alphaOS [closed]

A home for all kinds of Puppy related projects
Message
Author
watchdog
Posts: 2021
Joined: Fri 28 Sep 2012, 18:04
Location: Italy

Re: Broadcom bcm4313

#641 Post by watchdog »

Scooby wrote: I think the file linux_3.10.3_src.sfs is what you want. check https://sourceforge.net/projects/alphaos/files

The link to it is availible from first post in this thread
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=84870
Many thanks. But I had not success. Doing:

Code: Select all

pacman -S dkms
building the package broadcom-sta-dkms from AUR by

Code: Select all

makepkg --asroot

Code: Select all

ln -s /lib/modules/3.10.3-ALPHAOS/build /usr/lib/modules/3.10.3-ALPHAOS/build

Code: Select all

pacman -U broadcom-sta-dkms-5.100.82.112-6-i686.pkg.tar.xz

Code: Select all

dkms install broadcom-sta/5.100.82.112-6
I have builded a wl.ko. But:

Code: Select all

insmod wl.ko
exits in:

Code: Select all

insmod: ERROR: could not insert module /usr/lib/modules/3.10.3-ALPHAOS/extramodules/wl.ko: Unknown symbol in module
EDIT: solved wireless connection. With BCM4312 ALPHAOS-9.0 works out of the box. I had only to unblock the hardware button with:

Code: Select all

rfkill unblock all
The compiled wl.ko does not work. I tried even to put in /root/.start:

Code: Select all

rmmod b43 &
rmmod ssb &
rmmod bcma &
rmmod wl &
modprobe lib80211 &
modprobe cfg80211 &
insmod /usr/lib/modules/3.10.3-ALPHAOS/extramodules/wl.ko

Scooby
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat 03 Mar 2012, 09:04

#642 Post by Scooby »

wmv files wont play in mplayer.

Tried installing codecs frompackage manager but still refuses to start

any ideas?

simargl

#643 Post by simargl »

That is strange because this is original mplayer2 package from Arch, it should play everything

I've tested and here wmv file plays correctly in gnome-mplayer

watchdog
Posts: 2021
Joined: Fri 28 Sep 2012, 18:04
Location: Italy

Broadcom-sta wl driver

#644 Post by watchdog »

I have found the way to get working the compiled wl.ko driver on my machine. I created a shell script:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh
rmmod b43
rmmod ssb
rmmod bcma
rmmod wl
modprobe lib80211
modprobe cfg80211
insmod /root/my-documents/Downloads/wl.ko
sleep 10
rfkill unblock all
I run the shell script and then the compiled wl driver works. I uploaded the compiled wl.ko:

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B9iMb4U ... sp=sharing

Scooby
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat 03 Mar 2012, 09:04

#645 Post by Scooby »

simargl wrote: I've tested and here wmv file plays correctly in gnome-mplayer
So I fired up my old Window$, which I havent done for months :lol:
The file didnt play there either so I think it was corrupt somehow.

However it was the first of five files and three of the others played fine
in gnome-mplayer but not in smplayer!

I will have to re-download the files

simargl

#646 Post by simargl »

glibc 2.18 is now moved to the core repository, but packages depending directly on glibc,
are not recompiled, one example alsa-lib (See date of last update)
https://www.archlinux.org/packages/extra/i686/alsa-lib/

Reason, GNU C library is backward-compatible, but not forward-compatible.

API changes/compatibility report for the glibc library
http://upstream-tracker.org/versions/glibc.html

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1110 ... s-of-glibc

simargl

#647 Post by simargl »

I just discovered that Arch Rollback Machine site was removed yesterday, and that means
package manager in this system is no more functional on the way it was originally intended

Here is post from Arch Linux Forum,
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php ... 8#p1313328

For now we can only wait and see what will happen, will there be another site with this kind of
service providing fixed date Arch packages, if not this project will need to be closed. I want to
make system based on fixed date, stable, not-rolling Arch packages, if that's not possible
I will not bother with something not good enough.

User avatar
Q5sys
Posts: 1105
Joined: Thu 11 Dec 2008, 19:49
Contact:

#648 Post by Q5sys »

simargl wrote:I just discovered that Arch Rollback Machine site was removed yesterday, and that means
package manager in this system is no more functional on the way it was originally intended

Here is post from Arch Linux Forum,
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php ... 8#p1313328

For now we can only wait and see what will happen, will there be another site with this kind of
service providing fixed date Arch packages, if not this project will need to be closed. I want to
make system based on fixed date, stable, not-rolling Arch packages, if that's not possible
I will not bother with something not good enough.
How much space/bandwidth would you need to host a local copy that your satisfied with? I realize it'd grow over time, but what do you think it'd take to start?
Depending on the amount... I may be able to help out.

simargl

#649 Post by simargl »

I don't know about size, but on Wiki they mention 20GB for packages as of July 2010,
divide that by 2 because we don't use 64-bit packages, than add couple of GB for packages
size increase over time..

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/De ... irror_size

My first thought was to ask permission on sourceforge to upload whole Arch repository there,
then I realized even if then approved it, my upload speed is not enough for that repository size.
Second idea is to re-base this on Frugalware or even Slitaz, but Frugalware adds useless
dependencies, they distribute system as DVD and don't care about iso size. Slitaz is nice and
small, but doesn't have KDE and Gnome applications.

Q5sys thank you for your offer, better we'll wait some more time, some of Arch users may be
interested in continuing ARM project.
---
How To fix pacman's mirror list after http://arm.konnichi.com was removed

1. go to https://www.archlinux.org/packages/core ... irrorlist/
2. download package
3. click to extract
4. open file mirrorlist
5. uncomment mirror that is close to your location
6. overwrite /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist with this file
7. type pacman -Sy

Scooby
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat 03 Mar 2012, 09:04

#650 Post by Scooby »

simargl wrote: Second idea is to re-base this on Frugalware or even Slitaz
Dont like the sound of that, I like the archbase.

But lets see wots coming, no haste right?

Your mirror solution will turn this into roll release?

simargl

#651 Post by simargl »

Yes, that will sync repository to official Arch Mirror and temporary will turn this system to rolling release model

With frugal installation and recent glibc upgrade, I can't recommend this solutions as stable for some longer period of time

User avatar
Marv
Posts: 1264
Joined: Wed 04 May 2005, 13:47
Location: SW Wisconsin

On a brighter note...

#652 Post by Marv »

I'd been battling wireless connections with 8.0 and 9.0. I could connect easily but dhcpcd failed to obtain a lease or DNS servers. Router was an older actiontec ipv4 unit and failed to respond to disovery packets no matter what I did with ipv6/ipv4 both in the kernel and in dhcpcd.conf. Other pups were ok with it. Replaced the router with an upvel 344AN4G+ ipv6 adsl2 wireless (very inexpensive but seems solid and very flexible so far).
Problems gone. Perfect frisbee connections. So it was an ipv4/ipv6 compatibility issue and I can now use/work on 9.0. Hope the Arch issue is resolved as the Openbox/Spacefm/Arch combo works very well for me.
Pups currently in kennel :D Older LxPupSc and X-slacko-4.4 for my users; LxPupSc, LxPupSc64 and upupEF for me. All good pups indeed, and all running savefiles for look'n'feel only. Browsers, etc. solely from SFS.

Scooby
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat 03 Mar 2012, 09:04

#653 Post by Scooby »

A weird problem arose?

Firefox dont want to connect, says no internet connection?
Didn' t tinker with it or nothing.


Internet connection works well with torbrowser though.

What could this be?

*edit*

Tried pacman mirror thingy
No swedish hosts could be resolved, that cant be right

Dumping savefile and trying again

**edit**
And of course that works

Luckily I have my automated install script that sets up Alphaos to my requirements
Found a few shortcomings in it though

smil99
Posts: 174
Joined: Sat 18 Aug 2007, 22:12

#654 Post by smil99 »

simargl wrote:
I just discovered that Arch Rollback Machine site was removed ...For now we can only wait and see what will happen, will there be another site with this kind of service providing fixed date Arch packages, if not this project will need to be closed.
Man, this is bad news :shock: I wish a lasting workaround will be found soon.
Cheers.
[b][color=green]Success is never ending. ... Failure is never final![/color][/b]
[size=75][i](Used with kind permission from jejy69)[/i][/size]

Scooby
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat 03 Mar 2012, 09:04

#655 Post by Scooby »

simargl wrote: With frugal installation and recent glibc upgrade, I can't recommend this solutions as stable for some longer period of time
simargl8 you know I'm a windows convert, can you explain the above to me?
Why will it not be stable?



secondly:

Why would a rolling release model be such a bad idea for you?

simargl

#656 Post by simargl »

I first tried Linux (Slax) in 2010, while searching for portable Windows in Google it listed Slax site among results, so I'm also not long time Linux user. But still I'll try to explain how I see it this glibc version problem. Why it's not possible or wise to have rolling-release in frugal installation? In arch /lib directory is removed completely, they don't need separate /lib and /usr/lib with systemd, but in Puppy they need to be separated because during boot /bin folder is mounted first and all the binaries from there must have required libraries in /lib, not /usr/lib because that one is not mounted in early boot stage. So libc-2.17.so and other main libraries required in this stage are moved to /lib with my build script, and now for pacman is impossible to upgrade glibc, because it will install newer glibc-2.18 to /usr/lib, but you will still have 2.17 in /lib, and since /lib folder has higher priority than /usr/lib libc-2.17 will again be loaded. And then you'll have problem if program is compiled with glibc-2.18, it may refuse to work because glibc is not forward compatible.

Scooby
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat 03 Mar 2012, 09:04

#657 Post by Scooby »

I'm not the sharpest programmer tool in the shed but to me it seems fixable?
Can you not mount /usr/ib instead of lib in early bootstage?

Can you not upgrade to glibc 2.18?

simargl

#658 Post by simargl »

I think it's ugly to have one version of a library in sfs module, and newer version in savefile,
so I don't think there is anything to fix, it works fine, but only needs fixed date packages.

To change base distribution for Slitaz is not possible at the moment, because their stable release is
too old now //kernel-2.6.37, don't have gtk3 in the repos etc.//http://pkgs.slitaz.org/search.sh?receip ... ion=stable

Scooby
Posts: 599
Joined: Sat 03 Mar 2012, 09:04

#659 Post by Scooby »

simargl wrote:I think it's ugly to have one version of a library in sfs module, and newer version in savefile,
so I don't think there is anything to fix, it works fine, but only needs fixed date packages.
So change lib in sfs to newer?

Or is it more a question of personal taste then?

Are you serious about changing base-distro,
if so can you teach me how to build ArchPuppy with arch?

simargl

#660 Post by simargl »

I made tutorial "Build an alphaOS system from scratch", but it's now good for nothing after A.R.M is closed... And I will not change base to Slitaz, Frugalware, or rolling Arch version, in case that there is no new A.R.M service in the future, I would probably download Archbang iso, install and use that one instead.

Post Reply