Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 30 Aug 2014, 16:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Can HD Chubby Puppy run from RAM like CD Puppy?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
EarlSmith

Joined: 05 May 2005
Posts: 197
Location: Chelsea, Alabama, USA

PostPosted: Wed 20 Jul 2005, 01:40    Post_subject:  Can HD Chubby Puppy run from RAM like CD Puppy?  

I just installed Chubby Puppy to HD and everything went without trouble. Even Grub installed easily. Two questions.
With everything on HD, is the ramdisk no longer used?
Would it be possible to load everything into ram just as we do with CD? Since HD is faster than CD, the loading of ram would be faster than with CD.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Freedom


Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jul 2005, 19:23    Post_subject: Re: Can HD Chubby Puppy run from RAM like CD Puppy?  

EarlSmith wrote:
I just installed Chubby Puppy to HD and everything went without trouble. Even Grub installed easily. Two questions.
With everything on HD, is the ramdisk no longer used?
Would it be possible to load everything into ram just as we do with CD? Since HD is faster than CD, the loading of ram would be faster than with CD.


Forgive me for asking possibly a very obvious question, but what is chubby puppy?

_________________
www.gnu.org
www.PCCleanUp.US
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7047
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sat 23 Jul 2005, 20:23    Post_subject: Re: Can HD Chubby Puppy run from RAM like CD Puppy?  

Freedom wrote:

Forgive me for asking possibly a very obvious question, but what is chubby puppy?


Freedom,
You need to read the News page, Chubby is announced, 19th July.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4765
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jul 2005, 00:08    Post_subject: Good question  

A good question. It seems to be a choice between using Puppy from (1) live CD, or (2) hard disk (a Linux install). Let me try listing what one does to get into each choice:

LIVE CD - Run from CD or install to a FAT partition (Puppy loads to RAM)

HARD DISK - Install Puppy to a Linux partition (Puppy does not load to RAM???)

Now Barry is working on another config that saves work in RAM and all changes to a flash drive at shutdown.

Given version 1.04, which one would you recommend to speed this up: "load everything into ram just as we do with CD"?

_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Flash
Official Dog Handler


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 11031
Location: Arizona USA

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jul 2005, 00:40    Post_subject: Re: Can HD Chubby Puppy run from RAM like CD Puppy?  

Freedom wrote:
Forgive me for asking possibly a very obvious question, but what is chubby puppy?
See Barry's News page; also Lobster's post, for a link to the Puppy104 Wiki page.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Freedom


Joined: 17 Jul 2005
Posts: 30

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jul 2005, 16:09    Post_subject: Re: Can HD Chubby Puppy run from RAM like CD Puppy?  

BarryK wrote:
Freedom wrote:

Forgive me for asking possibly a very obvious question, but what is chubby puppy?


Freedom,
You need to read the News page, Chubby is announced, 19th July.


LOL Good one Very Happy

Thanks to all for the answers. I see now what it is. I will have to try it since I am partial to OO.o.

_________________
www.gnu.org
www.PCCleanUp.US
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Lobster
Official Crustacean


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 15117
Location: Paradox Realm

PostPosted: Sun 24 Jul 2005, 23:13    Post_subject: Re: Good question  

raffy wrote:


LIVE CD - Run from CD or install to a FAT partition (Puppy loads to RAM)

HARD DISK - Install Puppy to a Linux partition (Puppy does not load to RAM???)


The CD is bootted up and Puppy goes into Ram
The HD is booted and Puppy goes into Ram

Puppy always runs in and from RAM - Barry has a page on his website: How Puppy works,

If there is insufficient memory THEN Puppy will run partly from a HD swap file.
This is why even though you may have 64 meg Ram (sufficient to load Standard Puppy) 128 meg is better as it leaves rooms for files and add ons
etc.

Knoppix swaps from CD into ram and then runs. It is slow because programs have to be found on the CD, pulled off it and loaded into Ram. In a similar most distros have to take their running programs from HD into ram.

Because Puppy programs are small, this is unneccessary.

We do not look for small efficient programs for any other reason.

When I first found working Linux desktop distros, I found something working differently but certainly not any faster than Windows for most practical tasks.

Puppy worked in a way I was reasonably familiar with and a lot faster. It is Linux the way it should be (or rather the way I expected)

Smile

_________________
Puppy WIKI
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0593s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0038s) ][ GZIP on ]