Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 29 Jul 2014, 17:26
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise 5.6.9 (5.7beta1)
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 4 [53 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
pemasu


Joined: 08 Jul 2009
Posts: 5463
Location: Finland

PostPosted: Mon 22 Jul 2013, 17:47    Post subject:  

I believe new user uses his eyes. Old user uses his spinal cord. That is the reason why old user does not notice when the default behavior changes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5680
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Mon 22 Jul 2013, 19:21    Post subject:  

Fresh manual frugal install of 5.6.9 on a powerful P3 test box.Display and sound working on boot..... used SNS to quickly get internet connection.All basics look good.

# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: Precise Puppy, version 5.6.9

Chip description:
Host bridge: Intel Corporation 82810E DC-133 (GMCH) Graphics Memory Controller Hub (rev 03)
VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82810E DC-133 (CGC) Chipset Graphics Controller (rev 03)

Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
Resolution (widthxheight, in pixels): 1024x768
Depth (bits, or planes): 24
Modules requested to be loaded: dbe

Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
Driver loaded (and currently in use): intel
Loaded modules: dbe ddc dri dri2 extmod fb glx int10 kbd mouse ramdac record vbe vgahw xaa

Actual rendering on monitor:
Resolution: 1024x768 pixels (321x241 millimeters)
Depth: 24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video
# glxgears
34 frames in 5.1 seconds = 6.607 FPS
31 frames in 5.0 seconds = 6.192 FPS
33 frames in 5.2 seconds = 6.310 FPS
40 frames in 5.2 seconds = 7.667 FPS
38 frames in 5.1 seconds = 7.454 FPS

-Computer-
Processor : Pentium III (Coppermine)
Memory : 253MB (142MB used)
Machine Type : Physical machine
Operating System : Precise Puppy - 5.6.9
User Name : root (root)
Date/Time : Mon 22 Jul 2013 06:26:06 PM CDT
-Display-
Resolution : 1024x768 pixels
OpenGL Renderer : Gallium 0.4 on softpipe
X11 Vendor : The X.Org Foundation
-Audio Devices-
Audio Adapter : ICH - Intel 82801AA-ICH

-Processor-
Name : Pentium III (Coppermine)
Family, model, stepping : 6, 8, 6 (Pentium III/Pentium III Xeon/Celeron/Core Duo/Core Duo 2)
Vendor : Intel
-Configuration-
Cache Size : 256kb
Frequency : 730.96MHz
BogoMIPS : 1462.83
Byte Order : Little Endian
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2057
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 22 Jul 2013, 21:18    Post subject: Precise 5.6.9 (5.7beta1)  

I used the puppy universal installer to do a frugal install to a hp
pavilion a810n desktop pc.
video-info-glx 1.5.3 Mon 22 Jul 2013 on Precise Puppy 5.6.9 Linux 3.2.48 i686
0.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI RV530
[Radeon X1600]
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS
product: RV530 01.00
X Server: Xorg Driver: radeon
X.Org version: 1.11.3
dimensions: 1440x900 pixels (380x238 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: X.Org R300 Project
OpenGL renderer string: Gallium 0.4 on ATI RV530
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 8.0.4
# glxgears
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh. The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
300 frames in 5.0 seconds = 59.827 FPS
304 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.729 FPS
304 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.729 FPS
#
AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3300+
Core 0: @2411 MHz
Audio Devices
Audio Adapter CA0106 - CA0106
Ethernet controller Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] SiS900 PCI Fast Ethernet
(rev 90)
I installed my favorite applications from ppm.
No problems so far, also installed video-info-glx-1.5.3-noarch.pet and
PupSnap-2.2_Scrot-0.8_32Bit.pet from the forum.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   61.04 KB
 Viewed   1176 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ray MK


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 760
Location: UK

PostPosted: Tue 23 Jul 2013, 03:14    Post subject:  

Precise Puppy version 5.6.9, released Jul 2013

This is one very impressive Puppy - fast - no obvious issues - all working OTB.

Running a manual frugal to an ntfs partition on the E732 laptop, booting with grub4dos from an ext2 SDcard.

# uname -a
Linux puppypc21400 3.2.48 #1 SMP Thu Jul 11 12:20:55 GMT-8 2013 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux
# free
total used free shared buffers
Mem: 1805144 623792 1181352 0 37392
-/+ buffers: 586400 1218744
Swap: 0 0 0
# top
Mem: 624504K used, 1180640K free, 0K shrd, 37448K buff, 433148K cached
CPU: 3% usr 0% sys 0% nic 95% idle 0% io 0% irq 0% sirq
Load average: 0.05 0.11 0.12 2/109 15257

Next job - try on the 10yr old Acer laptop.
Hinfo.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  Hinfo.tar.gz 
Filesize  8.35 KB 
Downloaded  149 Time(s) 

_________________
Asus 701SD. 2gig ram. 8gb SSD. IBM A21m laptop. 192mb ram. PIII Coppermine proc. X60 T2400 1.8Ghz proc. 2gig ram. 80gb hdd. T41 Pentium M 1400Mhz. 512mb ram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
FeodorF


Joined: 07 Jul 2010
Posts: 154
Location: Heidelberg, Germany

PostPosted: Tue 23 Jul 2013, 07:35    Post subject:  Report 'glxgears'  

Quote:
Hint: If your old box will not provide a good 'glxgears' rate read right here:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=713525#713525
Quote:
Computer
Processor: Pentium III (Coppermine)
Memory: 1294MB (128MB used)
Cache Size: 256kb
Frequency: 932.97MHz
BogoMIPS: 1866.69
Host bridge: VIA Technologies, Inc. VT82C693A/694x [Apollo PRO133x] (rev c4)
Board: TYAN S 1854 Trinity 400

VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation NV18 [GeForce4 MX 440 AGP 8x] (rev c1) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])

Display
Resolution: 1600x900 pixels
Vendor: The X.Org Foundation
Version: 1.11.3

OpenGL
Vendor: Nouveau
Renderer: Mesa DRI nv18 x86/MMX/SSE
Version: 1.2 Mesa 8.0.4
Direct Rendering: Yes


# glxgears (SeaMonkey running in window#1)
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh. The framerate should be approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
1479 frames in 5.0 seconds = 295.730 FPS
1433 frames in 5.0 seconds = 286.357 FPS
1497 frames in 5.0 seconds = 299.172 FPS
1458 frames in 5.0 seconds = 291.584 FPS
1399 frames in 5.0 seconds = 279.791 FPS

# glxgears
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh. The framerate should be approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
1778 frames in 5.0 seconds = 355.539 FPS
1862 frames in 5.0 seconds = 372.393 FPS
1840 frames in 5.0 seconds = 367.869 FPS
1886 frames in 5.0 seconds = 377.096 FPS
1840 frames in 5.0 seconds = 367.869 FPS

Video runs fine!
Aptera.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   46.18 KB
 Viewed   1044 Time(s)

Aptera.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Tui

Joined: 27 Sep 2006
Posts: 380
Location: Wellington New Zealand

PostPosted: Tue 23 Jul 2013, 21:00    Post subject: WiFi not working, Sound not working !  

I have a friend that has just got a Toshiba l/top c855d-s5320,
he finds that it has MS-WIN8 on board and finds that he can't
get his older software to run. Store suggested that he purchased
all new again ! He was not so happy to do that as his old machine
with XP is a bit slow now.

I now have a l/top with 4gb of ram, 500gb hd and a 64bit processor.

I blew all win8 away and loaded a full inst of v5.2.8.005-2 as this
has an office suite of progs and lot of other goodies.

The problem now is that I can't get the WiFi or Sound to work in
in this l/top ! Also note there is a problem with the mouse control
of touchpad and the screen starts up with a distorted image some what
broken up. The machine can couple to the web via direct cable
connection.

I have also put a full instal of Precisepup v5.6.9 beta1on another
part of h/drive, but the wifi still not working and sound still not
working, but the mouse control is great and the poor image start up problem
is gone!!

So how do I get these problems solved? What can I take from 569
and place in v528 to solve the image problem? Also need to
get the sound working. Other things are not working in v569,
screen capture etc.

Any help please !

Tui
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ray MK


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 760
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed 24 Jul 2013, 07:57    Post subject:  

Precise Puppy version 5.6.9, released Jul 2013

Looks and feels very good - even on my 10yr old Acer laptop.
Manual frugal to an ext3 partition, booting with grub4dos.
All seems to work as expected OTB - no obvious defects.

# uname -a
Linux puppypc2842 3.2.48 #1 SMP Thu Jul 11 12:20:55 GMT-8 2013 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux
# free
total used free shared buffers
Mem: 366904 297356 69548 0 41388
-/+ buffers: 255968 110936
Swap: 658660 368 658292
# top
Mem: 298512K used, 68392K free, 0K shrd, 41644K buff, 207396K cached
CPU: 4% usr 4% sys 0% nic 90% idle 0% io 0% irq 0% sirq
Load average: 0.37 0.43 0.36 1/63 26313

Very impressive performance - especially considering the age of this old tonker toy.
(Actually the old beast has done well and outlived a 2yr old laptop (broken screen) and a not so new LCD display (went pop this morning).

Will twiddle some more and then post a Hinfo report.

edit: This is astonishingly good - both SeaMonkey and QtWeb work well on all the web sites I normally frequent (nothing particularly demanding), did also try a few that I would not normally visit and all seemed good.

Opera also works well - so something for almost all preferences.

This is an extremely flexable Puppy - tried thunar file manager - all seemed good and dillo worked fine too.

Overall imho a strikingly good and incredibly usable Puppy. Thanks BK.
Hinfo.tar.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  Hinfo.tar.gz 
Filesize  8.95 KB 
Downloaded  139 Time(s) 

_________________
Asus 701SD. 2gig ram. 8gb SSD. IBM A21m laptop. 192mb ram. PIII Coppermine proc. X60 T2400 1.8Ghz proc. 2gig ram. 80gb hdd. T41 Pentium M 1400Mhz. 512mb ram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dennis-slacko531


Joined: 18 Jan 2012
Posts: 103
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Wed 24 Jul 2013, 17:29    Post subject: Another happy customer, thanks Barry...
Subject description: mirroring also at LINUX without EYES (LNUX.COM)
 

# uname -a Linux puppypc16972 3.2.48 #1 SMP Thu Jul 11 12:20:55 GMT-8 2013 i686 i686 i386 GNU/Linux
# uptime 14:24:22 up 1 day, 20:31, load average: 0.09, 0.17, 0.21
# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: Precise Puppy, version 5.6.9

Chip description:
VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation 82Q35 Express Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 02)

Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
Resolution (widthxheight, in pixels): 1280x1024
Depth (bits, or planes): 24
Modules requested to be loaded: dbe

Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
Driver loaded (and currently in use): intel
Loaded modules: dbe dri dri2 extmod fb glx kbd mouse record

Actual rendering on monitor:
Resolution: 1280x1024 pixels (338x270 millimeters)
Depth: 24 planes

Wink It's mirrored on my GoDaddy server!
LINUX without EYES www.LNUX.com Surprised
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jrb


Joined: 11 Dec 2007
Posts: 1030
Location: Smithers, BC, Canada

PostPosted: Thu 25 Jul 2013, 10:11    Post subject: Re: WiFi not working, Sound not working !  

Tui wrote:
So how do I get these problems solved?

I suggest you try several different Puppies and see if you can find one that works! If you want LibreOffice OOTB then try PHATSlacko. There are others out there as well.

Good Luck, J

BTW - Your question would have been more appropriate in the Hardware or Users section.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5001
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 25 Jul 2013, 14:41    Post subject:  

Running from live CD with save file on hard drive partition sdb5.

I think this is an issue with Pmount. I see this in Slacko 5.5 too.

When running any program that has a save option.
When you select save.
The save window opens.
The only partitions visible to save in are the ones that are mounted.
That makes sense.

Here is the issue:
The partition (sdb5) that has the Precise save file on it gets semi- mounted when you first bootup.
Because of the way this partition is mounted it does not show up in the save option window of a program.
Partition sdb5 is not available to save to.
See picture.

Clicking on the sdb5 desktop icon makes no change to how it is mounted.
.
pmount.png
 Description   
 Filesize   76.62 KB
 Viewed   605 Time(s)

pmount.png


_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
npierce

Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Posts: 858

PostPosted: Thu 25 Jul 2013, 16:55    Post subject: Missing /etc/shells file  

The /etc/shells file is read by various applications and utilities to determine if a file is a valid user shell. If this file is missing, the only shell names returned by the getusershell() library function will be "/bin/sh" and "/bin/csh".

One result of this file being missing, as discovered by Robotop, is that any user who has "/bin/bash" defined in /etc/passwd as her login shell will be denied access by pure-ftpd. (By default, busybox adduser sets the user's login shell to /bin/bash, so this is not unusual.)

Although I don't have Precise 5.6.9, I suspect that it may be missing this file since the file is not in Precise 5.5 or 5.6 (or any of four other Puppies I looked at), and I don't see it in Woof.

For more detail, see the thread started by Robotop: adduser and pure-ftpd
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2057
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Fri 26 Jul 2013, 03:03    Post subject:
Subject description: precise 5.6.11 beta2
 

Manual frugal install to a 16gb SDHC card, running on an Acer desktop
pc.
video-info-glx 1.5.3 Fri 26 Jul 2013 on Precise Puppy 5.6.11 Linux 3.2.48 i686
0.0 VGA compatible controller:NVIDIA Corporation C77[GeForce 8200](rev a2)
0.0 VGA compatible controller:NVIDIA Corporation G98[GeForce 9300 GE](rev a1)
oem: NVIDIA
product: G98 Board - 5610003u Chip Rev
X Server: Xorg Driver: nvidia
X.Org version: 1.11.3
dimensions: 1440x900 pixels (373x231 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce 9300 GE/PCIe/SSE2/3DNOW!
OpenGL version string: 3.3.0 NVIDIA 319.32
sh-4.1# glxgears
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh. The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
302 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.268 FPS
300 frames in 5.0 seconds = 59.889 FPS
300 frames in 5.0 seconds = 59.887 FPS
sh-4.1#
Athlon(tm) Dual Core Processor 4850e
Core 0: @2500 1: @2500 MHz
Ralink corp. RT2790 Wireless 802.11n 1T/2R PCIe

It's working well.

EDIT:I backed up my savefile,shutdown,and put my SDHC card into an usb
card reader, then plugged it into an hp desktop pc.

video-info-glx 1.5.3 Fri 26 Jul 2013 on Precise Puppy 5.6.11 Linux 3.2.48 i686
0.0 VGA compatible controller:NVIDIA Corporation GF108[GeForce GT 430](reva1)
oem: NVIDIA
product: GF108 Board - 1071v0p1 Chip Rev
X Server: Xorg Driver: nvidia
X.Org version: 1.11.3
dimensions: 1920x1080 pixels (513x292 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce GT 430/PCIe/SSE2/3DNOW!
OpenGL version string: 4.3.0 NVIDIA 319.32
AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1045T Processor
Core 0: @2700 1: @2700 2: @2700 3: @2700 4: @2700 5: @2700 MHz

I had to run the alsa wizard to get sound working but everything else
worked fine.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   62.89 KB
 Viewed   491 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg


Last edited by Billtoo on Fri 26 Jul 2013, 09:50; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ASRI éducation


Joined: 09 May 2009
Posts: 2347
Location: France

PostPosted: Fri 26 Jul 2013, 06:53    Post subject:  

My message is perhaps a little off topic.

Currently, I am preparing a script which allows a very simplified installation of Puppy (it's based on an excellent script of rcrsn51).

At the end of installation, to avoid creating a pupsave file, I add the file /etc/personnal_data_save_disabled (cf. script = 'shutdownconfig' modified 120823 by rerwin => flag to disable saving personalized data).

Unfortunately, this method is not working when I use a USB bootable key (liveUSB).

My questions / requests:
- When I use a bootable USB drive, is it possible to avoid the creation of the pupsave file (using a method other than that described above)?
- Is it possible to edit the file 'shutdownconfig', so that the change of Rerwin also provides USB media?

Cordialement,

_________________
Projet ASRI éducation => Association | Forum | Dépôt | Espace kids
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
anikin

Joined: 10 May 2012
Posts: 450

PostPosted: Fri 26 Jul 2013, 12:45    Post subject:  

Hi ASRI éducation,
Forum member shadower_sc has some great tips for you:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=697846#697846
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ASRI éducation


Joined: 09 May 2009
Posts: 2347
Location: France

PostPosted: Fri 26 Jul 2013, 12:56    Post subject:  

anikin wrote:
Hi ASRI éducation,
Forum member shadower_sc has some great tips for you:
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=697846#697846

Thank you anikin.

_________________
Projet ASRI éducation => Association | Forum | Dépôt | Espace kids
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 4 [53 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1119s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0054s) ][ GZIP on ]