Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 19 Apr 2014, 13:18
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise Puppy 5.6.1-final, May 29, 2013
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 8 of 19 [274 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 17, 18, 19 Next
Author Message
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 24 May 2013, 08:05    Post subject: Re: Precise Puppy 5.6-final, May 21, 2013  

Billtoo wrote:
Installed lots of applications with ppm.
Precise 5.6 is working well, no problems.


I installed Scribus yesterday, which is a Qt4 desktop publishing application. It is so nice as Qt-based apps now come up with the same theme as GTK apps, makes them look so much better.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 24 May 2013, 08:14    Post subject:  

peebee wrote:
In parallel with BK's changes for nvidia described here, Shinobar has released getnvidia 0.9.2 which creates an sfs which loads successfully onto the current Precise 5.6 and after a reboot the nvidia driver is being used and also is displayed as an option by xorgwizard.

Hopefully the changes made by BK and Shinobar will prove to be complementary....

Cheers
peebee


Probably there is no clash.

But, not having looked at what shinobar has done, I cannot be certain.

The latest xorgwizard will work with the official NVIDIA installer, regardless of whether the installation chooses to blacklist the 'nouveau' kernel module or not.
Also, the wizard will now work with NVIDIA PETs that don't do anything to blacklist the nouveau module.

...the above is referring to the very latest xorgwizard-cli script that I have posted about above.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
PaulR

Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 241
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri 24 May 2013, 08:44    Post subject:  

Further to my earlier post I've put 5.6 on a CD instead of a USB stick but the problem remains (although I can now opt to save to the HD):

Everything works fine but it hangs after X has closed and the saving message is on screen. I've rebooted and tried it with acpi off but no joy. A save file is created but it obviously doesn't get finished properly.

This is on a non-PAE Thinkpad T42 that runs all other versions of Puppy that I've tried to date, right up to the latest Slacko.

Paul
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lvds


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 315
Location: Near the window

PostPosted: Fri 24 May 2013, 09:58    Post subject:  

BarryK wrote:
lvds wrote:
Hi Barry,

I've tested the new xorg crash recovery mechanism (as explained here)

Quote:
The Woof-level notes above state that this pup has a new Xorg Video Wizard and a "recovery mechanism". if you bootup and do not get a graphical desktop, and the keyboard/mouse have hung, which can happen with some troublesome old video hardware, press the 'reset' button on the PC or hold down the 'power' button for 4 seconds to force a shutdown -- at next startup the "recovery mechanism" kicks in, forcing the Xorg Video Wizard to run. Then, you can try an alternate Xorg driver.
As this is a new feature, I welcome feedback, especially tweaks for the /usr/sbin/xorgwizard-cli script, if you know Bash coding!


...tested on my Asus 1225c which is equiped with Atom cedar trails. And it does not work for me. At first pass: black screen. Reboot. Second pass: black screen.

So far, the only puppies that could boot were Racy v5.5 and upup-precise 3.8.3. These two boots into 1024x768. Then when running xorg video wizard manually and ask for a probe, will allow the 1366x768 ; Important to note: the screen in text mode to chose between probe, test... is too big and goes out of the screen ! So you need to type in blind (enter the first time, because hopefully this is the default, then enter again when the screen resolution is selected) because you don't see the buttons. It seems the issue is common and most people when having video problems get down to 1024x768 so maybe it would be good to adapt the message for that size so anyone can see the buttons to press.

Best regards
Laurent


Does the black screen occur after the boot-up? That is, do you get all the startup messages, then finally it starts up Xorg and the graphical desktop -- but not in your case, but if you do get the messages right up to that point, then it does mean that Xorg is trying to start.

If you get the black screen earlier, then it would seem that you have an incompatibility with the Linux kernel.


Yes, I get the black screen AFTER the boot-up.

_________________
This is China today
Asus 1225C eeePC Atom Cedar Trail 2G Ram - DELL Optiplex 780 core2 duo 4G Ram, Intel4 chipset Video, ICH10 chipset Audio, Intel 82567LM-3 Network
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dennis-slacko531


Joined: 18 Jan 2012
Posts: 103
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Fri 24 May 2013, 10:31    Post subject: I'm mirroring Precise too...  

If anyone wants to get the ISO from my Godaddy server, it's pretty fast.

http://www.beok.com/lnux

NICE JOB BARRY -- thanks man
devx_precise_5.6.sfs also ready

fyi, LNUX.COM also has the download & video!

Last edited by dennis-slacko531 on Fri 24 May 2013, 22:23; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
artsown

Joined: 12 Sep 2012
Posts: 147

PostPosted: Fri 24 May 2013, 15:55    Post subject:  

Barry, perhaps you have ideas about a problem I've experienced on one
of my computers .... a old Dell Dimension 8200 having a P4 2 ghz cpu and
768 meg RAM. This PC runs earlier pups and Windows XP ok. With later pups
such as your Precise, the machine hangs during the initial startup.
The last screen message is: Recognising media devices... optical input_

I found that pfix=nox on the kernel line gives me a workaround. I can
then run xorgwizard and get a GUI. After creating a Save file, I delete
pfix=nox and the pup then starts up straight to the GUI thereafter (frugal
install).

Art
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
algol68

Joined: 25 May 2013
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sat 25 May 2013, 11:37    Post subject: Precise Puppy 5.6 Won't Boot in a VirtualBox (Win7 64 Bit)
Subject description: Precise Puppy 5.6 Won't Boot in a VirtualBox (Win7 64 Bit)
 

Hi Guys,

It's my first post on the Puppy forum, firstly my thanks & complete admiration for what you have all achieved, especially Barry K, it's completely awesome...

Anyway, my apologies if this has already been logged as an issue or is otherwise inappropriately filed.

The Isuue:

I tried booting Precise Puppy 5.6 in a VirtualBox (4.2.12) under Win 7 64 bit Ultimate on an HP XW6200 (Dual 3.2 GHz Xeons, 4GB ram, NVidia 9500GT graphics)

It fails during boot on the following step
"Making the Filesystem usable..."

Setting loglevel=7 doesn't display anything after that either.

For reference 5.5.93 didn't boot on the same rig but 5.4.90 did.

Also booting directly from a CD with 5.6 worked.

I'm more than happy to provide further info if that would help.

Thanks again for an amazing demonstration of what collaborative efforts can achieve when people come together. Truly heartening.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2531
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sat 25 May 2013, 13:05    Post subject:  

Poulsbo driver needs work, at least for me... "TEST_X_NOW" results in some sorta logfile that basically means it doesn't like me today. Consistently.

Axiomtek PICO820 motherboard
Atom Z530 CPU
US15W chipset (GMA500)
2gb RAM
SATA (in IDE mode because that's all the board can do) 16gb SSD
Output is VGA

Running from CD with a USB CD setup that the board can handle. I used it to install Upup Precise 3831 (kernel 382 in my version) and it worked fine... of course the glibc in that version of Upup isn't new enough for jejy69's GNOME2.32 SFS... hence the desire to upgrade a little...

Sorry if I sound ticked off, I'm not -- just frustrated and disappointed. I was really hoping this would be working now. Oh well Sad

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 1.1! Get the PetGet patch on pg8; it's important.
Next system will be an HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo in an innovative case... if I ever get off my butt and build it Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3077
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 25 May 2013, 13:39    Post subject:  

report-video for Precise Puppy 5.6-final - success with both nv and
nouveau video driver

When I booted up a fresh frugal install...

Quote:
Chip description:
VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation NV11 [GeForce2 MX/MX 400] (rev b2)

Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
Resolution (widthxheight, in pixels): 1440x900
Depth (bits, or planes): 24
Modules requested to be loaded: dbe

Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
Driver loaded (and currently in use): nouveau
Loaded modules: dbe dri dri2 exa extmod fb glx kbd mouse record shadowfb


Then I tried booting with pfix=fsck,nox
and then launching 'xorgwizard-cli'

I installed the nv video driver and rebooted as instructed.
Here is report-video
Quote:
Chip description:
VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation NV11 [GeForce2 MX/MX 400] (rev b2)

Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
Depth (bits, or planes): 24
Modules requested to be loaded: dbe
Drivers requested to be loaded: nv

Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
Driver loaded (and currently in use): nv
Loaded modules: dbe ddc dri dri2 extmod fb glx i2c int10 kbd mouse ramdac record vgahw xaa



__________________________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 430
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Sat 25 May 2013, 14:32    Post subject:  

Hi !
Maybe my question is naiv .
To make it clear Precise is an awsome distro .

What makes me wonder is ...when testing Glxgears on Lucid Puppy 528 or Threeheadeddog or Macpup or Dpupexprimo --it gives me ten times higher framerate than on Precise Puppy . I am using a Toshiba 3000 notebook .
Same situation for my Desktop Pc .

What could make the difference ?
How to accomplish same good results with Precise .

Anybody some advice ?

Last edited by backi on Sat 25 May 2013, 15:21; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3077
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 25 May 2013, 14:44    Post subject:  

backi wrote:
it gives me ten times higher framerate than on Precise Puppy


To find video driver type in console...

Code:
report-video


Low rates imply VESA driver that xorg supplies

You should boot with option 'pfix=nox' and then type 'xorgwizard-cli'
to launch Barry's new xorgwizard. See what video drivers are available.

_________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
n1mnal

Joined: 15 Jun 2010
Posts: 17

PostPosted: Sat 25 May 2013, 15:02    Post subject: Dell D410 problems, partial update  

BK wrote: One question, does the problem occur if you choose ext2 for the
save-file?

The problem with not finding the desktop icons (and consequently showing
them as red triangles with a "?" inside) seems to be due to the savefile
existing but not being correct. As soon as I delete the savefile (from
another installed puppy) and reboot into precise-5.6, I'm back to the
first-time boot situation and the desktop icons are there and ok.

To answer your question, the incomplete shutdown problem is the same
whether I choose ext3 or ext2 for the savefile. However, looking at the
savefile, I find that although I always selected 512M for the savefile size,
that wasn't the size I got, which was about 32M for ext3 and about 8M for
ext2. (With the Lucid 511 and 528 installs on the same machine, which
are still there and still work, when one requested 512M, one got 512M Smile
In this particular case, there must be an additional problem with writing
(or reading) the savefile, since even though it's not the size I requested,
the amount of state I was trying to save was tiny - just the timezone
setting. I can't tell if the TZ is restored correctly (until the other problems
get fixed) as I keep my hw clock in local time.

@rjbrewer - thank you for your clue about acpi; I tried applying it naively,
but it didn't work for me. Can someone point me to documentation about
what the acpi status (as read from /var/log/messages and/or the /proc
filesystem) _should be_ to obtain correct shutdown, and what the exact
usage of pfix with grub (0.97) is? I've read the boot message files in the
precise-5.6 iso image, and they are way too terse and incomplete to
include the obscure details which seem to be needed here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 430
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Sat 25 May 2013, 15:59    Post subject:  

Hi don570 !

Followed your advice (pfix=nox etc. )
used another xorg option with no vesa drivers ...but only increased glxgear rates to some degree but not as high as lucid puppy or Threeheaded Dog .

Is there away to increase Framerates further ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Sat 25 May 2013, 16:14    Post subject:  

backi wrote:
Hi don570 !

Followed your advice (pfix=nox etc. )
used another xorg option with no vesa drivers ...but only increased glxgear rates to some degree but not as high as lucid puppy or Threeheaded Dog .

Is there away to increase Framerates further ?


If you want to compare different Puppies, use the benchmarks
in menu > hardinfo.
GLXgears is completely meaningless as a benchmark or
performance indicator.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
lvds


Joined: 23 Jan 2007
Posts: 315
Location: Near the window

PostPosted: Sat 25 May 2013, 17:18    Post subject:  

Hi Barry,

Can you give us a file DISTRO_PKGS_SPECS-ubuntu-precise with only the needed packages marked 'yes' for a barebone for puppy precise 5.6 ubuntu compatible ?
I have hard times with woof2 Very Happy
Many thanks

_________________
This is China today
Asus 1225C eeePC Atom Cedar Trail 2G Ram - DELL Optiplex 780 core2 duo 4G Ram, Intel4 chipset Video, ICH10 chipset Audio, Intel 82567LM-3 Network
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 19 [274 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, ..., 17, 18, 19 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0991s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0116s) ][ GZIP on ]