charges on a cell phone would be prohibitive. Surely all of the wi-fi hotspots, airports, hotels and internet cafes in the world must adhere to the same protocols, or VOIP would be a nightmare!

I think you are right. Twinkle may no longer be actively developed. Maybe I should give Linphone a try.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
n0ukf


Joined: 14 Feb 2012
Posts: 129

PostPosted: Fri 17 May 2013, 11:59    Post_subject: Re: Can you use MagicJack adapter with Puppy Phone  

LoboGrande wrote:
I've been wanting to use MagicJack with Puppy. Anybody done this before?

Has there been any resolution to this question?

_________________
"Cogito, ergo es. I think, therefore you is." Ray D. Tutto (King of the Moon) to Baron Munschaussen
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 36 of 38 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 34, 35, 36, 37, 38 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Cutting edge
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1116s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0167s) ][ GZIP on ]