Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 31 Oct 2014, 04:37
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
[Precise] How do I configure iceWM to show volume and......
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
Amgine


Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 233
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Thu 17 Oct 2013, 13:19    Post_subject:  [Precise] How do I configure iceWM to show volume and......  

How do I configure iceWM to show the volume and other task manager icons that runs next to the clock (Like way JWM does)?? All I get is a clock and cpu monitor.

Thanks

_________________
Ubuntu-One Cloud Storage, Know where your Puppy files are, Back-up & Share files. https://one.ubuntu.com/referrals/referee/2118185/"]Sign Up!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4278
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Fri 18 Oct 2013, 14:44    Post_subject:  

Hello, Amgine.

Do you have another tray running, e.g. stalonetray or ROX-Tray?
That would explain it, the system allows for only one active icon tray.
If so, de-activate the other tray.

Best regards.

musher0

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Amgine


Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 233
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Fri 18 Oct 2013, 21:21    Post_subject:  

I am not sure, this is a fresh precise and I am adding IceWM.

I installed IceWM then I just switched Ctrl+Alt+Back-Space
Code:
xwin icewm


Should I have changed any configuration files?

_________________
Ubuntu-One Cloud Storage, Know where your Puppy files are, Back-up & Share files. https://one.ubuntu.com/referrals/referee/2118185/"]Sign Up!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4278
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sat 19 Oct 2013, 06:07    Post_subject:  

I see. since no other tray is interfering, I would suggest that you look in
the 30k "preferences" file at /usr/share/icewm.

First of all, make a copy from /usr/share/icewm to /root/.icewm, and edit
the latter. I haven't tried icewm in a little while, but I believe you should
search for "tray" or for "bar". Some of those lines configure items in the
tray.

There is also a smaller "mypreferences" file (or similar name) where you
can pile up your edits of the preferences file.

You can get your feet wet and get acquainted with the file, but don't do
anything drastic just yet. Maybe also do an Internet search for icewm
docs. You'll see that there are lots of configuration options, and it's a little
overwhelming at first -- although not really difficult to edit, since it is a
text file.

I wish to help you, but I'm busy on something other right now (actually
trying to modify the devx file for the latest lucidPup). I expect to be
finished sometime tomorrow afternoon.

Thanks for your understanding.

TWYL.

musher0

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4278
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sat 19 Oct 2013, 17:36    Post_subject:  

Hi, Amgine.

Do you think you could attach a screen capture of your icewm tray?
Something like this:

As you can see icewm is working fine in this Lucid Puppy 5.2.8.6. My version
is icewm-1.3.7pre2-L519-lucid. Check yours? Maybe it's a version thing? You
can check the version of icewm by typing, in console:
Code:
icewm -v


BFN.

musher0
Strange-No_Problem_Here!.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   2.49 KB
 Viewed   269 Time(s)

Strange-No_Problem_Here!.jpg


_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
CatDude


Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 1488
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun 20 Oct 2013, 08:09    Post_subject:  

Hi

@ Amgine
Amgine wrote:
I installed IceWM then I just switched Ctrl+Alt+Back-Space
Code:
xwin icewm


Try starting it like this instead:
Code:
xwin icewm-session


Here is a snippet from: http://www.icewm.org/FAQ/IceWM-FAQ-3.html (bottom of the page)

Quote:
IceWM > 1.2.13

Beginning with IceWM 1.2.13 there is a binary icewm-session. This binary helps you to handle all IceWM subparts (icewmbg, icewm, icewmtray, startup, shutdown started in this order). Therefore you can use icewm-session to start IceWM. icewm now starts only window manager itself.

If you want to start only some parts of the IceWM, then you can add them to your .xsession or similar file before exec icewm, otherwise it is enough to use only exec icewm-session.


CatDude
.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Amgine


Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 233
Location: Washington State

PostPosted: Mon 21 Oct 2013, 11:01    Post_subject:  

Thank you! It working great.

I used "icewm-session"

Thanks

_________________
Ubuntu-One Cloud Storage, Know where your Puppy files are, Back-up & Share files. https://one.ubuntu.com/referrals/referee/2118185/"]Sign Up!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4278
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Tue 22 Oct 2013, 17:32    Post_subject:
Sub_title: Fbpanel showing ?
 

Amgine wrote:
Thank you! It working great.

I used "icewm-session"

Thanks


Hello, Amgine.

I hope fbpabel is not launched as well? I just noticed that in the latest lupu/sulu, and provided a solution.
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=732178&sort=lastpost#732178

Best regards.

musher0

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Users ( For the regulars )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0695s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0115s) ][ GZIP on ]