How to make ComboFormat partition larger than a gig?

Using applications, configuring, problems
Message
Author
User avatar
Ghost Dog
Posts: 163
Joined: Fri 27 Jan 2012, 04:29

#21 Post by Ghost Dog »

Still the same, by the looks of it:

Code: Select all

sh-4.1# fdisk -l /dev/sdf 

Disk /dev/sdf: 4089 MB, 4089446400 bytes
126 heads, 62 sectors/track, 1022 cylinders, total 7987200 sectors
Units = sectors of 1 * 512 = 512 bytes
Sector size (logical/physical): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
I/O size (minimum/optimal): 512 bytes / 512 bytes
Disk identifier: 0x00000000

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sdf1   *          32     3884159     1942064    b  W95 FAT32
/dev/sdf2         3884160     7987199     2051520    b  W95 FAT32
sh-4.1# blkid /dev/sdf1 
/dev/sdf1: UUID="5235-232F" TYPE="vfat"
sh-4.1# blkid /dev/sdf2
/dev/sdf1: UUID="5235-232F" TYPE="vfat"
/dev/sda3: UUID="c70dd211-2aa3-4aa5-b6bd-6204f6b662a1" TYPE="swap"
/dev/sda1: UUID="702f5e62-7e1e-4eee-952d-85c04929f1a9" TYPE="ext3"
/dev/sda2: UUID="bcd58708-8b3d-4552-b2d8-15da03b76e3b" TYPE="ext3"
/dev/sdf: UUID="5235-232F" TYPE="vfat"
I'm running a full install, so it shouldn't be a RAM problem.

Like I said, weird. :)
The Way of the Samurai

User avatar
Ghost Dog
Posts: 163
Joined: Fri 27 Jan 2012, 04:29

#22 Post by Ghost Dog »

Just as an experiment, I increased the size of partition 1 to a full 2 gb and the "if [ $FREEM -lt 300 ];then" lines to 2100 mb to see if partition 2 would format. But nope.
The Way of the Samurai

npierce
Posts: 858
Joined: Tue 29 Dec 2009, 01:40

#23 Post by npierce »

Well, it looks like the change allowed partition 1 to be bigger.

Before:

Code: Select all

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sdf1   *          32     3786239     1893104    b  W95 FAT32 
After:

Code: Select all

   Device Boot      Start         End      Blocks   Id  System
/dev/sdf1   *          32     3884159     1942064    b  W95 FAT32 
But that didn't solve the partition 2 problem.
Ghost Dog wrote:I'm running a full install, so it shouldn't be a RAM problem.
OK, that's good to know.

Try formating partition 2 manually with the following command. (If the flash drive you're testing isn't still at /dev/sdf, you will of course want to modify the command to prevent any nasty surprises.):

Code: Select all

mkdosfs -F 32 -n storage /dev/sdf2
Does that give any error messages?

If not, is it now mountable? Does blkid recognise it?

User avatar
Ghost Dog
Posts: 163
Joined: Fri 27 Jan 2012, 04:29

#24 Post by Ghost Dog »

Yep, that fixes it!

Code: Select all

sh-4.1# blkid /dev/sdf2 
/dev/sdf2: LABEL="storage" UUID="1FCB-C3D9" TYPE="vfat"
The Way of the Samurai

npierce
Posts: 858
Joined: Tue 29 Dec 2009, 01:40

#25 Post by npierce »

Good!

That's the same command that the bootflash script uses, so it is still a bit of a mystery that it doesn't get done by the script. But you got the partition fixed, which is what counts. Glad to hear it.

User avatar
Ghost Dog
Posts: 163
Joined: Fri 27 Jan 2012, 04:29

#26 Post by Ghost Dog »

No, what counts is that YOU'RE AWESOME.

I really appreciate the time you took to help me with this.
The Way of the Samurai

npierce
Posts: 858
Joined: Tue 29 Dec 2009, 01:40

#27 Post by npierce »

Glad to help, and gladder when its appreciated. Thanks.

Post Reply