Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 19 Apr 2014, 17:48
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
sfs_load-2.0 on-the-fly
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 17 of 19 [274 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 Next
Author Message
R-S-H

Joined: 18 Feb 2013
Posts: 490

PostPosted: Thu 06 Jun 2013, 23:52    Post subject:  

Hi,

the latest sfs_load 1.9.7 seems to have a bug which appears only on big sfs files.

In LazY Puppy I have installed two different versions of sfs_load. There is a modified version of 1.3.9 and also (original) 1.9.4. Using the modified version 1.3.9 it does load the LP2_LazarusFPCSuite.sfs without any problems - it's usable and works well after loaded.

When installing sfs_load 1.9.7 (1.9.6 seems to have this bug as well) and using sfs_load 1.9.7 to load the LP2_LazarusFPCSuite.sfs the files don't appear in the OS and also the sfs is not listed in $EXTRASFSLIST - even though, filemnt tells me it is in use by LazY Puppy when doing a single left-click onto the LP2_LazarusFPCSuite.sfs. So, it seems to appear in a pup_ro directory.

It is a huge file (308 MB) and it is loaded by its SFS P.L.U.S. RunScript which uses options: --skip-fixmenus --cli --quiet

RSH

_________________
LazY Puppy Home
The new LazY Puppy Information Centre

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
R-S-H

Joined: 18 Feb 2013
Posts: 490

PostPosted: Fri 07 Jun 2013, 19:30    Post subject:  

Hi.

Here are some more information on this.

I did try to go back to the 1.3.9 / 1.9.4 combination from LazY Puppy 202-005 for the use in my private LazY Puppy 3 version. The modified version of 1.3.9 works well on the Lazarus SFS, but the 1.9.4 has this bug already existing.

Both, the 1.9.4 as well as the 1.9.7 do load a 283 MB Wine SFS (Gecko and Corel Suite installed) fine, but do not load the Lazarus SFS (308 MB). Neither by the RunScript nor manually by right-click action!

RSH

_________________
LazY Puppy Home
The new LazY Puppy Information Centre

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2385
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sun 09 Jun 2013, 04:08    Post subject: sfs_load-1.9.9  

R-S-H wrote:
When installing sfs_load 1.9.7 (1.9.6 seems to have this bug as well) and using sfs_load 1.9.7 to load the LP2_LazarusFPCSuite.sfs the files don't appear in the OS and also the sfs is not listed in $EXTRASFSLIST - even though, filemnt tells me it is in use by LazY Puppy when doing a single left-click onto the LP2_LazarusFPCSuite.sfs. So, it seems to appear in a pup_ro directory.

The issue is not the size but the permission of the SFS. You need to re-pack the LP2_LazarusFPCSuite.sfs. See the solution given by rcrsn51:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=586949#586949

The permission check is implemented in the sfs_load 1.9 and later.
Anyway, i improved the error treatent.
Try sfs_load-1.9.9.pet.
http://shino.pos.to/linux/puppy/

# 9 Jun 2013 v1.9.9: unmount on permission error (thanks to R-S-H), shrink skip list (PUPMODE=2)
#31 May 2013 v1.9.8: again fix was failed cleanwhite on flash with RAM mode (PUPMODE=5)
(snip)
# 7 Apr 2012 v1.9: clean up whiteout, BOOTCONFIG.save for remastered puppy, accept multiple files, read from standard input, permission check
Type 'sfs_load --help' on a virtual terminal to see the detail.
image-1.jpg
 Description   permission error
 Filesize   9.35 KB
 Viewed   559 Time(s)

image-1.jpg


_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
R-S-H

Joined: 18 Feb 2013
Posts: 490

PostPosted: Sun 09 Jun 2013, 10:23    Post subject:  

shinobar wrote:
The issue is not the size but the permission of the SFS. You need to re-pack the LP2_LazarusFPCSuite.sfs.

Hi.

Thanks for the info and the link to the solution. That did the trick, sorry for calling this a bug in sfs_load 1.9.7.

Can you explain, why this permission check is needed in the new sfs_load and what would/could be the issue, if loading sfs files with wrong permissions using sfs_load version before 1.9 versions?

Thanks,

RSH

P.S.

Also again a big THANK YOU for the wonderful sfs_load application. LazY Puppy's SFS P.L.U.S. rises up and falls down with sfs_load!

_________________
LazY Puppy Home
The new LazY Puppy Information Centre

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2363
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 25 Jun 2013, 08:05    Post subject:  

I've been trying to get the --cli option to work in various version of sfs_load , in Akita, but I can't get it working ... The $GTKDIALOG commands seem to be run no matter what...

I even went through the whole file, using

[ -z $DISPLAY ] && do || dont

and so on, but it still would not work, after skipping the menus, i got errors saying:

failed to mount /dev

I tried all available commands, I think:

sfs_load --cli -q /path/to/sfsfile.sfs
sfs_load --cli /path/to/sfsfile.sfs
sfs_load -q --cli /path/to/sfsfile.sfs
sfs_load --quiet --cli /path/to/sfsfile.sfs

and so on...


I would love some help making this a CLI sfs loader that works when X is NOT running.

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jrb


Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1017
Location: Smithers, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Tue 25 Jun 2013, 09:44    Post subject:  

sc0ttman wrote:
I would love some help making this a CLI sfs loader that works when X is NOT running.


I've been running a modified version of sfs_load-1.3 for over a year which I use to load SFS's at startup. Since I don't use a pupsave file I needed something besides Boot Manager to do the job. I stripped (commented) out all the code that required user input (do you want to copy? etc.) so that SFS's are loaded automatically.

I just exited to prompt and loaded an SFS with it successfully from the command line.
Code:
sfs_load-min /z.sfs


You can find my mods by searching for "jrb" in the script. You might have to compare with an unmodified version in some places. Looks like I deleted some sections rather than commented out. Embarassed

Hope you find this useful, J
sfs_load-min.tar.gz
Description  uncompress this to get sfs_load-min
gz

 Download 
Filename  sfs_load-min.tar.gz 
Filesize  18.55 KB 
Downloaded  214 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ASRI éducation


Joined: 09 May 2009
Posts: 2200
Location: France

PostPosted: Tue 25 Jun 2013, 13:16    Post subject:  

jrb wrote:
I've been running a modified version of sfs_load-1.3 for over a year which I use to load SFS's at startup. Since I don't use a pupsave file I needed something besides Boot Manager to do the job. I stripped (commented) out all the code that required user input (do you want to copy? etc.) so that SFS's are loaded automatically.

The idea of jrb seems interesting.
This reminds me of another idea ...

For several weeks, I am looking for a utility that allows users to install sfs integrated into an iso image.

My idea: offer a Puppy light, while allowing the user to simply add some popular applications (webbrowser, image editor, etc..)This, without having to download the applications (sfs files will be included in the iso, but separated from the main Puppy sfs).

sfsload will be used to mount/unmount the sfs (with optionl cli). It remains for me to design a GUI, If someone wants help, this is possible.

Cordialement,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
R-S-H

Joined: 18 Feb 2013
Posts: 490

PostPosted: Wed 26 Jun 2013, 16:23    Post subject:  

Hi.

I do run in my LazY Puppy a modified version of sfs_load generally (I started to do this with the 1.3.9).

Currently I'm running a modified version of 1.9.9 and I did similar things as jrb mentioned.

For the SFS P.L.U.S. RunScripts in LazY Puppy I can use the modified version of sfs_load to load sfs files from a specific location. So, I do have several LazY Puppys and do load all the sfs files from one directory 'Modules'.

I can 'patch' my RunScripts after its creation to switch the sfs files location easily and immediately without to create new RunScripts.

I would like to add the SFS P.L.U.S. together with shinobar's sfs_load as an official SFS Package - but I'm helpless... ..and lost...

RSH

_________________
LazY Puppy Home
The new LazY Puppy Information Centre

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
R-S-H

Joined: 18 Feb 2013
Posts: 490

PostPosted: Fri 28 Jun 2013, 11:45    Post subject:  

Hi!

I'm back!

No, not on development!

I'm back to version 1.3.9 - the modified one!

The new sfs_load seems to have some issues. I'm not sure if it is because of the modifications I've made. Yes, the modified 1.3.9 works perfect and it has the same modifications inside.

The issue:

I've tried to remove an icon from /usr/local/lib/X11/mini-icons and also a .desktop file from /usr/share/applications - everything worked well, so far.

Then I've tried to edit another .desktop file and since I've removed Geany from my LazY Puppy, I did load the LP2_Geany-0.20.sfs to edit the .desktop file.

After editing the file and unloading the LP2_Geany-0.20.sfs the previous removed icon and .desktop file returned into the os !!! Shocked

Back to 1.3.9 and everything works well!

RSH

Btw: I don't use any save file!

ASRI éducation wrote:
My idea: offer a Puppy light, while allowing the user to simply add some popular applications (webbrowser, image editor, etc..)This, without having to download the applications (sfs files will be included in the iso, but separated from the main Puppy sfs).

LazY Puppy already can do this!

_________________
LazY Puppy Home
The new LazY Puppy Information Centre

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ASRI éducation


Joined: 09 May 2009
Posts: 2200
Location: France

PostPosted: Fri 28 Jun 2013, 13:11    Post subject:  

R-S-H wrote:
ASRI éducation wrote:
My idea: offer a Puppy light, while allowing the user to simply add some popular applications (webbrowser, image editor, etc..)This, without having to download the applications (sfs files will be included in the iso, but separated from the main Puppy sfs).

LazY Puppy already can do this!

Hello RSH
I know your Lazy can do that, but the problem is that your solution is avaible only for your puplet.
I hope that this possibility becomes available for all Puppy ...

Off topic:
I've tested your Lazy, and I can say that it offers many interesting possibilities for users.
I'm like many geeks, I want to control my OS and its utilities, I like to test new versions while maintaining my favorites applications/utilities. With Lazy, I'm dependent on a version of its main developer, I lack of freedom (of course, my opinion is personal and subjective, it is only a reflection of my needs).
So, I encourage users to test/adopt lazy, but I also would like to propose adaptable good tools to other versions of Puppy.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
R-S-H

Joined: 18 Feb 2013
Posts: 490

PostPosted: Tue 02 Jul 2013, 12:16    Post subject:  

ASRI éducation wrote:
Hello RSH
I know your Lazy can do that, but the problem is that your solution is avaible only for your puplet.
I hope that this possibility becomes available for all Puppy ...

To make this available and usable in any other Puppy (maybe except FatDog) we first need a command line option in sfs_load, to skip the copy function - so, the SFS can be loaded from its original location.

But, if using this from CD, it will lock the CD drive after loading the first SFS from CD !!!

If we would have the command line option to skip the copy function, I could offer my new SFS P.L.U.S. (currently v3.3.5), which now can create RunScripts from ALL SFS files - no need to convert the SFS first to SFS P.L.U.S. format (but is still usable). Also: SFS dependencies can be added into the SFS P.L.U.S. RunScript (SFS P.L.U.S. SFS files do have their dependencies declared inside the SFS). Each RunScript can have its own location to load from !!!

The user will be able then to load the SFS and run the Program from CD (and everywhere else) just by its menu entry (as it would be installed).

The new SFS P.L.U.S. 3.3.5 (LazY Puppy will be replaced by the Name of your Puppy because of DISTRO_NAME is used for this)







Information TAB on SFS PLUS SFS files

Information TAB on standard SFS files attached below (just forgot to upload to imgur)



This is currently my main development work (when I'm able to code, because I'm still fighting to quit smoking - and I've smoked a lot, when coding!)

Ok Guys, this is what I can offer: now, it's up to you !!!

RSH

EDIT:

I do use this in 7 LazY Puppy(s) based on 4 different Puppies.
image-2.jpg
 Description   Information TAB on standard SFS files (not converted to SFS P.L.U.S.)
 Filesize   56.27 KB
 Viewed   289 Time(s)

image-2.jpg


_________________
LazY Puppy Home
The new LazY Puppy Information Centre

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sunburnt


Joined: 08 Jun 2005
Posts: 4982
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri 05 Jul 2013, 19:48    Post subject:  

Any thoughts about making it a general purpose image file manager?

# Mainly so it can also load - unload ext2, ext3, ext4, and btrfs files.

This extends usefulness and fully manages the union stack file types.
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cimarron

Joined: 30 May 2013
Posts: 51

PostPosted: Mon 26 Aug 2013, 21:58    Post subject:  

I really like sfs_load, and it works well on my Lupu 5.1.

My only question is about the bootconfig.save function. It apparently has something to do with remastering, but I don't understand its purpose. I remaster occasionally, and ended up with an extra sfs loading automatically on boot in the remaster, though I had unloaded it with sfs_load before doing the remaster. Confusing.

I noticed BK also mentioned an issue with this function on his blog (in the comments):
Quote:
I did find what seemed like a problem. After using sfs_load, I then ran BootManager and unloaded the .sfs -- which does of course only take affect at next bootup, and after rebooting I saw that /etc/rc.d/BOOTCONFIG.save still had the .sfs in it's EXTRASFSLIST variable.


I think I was able to remove the function, by commenting out these lines in /usr/sbin/sfs_load (line 1380), like this:
Code:
  # backup for remaster. not removed by unload
#  echo "# This file affects sfs_load only at the 1st boot of a remastered puppy." > $BOOTCONFIG.save
#  echo "EXTRASFSLIST='$EXTRASFSLIST'" >> $BOOTCONFIG.save

But does this remove something important? I don't get it. Anyway, I love being able to load Gimp and FreeOffice just when I need them.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 251

PostPosted: Sat 31 Aug 2013, 10:23    Post subject: CLI  

I use sfs_load from the commandline.

load and unload works perfectly

However I miss an option to list loaded sfs-files in the terminal?

Is that something you would be willing to do?

I am sure it wouldn't be difficult since you already have the list in GUI mode.

If you are not willing to implement would you please direct me to right function or variable
so I can make a personal hack?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RSH


Joined: 05 Sep 2011
Posts: 2036
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sat 31 Aug 2013, 10:50    Post subject:  

Quote:
However I miss an option to list loaded sfs-files in the terminal?

Hi

This has taken hours of hours of heavy development! (Just kidding Laughing )

This lists all SFS Files stored in 'LASTUNIONRECORD' of /etc/rc.d/BOOTCONFIG. It might needed to be changed when using a save file to 'EXTRASFSLIST' inside the Script. Try to modify it for your needs.

The Terminal (xterm) stays open and will be still usable until it is closed..

The attached File is a fake '.gz' File - remove the '.gz' Extension and make executable.

Hope this will work.

RSH
sfs_list_in_terminal.gz
Description  Fake '.gz' File - remove the '.gz' Extension and make executable
gz

 Download 
Filename  sfs_list_in_terminal.gz 
Filesize  751 Bytes 
Downloaded  134 Time(s) 

_________________
LazY Puppy
RSH's DNA
SARA B.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 17 of 19 [274 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 15, 16, 17, 18, 19 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1148s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0121s) ][ GZIP on ]