Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 20 Dec 2014, 09:51
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Xwin won't start
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Author Message
krt723

Joined: 05 Sep 2013
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri 06 Sep 2013, 01:09    Post subject:  Xwin won't start  

I was investigating the remove installed program feature as part of remastering the CD and it's possible I "hid" a vital video file.

When I boot Puppy 5.7.1 everything proceeds normally until it tries to load the desktop and then it crashes to the prompt. I run the Xorgwizard but the auto probe fails. No matter what selection I chose manually it always crashes right back to the prompt.

I ran video-report and it shows no video at all. It says the Xwin wants to load file "dbe" (modules requested to be loaded) but also shows its not loaded (modules loaded is blank).

So I guess that maybe I removed ("hid") DBE by accident(?)

Any thoughts? Is there some way to "unhide" the files since they are not actually removed?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 9034

PostPosted: Fri 06 Sep 2013, 07:11    Post subject:  

The files are hidden by .wh.blah files you will find in /initrd/pup_rw or if its on flash look in /initrd/pup_ro1

As far as I know dbe is not essential so Xorg may be blocked in other ways ( as stuck xauth for example)..so look at any other X like files that have appeared

/var/log/Xorg.log might give more clues

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5493
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Fri 06 Sep 2013, 09:09    Post subject:  

How is Puppy installed?
Full
frugal
live CD
USB flash drive

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
krt723

Joined: 05 Sep 2013
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sat 07 Sep 2013, 20:47    Post subject:  

I'm running puppy from a persistent VHD in VirtualBox, frugal install.

The only subdirectory that had anything in it was /initrd/pup_r02 but I could not find any files with the file extension you indicated either by using the ls -a command or by using the find command.

/var/log/Xorg.log

That file does not exist in that subdirectory.

the entire message I am getting is "Starting X, specs in (subdirectory), startup apps (subdirectory)"

It then runs for awhile and the next message is

"exited from X. To restart X type Xwin"
"If X filed to start run Xorgwizard."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 9034

PostPosted: Sun 08 Sep 2013, 06:31    Post subject:  

ok if its a virtual box problem i would get searching on here for threads mentioning virtualbox problems...I have seen a few in passing

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7841
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 08 Sep 2013, 06:43    Post subject:  

I suspect you did a remaster on real hardware and are trying to boot the result on VBox.

2c

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
krt723

Joined: 05 Sep 2013
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun 08 Sep 2013, 19:15    Post subject:  

It is not a virtual box issue. I have several other copies of puppy running in virtual boxes on the same machine all without issue. Nor have I ever remastered the CD. Puppy was running in the VB without issue until I started playing with the remove programs tool.

edit: I just wanted to add that I appreciate people's help. I've actually moved on from the topic. I just deleted that VM and made a new one, no biggie. It why I use VMs.

In total, I am really impressed with Puppy. I wish it were a little more minimal but its works really well out of the box and other than this hiccup I have had no issues customizing it to my liking.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 9034

PostPosted: Mon 09 Sep 2013, 06:28    Post subject:  

The plot was lost and your idea to seek out and destroy whiteout files was probably the cure....

The best removal tool is you + experience. Trimming the puppy fat is a good move...they seem to be very fat now..I am used to ones under 100MB

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [8 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0529s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0041s) ][ GZIP on ]