FatdogArm Alpha [CLOSED]

A home for all kinds of Puppy related projects
Message
Author
User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#61 Post by 01micko »

I'm just wondering why my connection is flakey (wireless on the Pandora) when I connect from the kernel commandline string. Most of the time it doesn't connect at all, with the as mentioned earlier "disassociated" (reason 1) message after it was authenticated. Then when it does connect it only stays up a few minutes and then dies. :?

I made a simple script with the same commands that are in system-init script for wireless, using udhcpc, and it seems to work fine, as long as I kill wpa_supplicant before hand. It's been up a few hours now.

No big deal, just a bit perplexing, for me at least.
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

jamesbond
Posts: 3433
Joined: Mon 26 Feb 2007, 05:02
Location: The Blue Marble

#62 Post by jamesbond »

01micko wrote:I'm just wondering why my connection is flakey (wireless on the Pandora) when I connect from the kernel commandline string. Most of the time it doesn't connect at all, with the as mentioned earlier "disassociated" (reason 1) message after it was authenticated. Then when it does connect it only stays up a few minutes and then dies. :?
Is the wlan0 a module, or do you built it in to the kernel? Either way, sometimes the driver needs more time to initialise (3 seconds of waitdev may not be enough). When you lost the connection does dmesg say anything about it?

Also - if it is certain kind of atheros, you may want to disable hardware encryption ...
I made a simple script with the same commands that are in system-init script for wireless, using udhcpc, and it seems to work fine, as long as I kill wpa_supplicant before hand. It's been up a few hours now.
Alpha2 will feature barebone wireless configuration thanks to Mav's pointer to tinycore's wifi.sh script :)
Fatdog64 forum links: [url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=117546]Latest version[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/ke8sn5H]Contributed packages[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/se8scrb]ISO builder[/url]

User avatar
mavrothal
Posts: 3096
Joined: Mon 24 Aug 2009, 18:23

retrovol-arm

#63 Post by mavrothal »

I can not get the volume panel applet to work in fd-arm, so i compiled retrovo 0.8 and works fine.
Here it is.
Attachments
retrovol-0.8_armv7hl.pet
volume panel applet, compiled for atmv7 with hard FPU
(115.93 KiB) Downloaded 537 times
== [url=http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html]Here is how to solve your[/url] [url=https://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/bugs.html]Linux problems fast[/url] ==

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#64 Post by 01micko »

mavrothal,

I made this insanely simple volume control with the raspberry pi in mind a few months back. Doesn't work on Pandora as alsamixer reports no adjustments :?

Anyway, take a look if you want here.

----------------------
jamesbond wrote:Is the wlan0 a module, or do you built it in to the kernel? Either way, sometimes the driver needs more time to initialise (3 seconds of waitdev may not be enough). When you lost the connection does dmesg say anything about it?
It's a module and I have waitdev=5, but that seems not the problem, I'm sure the device is ready, it's probably crappy code (either driver or firmware.. it is broadcom after all :roll: ).

The error in dmesg I get is that it is all good, associated, then deauthenticated (reason=1) , and this can happen when I try it from my script too. So, it's like I said crappy driver/firmware I believe.
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

User avatar
mavrothal
Posts: 3096
Joined: Mon 24 Aug 2009, 18:23

#65 Post by mavrothal »

01micko wrote: Anyway, take a look if you want here.
Works fine :D
It needs better icons, and 10 more lines of code to update icons with "master" level (a la xo-battery monitor).
Though I can see jamesbond already compiled retrovol-08 for a2 :wink:

BTW have you removed /etc/astate.conf from your build. Iy may cause trouble.

Edit: "funny" spelling :lol:
Last edited by mavrothal on Tue 10 Sep 2013, 15:38, edited 1 time in total.
== [url=http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html]Here is how to solve your[/url] [url=https://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/bugs.html]Linux problems fast[/url] ==

jamesbond
Posts: 3433
Joined: Mon 26 Feb 2007, 05:02
Location: The Blue Marble

#66 Post by jamesbond »

mavrothal wrote:I can not get the volume panel applet to work in fd-arm, so i compiled retrovo 0.8 and works fine.
Here it is.
Neither do I. It's because lxpanel volume applet depends on snd-pcm-oss compatibility module which aren't build for many of the ARM kernels.
mavrothal wrote:Though I can see jamesbond already compiled retrovol-08 for a2 :wink:
No no I didn't compile it. I take your pet, then:

Code: Select all

tar -xf retrovol-0.8_armv7hl.pet
cd retrovol-0.8_armv7hl
mkdir install
slackdesc retrovol 0.8 "(volume mixer)" "ALSA Volume Mixer" > install/slack-desc
makepkg /root/retrovol-0.8-armhf-1.tbz
And we have a package :)
01micko wrote:I'm sure the device is ready, it's probably crappy code (either driver or firmware.. it is broadcom after all Rolling Eyes ).
Broadcom ... that explains :evil:
I made this insanely simple volume control with the raspberry pi in mind a few months back. Doesn't work on Pandora as alsamixer reports no adjustments Confused

Anyway, take a look if you want here.
I grabbed in case I need it later. Alpha2 is almost ready (I've got that SM 2.20 to compile after more than 10 attempts :twisted: ), if you check the tickets section you can see the changes, let me now if there is anything else you want to highlight.

EDIT: I compiled git too. If you want the gitk gui then install tcl/tk.
Fatdog64 forum links: [url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=117546]Latest version[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/ke8sn5H]Contributed packages[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/se8scrb]ISO builder[/url]

User avatar
mavrothal
Posts: 3096
Joined: Mon 24 Aug 2009, 18:23

#67 Post by mavrothal »

jamesbond wrote:
mavrothal wrote:Though I can see jamesbond already compiled retrovol-08 for a2 :wink:
No no I didn't compile it. I take your pet, then:

Code: Select all

tar -xf retrovol-0.8_armv7hl.pet
cd retrovol-0.8_armv7hl
mkdir install
slackdesc retrovol 0.8 "(volume mixer)" "ALSA Volume Mixer" > install/slack-desc
makepkg /root/retrovol-0.8-armhf-1.tbz
And we have a package :)
Good to know. Thx
Hopefully you stripped it.

EDIT: I compiled git too. If you want the gitk gui then install tcl/tk.
Noticed :wink:
I compile xserver 1.14-master now. It compiled OK (!) according to the BLFS instructions (not patched), tough saving to the save file in the stick I got ext4 errors so I recompile now.
BTW the resize savefile utility defaults to "fd64save.ext4" :wink:
== [url=http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html]Here is how to solve your[/url] [url=https://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/bugs.html]Linux problems fast[/url] ==

jamesbond
Posts: 3433
Joined: Mon 26 Feb 2007, 05:02
Location: The Blue Marble

#68 Post by jamesbond »

mavrothal wrote: Good to know. Thx
Hopefully you stripped it.
I did, I just forgot to mention it.
I compile xserver 1.14-master now. It compiled OK (!)
Let's see if it fix the problem ... Now that SM fight is over, I'm going to do a lot readings now to get up to speed to XO details.
BTW the resize savefile utility defaults to "fd64save.ext4" :wink:
Fixed, thanks.
Fatdog64 forum links: [url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=117546]Latest version[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/ke8sn5H]Contributed packages[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/se8scrb]ISO builder[/url]

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#69 Post by 01micko »

mavrothal wrote: Works fine :D
It needs better icons, and 10 more lines of code to update icons with "master" level (a la xo-battery monitor).
Yeah I guess, then that would make a "status" icon :lol: , but then I have to poll the sound state, removing the simplicity! I did say it was insane. :wink:
mavrothal wrote: BTW have you removed /etc/astate.conf from your build. Iy may cause trouble.
Yes (/etc/asound.conf).

Pandora has an analog physical volume wheel, may even be an analog pot! I'm not going to pull it apart to find out. I suppose this is easier given the intended audience is gamers.
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

starhawk
Posts: 4906
Joined: Mon 22 Nov 2010, 06:04
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

#70 Post by starhawk »

jamesbond, I've sent you a PM with a request -- I didn't want to clutter the thread with it, hence the PM.

Just letting you know.

User avatar
01micko
Posts: 8741
Joined: Sat 11 Oct 2008, 13:39
Location: qld
Contact:

#71 Post by 01micko »

I'm just posting this here because FD-Arm is using pkgtools and slapt-get for package management. I don't advise using it unless you are a developer. It may come in handy for jamesbond and mavrothal, possibly others until they become comfortable with pkgtools..

Code: Select all

# pet2txz -h
You must be root
root you are then..
Usage:
pet2txz somepet.pet -- produces a Slackware .txz file.
pet2txz somepet.pet -b -- produces .tbz instead of default .txz
pet2txz somepet.pet -g -- produces .tgz instead of default .txz
pet2txz somepet.pet -x=<build> 
-- produces build num or description instead of default PET.
No spaces, alpha-numeric chars only.
pet2txz somepet.pet -d -- pauses the script to put in a verbose description. 
pet2txz somepet.pet -x=<arch> 
-- the script tries to get the architecture however
you can overide this, eg: "armhf", "i686"
pet2txz -v -- states version
pet2txz -h -- shows this help
Note that I left out .tlz.

Damn! Stupid forum won't allow .tgz, oh well I gzipped the .tbz version!

EDIT
Damn #2.. found a "feature" (read "bug") .. arch parameter was failing, fixed after 2 downloads, grab it again!

Here is an example on the commandline:

Code: Select all

pet2txz wpasupplicant-0.1.pet -g -a=armv7
makes a tgz, the arch is guessed broadly by the script as "arm" (and succeeds) but the -a param allows for fine tuning of the arch, same can be done with "i686" as the default is i486
Attachments
pet2txz-0.4-noarch-PET.tbz.gz
gunzip please. :/
(2.66 KiB) Downloaded 548 times
Puppy Linux Blog - contact me for access

jamesbond
Posts: 3433
Joined: Mon 26 Feb 2007, 05:02
Location: The Blue Marble

#72 Post by jamesbond »

01micko wrote:I'm just posting this here because FD-Arm is using pkgtools and slapt-get for package management. I don't advise using it unless you are a developer. It may come in handy for jamesbond and mavrothal, possibly others until they become comfortable with pkgtools..
Thanks Mick, I'll definitely throw this in for the next release.

One of the reasons I avoid PET packages is that I don't want people to download PETs from this forum and try to run it on FatdogArm (we had enough of that problems in Fatdog64 when we started ... :wink: )

FatdogArm has a bunch of package-making tools, other than pkgtools I also use paco. Combined together they are (I think) better than new2dir/dir2pet and friends. Pkgtools also makes it easy to add packages off-line (e.g. adding a new packages into an exploded squashfs-root - so one can easily "remaster" the base SFS). I really need to document that process later - perhaps in the article about FatdogArm adoption.

By the way, Alpha2 is released, release notes is here: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=88719

cheers!
Fatdog64 forum links: [url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=117546]Latest version[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/ke8sn5H]Contributed packages[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/se8scrb]ISO builder[/url]

Post Reply