Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 30 Jul 2014, 11:36
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
alphaOS [closed]
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 30 of 47 [697 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, ..., 45, 46, 47 Next
Author Message
bark_bark_bark

Joined: 05 Jun 2012
Posts: 784
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sun 26 May 2013, 10:26    Post subject:  

@john3voltas, simargl compiles the kernel himself and sadly never compiles the module. Although it is possible to switch AlphaOS's kernel with the kernel from Slacko or Precise.
_________________
Desktop: Intel 945PSN Motherboard, 3.2Ghz P-IV "Prescott 2M", 2GB RAM, 500GB WD HDD, Slackware 14.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 288

PostPosted: Sun 26 May 2013, 12:49    Post subject:  

Is there an easy way to combine two sfs into one?

Is it as easy as unsquash, merge and resquash?

Any gotchas?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 337
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Sun 26 May 2013, 14:53    Post subject: combining sfs  

Scooby wrote:
Is there an easy way to combine two sfs into one?

Is it as easy as unsquash, merge and resquash?

Any gotchas?


I have combined the sfs from 6.0 and 7.0 exactly that way with no problems. I usually have them both unsquashed anyway to add or subtract from them and then just copy them sequentially into a merged directory and squash it. Carolina, which I use often has a little more flexible GUI copy, but alphaOS has better compression parameters, good for roughly 10% more squash. I have modded my linas with them also see http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=81312&start=765 . No real caveats other than the usual EXT FS ONLY! and backup backup backup. Once a version is 'stable', having them merged makes it easier for me to keep track of what I add etc. There is also a clever rightclick in the 7.0 lina to do the combination but I haven't tried it out. Merging and squashing works ok for me and I can see what I'm doing.

_________________
tweaked 412 based boxpup, well honed 'lina-lite-005, alphaOS 321 Wink , X-slacko 2.1, Lxpup 14.07, and not to forget trusty Carolina/Carolite (now with 3.15 kernel). All lean and steady pups.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mama21mama

Joined: 03 Apr 2010
Posts: 526
Location: Lincoln, Buenos Aires, Argentina

PostPosted: Sun 26 May 2013, 16:45    Post subject:  

I had a hard time putting a code name?

mention here the new distro.

https://joindiaspora.com/posts/2655261

good luck with your project. Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
yr1945

Joined: 17 Apr 2010
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Mon 27 May 2013, 07:15    Post subject:  

Simargl... Thank You. I am making good progress in understanding and using AlphaOS 7. A while back, I figured out how to log onto my wireless router. And, now, thanks to your feedback, I can use pacman. I have successfully downloaded firefox and a few other apps that I needed.

You asked me to post the output when I used the command pacman -Syu The following is the current output:
[root@alphaos ~]# pacman -Syu
:: Synchronizing package databases...
alphaos is up to date
core is up to date
extra is up to date
community is up to date
:: Starting full system upgrade...
there is nothing to do
[root@alphaos ~]#


Suggestion: You need to change the pacman help manual in alphaOS 7 to state that the command for downloading packages is pacman -S firefox (as an example)... not pacman -Sf firefox as it currently states.

Anyway, Thanks Again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
yr1945

Joined: 17 Apr 2010
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Mon 27 May 2013, 08:26    Post subject:  

I am now trying to use sleep/suspend mode. I made a pupshutdown & acpitool sfs. My laptop sleeps, but will not wakeup. Any suggestions will be appreciated. Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
yr1945

Joined: 17 Apr 2010
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Mon 27 May 2013, 10:25    Post subject:  

Sorry, another question: When I open my miscellaneous file... the icons have pictures of "locks". Why? Can I get rid of these and just have the regular icons? I don't like locked folders.

By the way, even with the pictures of locks, the files still open, but you cannot copy all of the contents of a particular folder to another folder. However, some of the contents do get put in the other folder?

Again, Thank You...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pinguino

Joined: 07 Apr 2006
Posts: 11

PostPosted: Mon 27 May 2013, 13:34    Post subject: Yaourt
Subject description: curl error
 

hi, has anyone get this error when using yaourt?

Code:
curl error: Problem with the SSL CA cert (path? access rights?)


I have loaded devel sfs and added archlinuxfr repo to pacman.conf, maybe missing something?

Regards,
pinguino
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Mon 27 May 2013, 14:55    Post subject: Re: Yaourt
Subject description: curl error
 

pinguino wrote:
hi, has anyone get this error when using yaourt?
curl error: Problem with the SSL CA cert (path? access rights?)

just type packer in terminal, I patched it to update certificates if needed, later you can use yaourt or packer...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Mon 27 May 2013, 15:02    Post subject:  

yr1945 wrote:
When I open my miscellaneous file... the icons have pictures of "locks". Why? Can I get rid of these and just have the regular icons? I don't like locked folders.

By the way, even with the pictures of locks, the files still open, but you cannot copy all of the contents of a particular folder to another folder. However, some of the contents do get put in the other folder?...


Sorry I can't understand this, is problem in image thumbnails that are not refreshing or in spacefm not displaying read only folder. For missing emblems in read-only folders, and other things that need fixing I made bug reports in spacefm page https://github.com/IgnorantGuru/spacefm/issues
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
yr1945

Joined: 17 Apr 2010
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Mon 27 May 2013, 17:30    Post subject:  

My folder with various sfs files show locked icons... none of the other sub-folders in my main folder have locked icons ? Not sure why this folder's icons show the "lock" ?
alphaos-20130527172809.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  alphaos-20130527172809.png 
Filesize  227.11 KB 
Downloaded  96 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Mon 27 May 2013, 17:41    Post subject:  

yr1945, that is not lock - it's just default icon for sfs files, I replaced older 48 pixel with this better looking and larger icon, guess you don't like it Very Happy Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
yr1945

Joined: 17 Apr 2010
Posts: 132

PostPosted: Mon 27 May 2013, 18:38    Post subject:  

Simargl, see another screen snapshot. The note says "fatal... galculator not found". That's the reason I thought they were locked. They they will not load ? Any other Puppy OS will load them.

Anyway, Thank You for your reply. I will just download a couple more apps that I need via pacman.

I believe that you have an excellent OS here... Keep up the good work !!
alphaos-20130527183414.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  alphaos-20130527183414.png 
Filesize  248.03 KB 
Downloaded  88 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mcewanw

Joined: 16 Aug 2007
Posts: 2252
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Mon 27 May 2013, 18:40    Post subject:  

I've never used Arch but just installed your alphaOS 7.0 frugal. Booted fine on my old Fujitsu Siemens laptop (Pentium M 1.6 GHz CPU with 1MB Ram), which I do most of my Puppy development work on. Interesting distribution. Good luck with this. It's an interesting distribution and I hope it gets well supported.

mcewanw

Note: Posted this message also in alphaOS forum http://alphaos.tuxfamily.org/forum on this occasion since one thread here on murga forum may not be enough longterm for a distribution that is quite a bit different from any usual Puppy derivative. For that reason, in future I'm more likely to post on the alphaOS forum when comment specific to that version.

_________________
Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Andovai

Joined: 13 Feb 2013
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed 29 May 2013, 04:09    Post subject:  

Hello
mpd does not work...
error while loading shared libraries:libsystemd-daemon.so.0

http://www.musicpd.org/

Please

Thanks..

Sorry bad english
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 30 of 47 [697 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, ..., 45, 46, 47 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0924s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0147s) ][ GZIP on ]