Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Dec 2014, 03:25
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Precise 561 won't power off
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Ed Howdershelt

Joined: 16 Apr 2011
Posts: 67
Location: Spring Hill, FL

PostPosted: Wed 07 Aug 2013, 10:49    Post_subject:  Precise 561 won't power off  

It's a Dell Inspiron 600m laptop. Puppy 5.6.1 full install in its own partition with a swap partition.
After I'd raved about Puppy for close to a year, she dug this lappie out to have me install Puppy on a dual boot with WinXP.

So... of course the installation went fast and easy and everything worked and she marveled appropriately, then... Embarrassment. Wailing and gnashing of teeth and such.

I hit the power off icon and Puppy said it was shutting down.
The screen didn't change and the power down didn't happen.
After more than a minute, I held the power button to turn the lappie off.

Powering on again went fine, grub came up, choice was made, Puppy booted up. But it was as if it was a brand new install. Set screen res, connect wifi, do firewall, etc. Software I'd installed before wasn't on the menu. Package manager didn't list it as installed, either.
Installed Filezilla, but didn't go through other installs again, just hit the 'off' icon to see if Puppy would shut down properly. Nope. Still hung up on the 'Puppy is shutting down' screen.
Had to use the power button again.

Restart. Booted as before. This time the menu showed Filezilla. I installed some other stuff. All showed up where expected.
Hit the power off icon. Puppy froze at the 'Puppy is shutting down' screen.

Is there a fix for this?
Thanks,
Ed
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
rjbrewer


Joined: 22 Jan 2008
Posts: 4422
Location: merriam, kansas

PostPosted: Wed 07 Aug 2013, 12:32    Post_subject: Re: Precise 561 won't power off  

Ed Howdershelt wrote:
It's a Dell Inspiron 600m laptop.

Restart. Booted as before. This time the menu showed Filezilla. I installed some other stuff. All showed up where expected.
Hit the power off icon. Puppy froze at the 'Puppy is shutting down' screen.

Is there a fix for this?
Thanks,
Ed


On my 700m laptop with a Precise full install, I added "acpi=
force" (no quotes) to the kernel line in boot-grub-menu.lst to
solve the power off or reboot problem.

After the first successful reboot or power off it was no longer
necessary to have that addition to menu.lst.

_________________

Inspiron 700m, Pent.M 1.6Ghz, 1Gb ram.
Msi Wind U100, N270 1.6>2.0Ghz, 1.5Gb ram.
Eeepc 8g 701, 900Mhz, 1Gb ram.
Full installs

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ed Howdershelt

Joined: 16 Apr 2011
Posts: 67
Location: Spring Hill, FL

PostPosted: Wed 07 Aug 2013, 18:33    Post_subject:  

> On my 700m laptop with a Precise full install, I added "acpi=force" (no quotes) to the kernel line in boot-grub-menu.lst to solve the power off or reboot problem.
> After the first successful reboot or power off it was no longer
necessary to have that addition to menu.lst.

Tried putting that here:

# Full installed Linux

title Precise Puppy 5.6.1 (sda2/boot)
uuid 15b13fa1-06a3-4cc0-8340-992b27f7a436
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/sda2 ro acpi=force

Either it didn't work or I got it wrong somehow.
Ed
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
scabz


Joined: 30 Apr 2009
Posts: 317
Location: Tallahassee FL US

PostPosted: Wed 07 Aug 2013, 20:01    Post_subject:  

-- edit nevermind you said full install-- removed post.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message AIM YIM 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0516s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0056s) ][ GZIP on ]