Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 23 Apr 2014, 03:04
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
FatdogArm Alpha [CLOSED]
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 5 [72 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Author Message
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 08 Sep 2013, 21:54    Post subject:  

I'm just wondering why my connection is flakey (wireless on the Pandora) when I connect from the kernel commandline string. Most of the time it doesn't connect at all, with the as mentioned earlier "disassociated" (reason 1) message after it was authenticated. Then when it does connect it only stays up a few minutes and then dies. Confused

I made a simple script with the same commands that are in system-init script for wireless, using udhcpc, and it seems to work fine, as long as I kill wpa_supplicant before hand. It's been up a few hours now.

No big deal, just a bit perplexing, for me at least.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 1877
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Mon 09 Sep 2013, 13:37    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
I'm just wondering why my connection is flakey (wireless on the Pandora) when I connect from the kernel commandline string. Most of the time it doesn't connect at all, with the as mentioned earlier "disassociated" (reason 1) message after it was authenticated. Then when it does connect it only stays up a few minutes and then dies. Confused

Is the wlan0 a module, or do you built it in to the kernel? Either way, sometimes the driver needs more time to initialise (3 seconds of waitdev may not be enough). When you lost the connection does dmesg say anything about it?

Also - if it is certain kind of atheros, you may want to disable hardware encryption ...

Quote:
I made a simple script with the same commands that are in system-init script for wireless, using udhcpc, and it seems to work fine, as long as I kill wpa_supplicant before hand. It's been up a few hours now.
Alpha2 will feature barebone wireless configuration thanks to Mav's pointer to tinycore's wifi.sh script Smile
_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1386

PostPosted: Tue 10 Sep 2013, 02:10    Post subject: retrovol-arm  

I can not get the volume panel applet to work in fd-arm, so i compiled retrovo 0.8 and works fine.
Here it is.
retrovol-0.8_armv7hl.pet
Description  volume panel applet, compiled for atmv7 with hard FPU
pet

 Download 
Filename  retrovol-0.8_armv7hl.pet 
Filesize  115.93 KB 
Downloaded  72 Time(s) 

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Tue 10 Sep 2013, 05:21    Post subject:  

mavrothal,

I made this insanely simple volume control with the raspberry pi in mind a few months back. Doesn't work on Pandora as alsamixer reports no adjustments Confused

Anyway, take a look if you want here.

----------------------

jamesbond wrote:
Is the wlan0 a module, or do you built it in to the kernel? Either way, sometimes the driver needs more time to initialise (3 seconds of waitdev may not be enough). When you lost the connection does dmesg say anything about it?

It's a module and I have waitdev=5, but that seems not the problem, I'm sure the device is ready, it's probably crappy code (either driver or firmware.. it is broadcom after all Rolling Eyes ).

The error in dmesg I get is that it is all good, associated, then deauthenticated (reason=1) , and this can happen when I try it from my script too. So, it's like I said crappy driver/firmware I believe.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1386

PostPosted: Tue 10 Sep 2013, 09:40    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:

Anyway, take a look if you want here.

Works fine Very Happy
It needs better icons, and 10 more lines of code to update icons with "master" level (a la xo-battery monitor).
Though I can see jamesbond already compiled retrovol-08 for a2 Wink

BTW have you removed /etc/astate.conf from your build. Iy may cause trouble.

Edit: "funny" spelling Laughing

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy

Last edited by mavrothal on Tue 10 Sep 2013, 11:38; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 1877
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Tue 10 Sep 2013, 11:07    Post subject:  

mavrothal wrote:
I can not get the volume panel applet to work in fd-arm, so i compiled retrovo 0.8 and works fine.
Here it is.
Neither do I. It's because lxpanel volume applet depends on snd-pcm-oss compatibility module which aren't build for many of the ARM kernels.

mavrothal wrote:
Though I can see jamesbond already compiled retrovol-08 for a2 Wink

No no I didn't compile it. I take your pet, then:
Code:

tar -xf retrovol-0.8_armv7hl.pet
cd retrovol-0.8_armv7hl
mkdir install
slackdesc retrovol 0.8 "(volume mixer)" "ALSA Volume Mixer" > install/slack-desc
makepkg /root/retrovol-0.8-armhf-1.tbz

And we have a package Smile

01micko wrote:
I'm sure the device is ready, it's probably crappy code (either driver or firmware.. it is broadcom after all Rolling Eyes ).
Broadcom ... that explains Evil or Very Mad

Quote:
I made this insanely simple volume control with the raspberry pi in mind a few months back. Doesn't work on Pandora as alsamixer reports no adjustments Confused

Anyway, take a look if you want here.
I grabbed in case I need it later. Alpha2 is almost ready (I've got that SM 2.20 to compile after more than 10 attempts Twisted Evil ), if you check the tickets section you can see the changes, let me now if there is anything else you want to highlight.

EDIT: I compiled git too. If you want the gitk gui then install tcl/tk.

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mavrothal


Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 1386

PostPosted: Tue 10 Sep 2013, 11:50    Post subject:  

jamesbond wrote:

mavrothal wrote:
Though I can see jamesbond already compiled retrovol-08 for a2 Wink

No no I didn't compile it. I take your pet, then:
Code:

tar -xf retrovol-0.8_armv7hl.pet
cd retrovol-0.8_armv7hl
mkdir install
slackdesc retrovol 0.8 "(volume mixer)" "ALSA Volume Mixer" > install/slack-desc
makepkg /root/retrovol-0.8-armhf-1.tbz

And we have a package Smile

Good to know. Thx
Hopefully you stripped it.


Quote:
EDIT: I compiled git too. If you want the gitk gui then install tcl/tk.

Noticed Wink
I compile xserver 1.14-master now. It compiled OK (!) according to the BLFS instructions (not patched), tough saving to the save file in the stick I got ext4 errors so I recompile now.
BTW the resize savefile utility defaults to "fd64save.ext4" Wink

_________________
Kids all over the world go around with an XO laptop. They deserve one puppy (or many) too Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 1877
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Tue 10 Sep 2013, 12:42    Post subject:  

mavrothal wrote:

Good to know. Thx
Hopefully you stripped it.
I did, I just forgot to mention it.

Quote:
I compile xserver 1.14-master now. It compiled OK (!)

Let's see if it fix the problem ... Now that SM fight is over, I'm going to do a lot readings now to get up to speed to XO details.

Quote:
BTW the resize savefile utility defaults to "fd64save.ext4" Wink
Fixed, thanks.
_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Tue 10 Sep 2013, 18:23    Post subject:  

mavrothal wrote:

Works fine Very Happy
It needs better icons, and 10 more lines of code to update icons with "master" level (a la xo-battery monitor).

Yeah I guess, then that would make a "status" icon Laughing , but then I have to poll the sound state, removing the simplicity! I did say it was insane. Wink

mavrothal wrote:

BTW have you removed /etc/astate.conf from your build. Iy may cause trouble.

Yes (/etc/asound.conf).

Pandora has an analog physical volume wheel, may even be an analog pot! I'm not going to pull it apart to find out. I suppose this is easier given the intended audience is gamers.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2538
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Tue 10 Sep 2013, 20:08    Post subject:  

jamesbond, I've sent you a PM with a request -- I didn't want to clutter the thread with it, hence the PM.

Just letting you know.

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 1.1! Get the PetGet patch on pg8; it's important.
Next system will be an HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo in an innovative case... if I ever get off my butt and build it Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 11 Sep 2013, 22:16    Post subject:  

I'm just posting this here because FD-Arm is using pkgtools and slapt-get for package management. I don't advise using it unless you are a developer. It may come in handy for jamesbond and mavrothal, possibly others until they become comfortable with pkgtools..

Code:
# pet2txz -h
You must be root
root you are then..
Usage:
pet2txz somepet.pet -- produces a Slackware .txz file.
pet2txz somepet.pet -b -- produces .tbz instead of default .txz
pet2txz somepet.pet -g -- produces .tgz instead of default .txz
pet2txz somepet.pet -x=<build>
-- produces build num or description instead of default PET.
No spaces, alpha-numeric chars only.
pet2txz somepet.pet -d -- pauses the script to put in a verbose description.
pet2txz somepet.pet -x=<arch>
-- the script tries to get the architecture however
you can overide this, eg: "armhf", "i686"
pet2txz -v -- states version
pet2txz -h -- shows this help


Note that I left out .tlz.

Damn! Stupid forum won't allow .tgz, oh well I gzipped the .tbz version!

EDIT
Damn #2.. found a "feature" (read "bug") .. arch parameter was failing, fixed after 2 downloads, grab it again!

Here is an example on the commandline:

Code:
pet2txz wpasupplicant-0.1.pet -g -a=armv7

makes a tgz, the arch is guessed broadly by the script as "arm" (and succeeds) but the -a param allows for fine tuning of the arch, same can be done with "i686" as the default is i486
pet2txz-0.4-noarch-PET.tbz.gz
Description  gunzip please. :/
gz

 Download 
Filename  pet2txz-0.4-noarch-PET.tbz.gz 
Filesize  2.66 KB 
Downloaded  81 Time(s) 

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 1877
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Thu 12 Sep 2013, 03:19    Post subject:  

01micko wrote:
I'm just posting this here because FD-Arm is using pkgtools and slapt-get for package management. I don't advise using it unless you are a developer. It may come in handy for jamesbond and mavrothal, possibly others until they become comfortable with pkgtools..


Thanks Mick, I'll definitely throw this in for the next release.

One of the reasons I avoid PET packages is that I don't want people to download PETs from this forum and try to run it on FatdogArm (we had enough of that problems in Fatdog64 when we started ... Wink )

FatdogArm has a bunch of package-making tools, other than pkgtools I also use paco. Combined together they are (I think) better than new2dir/dir2pet and friends. Pkgtools also makes it easy to add packages off-line (e.g. adding a new packages into an exploded squashfs-root - so one can easily "remaster" the base SFS). I really need to document that process later - perhaps in the article about FatdogArm adoption.

By the way, Alpha2 is released, release notes is here: http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=88719

cheers!

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 5 [72 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0906s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0109s) ][ GZIP on ]