Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 22 Aug 2014, 13:49
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise Puppy 5.7.1
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 25 [368 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 23, 24, 25 Next
Author Message
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2078
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Tue 30 Jul 2013, 15:56    Post subject: Precise Puppy 5.7  

I'm running from the live dvd with a savefile, computer is an intel
imac.
video-info-glx 1.5.3 Tue 30 Jul 2013 on Precise Puppy 5.7 Linux 3.9.11 i686
0.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Radeon
HD 2400 XT
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS
product: M74 01.00
X Server: Xorg Driver: radeon
X.Org version: 1.11.3
dimensions: 1680x1050 pixels (444x277 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: X.Org
OpenGL renderer string: Gallium 0.4 on AMD RV610
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 8.0.4
# glxgears
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh. The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
301 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.128 FPS
300 frames in 5.0 seconds = 59.877 FPS
300 frames in 5.0 seconds = 59.861 FPS
#
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E8135 @ 2.40GHz
Core 0: @800 1: @800 MHz
Memory 4127MB (269MB used)
Network controller Broadcom Corporation BCM4321 802.11a/b/g/n (rev 05)

It's working well, no problems at all so far.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   41.93 KB
 Viewed   1417 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 440
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Tue 30 Jul 2013, 17:38    Post subject:  

bigpup wrote:
During development of Lucid Puppy, Gnome Mplayer was worked on, with a lot of troubleshooting and trying to make it work.


Heh, those were the days! I still have a soft spot for Lupu as it was the first Linux distro I ever actively contributed to as a tester.

bigpup wrote:
XineDVD program was added as the specific player for DVD movies.


XineDVD is mint, and as far as I recall isn't all that big either. There's a strong case for just going with having it as the default DVD player rather than spend ages hitting Gnome Mplayer with hammers until it graduates to half-arsed DVD player.

Not every problem can be solved with a hammer. So I'm told, anyway. Wink

I'll give the retro version of Precise 5.7 a go on my K6-2 and report back. Let's see if it gets as far as the desktop this time!

_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Pentium D 3.4GHz, 2GB RAM, Radeon X1650 Pro AGP. Slacko 5.7.0 HardInfo Report
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
scsijon

Joined: 23 May 2007
Posts: 1026
Location: the australian mallee

PostPosted: Tue 30 Jul 2013, 19:04    Post subject: keymap /keyboard problems  

Folks, those with keyboard/keymap problems: (pemasu, Terryphi, Charlie6,+)

If you drop out of JWM to the prompt, do you still have the problem in raw X mode?

As Joe is about to release JWM 2.2 (post snapshot version 835 and origonally due a week or so ago), if it's happening inside JWM that would be something he needs to know and see if it needs a fix before that happens. He has only one problem left to solve and a patch is awaiting his return, so it's not very far off.

Oh, yes, what JWM are you using as anything before 835 do have problems of one sort or another.

thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 861
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Tue 30 Jul 2013, 20:30    Post subject:  

scsijon,
Good thinking that it may be connected to JWM, still not sure though.
When I drop to prompt the characters display correctly.
Only if I type "xwin" to start X again do the characters display wrongly until I try typing and close a program.

Precise 5.7 has JWM snapshot 819 but I just tried 831 and then 835 and I also tried going back to release 2.1.0 and they all behave the same way so doesn't look like was a bug with a specific JWM version. Will keep digging.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Monsie


Joined: 01 Dec 2011
Posts: 633
Location: Kamloops BC Canada

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 00:25    Post subject: Precise Puppy 5.7  

I am currently testing Precise Puppy retro while running a live CD. I am quite impressed with how things look so far, especially since it is running nicely on my fourteen year old Pentium lll I ended up switching to the default video driver for my ATI Rage 128 and managed to tweak xorg.conf a bit...

Code:
# report-video
VIDEO REPORT: Precise Puppy, version 5.7

Chip description:
VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] nee ATI Rage 128 Pro Ultra TF

Requested by /etc/X11/xorg.conf:
  Depth (bits, or planes):              24
  Modules requested to be loaded:       dbe
  Drivers requested to be loaded:       r128

Probing Xorg startup log file (/var/log/Xorg.0.log):
  Driver loaded (and currently in use): r128
  Loaded modules: dbe ddc dri dri2 extmod fb glx i2c int10 kbd mouse ramdac record shadowfb vbe vgahw xaa

Actual rendering on monitor:
  Resolution:  1024x768 pixels (302x232 millimeters)
  Depth:       24 planes

...the above also recorded in /tmp/report-video
# glxgears
38 frames in 5.1 seconds =  7.426 FPS
38 frames in 5.1 seconds =  7.435 FPS
40 frames in 5.2 seconds =  7.687 FPS
39 frames in 5.1 seconds =  7.633 FPS
40 frames in 5.0 seconds =  7.983 FPS
38 frames in 5.0 seconds =  7.599 FPS
40 frames in 5.0 seconds =  7.983 FPS
39 frames in 5.1 seconds =  7.640 FPS
40 frames in 5.0 seconds =  7.980 FPS
39 frames in 5.1 seconds =  7.641 FPS
^C
# ^C


I notice that Partview still shows that I have a 4gb optical drive when in fact I only have a CD rom drive... I am enclosing a screenshot.

Monsie
partview-pp57retro.png
 Description   
 Filesize   11.08 KB
 Viewed   1095 Time(s)

partview-pp57retro.png


_________________
My username is pronounced: "mun-see". Derived from my surname, it was my nickname throughout high school.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rameshiyer

Joined: 17 Sep 2009
Posts: 232
Location: Calicut, Kerala, India

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 01:41    Post subject: Pidgin
Subject description: certification problem
 

I am unable to log into gtalk, Facebook, etc due to authentication problem in Pidgin chat which is integrated into Precise Puppy 5.7.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4781
Location: GB

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 01:58    Post subject:  

Terry/Oscar - did you try swapping around several keyboards yet? I was also reminded that many laptops we import (from China) have a generic k/b designed for the world's largest market and not all respond to the symbols on their keys! [Another black mark against my favourite hate machines!]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Terryphi


Joined: 02 Jul 2008
Posts: 759
Location: West Wales, Britain.

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 03:02    Post subject:  

Sage wrote:
Terry/Oscar - did you try swapping around several keyboards yet?]


Of course not! It is a bug in the OS.

_________________
Classic Opera 12.16 browser SFS package for Precise, Slacko, Racy, Wary, Lucid, Quirky, etc available here Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4781
Location: GB

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 04:17    Post subject:  

Oh yes, but it is also HW dependent.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
L18L

Joined: 19 Jun 2010
Posts: 2505
Location: Burghaslach, Germany somewhere also known as "Hosla"

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 05:39    Post subject: keyboard troubles in X
Subject description: my work around
 

Without X keyboard is working as expected.

So I have put a command to set keyboard mapping in X into Startup directory:
my $HOME/Startup/level3 wrote:
#!/bin/sh
setxkbmap de -option lv3:ralt_switch # @ | ~ \ µ by right Alt key#


Change from de to the language of your keyboard
right Alt switch enables @ and ... see above comment

http://blog.ssokolow.com/archives/2011/12/24/getting-your-way-with-setxkbmap/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 861
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 08:26    Post subject:  

The same keyboard layout bug happens in Pemasu's Upup Raring 3.9.9.1

Does this help us to track it down?

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 08:29    Post subject:  

Very Happy

Using the Precise 5.7
Thought I would run seamonkey as spot

Later on I tried importing my HTML bookmarks

It would not let me.
This is the same thing that happens in Fatdog which also runs the browser as spot

System / Login and Security Manager allows you turn off the 'extra security' of spot - which I don't need and import your bookmarks
I don't use the sync facility . . .

Phew - took me awhile to figure that out . . . Cool

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ASRI éducation


Joined: 09 May 2009
Posts: 2404
Location: France

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 09:32    Post subject:  

@ Barry

I hope my English is understandable (not sure).
I really appreciate the quality of your last Puppy.
I also appreciate your efforts related to the usability of users.
Obviously, I know and I strongly support that Puppy is a small distro.

So, I do not understand the integration of two Internet browsers in the retro release. In my opinion, it gets too big the main sfs file (it denigrates the efforts of thinness).
If you would like to leave the choice to the user, I think it would be better to integrate into the iso file (outside the main sfs), the sfs file browsers. This involves adding a GUI that allows to select and mount the sfs package browser at the first use. This solution also allows more flexibility for updates.
This is obviously only my humble opinion.

Cordialement,

_________________
Projet ASRI éducation => Association | Forum | Dépôt | Espace kids
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 440
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 15:44    Post subject:  

OscarTalks wrote:
The easiest way I have found to reproduce the keyboard layout bug is:-

Restart X Server
Open Geany
Type characters such as @ " # \

Perhaps other UK users at least would be so kind as to try this simple test.


Pfix=ram boot of Precise 5.7 Retro on the Pentium D.

Put usual settings (including UK keyboard) into QuickSetup then restarted X server.

Tried checking keyboard in Geany. Correct characters come up every time, also do in Abiword and Opera.

Maybe the type and connection of the keyboard is significant? The one on the Pentium D is a standard UK layout Genius KB-06X connected directly by PS/2.

_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Pentium D 3.4GHz, 2GB RAM, Radeon X1650 Pro AGP. Slacko 5.7.0 HardInfo Report
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 440
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 15:47    Post subject:  

OscarTalks wrote:
The same keyboard layout bug happens in Pemasu's Upup Raring 3.9.9.1

Does this help us to track it down?


I'll double-check but I'm pretty sure I haven't seen it in that version.

_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Pentium D 3.4GHz, 2GB RAM, Radeon X1650 Pro AGP. Slacko 5.7.0 HardInfo Report
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 25 [368 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 23, 24, 25 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0970s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0078s) ][ GZIP on ]