Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 16 Apr 2014, 14:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise Puppy 5.7.1
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 9 of 25 [361 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, ..., 23, 24, 25 Next
Author Message
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8547
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 02 Aug 2013, 22:10    Post subject:  

If scanimage -L detects the device, then run peasyscan.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2384
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sat 03 Aug 2013, 04:32    Post subject: pnethood-0.7.1  

pnethood-0.7.1.pet
http://shino.pos.to/party/bridge.cgi?puppy/opt/
NOTE: i18n, does not contain nbtscan.

#3aug2013 shinobar: sec=ntlm mount option for recent kernel (gcmartin), fix logging

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=716749#716749

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
cygnus_odile

Joined: 30 Jul 2013
Posts: 6
Location: Tokyo, Japan

PostPosted: Sat 03 Aug 2013, 11:01    Post subject: Re: /root/.Xdefaults has an unecpected space.  

BarryK wrote:
cygnus_odile wrote:
Hellow, everyone, and Thanks to Mr Barry K. for your Puppy.
I've been using "Puppy" for long time (about 4yeras), and mainly Japanese edition.

In Recent Precise Puppy's "/root/.Xdefaults" has an unexpected space at the end of line 8.
Code:
Rxvt.keysym.0xFF57: \033[4~


Thanks for that, I have just fixed it in Woof.


Downloaded precise-5.7.1-retro.iso.

Dear Mr. Barry K.
I'm sorry to tell you that precise-5.7.1's .Xdefaults stiil has an unexpected space at the end of line 8.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4767
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sat 03 Aug 2013, 11:34    Post subject:  

5.7.1 (main - pae) For the record.
Upgrade of FULL from 5.7.0 did not go well. Most things are working from Menu, but all icons are apex-down red triangles with '?' inside, although their legends are correct. Did not respond to alternative icon selection.

Re-install: "Your Seamonkey profile cannot be loaded. It may be missing or inaccessible". Well, that's a new one. Installed 2.19-i486 from PPM. Re-installed it, same error message.

Installed Midori with all it's deps and it sort of works, sufficient to d/l my preferred browser: Opera, which works perfectly. Not really interested in the SM jiggery-pokery, but guess others might be.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 1924
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 03 Aug 2013, 13:12    Post subject: Precise Puppy 5.7.1  

Fresh manual frugal install to the hard drive of a Gateway desktop pc.
video-info-glx 1.5.3 Sat 3 Aug 2013 on Precise Puppy 5.7.1 Linux 3.9.11 i686
0.0 VGA compatible controller:NVIDIA Corporation GF108[GeForce GT 430](reva1)
oem: NVIDIA
product: GF108 Board - 1071v1p1 Chip Rev
X Server: Xorg Driver: nvidia
X.Org version: 1.11.3
dimensions: 1920x1080 pixels (513x292 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce GT 430/PCIe/SSE2/3DNOW!
OpenGL version string: 4.3.0 NVIDIA 319.32
AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 810 Processor
sh-4.1# glxgears
Running synchronized to the vertical refresh. The framerate should be
approximately the same as the monitor refresh rate.
303 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.463 FPS
301 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.002 FPS
301 frames in 5.0 seconds = 60.002 FPS
sh-4.1#

Core 0: @800 1: @800 2: @800 3: @800 MHz
Memory 8311MB (608MB used)
Linksys WUSB54GC v1 802.11g Adapter [Ralink RT73]

I updated pMusic to the newest version but there is still a problem
when running it as spot, I reported the problem to zigbert

peasy_dvd_player-1.1.pet does a fine job of playing dvd movies.
peasyscrn.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   38.93 KB
 Viewed   2386 Time(s)

peasyscrn.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ray MK


Joined: 05 Feb 2008
Posts: 753
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sat 03 Aug 2013, 13:18    Post subject:  

My personal experience when using both flavours of 5.7.1 is that they are both exceptional.
So far, at least for me, the performance, speed, overall ease of use, especially for a new or casual user, is incredibly high - all seems to work as expected OOTB.
Here is a link to a couple of Hinfo reports for those that are interested.
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=87785
and a link to a fast download.
[url]http://ftp.nluug.nl/ftp/pub/os/Linux/distr/quirky/precise-5.7.1/[/url]

_________________
Acer 243LC laptop. 384mb ram. 2.5Ghz Celeron proc. 30gb hdd. pcmcia Wifi card. Asus 701SD. 512mb ram. 8gb SSD. IBM A21m laptop. 192mb ram. PIII Coppermine proc. IBMX60 T2400 1.8Ghz proc. 2gig ram. 80gb hdd.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1272
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Sat 03 Aug 2013, 14:58    Post subject: wifi blocked "feature"  

With my Broadcom 4312 wifi....
Precise 5.7.1 k3.9.11 exhibits the wifi blocked on boot "feature" - shared with Slacko 5.5.71 k3.10.1 - necessitates adding "rfkill unblock wlan" to /etc/rc.d/rc.local

_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3248
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Sat 03 Aug 2013, 16:09    Post subject:  

I made a CD-RW using Precise-5.7.1.iso.
Then made another with the isolinux.cfg edited to change to pmedia=ataflash.
Booted that using my previous precisesave for Precise-5.6.1 [the 5.6.1 CD also used pmedia=ataflash].
Gave it the go-ahead to update the precisesave.
That worked just fine.
The only thing I had to do, was to re-make the changes in the rc.shutdown file, so that I'd be asked whether I wanted "to save or not to save" with the default as "Not save...".

I'm using it right now whilst typing this. Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
session


Joined: 07 Feb 2011
Posts: 87
Location: Valley of the Sun

PostPosted: Sat 03 Aug 2013, 17:52    Post subject:  

Sage wrote:
5.7.1 (main - pae) For the record.
Upgrade of FULL from 5.7.0 did not go well. Most things are working from Menu, but all icons are apex-down red triangles with '?' inside, although their legends are correct. Did not respond to alternative icon selection.

Yes, full installation with Precise 5.7 is a bit off. For one thing, the universal installer insisted on seeing an existing puppy installation when I was installing to a completely empty ext2 partition.

Unrelated, I finally got around to trying Jemimah's Frisbee network manager and it's quite excellent.
capture-precise195.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   54.04 KB
 Viewed   2262 Time(s)

capture-precise195.jpg


_________________
Primary - Intel Celeron 1.80GHz, 579MB RAM, ATI Rage 128 Pro ULTRA TF. Precise Puppy 5.7.1 Retro full install.
Secondary - Pentium 3 533MHz, 385MB RAM, Matrox MGA-G200 AGP. Precise Puppy 5.7.1 Retro frugal install. (IDE HD is 428 MB!)

Last edited by session on Sat 03 Aug 2013, 18:27; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2445
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sat 03 Aug 2013, 18:06    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
If scanimage -L detects the device, then run peasyscan.
Xsane works properly with a new installation of Precise Puppy 5.7.1 so something has changed since 5.7. I will also give peasyscan a try.

The latest version still has a problem mounting an ntfs partition read/write.

Regards,
Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bark_bark_bark

Joined: 05 Jun 2012
Posts: 697
Location: USA

PostPosted: Sat 03 Aug 2013, 20:02    Post subject:  

Precise Puppy 5.7.1 works great, so far I have touched the ppm, seamonkey, and Psync along with a couple other stuff.

PPM works fine in precise 571. The PPM in 561 wasn't able to update repos ootb, so very nice.

Some things have trouble fitting on the screen correctly for me (the text kind of got squashed together up).

The 78dpi to 96dpi change makes my screen look like a widescreen version of 640x480.

BTW, my screen resolution is 1024x600.

_________________
Desktop: Intel 945PSN Board, 3.2Ghz P-IV "Prescott 2M", 2GB RAM, 160GB WD HDD, Windows 7
Netbook: Acer AOD257 with 2GB upgrade, No OS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5432
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 03 Aug 2013, 21:34    Post subject:  

Today's possibly meaningless Distrowatch ranking....
http://distrowatch.com/
08032013.JPG
 Description   
 Filesize   26.79 KB
 Viewed   2180 Time(s)

08032013.JPG

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5432
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 04 Aug 2013, 00:50    Post subject:  

Fresh manual frugal install of 5.7.1 Retro on the Athlon XP box....... all looking good so far.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ASRI éducation


Joined: 09 May 2009
Posts: 2196
Location: France

PostPosted: Sun 04 Aug 2013, 04:48    Post subject:  

From a version 5.7, the update proposed by the PPM is offered at the first start.
Thank you Barry!

_________________
Projet ASRI éducation => Association | Forum | Dépôt | Espace kids
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 1924
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 04 Aug 2013, 05:21    Post subject: Precise Puppy 5.7.1  

Manual frugal install to an 8gb SDHC card, computer is an Acer Aspire
One 721-3801 netbook.
video-info-glx 1.5.3 Sun 4 Aug 2013 on Precise Puppy 5.7.1 Linux 3.2.48 i686
5.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD]
nee ATI RS880M [Mobility Radeon HD 4200 Series]
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS
product: RS880M 01.00
X Server: Xorg Driver: fglrx
X.Org version: 1.11.3
dimensions: 2944x1080 pixels (778x285 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: ATI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4200 Series
OpenGL version string: 3.3.11672 Compatibility Profile Context
# glxgears
8021 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1604.132 FPS
8059 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1611.661 FPS
8110 frames in 5.0 seconds = 1621.902 FPS
#
AMD Athlon(tm) II Neo K125 Processor
Core 0: @1695 MHz
Network controller Broadcom Corporation BCM43225 802.11b/g/n (rev 01)

It's working great.
sysinfo.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   132.95 KB
 Viewed   1936 Time(s)

sysinfo.jpg

screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   24.88 KB
 Viewed   2056 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg


Last edited by Billtoo on Sun 04 Aug 2013, 10:15; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 9 of 25 [361 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, ..., 23, 24, 25 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0836s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0080s) ][ GZIP on ]