Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 22 Jul 2014, 11:46
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Fatdog64-620 Final (17 April 2013) and 621 (9 May 2013)
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 28 of 29 [431 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 26, 27, 28, 29 Next
Author Message
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2290
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Mon 09 Sep 2013, 13:40    Post subject: Re: Fatdog64-620 Final (17 April 2013) and 621 (9 May 2013)  

Billtoo wrote:
I installed fatdog 621 to a 32gb MicroSDHC card which is plugged into
a usb card reader, computer is a Lenovo ThinkCentre.

video-info-glx 1.5.3 Sun 8 Sep 2013 on Fatdog64 620 Linux 3.8.7 x86_64
2.0 VGA compatible controller:
Intel Corporation 4 Series Chipset Integrated Graphics Controller (rev 03)
oem: Intel(r)Eaglelake Graphics Chip Accelerated VGA BIOS
product: Intel(r)Eaglelake Graphics Controller Hardware Version 0.0
X Server: Xorg Driver: intel
X.Org version: 1.12.4
dimensions: 1920x1080 pixels (508x285 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: Intel Open Source Technology Center
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI Intel(R) G41
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 9.1.1
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E8400 @ 3.00GHz
Core 0: @2003 1: @2003 MHz
Memory 4015MB (264MB used)
Linksys WUSB54GC 802.11g Adapter [ralink rt73]

It's working well.

EDIT:The wireless connection was giving problems so I moved my card
reader to another pc which is connected to the wired network.
I made use of zarfy as well, it's working fine now.

X Server: Xorg Driver: intel
X.Org version: 1.12.4
dimensions: 3840x1080 pixels (508x285 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: Intel Open Source Technology Center
OpenGL renderer string: Mesa DRI Intel(R) Ivybridge Desktop
OpenGL version string: 3.0 Mesa 9.1.1



Looks just like my ranch... Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4067
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 09 Sep 2013, 18:48    Post subject:  

Having problems getting one of lappies to enable wireless and detect availables.
I could use some steering on enabling the Wireless in this system.

Here my system's info
Code:
# ip addr > lspci.txt
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
    inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
2: eth0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast qlen 1000
    link/ether 00:23:8b:e1:21:93 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet 192.168.1.3/24 brd 192.168.1.255 scope global eth0
3: wlan0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500 qdisc mq qlen 1000
    link/ether 00:21:00:eb:2c:6e brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff

# lspci >> lspci.txt
00:00.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 Host Bridge
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 PCI to PCI bridge (int gfx)
00:04.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 PCI to PCI bridge (PCIE port 0)
00:05.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 PCI to PCI bridge (PCIE port 1)
00:06.0 PCI bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] RS780 PCI to PCI bridge (PCIE port 2)
00:11.0 SATA controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 SATA Controller [AHCI mode]
00:12.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:12.1 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700 USB OHCI1 Controller
00:12.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB EHCI Controller
00:13.0 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI0 Controller
00:13.1 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700 USB OHCI1 Controller
00:13.2 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB EHCI Controller
00:14.0 SMBus: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 SMBus Controller (rev 3a)
00:14.1 IDE interface: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 IDE Controller
00:14.2 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 Azalia (Intel HDA)
00:14.3 ISA bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 LPC host controller
00:14.4 PCI bridge: ATI Technologies Inc SBx00 PCI to PCI Bridge
00:14.5 USB Controller: ATI Technologies Inc SB700/SB800 USB OHCI2 Controller
00:18.0 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 11h HyperTransport Configuration (rev 40)
00:18.1 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 11h Address Map
00:18.2 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 11h DRAM Controller
00:18.3 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 11h Miscellaneous Control
00:18.4 Host bridge: Advanced Micro Devices [AMD] Family 11h Link Control
01:05.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc RS780M/RS780MN [Radeon HD 3200 Graphics]
08:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4322 802.11a/b/g/n Wireless LAN Controller (rev 01)
09:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev 02)

# dmesg
   o
   o
   o
   o
   o
   o
ERROR @wl_cfg80211_scan : WLC_SCAN error (-22)
ERROR @wl_cfg80211_scan : WLC_SCAN error (-22)
ERROR @wl_cfg80211_scan : WLC_SCAN error (-22)
ERROR @wl_cfg80211_scan : WLC_SCAN error (-22)
ERROR @wl_cfg80211_scan : WLC_SCAN error (-22)
ERROR @wl_cfg80211_scan : WLC_SCAN error (-22)
ERROR @wl_cfg80211_scan : WLC_SCAN error (-22)
ERROR @wl_cfg80211_scan : WLC_SCAN error (-22)
ERROR @wl_cfg80211_scan : WLC_SCAN error (-22)
ERROR @wl_cfg80211_scan : WLC_SCAN error (-22)
ERROR @wl_cfg80211_scan : WLC_SCAN error (-22)
ERROR @wl_cfg80211_scan : WLC_SCAN error (-22)
ERROR @wl_cfg80211_scan : WLC_SCAN error (-22)
   o
I have already gone into FATDOG Services and enabled&started BC WL, but the scan for wireless is still coming up empty using FATDOG.
_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4067
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 09 Sep 2013, 18:53    Post subject: An idea for upcoming FATDOG's Service Manager  

I know and understand the reason development decided to NOT activate the SWAP partition when present. But, would it be in user best interest to include a setting in FATDOG service manager to Enable it for detection and use upon reboot?

This would help the many who missed this until too late when RAM fills. It would negate the need to constantly use the SWAPON command.

An idea for ease of use.
Edit; 2nd paragraph into 2 sentences

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile

Last edited by gcmartin on Mon 09 Sep 2013, 19:38; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2055
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Mon 09 Sep 2013, 19:19    Post subject: Fatdog64-620 Final (17 April 2013) and 621 (9 May 2013)  

I used the fatdog installer to install to a 16gb SDHC card, computer
is an Acer desktop.
video-info-glx 1.5.3 Mon 9 Sep 2013 on Fatdog64 620 Linux 3.8.7 x86_64
0.0 VGA compatible controller:nVidia Corporation G84 [GeForce8600GT](rev a1)
oem: NVIDIA
product: G84 Board - p402h00 Chip Rev
X Server: Xorg Driver: nvidia
X.Org version: 1.12.4
dimensions: 1920x1080 pixels (513x292 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce 8600 GT/PCIe/SSE2
OpenGL version string: 3.3.0 NVIDIA 319.49
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 @ 2.40GHz
Core 0: @1603 1: @1603 2: @1603 3: @1603 MHz
Memory 8178MB (453MB used)
Ethernet controller Intel Corporation 82566DC-2 Gigabit Network Connection
(rev 02)
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   55.47 KB
 Viewed   734 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2055
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Tue 10 Sep 2013, 08:20    Post subject:  

jamesbond wrote:
youngk wrote:
I have a newer AMD chip that isn't supported in the 13.4 released version of AMDs proprietary catalyst drivers. It runs with the 13.4 pet for Fatdog 620/621, but not well (dual monitor setup).
Please do "lspci" when you're on terminal so we know what cards you're using and perhaps can include the firmware in next Fatdog release.


I've got an ati card that isn't supported:

video-info-glx 1.5.3 Tue 10 Sep 2013 on Fatdog64 620 Linux 3.8.7 x86_64
0.0 VGA compatible controller:Advanced Micro Devices [AMD]nee ATI Device 6611
oem: AMD ATOMBIOS
product: OLAND 01.00

The 13.4 driver just said the card wasn't supported, the 13.8 beta2
driver compiled but after doing aticonfig --initial and rebooting it
gave several errors and wouldn't go to the desktup so I uninstalled it
and rebooted to get back to normal.

This is what it's using now:

X Server: Xorg Driver: vesa
X.Org version: 1.12.4
dimensions: 1920x1080 pixels (524x292 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: VMware, Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: Gallium 0.4 on llvmpipe (LLVM 3.0, 128 bits)
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 9.1.1

Radeon™ HD 8570 graphics card with 2GB DDR3 dedicated memory(Up to 7830MB)
Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Gobbi

Joined: 09 Mar 2012
Posts: 76

PostPosted: Wed 11 Sep 2013, 07:16    Post subject:  

Billtoo , From your posted screenshot I can see you managed to make work Pwidgets with FD620 . Previously I did it on FD610 , but using the same pet didn't give the same result ( different kernel , I think ).
Did you use a new pet ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2055
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 11 Sep 2013, 07:25    Post subject:  

Gobbi wrote:
Billtoo , From your posted screenshot I can see you managed to make work Pwidgets with FD620 . Previously I did it on FD610 , but using the same pet didn't give the same result ( different kernel , I think ).
Did you use a new pet ?


No, it's not a new pet, the only thing that would work is the clock which is all I really wanted so that was okay.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8903
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 11 Sep 2013, 11:42    Post subject:  

Here is PeasyDisc v1.6 for Fatdog. I have also attached the Extras package for making DVD slideshows.

[Edit] Here is PeasyDisc v2.0 for Fatdog with Blu-ray support. Read here.
peasydisc_fd620-2.0.pet
Description  Updated 2013-10-16
pet

 Download 
Filename  peasydisc_fd620-2.0.pet 
Filesize  6.02 KB 
Downloaded  161 Time(s) 
peasydisc_extras_fd620-1.0.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  peasydisc_extras_fd620-1.0.pet 
Filesize  66.04 KB 
Downloaded  169 Time(s) 

Last edited by rcrsn51 on Wed 16 Oct 2013, 21:25; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2042
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Thu 12 Sep 2013, 03:08    Post subject:  

gcmartin wrote:

Code:
# dmesg
ERROR @wl_cfg80211_scan : WLC_SCAN error (-22)
   o
I have already gone into FATDOG Services and enabled&started BC WL, but the scan for wireless is still coming up empty using FATDOG.

Try this one: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=1216309#p1216309.

gcmartin wrote:
But, would it be in user best interest to include a setting in FATDOG service manager to Enable it for detection and use upon reboot?
Fatdog Control Panel already has an applet to create a swapfile and configure it for use on the next boot automatically.

rcrsn51 wrote:
Here is PeasyDisc v1.6 for Fatdog. I have also attached the Extras package for making DVD slideshows.
Much appreciated, this will be in Fatdog 630.
EDIT: Why the need for the extras? dvdauthor, pamscale and pnmpad are all in Fatdog already. Are they new versions?

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Snail

Joined: 18 Oct 2009
Posts: 238

PostPosted: Thu 12 Sep 2013, 06:12    Post subject: Time Zone won't reset  

I've just tried to reset the timezone, using Set System Timezone under Control Panel/Localization. It has no effect, either after restarting X, or rebooting. The symlink /etc/localtime gets reset correctly, but nothing else happens. I've tried several different time zones, none work. Oddly, I am sure that I have changed it at least once before. I'm dual-booting with win 7, so display time should = system time. So next I tried the option under Control panel/system/Set Date and Time. That worked, but very flakey. Initially I tried resetting by 1 hour and it worked after the expected brief black screen. Then I tried setting the exact time several times but nothing happened until I rebooted. Very weird!

I've just been playing with Radkey's Pupmenu. The program is supposed to start with [cntrl][shift][M] but doesn't. Works OK apart from that, except that the changes don't appear consistently in either the ghostly openbox menu or the LXPanel one. That may be because Pupmenu displays what is in the .desktop files and it seems that there are other factors involved, e.g. the openbox and lxpanel menus are not the same? PupMenu does have a way of getting stuff off the menu and onto the desktop though, which I was asking about earlier.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8903
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 12 Sep 2013, 07:09    Post subject:  

jamesbond wrote:
EDIT: Why the need for the extras? dvdauthor, pamscale and pnmpad are all in Fatdog already.

Pamscale and pnmpad are NOT in my copy of 621.

Dvdauthor is present, but it's broken. (I saw the same thing in Wary.) This is the version from Ubuntu Lucid 64-bit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2042
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Thu 12 Sep 2013, 13:05    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
jamesbond wrote:
EDIT: Why the need for the extras? dvdauthor, pamscale and pnmpad are all in Fatdog already.

Pamscale and pnmpad are NOT in my copy of 621.
My mistake, those two are in devx. I run with devx attached at all times, so I never miss them Smile

Quote:
Dvdauthor is present, but it's broken. (I saw the same thing in Wary.) This is the version from Ubuntu Lucid 64-bit.
Noted.

All in all, I'll get that in for 630. Thank you.

Snail wrote:
I've just tried to reset the timezone, using Set System Timezone under Control Panel/Localization. It has no effect, either after restarting X, or rebooting. The symlink /etc/localtime gets reset correctly, but nothing else happens. I've tried several different time zones, none work. Oddly, I am sure that I have changed it at least once before. I'm dual-booting with win 7, so display time should = system time. So next I tried the option under Control panel/system/Set Date and Time. That worked, but very flakey. Initially I tried resetting by 1 hour and it worked after the expected brief black screen. Then I tried setting the exact time several times but nothing happened until I rebooted. Very weird!
Odd. Try rebooting without savefile and then change the timezone, see whether you get the correct result?

Quote:
I've just been playing with Radkey's Pupmenu. The program is supposed to start with [cntrl][shift][M] but doesn't.
Haven't checked Pupmenu, but my guess the ctrl-shift-M hotkey is tied to JWM. Thus it has no effect on openbox. You can always re-configure the hotkey using sven if you wish (that little keyboard icon on the lxpanel).

Quote:
Works OK apart from that, except that the changes don't appear consistently in either the ghostly openbox menu or the LXPanel one. That may be because Pupmenu displays what is in the .desktop files and it seems that there are other factors involved, e.g. the openbox and lxpanel menus are not the same?
In theory they should be identical although openbox's and lxpanel's menuing code are different, so expect some discrepancy. Can you give me an example of the discrepancy (using the standard out of the box programs if possible).

EDIT: In 620/621 the lxpanel and openbox menu is different. In 630 they will be the same again (the lxpanel menu will look like openbox's menu) (I forgot that I'm running FatdogNext in which the lxpanel menu has been "fixed", and this fix will be in 630).

cheers!

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13

Last edited by jamesbond on Thu 12 Sep 2013, 14:32; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2290
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Thu 12 Sep 2013, 14:09    Post subject:  

what happen to v622? Bigger changes? Any ETA on FD64-630..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jamesbond

Joined: 26 Feb 2007
Posts: 2042
Location: The Blue Marble

PostPosted: Thu 12 Sep 2013, 14:46    Post subject:  

Ted Dog wrote:
what happen to v622? Bigger changes? Any ETA on FD64-630..

Last digit version number increase (620 to 621, 621 to 622) indicates bug-fix release, however in this case "622" is just a number we use to differentiate between the last public release (621) and the "testing stuff" (aka "Fatdog Next" aka "cooking" aka "trunk" aka "tip", etc). We could have stayed with 621 numbering but that would be confusing (to ourselves, see what I did to Snail's response above!) when our 621 isn't the same as public 621 Cool, and at the time we increased the version number there were no updates (other than bugfixes). There aren't any major bugs that warrants 622 release so it never got released.

Middle digit version number increase indicates updates, like 600 to 610, 610 to 620, etc. So the next planned release, which is an update to 620, is appropriately called 630. So from today onwards what we'll have is pre-630, no longer 622 Cool (as if the name matters! Laughing)

630 would contain all changes so far, plus application, Xorg and kernel updates. ETA in about one month's time.

cheers!

_________________
Fatdog64, Slacko and Puppeee user. Puppy user since 2.13
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2290
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Thu 12 Sep 2013, 16:37    Post subject:  

OK thanks for clearing that up. My very early IT job, my manager would use Alpha, Beta, Gamma etc as release ids but did so backward to the way IT releases are done today, Out first sample release where Alpha, next Beta, then Gamma, and a few Deltas ( most full releases where Delta )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 28 of 29 [431 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 26, 27, 28, 29 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1253s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0116s) ][ GZIP on ]