Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 23 Sep 2014, 10:30
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
3 TB (GPT), HD problem, impossible to identify a partition
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [18 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
souliaq

Joined: 01 May 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed 01 May 2013, 13:12    Post subject:  3 TB (GPT), HD problem, impossible to identify a partition
Subject description: Universal installer shows all partitions as sdaGUID wiht some "unknown" GUID
 

I'm using Slacko 5.5 PAE, the problem is that "puppy universal installer" don't allow me to identify the installation partition correctly. Its shows "unknown" GUIDs as you can see in "puppyproblem.png" and the same name sdaGUID for all partitions is not useful. So I assumed that the same order of partitions (sda1,sda2,sda3 and sda4) are the same order showed in universal installer. WRONG!, I wipe out another linux installation instead (no important data lost). I need some help with this, thanks.
puppyproblem.png
Description  Gparted, Universal Installer and blkid ouput
png

 Download 
Filename  puppyproblem.png 
Filesize  126.39 KB 
Downloaded  311 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ally


Joined: 19 May 2012
Posts: 848
Location: lincoln

PostPosted: Wed 01 May 2013, 13:34    Post subject:  

just an idea until the clever peeps come along but can a 32bit system address 3TB?

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Wed 01 May 2013, 16:45    Post subject:  

Seems that the probedisk and disktype commands are giving wrong output .
Could you post their's output, please ?
Code:

probedisk
probedisk2
disktype /dev/sda
disktype /dev/sda1
disktype /dev/sda2

What i know is that probepart uses blkid output today to support other file systems on cd than iso9660 , which might have been wrongly cut . That output is necessary, too .
Code:
probepart
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Wed 01 May 2013, 17:16    Post subject:  

probepart has a bug i think in this line :
Code:
FSTYPE="$(blkid -c /dev/$DEVICE | grep "$DEVICE"| awk '{print $NF}' |cut -f2 -d\")"

should be
Code:
FSTYPE=$(blkid -c /dev/null /dev/$DEVICE | grep -w "$DEVICE" | grep -o ' TYPE=".*" | cut -f2 -d'"')

example output of mine :
Code:
/dev/sdb1: UUID="5a126d47-065d-4eb6-baf9-dd7701bfe71a" TYPE="ext4" LABEL="boot"

Wink
Since Mr Kauler is mostly at home, I think he will detect it self earlier or later .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3972
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Wed 01 May 2013, 17:32    Post subject:  

The size comes usually from
Code:
cat /sys/block/sda1/size

If that file contains more than one line, probably with extra non-numericals, it will screw things .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
souliaq

Joined: 01 May 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun 05 May 2013, 11:16    Post subject:  Output of commands
Subject description: Output of commands
 

Hi! I executed the commands, the ouput is in the attached file. Also I made a mistake, PuppyLinux don't ruined a Linux installation, just the GRUB. In fact, when the universal installer finished the copy, the files aren't copied and no error is thrown.
output.tar.gz
Description  Plain text file with output of commands
gz

 Download 
Filename  output.tar.gz 
Filesize  1.19 KB 
Downloaded  246 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Wed 22 May 2013, 09:20    Post subject:  

souliaq,

Thanks for posting the output from the requested commands. They helped to identify the problem. Sorry that it's taken a while to get back to you.

puppyinstaller wasn't quite ready for the "Partition Name . . ." and "Partition GUID . . ." lines that disktype prints out when it encounters a GPT partition map.

The following small change should allow puppyinstaller to correctly identify your partitions.

Please make a backup of /usr/sbin/puppyinstaller, then open the original in a text editor.

Line 475 will currently look like this.
Code:
  xPARTNUM="`echo "$ONELINE" | grep '^Partition ' | tr -s " " | cut -f 1 -d ':' | cut -f 2 -d " "`"

Make two changes to that line:
1. Add a space and -E just after grep.
2. Change '^Partition ' to '^Partition ..?:'

The line should then look like this:
Code:
  xPARTNUM="`echo "$ONELINE" | grep -E '^Partition ..?:' | tr -s " " | cut -f 1 -d ':' | cut -f 2 -d " "`"

(If you are not comfortable with editing your file, let me know and I'll post a version with the fix included.)

I have done some preliminary testing using your output from "disktype /dev/sda", but don't have a GPT drive, so can't test it thoroughly. So please let us know if this solves the problem for you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4277
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 22 May 2013, 12:53    Post subject:  

I am really late and looking at the OPENING POST'S picture.

I had a concern on drive's configuration but not anymore. I have better understanding on GPT in EFI Motherboards.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile

Last edited by gcmartin on Thu 23 May 2013, 02:39; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9126
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 22 May 2013, 12:58    Post subject:  

gcmartin wrote:
Unless I'm mistaken, I don't remember disk architecture expanding for system software to consistently and correctly address HDD which violate the original standard

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GUID_Partition_Table
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4277
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 22 May 2013, 13:09    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
gcmartin wrote:
Unless I'm mistaken, I don't remember disk architecture expanding for system software to consistently and correctly address HDD which violate the original standard

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GUID_Partition_Table
Thanks. Yes, I know this. But, the point I'm sharing is that there is still a bit of confusion in best practices, while most all continue to respect the partitioning that is still afforded in OSes and tools today.

But, I will step back and observe.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Q5sys


Joined: 11 Dec 2008
Posts: 1050

PostPosted: Wed 22 May 2013, 22:05    Post subject:  

gcmartin wrote:
rcrsn51 wrote:
gcmartin wrote:
Unless I'm mistaken, I don't remember disk architecture expanding for system software to consistently and correctly address HDD which violate the original standard

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GUID_Partition_Table
Thanks. Yes, I know this. But, the point I'm sharing is that there is still a bit of confusion in best practices, while most all continue to respect the partitioning that is still afforded in OSes and tools today.

But, I will step back and observe.


RIght now I think the upper limit on partitions on a GPT drive is 128. Five will not be a problem at all. Also GPT usually implements multiple partition tables, so even if one becomes corrupt the drive will continue to operate without any problem.

Any confusion someone may have regarding this information would be due to their lack of knowledge about GPT and any assumptions they incorrectly mke based on Legacy MBR based disks.
Its always best to research new technologies before assuming how they work and operate.

_________________



My PC is for sale
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4277
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 23 May 2013, 02:37    Post subject:  

Prior information shared in my post is "old school". GPT disk have removed the need for EXTENDED partitioning.

I believe there is a better position of the OS, and the supporting utilities, today, than before. This is due to current reports I found today.

Old school (MBR-LBA) is out, "GPT drives and EFI understanding is in."

Old post, by me, is removed to not distract.

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
souliaq

Joined: 01 May 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat 25 May 2013, 00:04    Post subject:  GPT Problem SOLVED
Subject description: Applying suggestions of modifying installer script, works!
 

The suggestion of npierce works. Thanks. I face another little problem (not big enough to open a new discussion) with Slacko 5.5, the command "poweroff" executed from "urxvt" freezes the machine. Happened in my PC, some netbooks and one Old Amd machine.
PuppyGPT.pdf.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  PuppyGPT.pdf.gz 
Filesize  105.56 KB 
Downloaded  96 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9126
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 25 May 2013, 07:00    Post subject: Re: GPT Problem SOLVED
Subject description: Applying suggestions of modifying installer script, works!
 

souliaq wrote:
with Slacko 5.5, the command "poweroff" executed from "urxvt" freezes the machine.

Try "wmpoweroff".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Sat 25 May 2013, 17:40    Post subject:  

souliaq,

You're welcome.

It is good news that the suggestion worked for you. Thanks for the feedback, and for the screenshots of the working installer.

I see that rcrsn51 has already answered your new question.

Welcome to the forum!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [18 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0936s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0047s) ][ GZIP on ]