Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 20 Oct 2014, 09:56
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
how to type path into roxie file manager?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Author Message
john55

Joined: 06 Nov 2013
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu 07 Nov 2013, 08:18    Post_subject:  how to type path into roxie file manager?  

When I go to roxie file manager I have to click icons to get to the location I want. Is there any way to directly type the path I want? It would be useful if the path appeared under the blue task bar at the top of the roxie file manager everytime you were at a location (like you can do in windows)

Is this possible?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MochiMoppel


Joined: 26 Jan 2011
Posts: 424
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Thu 07 Nov 2013, 09:01    Post_subject:  

Type '/' ( a forward slash), then enter your path into the Go to box that opens at the botton.

BTW: It's ROX, not Roxie Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
john55

Joined: 06 Nov 2013
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu 07 Nov 2013, 09:21    Post_subject:  

Thanks Mochi you are a star. One other thing how do I stop ROX from constantly resizing the window whenever I browse to a new location?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MochiMoppel


Joined: 26 Jan 2011
Posts: 424
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Thu 07 Nov 2013, 09:33    Post_subject:  

Right click > Options > Filer windows > Never automatically resize

Recommended reading: ROX-Filer User Manual
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
john55

Joined: 06 Nov 2013
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu 07 Nov 2013, 09:55    Post_subject:  

Thanks for your instructions and the link. I now have this setup the way I want it but do you know if it is possible to set the default size of the window? At the moment windows open in ROX at 330 x 167. I know I can drag the edges to resize to whatever I want but is it possible to have it open at a custom default size? Is there a facility to remember the previous size that I dragged with window to?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MochiMoppel


Joined: 26 Jan 2011
Posts: 424
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Thu 07 Nov 2013, 10:29    Post_subject:  

Good question. Window sizes are never right and I'm constantly moving and resizing ... one of the things I hate about ROX. Maybe someone knows, but unfortunately not me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
john55

Joined: 06 Nov 2013
Posts: 14

PostPosted: Thu 07 Nov 2013, 10:34    Post_subject:  

MochiMoppel wrote:
Good question. Window sizes are never right and I'm constantly moving and resizing ... one of the things I hate about ROX. Maybe someone knows, but unfortunately not me.


Thanks for all your help. If anyone knows the answer to this I would be very interested.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8342

PostPosted: Thu 07 Nov 2013, 11:52    Post_subject:  

Best compromise I get is

filer windows-> display -> icon size ->default size = automatic
with resizing enabled... it helps to reduce window size jumping as you browse.

Pet hate is it often resizes but only shows a few icons so have to double click or scoll down.

Unfortunately it does not respond to the gtk geometry parameter which is normally the way to set a window size.

Plan B..... try a different file manager... theres a mini thunar floating around, or xfe or something else

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3331
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 07 Nov 2013, 13:04    Post_subject:  

Middle mouse double click in empty space in rox window will resize it.

_________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
amigo

Joined: 02 Apr 2007
Posts: 2257

PostPosted: Thu 07 Nov 2013, 14:25    Post_subject:  

I also use this:
Quote:
Right click > Options > Filer windows > Never automatically resize

and then use the 'Window size limit' slider to set the size you want. It lets you set a percent instead of the x,y geometry. I use '66'.
When you double-click in the a filer window background the window will return to this size. Otherwsie you can stretch them or make them smaller.

If you want new windows (opened from another window) to open at the same size as the exisiting one, you can try checking:
Quote:
Right click > Options > Display > 'Inherit options from source window'
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 Posts_count  
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0610s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0047s) ][ GZIP on ]