Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 02 Sep 2014, 22:57
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Modern PAE-Puppys and Centrino / Pentium M
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
antilet

Joined: 17 Aug 2012
Posts: 169

PostPosted: Fri 06 Sep 2013, 03:32    Post subject:  Modern PAE-Puppys and Centrino / Pentium M
Subject description: To PAE or not to PAE - that is the question here
 

Intel Centrinos / Pentium M CPUs don't show propper their capability for PAE. So for (*)ubuntu and debian there is a workaround to install PAE kernels on those machines. The workaround is built in a .deb package, which can be installed.

But is it possible to patch Puppy-Isos or Live-Media for use with puppy?

_________________
Toshiba Satallite M30X-124 | ATI Mobility Radeon 9700 | Intel PRO/Wireless 2200BG
Most Linux need special boot options to boot on this laptop: i8042.nomux=1 highres=off nohz=off irqpoll

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
p310don

Joined: 19 May 2009
Posts: 699
Location: Brisbane, Australia

PostPosted: Fri 06 Sep 2013, 18:00    Post subject:  

I'm not sure about a work around for Puppy to use PAE on a non-pae machine. Which Puppy are you wanting to use? Most puppies that offer PAE also offer a non PAE variant. That seems like the better way to go.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
antilet

Joined: 17 Aug 2012
Posts: 169

PostPosted: Sat 07 Sep 2013, 07:51    Post subject:  

Is'nt it only a question of time? Am I wrong or is precise the last *buntu with pae-Support?
_________________
Toshiba Satallite M30X-124 | ATI Mobility Radeon 9700 | Intel PRO/Wireless 2200BG
Most Linux need special boot options to boot on this laptop: i8042.nomux=1 highres=off nohz=off irqpoll

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3964
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sat 07 Sep 2013, 13:49    Post subject:  

http://ppa.launchpad.net/prof7bit/fake-pae/ubuntu/pool/main/f/fake-pae/ tar.gz
Code:
description   "patch /proc/cpuinfo to add missing pae flag"
author      "Bernd Kreuss"

start on runlevel [12345]
stop on runlevel [!12345]

pre-start script
   if grep -q " pae " /proc/cpuinfo ; then
      echo "This CPU already has the pae flag, doing nothing"
   else
      cat /proc/cpuinfo | sed 's/flags\t*:/& pae/' > /tmp/cpuinfo_pae
      mount -o bind /tmp/cpuinfo_pae /proc/cpuinfo
      mount -o remount,ro,bind /proc/cpuinfo
   fi
end script

post-stop script
   if grep -q "/tmp/cpuinfo_pae" /etc/mtab ; then
      umount /tmp/cpuinfo_pae
      rm /tmp/cpuinfo_pae
   fi
end script

Seems a bit of hokuspokus to me, needs to be inside /init , /sbin/init or /etc/rc.d/rc.sysinit to mount the /proc/cpuinfo read-only into /tmp and then rc.shutdown might need the unmount part .

In full installs you can simply add older kernels in /lib/modules .
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
antilet

Joined: 17 Aug 2012
Posts: 169

PostPosted: Sat 07 Sep 2013, 14:37    Post subject:  

Is this all what's in the dep-package?
AFAIK the CPUs have PAE but the flag ist not set.
So a little bit hokuspokus - jiggery-pokery will do the trick

_________________
Toshiba Satallite M30X-124 | ATI Mobility Radeon 9700 | Intel PRO/Wireless 2200BG
Most Linux need special boot options to boot on this laptop: i8042.nomux=1 highres=off nohz=off irqpoll

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4238
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Sat 07 Sep 2013, 20:45    Post subject:  

As I understand it, Intel, in manufacture, did not expose this CPU feature by hiding the flag. Exposing the CPU flag allows the booting OSes to make use of the CPU feature.

Seen this done one other time by them, years ago. Forgot, though, which product they did similar. Idea

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3964
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sat 07 Sep 2013, 21:27    Post subject:  

I can only imagine that changes to the /proc/cpuinfo file might work if that file is polled regularly .
Why should something poll that file ?

It is possible to configure the kernel with all kinds of hotplug support .
Configured to support hotplug of cpus would make sense that the kernel itself polls and updates that file regularly .

# grep -i hotplug /etc/modules/DOTconfig-3.2.29
CONFIG_HOTPLUG=y
CONFIG_HOTPLUG_CPU=y
CONFIG_ARCH_ENABLE_MEMORY_HOTPLUG=y
CONFIG_ACPI_HOTPLUG_CPU=y
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0616s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0125s) ][ GZIP on ]