Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 28 May 2015, 02:38
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
[HowTo] Install Skype on Puppy
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 9 [135 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Author Message
Lenny

Joined: 24 Aug 2012
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sun 26 Aug 2012, 05:25    Post subject: Dont run  

hi im newbie, the icon does not run, it says that just work for a regular file...
plz what im missing here?

Thanks
Lenny
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1049
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Sun 26 Aug 2012, 07:31    Post subject:  

If you download Skype (for Linux) from the skype.com website it will now give you version 4 which won't work with some (especially older) Puppies.

Not sure if the older versions of Skype remain available from the website. I think they try to force people to use the latest.

In the case of older Puppies (and even the current Wary 5.3) you stand a better chance with version 2.2.0.35 which was the current one for some time until recently, but you may need to get that from this forum as a .pet or a .sfs rather than using the method described in Post 1 of this thread.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 2441
Location: wales

PostPosted: Sun 26 Aug 2012, 07:52    Post subject:  

hi lenny

you could try this older version of skype http://www.mediafire.com/file/76f990w6acm95bj/skype_static-2.1.0.47.pet

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=96178
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
chapchap70

Joined: 18 Nov 2010
Posts: 151
Location: The Island Of Long (NY, USA)

PostPosted: Tue 16 Oct 2012, 00:33    Post subject:  

Just installed version 4 on slacko 5.33 and everything worked right away with no modifications. I could never get my cameras working with Skype 2xx without doing things like installing vlc, etc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fefifofum

Joined: 06 Apr 2013
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun 28 Apr 2013, 12:06    Post subject: fix skype and mic  

This fixed my skype and mic issue. http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=700684#700684
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mama21mama

Joined: 03 Apr 2010
Posts: 526
Location: Lincoln, Buenos Aires, Argentina

PostPosted: Sun 28 Apr 2013, 12:40    Post subject:  

old puppy:. skype_static-2.2.0.25.pet
new puppy:. skype_4.1.0.2.pet +dep qt4.4.8.2.pet

luck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger 
RickGT351

Joined: 27 Sep 2011
Posts: 84
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Thu 31 Oct 2013, 02:59    Post subject:  

I have just been to the Skype website. All the downloads for Ubuntu and Debian are now .deb files. I have tried opening them with pet-get but it won't run even though there is a menu item for Skype. There is no tar.gz file.
I have lupu5.28.005
Could we have a NRV of your instructions please?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
OscarTalks

Joined: 05 Feb 2012
Posts: 1049
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Thu 31 Oct 2013, 08:49    Post subject:  

The .deb packages from the Skype website will also need at least Qt as a dependency. There is a .tar.gz if you select "Dynamic" but it still does not include the dependencies.

I did put together some "Install and go" Skype packages for Puppy (including one specifically for Lucid) here :-

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=86808

They seem to work OK so feel free to give them a try.

_________________
Oscar in England

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mariojrmatos


Joined: 03 Jan 2014
Posts: 12
Location: OFC: PT and NL | DMA: Worldwide

PostPosted: Sun 11 May 2014, 11:09    Post subject:
Subject description: change Skype's language
 

Just a little tip...

If for some reason the language option is not enable ("General" options tab) just copy the lang folder from skype_static-versionnumber to /usr/share/skype

However, if you can/are able to install the latest version of Skype you should do it (which, at this time, is the v4 branch).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
jhecht


Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 207
Location: New York City (Manhattan)

PostPosted: Wed 14 Jan 2015, 02:14    Post subject:  

Whew! All the different options here make my head spin! I've got a Lenovo IdeaPad netbook I'm setting up for a friend. It's currently got Slacko Puppy 5.7.0 (March 2014 version) installed.

All works great, Internet works, but trying to install Skype on it is giving me a d@mn hard time! I tried the most recent URL in this thread to get Skype. It installed, but when I try to use it, I get the error message "Skype can't connect." This is true for two different Skype accounts. What am I doing wrong?

And of the myriad options in this thread, which one should I choose for an install process with minimum agita?

Thanks in advance for your help! Woof!

_________________
John Hechtman / www.zenarrow.com / jhecht@ix.netcom.com
"Computer help in NYC" / 917 628 0192 - cell / 212 586 4633 - landline
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 3077
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 14 Jan 2015, 05:47    Post subject:  

jhecht wrote:
I get the error message "Skype can't connect." This is true for two different Skype accounts. What am I doing wrong?
Skype no longer allows login from old versions. Login must be performed with Skype 4.3

Unfortunately skype 4.3 also requires pulseaudio instead of alsa (which is the standard in puppy). Some puppians have managed to get skype 4.3 running with forms of pulseaudio. There is an alternative however - you can take the easy route and stick with alsa by using a technique developed by saintless, watchdog and others - it involves signing in with skype 4.3 (which is the pulseaudio version) then stopping it and starting skype 4.2 (which is the alsa version).

As long as you don't sign out of skype between running 4.3 and 4.2 this works fine. (just quit 4.3 rather than logging off)

I made a "combo" pet (suitable for slacko) which installs the necessary files and automates this process to make it easy. You simply start 'skypelogin' from the internet menu, put in your login details (and tick the "keep me logged into skype" checkbox), then wait for the automatic script to close 4.3 and open 4.2 for you.

You will see your contacts appear and you can use skype as normal. There are other ways but this is the way I find simplest. My combo pet post is here
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jhecht


Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 207
Location: New York City (Manhattan)

PostPosted: Wed 14 Jan 2015, 10:23    Post subject:  

greengeek wrote:
Unfortunately skype 4.3 also requires pulseaudio instead of alsa (which is the standard in puppy). Some puppians have managed to get skype 4.3 running with forms of pulseaudio.


I don't mind installing two packages - simple enough.

greengeek wrote:
There is an alternative however - you can take the easy route and stick with alsa by using a technique developed by saintless, watchdog and others - it involves signing in with skype 4.3 (which is the pulseaudio version) then stopping it and starting skype 4.2 (which is the alsa version).

As long as you don't sign out of skype between running 4.3 and 4.2 this works fine. (just quit 4.3 rather than logging off)


Hmm - I'm setting this netbook up for a bright but non-technical user, and want it to be as bulletproof as possible. Should I go the route of installing PulseAudio? I don't mind extra setup work. If done right, I only have to do it once.

greengeek wrote:
I made a "combo" pet (suitable for slacko) which installs the necessary files and automates this process to make it easy. You simply start 'skypelogin' from the internet menu, put in your login details (and tick the "keep me logged into skype" checkbox), then wait for the automatic script to close 4.3 and open 4.2 for you.


I installed your "combo" Pet, and it did, in fact, install Skype. The prompt across the grey bar at the top says "Skype 4.2 for Linux" when it runs. However, I still get the "Skype can't connect" error message when I try and log in - this is true even with my main Skype account, on which I changed my password to verify it (sigh).

greengeek wrote:
You will see your contacts appear and you can use skype as normal. There are other ways but this is the way I find simplest. My combo pet post is here
.


That's the URL I downloaded from, with the (non-functional) results described above. Thanks for your help so far, but I fear I need a little more. Any suggestions?

_________________
John Hechtman / www.zenarrow.com / jhecht@ix.netcom.com
"Computer help in NYC" / 917 628 0192 - cell / 212 586 4633 - landline
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 784

PostPosted: Wed 14 Jan 2015, 12:55    Post subject:  

@jhecht

Give a look at OscarTalks rep:

http://smokey01.com/OscarTalks/

Look for a suitable pet or sfs of skype 4.3 using apulse. Aternatively my package should work in slacko 5.7:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=800291#800291

You should control to have SSE2 flag enabled in cpuinfo:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=796788#796788
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 3077
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 14 Jan 2015, 16:12    Post subject:  

jhecht wrote:
I installed your "combo" Pet, and it did, in fact, install Skype. The prompt across the grey bar at the top says "Skype 4.2 for Linux" when it runs. However, I still get the "Skype can't connect" error message when I try and log in. Any suggestions?
Hi, two questions:
- Did you select 'skypelogin" in the internet menu? (Don't choose "skype" - that only runs the 4.2 version without the 4.3 login)
- Did you tick the tiny "Sign me in when skype starts" checkbox as shown in this pic?

I haven't used the apulse / pulseaudio variants so I don't know how they compare. I just decided to stick with the Alsa variant.

Hope it works, whichever way you decide to go.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
jhecht


Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 207
Location: New York City (Manhattan)

PostPosted: Wed 14 Jan 2015, 16:45    Post subject:  

greengeek wrote:

- Did you select 'skypelogin" in the internet menu? (Don't choose "skype" - that only runs the 4.2 version without the 4.3 login)
- Did you tick the tiny "Sign me in when skype starts" checkbox as shown in this pic?


...select = yes
...tick = yes

What else should I try? Thanks!

_________________
John Hechtman / www.zenarrow.com / jhecht@ix.netcom.com
"Computer help in NYC" / 917 628 0192 - cell / 212 586 4633 - landline
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 9 [135 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0952s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0058s) ][ GZIP on ]