Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 21 Aug 2014, 18:05
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
How to make Droid@Screen work in Precise Puppy?
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Author Message
AndyOpie150


Joined: 11 Apr 2013
Posts: 45
Location: Florida, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sat 15 Jun 2013, 22:55    Post subject:  How to make Droid@Screen work in Precise Puppy?  

Does anybody know how to get the Droid@Screen jar file to work in Precise (it allows you to put your android phones screen on your desktop in real time).
I already have the jdk-1.6u45 installed, with the path to the java.exe set.
I already have the Android SDK in the / directory with the the adb.exe set up globally (can open a terminal any where in Precise and give phone shell commands or fastboot commands).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1659
Location: wales

PostPosted: Sun 16 Jun 2013, 05:52    Post subject:  

hi AndyOpie150

i got it working .... i put abd and fastboot in /usr/bin
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/19554672/adb
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/19554672/fastboot

and used shinobars java jre http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=61287

your phone needs to be put into debugging mode



_________________
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
LÖVE2d, a collection of 27 lua gameshttp://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=76739
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
AndyOpie150


Joined: 11 Apr 2013
Posts: 45
Location: Florida, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sun 16 Jun 2013, 21:40    Post subject:  

Thanks, would have never thought to do that.
Question: Can I leave them in the SDK/platform-tools folder and sym link? Or put them in usr/bin and sym link to SDK/platform-tools?

I put the phone in debug mode right after flashing any new ROM, and thats where it stays.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
AndyOpie150


Joined: 11 Apr 2013
Posts: 45
Location: Florida, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Fri 21 Jun 2013, 16:58    Post subject:  

666philb:
I'm kinda new to getting things to work in Puppy so I hope you understand my next couple of seemingly stupid question.

I can't get the Droid@Screen.jar to do anything when I put it on the desktop. How do I get the program to open up and show me the setup box in Puppy Precise.

PS; I downloaded your fastboot.exe and put it in:usr/bin, but the adb.exe download site/page was borked.

I already had the Android SDK with all the proper folders. ADB is set up globally (needed for a lot of the utilities I need to put on Puppy Precise) I have the jdk-1.6u45sfs installed which gives me the jre as well in:usr/java.
I have downloaded the jre-1.6u45.sfs you linked me to as well and put in the same directory with the puppy_precise.sfs, just haven't loaded it yet.


Seemingly stupid questions: How do I get the Droid@Screen.jar to open up and show me the setup box which asks for the path to the adb.exe (left click does nothing)? What option do I need to select and perform with a right click? Do I need to create a run script for it?

How well do you know Puppy Precise. Another member and myself are trying to get as many programs as possible for Android Development to work in Puppy Precise. Even trying to set up a build environment for kernel and ROM development. Any help would be appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1659
Location: wales

PostPosted: Sat 22 Jun 2013, 02:11    Post subject:  

hi AndyOpie150,

right click on the droidatscreen.jar and choose 'set run action' it should be this
Code:
 java -jar "$@"
if it still doesn't run, java may not be installed properly, or a different version may be required.

i put adb & fastboot in /usr/bin as a matter of convenience... if you need to use them in a puppy terminal is easier to type adb /blah/blah/blah rather than /mnt/sda/androidsdk/really/long/path/to/adb /blah/blah

yes you can just symlink the ones out of the sdk, the ones i posted were just out of the sdk

i don't know you would go about setting up an environment to build android kernels..... all i've done is make a few ROMS with 'android kitchen' which works on precise
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=633246

.

_________________
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
LÖVE2d, a collection of 27 lua gameshttp://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=76739
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
AndyOpie150


Joined: 11 Apr 2013
Posts: 45
Location: Florida, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sat 22 Jun 2013, 10:30    Post subject:  

Thanks again for the info. Good stuff indeed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3254
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Sat 22 Jun 2013, 12:19    Post subject:  

The Java Development Kit (JDK) has built in method to take a
screenshot. It's a bit tricky to use though. I explain it here...

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=652077#652077

____________________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
AndyOpie150


Joined: 11 Apr 2013
Posts: 45
Location: Florida, U.S.A.

PostPosted: Sat 22 Jun 2013, 20:30    Post subject:  

Thanks 666philb. Worked great. I also got APK-Multi-Tool working flawlessly.
linux version of QtADB is another problem. Playing with QtADB allows you to do a lot of useful things. The one I use it for the most is to drag and drop any file on my computer to any directory on my rooted phone and vice-a-versa (must have a ClockworkMod recovery or a direct derivative of)

don570: Looks very interesting indeed. Will try first chance I get. Right now I feel like a one legged man in a butt kicking contest.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Utilities
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0870s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0299s) ][ GZIP on ]