Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 18 Apr 2014, 19:12
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Puppy Slacko 5.5 XL
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 4 of 5 [61 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Author Message
dennis-slacko531


Joined: 18 Jan 2012
Posts: 103
Location: Oregon

PostPosted: Sat 14 Sep 2013, 01:25    Post subject: A PHATSlacko Great Alternative
Subject description: also mirroring
 

I've been using it all day. It has everything and even normal stuff like FireFox seems more awesome. I'm trying to get my site (Puppy Only) more popular.
It's called Linux Without eyes (or i's)

WWW.LNUX.COM
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
ThoriumBlvd


Joined: 04 Oct 2013
Posts: 86
Location: N.E. USA

PostPosted: Sat 05 Oct 2013, 20:31    Post subject:    

I think your Slack-55 did an excellant job of covering bases. A lot of the suggestions I've seen here should be pets that can be added according to taste.

Browser, A/V, e-mail, Chat client, paint w/viewer, Office, java, Flash, and pdf Read is a lot on just a CD. I do think your combination in slack-55XL is a good start. Offering Opera, Skype, Gimp, AAC codec (YouTube has "officially changed"), and file encryption for Clouding are good "what else's".
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ThoriumBlvd


Joined: 04 Oct 2013
Posts: 86
Location: N.E. USA

PostPosted: Fri 01 Nov 2013, 00:22    Post subject: Small Bug in Slacko-55-XL
Subject description: Eee 700 series Video
 

Surprised I made img to CD using my 702 model Eee. No problem there. Configured the netbook to boot from USB first, and it did fine until...

XWIN

Seems it dropped out of X because the Video was not supported. And sure enough, there are a few 640X480 resolutions, but no 800X480 support.
(NOTE: there is support for 1024x600, so my ATOM version should go OK)

I need a little help here eventually. What I need is Vert, Refresh and Rez listed in the default XORGWIZARD listing. The i915 driver was found apparantly. Anyone with a 700 series Eee could help, and thanks.

Using the first 640x480 choice on both screens worked OK, and Slacko 55-XL did run OK, but as the mouse moved to drag things (simple Logitech 2 Button +scroll wheel w/button Model M100) Video got very jittery.

Connected to internet and moved around a bit after configuring FF23 to my liking. Shut-down w/o save, and will try with the ATOM-Eee later.

I think this will work quite ok as the ATOM version

Thanks very much for all the efforts here, quite a nice Puppy

Thorium
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ThoriumBlvd


Joined: 04 Oct 2013
Posts: 86
Location: N.E. USA

PostPosted: Fri 01 Nov 2013, 10:43    Post subject:  Eee-900a Install
Subject description: Got it up and running on USB stick
 

Though I still have much configuring of SW to do, up and running nicely w/o video bugs. CD--->USB stick. Stick was formatted ntfs/vfat Gparted as ext3.
FF23 configured, and FireFTP installed. Then shutdown w/save.

Typing this from slack55XL on the ATOMicEee.
The introduction is good.
Wifi not playing right, but ethernet solid (and more secure at home).

Thorium
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ThoriumBlvd


Joined: 04 Oct 2013
Posts: 86
Location: N.E. USA

PostPosted: Thu 07 Nov 2013, 23:41    Post subject: WiFi and eth cnxns
Subject description: rfkill says d/c before use
 

These buggy atheros chips (esp the 5007EG) are indeed quite particular. Frisbee IS the onlly manager that correctly parses the address of both sides of the chip. ETH is 10.0.0.6, and Wifi is 10.0.0.4. Barry's SNS does NOT make this distinction, and therefore cannot complete a WiFi cnxn. Frisbee OTOH sees both sides and can connect. HOWEVER, one cannot have an ethernet cnxn configured (that means physically d/c the cable from the computer) while attempting to establish a WiFi cnxn. Once this is configured, go to the 2nd tab and press the "Restart DHCP" btn. then go to front page.

Frankly the ath chips are half-baked and need hand-holding. Nonetheless just sticking with Frisbee ONLY will get one thru the hoops.

I have been able to get both going... acid test was if I press the hot-key to shut-off Wifi antenna, then restart. Tricky, but works. All of these prgrms look for eth0 first.

Thorium out

_________________


Last edited by ThoriumBlvd on Tue 26 Nov 2013, 07:50; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ThoriumBlvd


Joined: 04 Oct 2013
Posts: 86
Location: N.E. USA

PostPosted: Tue 19 Nov 2013, 08:14    Post subject:  

Using File transfers from sdc (SDHC) to sdb (Thumb-Dr.) are MUCH faster than on the original Eee's using same equip. and drives. Some of my files are quite small and numerous, and yet I have an mp3 or two just to check speed.

The one mp3 is abt. 10Mb and took 6-7 seconds... now about 1-1.25. The card reader (SDHC) is not the culprit, it appears the OS was.

I imported MPaint 344.04... Gimp is over my head. All the other things I'm used to from the Fx keys to shutdown is quite familiar. I find the experience nearly transparent, except for the tabbed, big icons. Now I have room for real pix as wallpaper. Cool

Very nice job, and very well done. Thanks much.

Thorium

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
umair

Joined: 25 Dec 2010
Posts: 200
Location: KUST Kohat, Pakistan

PostPosted: Thu 28 Nov 2013, 23:52    Post subject:  

umair wrote:
umair wrote:
hi koulaxizis:
Nice work. Everything working fine. Tested on Intel Dual Core 2.66 Mhz with 01 GB RAM. No issue in live mode, but when ever I want to use a FRUGAL installation, its get stucked at boot at the following text:

Puppypc4274 login : root (automatic login)
login [7714]: root login on 'tty1'


Never saw this error before in any Puppy. It is also confirmed that I already checked the md5. So no error in download. May be something wrong with inittab file. Any Idea ?
UMAIR

I think nobody have a Answer of that. So switching back to PHAT Slacko as I
used only FRUGAL Installation.
Thanks.
UMAIR

The above issue has been solved, I tried to save the .fs file with ext2 method. After boot, everything goes well.
Thanks
(UMAIR)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
koulaxizis


Joined: 17 Jul 2011
Posts: 423
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Tue 03 Dec 2013, 09:23    Post subject:  

Sorry for not answering all this time but i had some problem with my account and i couldn't login!

@umair Thanks for trying Slacko XL! Glad to hear that your issue was solved. However, i have no idea why did this happened... Confused

@dennis-slacko531 Glad you liked it my friend! And thank you for mirroring the ISO. Nice site by the way... Wink

@ThoriumBlvd Thank you very much for this analytic reporting! I'm really happy that my puplet was useful to you!

Some apps tested on Slacko 5.5 XL have been uploaded here... More are about to come... Thank you all for testing, helping, commenting!! Very Happy

_________________
Christos Koulaxizis
Woof woof from Greece...

[ Puppy packages | Puppy search ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1443

PostPosted: Mon 09 Dec 2013, 17:21    Post subject:  

Hi Christos. Unfortunately I had X Windows freeze up on me when I was trying to install Opera, and I had to press Ctrl-Alt-Backspace to escape from it and return to the console; when I did, xorgwizard wouldn't work.

Can you (or someone else) please advise me about what I should do to get xorgwizard working again when it breaks?

Thanks in advance,

Colonel Panic.

_________________
Compaq Deskpro Pentium III (866 MHz), 512 MB of RAM, 30 GB hard drive running Puppy Fire Hydrant Inferno, Puppy Precise 5.71 Retro, Puppy 5.5 Wary, Puppy Deeper Thought 4.20 and Puppy Legacy OS2.1 LTS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1443

PostPosted: Wed 11 Dec 2013, 13:43    Post subject:  

Sorry, but I've given up now and installed PuppEX into the same partition, instead. It just wasn't usable without a functioning X Windows.
_________________
Compaq Deskpro Pentium III (866 MHz), 512 MB of RAM, 30 GB hard drive running Puppy Fire Hydrant Inferno, Puppy Precise 5.71 Retro, Puppy 5.5 Wary, Puppy Deeper Thought 4.20 and Puppy Legacy OS2.1 LTS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
koulaxizis


Joined: 17 Jul 2011
Posts: 423
Location: Greece

PostPosted: Thu 12 Dec 2013, 09:49    Post subject:  

Colonel Panic wrote:
Sorry, but I've given up now and installed PuppEX into the same partition, instead. It just wasn't usable without a functioning X Windows.


Sorry to hear that! Unfortunately i'm not able to help you with this problem... However i'll look into it as much as i can and i'll return with some answer...

_________________
Christos Koulaxizis
Woof woof from Greece...

[ Puppy packages | Puppy search ]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1443

PostPosted: Thu 12 Dec 2013, 14:14    Post subject:  

koulaxizis wrote:
Colonel Panic wrote:
Sorry, but I've given up now and installed PuppEX into the same partition, instead. It just wasn't usable without a functioning X Windows.


Sorry to hear that! Unfortunately i'm not able to help you with this problem... However i'll look into it as much as i can and i'll return with some answer...


No problem. I'm sorry to have to report it knowing all the hard work you've put into XL.

If it helps, it isn't just a problem with your distro or even one with Slacko; it's a problem I've found with various versions of Puppy throughout the years (my first Puppy I used was 2.00). I found it (sadly) quite recently on one of my favourite versions of Puppy, Legacy OS4 Mini (based on Puppy 4.21).

_________________
Compaq Deskpro Pentium III (866 MHz), 512 MB of RAM, 30 GB hard drive running Puppy Fire Hydrant Inferno, Puppy Precise 5.71 Retro, Puppy 5.5 Wary, Puppy Deeper Thought 4.20 and Puppy Legacy OS2.1 LTS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ThoriumBlvd


Joined: 04 Oct 2013
Posts: 86
Location: N.E. USA

PostPosted: Sat 12 Apr 2014, 23:03    Post subject:
Subject description: Option for Java/LO4
 

Elsewhere in the Puppy Forums I discovered this FreeOffice Suite . Looks to save valuable room in Slack-55XL (about 120Mb !) by not having the rather bulky LO4.x AND Java installed. Is there a possibility of a FreeOffice version of Slacko-55XL?
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Volhout


Joined: 28 Dec 2008
Posts: 365

PostPosted: Sun 13 Apr 2014, 15:04    Post subject: Freeoffice  

Freeoffice in puppy is simple.

Go to their website, make a free account, and you can download an archive. Textract this archive to ....anywhere .. I used /home/applications

It will run. It contains all the libs it needs.

It is slightly more work that single clicking a pet, but not that much more.
Making the account, and waiting for the confirmations is most of the work.

Compatibility with MS is good, but the free version has limitations. Read about it on their website. LO does not have these limitations.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ThoriumBlvd


Joined: 04 Oct 2013
Posts: 86
Location: N.E. USA

PostPosted: Tue 15 Apr 2014, 07:59    Post subject:  

I have done all my Spreadsheet/Word Processing for 6 years on OO2/LO4. So my main "compatabiity" is such. The minor is PDF, and reading M$ type files. IIRC these are all quite transparent. I have been to the FreeOffice pages, and thats why the idea was posted. Alot less space and quite probably better performance.

The only problem encountered is registering the FO version at start-up, some folks might not like the idea.

_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 4 of 5 [61 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0761s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0063s) ][ GZIP on ]