Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Apr 2014, 05:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise Puppy 5.7.1
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 6 of 25 [362 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, ..., 23, 24, 25 Next
Author Message
tlchost

Joined: 05 Aug 2007
Posts: 1643
Location: Baltimore, Maryland USA

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 16:05    Post subject: Pythom  

Does anyone have a pet or sfs for Python? Apparently its been removed from 5.7 PAE. Installed it via the PPM, but foobnix will not run. Withj a fresh save file I loaded in the dev.sfs and foobnix does run.

Thanks

Thom
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 753
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 17:37    Post subject:  

Jades,
Thanks for giving it a try. I have tested on 4 desktops and 2 laptops of different brands and ages with ps2 keyboards and usb keyboards and it happens in all of them. One thing to remember though is that once you open any app, type something and close that app then the problem temporarily goes away. You have to restart X each time if you are trying different apps.

Hopefully BarryK will investigate when he has time.

As he mentioned, he hasn't altered much that could cause this. I did wonder if it could be related to the new pup_event since that starts when X starts, but I have tested both of 01micko's latest Slacko betas which have the new pup_event and the bug does not happen in those.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 21:42    Post subject: Re: /root/.Xdefaults has an unecpected space.  

cygnus_odile wrote:
Hellow, everyone, and Thanks to Mr Barry K. for your Puppy.
I've been using "Puppy" for long time (about 4yeras), and mainly Japanese edition.

In Recent Precise Puppy's "/root/.Xdefaults" has an unexpected space at the end of line 8.
Code:
Rxvt.keysym.0xFF57: \033[4~


So pushing "END" key causes the Cursor to jump and gives an unexpected space at the end of line, when editing the command line or using a text-editor on Urxvt.

This point is corrected in Precise Puppy 550JP ( Mr. Shinobar's Japanese edition).

Dear Mr.Barry K. please delete it (a space) in .Xdefaults and .Xdefaults.back, in next release.

... ... thank you for reading my post through.


Thanks for that, I have just fixed it in Woof.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 21:46    Post subject: Re: /root/.Xdefaults has an unecpected space.  

Double post.
_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Wed 31 Jul 2013, 22:00    Post subject: Re: Pythom  

tlchost wrote:
Does anyone have a pet or sfs for Python? Apparently its been removed from 5.7 PAE. Installed it via the PPM, but foobnix will not run. Withj a fresh save file I loaded in the dev.sfs and foobnix does run.

Thanks

Thom


Python is in the devx sfs file.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5453
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Thu 01 Aug 2013, 00:26    Post subject:  

For whatever it's worth......
http://distrowatch.com/index.php?dataspan=1
Distrowatch .jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   19.82 KB
 Viewed   753 Time(s)

Distrowatch .jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
simargl

Joined: 11 Feb 2013
Posts: 572

PostPosted: Thu 01 Aug 2013, 03:34    Post subject:  

.
_________________
The Arch Way

Last edited by simargl on Sun 01 Sep 2013, 11:26; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 404
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Thu 01 Aug 2013, 05:30    Post subject:  

OscarTalks wrote:
Jades,
Thanks for giving it a try. I have tested on 4 desktops and 2 laptops of different brands and ages with ps2 keyboards and usb keyboards and it happens in all of them.


Did you start with the keys that are definitely different between the layouts and do just them? I started from the top left and worked right and down (so !"£$%^&).

May not be significant but I have UTF-8 disabled and am using 5.7 Retro.

_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Pentium D 3.4GHz, 2GB RAM, Radeon X1650 Pro AGP. LiveCD of 5.25. HardInfo Report
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
backi

Joined: 27 Feb 2011
Posts: 431
Location: GERMANY

PostPosted: Thu 01 Aug 2013, 06:06    Post subject:  

Hi Folks !

Had keyboardissues too .

After installing langpack from Puppy Packetmanager (in my case german ..de..) .
problems seem solved .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
grump


Joined: 10 Oct 2011
Posts: 90
Location: Melbourne, Oz

PostPosted: Thu 01 Aug 2013, 06:19    Post subject:  

Just upgraded from 5.6.1 to 5.7 (copied the save file first) and it seems to have retained all the settings and apps - except for the desktop image (no problem to reinstate) and more importantly -

- my mouse scroll wheel no longer works. It's a Microsoft cordless mouse that has worked fully in various previous Puppies.

Any suggestions?

Running on a HP Pavilion dm1 4108au laptop.

Edit to add: How do I make the screen fonts a bit smaller? Text under icons in file windows is bigger than with 5.6.1 - jams up against each other.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 3288
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Thu 01 Aug 2013, 06:41    Post subject:  

For the mouse, compare input values between your old xorg.conf and the new one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Thu 01 Aug 2013, 06:52    Post subject:  

I have narrowed down the cause of the non-US keyboard problem, see my blog post:
http://bkhome.org/blog2/?viewDetailed=00340

...in short, it is due to a DEB, we don't know which one.

Regarding the problem with logging into Facebook and Gmail in Pidgin, see my blog post:
http://bkhome.org/blog2/?viewDetailed=00343

...please let me know if you get Pidgin working!

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 404
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Thu 01 Aug 2013, 07:30    Post subject:  

Heh, just realised why I couldn't reproduce the keyboard bug on a pfix=ram boot. After filling in Quicksetup and restarting X-server I set up the network in Frisbee first, copying and pasting the SSID and password and typing the IP addresses, then ran Geany and tried the keyboard thing. Frisbee would therefore be the first app and I didn't restart X-server after the first time.

If I had a brain I'd be dangerous. Embarassed

_________________
Zhaan - AMD K6 2 500, 512MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 VR. Full install Wary 5.5 HardInfo Report
Merlin - Pentium D 3.4GHz, 2GB RAM, Radeon X1650 Pro AGP. LiveCD of 5.25. HardInfo Report

Last edited by Jades on Thu 01 Aug 2013, 07:34; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Jades

Joined: 07 Aug 2010
Posts: 404
Location: Somewhere in Blighty.

PostPosted: Thu 01 Aug 2013, 07:33    Post subject:  

Duplicate post, sorry.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
session


Joined: 07 Feb 2011
Posts: 88
Location: Valley of the Sun

PostPosted: Thu 01 Aug 2013, 08:29    Post subject: Canon iP6000d and Ubuntu Precise  

There is a problem with the Canon PIXMA iP6000d printer using the Gutenprint v5.2.8-pre1 printer library provided in Precise:

https://answers.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/cups/+question/198660
http://forums.linuxmint.com/viewtopic.php?f=51&t=105493
http://forum.ubuntu-fr.org/viewtopic.php?id=1070851

Swapping out print-canon.so from Gutenprint v5.2.9 fixes the problem.

_________________
Primary - Intel Celeron 1.80GHz, 579MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 Pro ULTRA TF. Precise Puppy 5.7.1 Retro full install.
Secondary - Pentium 3 533MHz, 385MB RAM, Matrox MGA-G200 AGP. Precise Puppy 5.7.1 Retro frugal install. (IDE HD is 428 MB!)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 6 of 25 [362 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, ..., 23, 24, 25 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0739s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0079s) ][ GZIP on ]