Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 31 Oct 2014, 05:28
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » System
Woofy 0.91
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 8 of 8 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8
Author Message
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1473
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Thu 10 Oct 2013, 16:02    Post_subject: sfs suffix - initrd needs to match  

sc0ttman wrote:
And the change suffix option probably only works in older pups... (pre woof pups, older than 4.31) ..

Glad you like woofy Very Happy


Hi sc0ttman

Just "discovered" Woofy....

Trying to do a remaster of Slacko5.6 but as previously reported the "add an sfs suffix" doesn't work as although the sfs is renamed, the initrd isn't changed to match so the sfs cannot be found on bootup.

It would be great if this could be fixed.....

Woofy works great otherwise.

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1473
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Fri 11 Oct 2013, 15:34    Post_subject:  

Hi sc0ttman

Just to record that I was able to use Edit-Initrdgz-1.4.pet from
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=72842
to amend the initrd.gz to how I wanted things named

then used woofy with no sfs suffix but amended the iso contents just before creation to overwrite the initrd.gz and to rename the puppy sfs.

I also wanted the sfs to be xz compressed so I added -comp xz to the relevant mksquashfs lines in woofy.

All worked great to create my first ever iso - LxPup-13.10-1 - see http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=89270

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
darkcity


Joined: 23 May 2010
Posts: 2466
Location: near here

PostPosted: Sat 12 Oct 2013, 13:00    Post_subject:  

added Woofy to Wiky http://puppylinux.org/wikka/Woofy
_________________
helping Wiki for help | IF SendSpace link = "dead" THEN PM me ("up file to http://meownplanet.net/")
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
sc0ttman


Joined: 16 Sep 2009
Posts: 2386
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon 14 Oct 2013, 05:39    Post_subject:  

peebee wrote:
Hi sc0ttman

Just to record that I was able to use Edit-Initrdgz-1.4.pet from
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=72842
to amend the initrd.gz to how I wanted things named

then used woofy with no sfs suffix but amended the iso contents just before creation to overwrite the initrd.gz and to rename the puppy sfs.

I also wanted the sfs to be xz compressed so I added -comp xz to the relevant mksquashfs lines in woofy.

All worked great to create my first ever iso - LxPup-13.10-1 - see http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=89270

Cheers
peebee

Nice, glad you got it to work... The remaster looks very nice.. Glad woofy still works with recent pups!! It's been a while since I made it, and i made it for pre-woof pups really...

BTW, if you tick the 'Edit boot options' checkbox at the bottom before you start, Woofy will open up the initrd.gz for you, and let you edit the init script, before moving on... (If i remember correctly!!) ..

Also.. If someone can give me the code I need to check whether or not xz compressed SFS files are supported on the 'host' system, then I will add that code to Woofy.. As my pup is old (no xz sfs), I don't know what the code would be...

Also also... I am thinking of supporting the 'builtins' feature of newer pups, so you can more precisely and reliably remove packages from the new ISO... but only if anyone actually wants it...

_________________
Akita Linux, VLC-GTK, Pup Search, Pup File Search
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
smokey01


Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Posts: 1833
Location: South Australia

PostPosted: Tue 15 Oct 2013, 19:35    Post_subject:  

sc0ttman wrote:

Also also... I am thinking of supporting the 'builtins' feature of newer pups, so you can more precisely and reliably remove packages from the new ISO... but only if anyone actually wants it...


This would be a great inclusion.

_________________
Puppy Software <-> Distros <-> Puppy Linux Tips
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1473
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Wed 16 Oct 2013, 03:00    Post_subject:  

sc0ttman wrote:
Also.. If someone can give me the code I need to check whether or not xz compressed SFS files are supported on the 'host' system, then I will add that code to Woofy.. As my pup is old (no xz sfs), I don't know what the code would be...


'which xz' != ""

????

look in /usr/lib/xarchive/wrappers/tar-wrap.sh

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7840
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 16 Oct 2013, 05:28    Post_subject:  

I know there is a different (more convoluted) test in the current remasterpup script but it just occurred to me that this one is foolproof and fast.

Code:
. /etc/modules/DOTconfig*
echo $CONFIG_SQUASHFS_XZ


If its set "y" will be returned. Test it out.

HTH

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2994
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Fri 18 Oct 2013, 17:37    Post_subject:  

Another bug report. defaults-chooser doesn't work in Woofy 0.91 on Upup Raring 3992.

System in question, if the hardware matters, is an ASUS EeePC 1000HEB with a 64gb SSD and 2gb total RAM as the only upgrades.

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 2.1!
Custom Build: HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo T7200 + 4gb RAM + 256gb SSD
...just needs a pretty case Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
darry1966

Joined: 26 Feb 2012
Posts: 489
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu 23 Jan 2014, 01:53    Post_subject:  

Hello Scottman or anybody else could someone tell me if Woofy is compatable with Puppy 2 and 3.01or is only pup4 and above????????????? my results with less than Pup4 haven't worked??????????????
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
RSH


Joined: 05 Sep 2011
Posts: 2420
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Sun 23 Feb 2014, 10:21    Post_subject:  

starhawk wrote:
Another bug report. defaults-chooser doesn't work in Woofy 0.91 on Upup Raring 3992..

Defaults Chooser doesn't seem to work at all.

I have tested this in several puppies with the same results.

By the way: I'm currently working on a Woofy 0.91 based Application called Puppy ISO Builder with lots of improvements and extended functions.

Here is what I have already included and done:

# 2014-02-18
# Created a RoxApp out of 'Woofy'
# 2014-02-19
# Renamed 'Woofy' to 'Puppy ISO Builder'
# Disabled updating 'Woofy' for the remastered ISO
# Refined the GUI to fit to RSHs LazY Puppy 3 Application GUI Design
# Added some nice Icons to Application and GUI
# 2014-02-20
# Removed the 'suffix' Option --> see 2014-02-21
# Added Localization Files for DE, EN (still using Zigbert's Method)
# Added Function to save Settings
# 2014-02-21
# Added Functions to create a full featured and renamed new Puppy Linux OS, initrd.gz is changed automatically in background;
# Info added to 'DISTRO_SPECS' about using 'Puppy ISO Builder' and mentioning it as the 'LazY Puppy "Woofy" Fork'
# Disabled some Info GUIs to decrease needed Mouse clicks
# Disabled Option to remove the Directory of Packages to install
# Disabled Start Information GUI (don't want to click on 'OK' Button)
# Save Settings refined to keep Settings related to the used ISO
# Added Functions to disable 'Welcome' & 'PersonalSettings' GUI PopUp
# Update Function to switch the Icon Theme, it keeps the 'close-box' now and creates also 16 Pixel sized Icons
# Added Function to mount automatically Drives of ISO and Packages
# 2014-02-22
# Automatically removing of all temporarily created Files, except the new created ISO File
# Added 2nd Path for packages to install
# Added Function for Files to copy into the ISO which to be created
# Some more translations from EN to DE has been done
# Variable '${obTheme}' was not submitted to function 'set_themes', now done

Some more work still needs to be done...

RSH
image-2.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   52.95 KB
 Viewed   402 Time(s)

image-2.jpg

image-1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   44.87 KB
 Viewed   398 Time(s)

image-1.jpg


_________________
LazY Puppy
RSH's DNA
SARA B.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bill

Joined: 28 May 2008
Posts: 495

PostPosted: Sun 09 Mar 2014, 10:50    Post_subject: SOLVED woofy 0.91  

RSH said:
Quote:
Defaults Chooser doesn't seem to work at all.


I seem to be experiencing this same situation.Has anyone done any tweaks or updates past woofy 0.91 ? Thanks

Update: On starting over with a new "custom puppy.iso" as my first was apparently knackered,woofy 0.91 worked a treat on lucid puppy 5.2.Well done sc0ttman.Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Pelo


Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 3246
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Sat 15 Mar 2014, 23:38    Post_subject: Woofy first tries
Sub_title: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cpMk7frOEho
 

Woofy first tries : working not so bad, but my resulting ISO was the same as the original. I have to study the subject.
I will read asap the RSH post here above.
I dont'have a CD, only virtual ISO. My Pluplette 5.10 is not so OLD (2012). I Will try again with yr advice
woofy remastérise votre iso (english hablan) ici click

_________________
Puppy, il ne lui manque que la parole !

Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
live

Joined: 10 Feb 2010
Posts: 161

PostPosted: Tue 13 May 2014, 04:18    Post_subject:  

Hello sc0ttman,

I consistently (i.e. I retried) experience some issues/bugs with Woofy 0.91 running fresh on a fresh Retro 5.7.1

When I only choose to delete apps from a fresh retro 5.7.1 iso, I experience:

During the process:
Opera browser is not in the delete choice list

After successfull process:
Major:
If I click on .txt file, I now get:
Code:
Executable '/root/Choices/MIME-types/text_plain' is world-writeable! Refusing to run. Please change the permissions now (this problem may have been caused by a bug in earlier versions of the filer).

Having (non-symlink) run actions world-writeable means that other people who use your computer can replace your run actions with malicious versions.

If you trust everyone who could write to these files then you needn't worry. Otherwise, you should check, or even just delete, all the existing run actions.


I suspect it comes from the lines in the delete files log:
Code:
/sfs-base/usr/sbin/chooselocale
/sfs-base/usr/sbin/chooselocale-OLD
/sfs-base/usr/share/applications/Chooselocale-country-localisation.desktop


Medium
Although I ask to delete certain apps like AbiWord, Gnumeric, etc.
I do see that when I burn and look at the created iso, remaining files stays (with only 3Mb difference against fresh iso, I was very suspicious)

low
Although, I deleted entries such as urxvt and e3 console, their menu still stay in the menu list.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1473
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Fri 22 Aug 2014, 02:18    Post_subject: problem with txz files  

Line 255 of Woofy0.91 is meant to allow .txz files to be be included in the files to be added to the iso image....

It currently fails syntactically (I think because there is a missing -C) but even if that is patched the unpack of the archive doesn't result in the required files being transferred. For Slackware txz files there is also a /install/doinst.sh file that needs to be run to set up /lib links.

My fix is to replace 254&255 with
Code:
         txz)
            [ -d "${WORKDIR}/txzpkg" ] && rmdir -f "${WORKDIR}/txzpkg"
            tar -Jxvf "$i" -C "${WORKDIR}/txzpkg/" 2>/dev/null
            cd "${WORKDIR}/txzpkg/"
            test -f ./install/doinst.sh && chmod 755 ./install/doinst.sh && ./install/doinst.sh
            rm -r install
            cd "${WORKDIR}"
            cp --preserve=all --remove-destination -f -r "${WORKDIR}/txzpkg/"* "${BASEDIR}"
            rm -r "${WORKDIR}/txzpkg/"
            ;;

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 8 of 8 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 6, 7, 8
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » System
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1038s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0066s) ][ GZIP on ]