Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 31 Oct 2014, 10:29
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Running an application at startup
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Author Message
nic007

Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 742

PostPosted: Tue 10 Sep 2013, 01:55    Post subject:  Running an application at startup  

I want pupdial to run/open automatically at startup. How do I do this? When I start it manually from the shortcut on desktop I can see the process indicated as /bin/bash /usr/sbin/pupdial in running processes. I'm using Puppy 412. Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rg66


Joined: 23 Jul 2012
Posts: 554
Location: Vancouver, BC Canada / Entebbe, Uganda Africa!?!

PostPosted: Tue 10 Sep 2013, 02:08    Post subject:  

Just make a symlink to it in /root/Startup

From command prompt: ln -s /usr/sbin/pupdial /root/Startup

_________________
Carolite-1.2 / Carolina-1.2 / X-precise-2.4 / X-slacko-2.2
Carolina
X-precise/X-slacko
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007

Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 742

PostPosted: Tue 10 Sep 2013, 02:31    Post subject:  

rg66 wrote:
Just make a symlink to it in /root/Startup

From command prompt: ln -s /usr/sbin/pupdial /root/Startup

Thank you for the help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
nic007

Joined: 13 Nov 2011
Posts: 742

PostPosted: Tue 10 Sep 2013, 04:06    Post subject:  

I also want a java application to run automatically at startup. The above procedure does not seem to work for this. When I run it manually, the process is listed as follows in running processes: java -jar /root/microemulator-2.0.4/microemulator.jar
Any ideas? Thanks

Got it figured out. Just made an exec. Script in the Startup folder. It's working and I have learnt a bit, a win win situation. . Cool
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0410s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0036s) ][ GZIP on ]