Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 03 Sep 2014, 03:06
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
OVPrecise 5.8 Final + Retro
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 7 [93 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Author Message
oldyeller


Joined: 15 Nov 2011
Posts: 782
Location: Mishawaka IN

PostPosted: Sat 23 Nov 2013, 14:50    Post subject:  

Ted Dog wrote:
does it work in multisession dvds? I am proposing a rollup change to reduce loading times for us using multisession. a fully compressed sfs file option on save.


It should work as long as it is support in the puppy you are using. As this one will be when it get to the release edition. I can't test this since I don't have a cd-rom in my pc.

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2089
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 23 Nov 2013, 16:41    Post subject: OVPrecise 5.7.20 ALPHA 2  

I copied my manual frugal install to another 16gb SDHC card to save
some time adding packages etc. and ran grub4dos on the new card.

video-info-glx 1.5.3 Sat 23 Nov 2013 on OVPrecise Puppy 5.7.20 Linux 3.9.11 i686
0.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GF110 [GeForce GTX 560 Ti OEM] (rev a1)
oem: NVIDIA
product: GF110 Board - 12630002 Chip Rev

X Server: Xorg Driver: nvidia
X.Org version: 1.11.3
dimensions: 1920x1080 pixels (513x292 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce GTX 560 Ti/PCIe/SSE2
OpenGL version string: 4.2.0 NVIDIA 304.116

Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz
Core 0: @1600 1: @1600 2: @1600 3: @1600 4: @1600 5: @1600 6: @1600 7: @1600 MHz

Memory 16613MB (140MB used)
Ralink corp. RT3090 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe

I added Ratpoison as a window manager and it's working pretty well but
I still switch back to jwm sometimes.
screenshot3.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   61.45 KB
 Viewed   867 Time(s)

screenshot3.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oldyeller


Joined: 15 Nov 2011
Posts: 782
Location: Mishawaka IN

PostPosted: Sat 23 Nov 2013, 20:32    Post subject:  

Hello Everyone,

I have just uploaded BETA 1 of OVPrecise. It has a lot of new and updated programs zigbert, radky and RSH. get it from first post

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dancytron

Joined: 18 Jul 2012
Posts: 270

PostPosted: Sat 23 Nov 2013, 22:27    Post subject: quick test  

Installed to usb stick with Universal USB Installer.

Installed Xine from PPM, pupsaveconfig, right click utils, gtk youtube viewer and a few other things. All seems to work fine.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2089
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sat 23 Nov 2013, 23:35    Post subject: OVPrecise 5.7.30 BETA 1  

I did a manual frugal install to a 16gb SDHC card (now dual booting with 5720)
I booted up and set up 5730, used the boot manager to load the devx
and rebooted creating save file.
I made a few pets and then put them on the main hard drive, deleted my
save file and rebooted starting fresh.
Once the new save file was setup I ran the adrive script(used the main
hard drive for adrive directories).
Once the adrv_ovprecise_5.7.30.sfs was created I copied it to
/mnt/home and loaded it with the bootmanager.
It seems to have worked perfectly, I've never used one before.

The getflash utility is now working.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   66.66 KB
 Viewed   772 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5727
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 24 Nov 2013, 01:41    Post subject:  

Frugal install of 5.7.30. In addition to the red NTFS-3g error box, Pmount is not working either. Clicking on an icon does mount the partitions though.

Code:
# pmount
/usr/sbin/pmount: line 770: 17810 Terminated              yaf-splash -bg orange -fg black -close never -fontsize large -text "$(gettext 'Please wait, probing hardware...')"
/usr/sbin/pmount: line 775: 18927 Trace/breakpoint trap   /tmp/gtkdialog_pmount --file=/tmp/pmountdlg.txt_${MYPID} -G +"$X"+"$Y" > /tmp/pmountdlg_${MYPID} 2> /tmp/pmounterr
#


Otherwise,seems to be working well so far.
Latest.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   39.72 KB
 Viewed   715 Time(s)

Latest.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5727
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sun 24 Nov 2013, 02:01    Post subject:  

Replaced /usr/sbin/pmount/ with one from Lucid........ Pmount now working.
Pmount.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   37.23 KB
 Viewed   688 Time(s)

Pmount.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oldyeller


Joined: 15 Nov 2011
Posts: 782
Location: Mishawaka IN

PostPosted: Sun 24 Nov 2013, 05:58    Post subject:  

James C wrote:
Replaced /usr/sbin/pmount/ with one from Lucid........ Pmount now working.


Thanks James I also used the one from precose 5.5 and it worked too a liitle slow but worked.

Will be fixed for nest build.

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2089
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 24 Nov 2013, 09:12    Post subject: OVPrecise 5.7.30 BETA 1  

I made a pet of the Ratpoison window manager if anyone would like to
play with it.
After installing the pet exit to the prompt and enter:
"xwin ratpoison" no quotes

The ratpoison key bindings screen appears with CTRL-t ?

I find that grun application launcher and pupshutdown are handy to
have when using Ratpoison wm.
grun-0.9.3-i686.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  grun-0.9.3-i686.pet 
Filesize  20.28 KB 
Downloaded  131 Time(s) 
ratpoison-1.4.6-i686.pet
Description 
pet

 Download 
Filename  ratpoison-1.4.6-i686.pet 
Filesize  178.92 KB 
Downloaded  167 Time(s) 
Ratpoisonkeys.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   196.27 KB
 Viewed   645 Time(s)

Ratpoisonkeys.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oldyeller


Joined: 15 Nov 2011
Posts: 782
Location: Mishawaka IN

PostPosted: Sun 24 Nov 2013, 14:42    Post subject:  

Thanks Everyone!! Very Happy Very Happy

For testing OVPrecise, I will leave this beta up for a few more days just in case some else wants to test or if more things are found.

I would like to know if anyone knows how to get sleep, suspend and hibernate to work. I would like to have this all setup as well before Final Release is out December 1st or so.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2089
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 24 Nov 2013, 18:01    Post subject: OVPrecise 5.7.30 BETA 1  

I did a manual frugal install to an 8gb SDHC card, computer is an 8
year old hp desktop.
video-info-glx 1.5.3 Sun 24 Nov 2013 on OVPrecise Puppy 5.7.30 Linux 3.9.11 i686
0.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] RV530 [Radeon X1600 PRO]
oem: ATI ATOMBIOS
product: RV530 01.00

X Server: Xorg Driver: radeon
X.Org version: 1.11.3
dimensions: 1920x1080 pixels (507x285 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: SGI
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: X.Org R300 Project
OpenGL renderer string: Gallium 0.4 on ATI RV530
OpenGL version string: 2.1 Mesa 8.0.4

AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3300+
Core 0: @2411 MHz

I copied pmount from Barry's precise-5.7.1.iso to /usr/sbin and that
fixed pmount.
I've attached pmount.gz to this post, just rename it to pmount and put it in
/usr/sbin

OVprecise 5730 is running well on this pc.

EDIT:
Pmusic 420 is working great, it runs as user spot too.
pmount.gz
Description 
gz

 Download 
Filename  pmount.gz 
Filesize  20.92 KB 
Downloaded  129 Time(s) 
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   26.88 KB
 Viewed   542 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oldyeller


Joined: 15 Nov 2011
Posts: 782
Location: Mishawaka IN

PostPosted: Tue 26 Nov 2013, 13:26    Post subject:  

Hello Everyone,

I have just uploaded RC1 to be tested. This should be it. I have fixed Pmount and added suspend as well; Thanks to peebee and shinobar. If nothing else is found the Final will be done by Dec 1st, if not before.

Enjoy Very Happy Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2089
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Tue 26 Nov 2013, 15:01    Post subject: OVPrecise 5.8 rc1  

Manual frugal install to a 16gb SDHC card, pc is a gateway desktop.

video-info-glx 1.5.3 Tue 26 Nov 2013 on OVPrecise Puppy 5.8 Linux 3.9.11 i686
0.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GF110 [GeForce GTX 560 Ti OEM] (rev a1)
oem: NVIDIA
product: GF110 Board - 12630002 Chip Rev

X Server: Xorg Driver: nvidia
X.Org version: 1.11.3
dimensions: 1920x1080 pixels (513x292 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes

direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce GTX 560 Ti/PCIe/SSE2
OpenGL version string: 4.2.0 NVIDIA 304.116

Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2600 CPU @ 3.40GHz
Core 0: @1600 1: @1600 2: @1600 3: @1600 4: @1600 5: @1600 6: @1600 7: @1600 MHz

Pmount is working,getflash is working, suspend didn't work on this pc.

I installed some applications with ppm, including firefox 25.01

That's it so far.
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   64.43 KB
 Viewed   392 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oldyeller


Joined: 15 Nov 2011
Posts: 782
Location: Mishawaka IN

PostPosted: Tue 26 Nov 2013, 15:54    Post subject:  

Billtoo
Quote:

suspend didn't work on this pc.


Go to /etc/xdg/templates/_root_.jwmrc and replace this line:

Code:

<Program label="Suspend computer" icon="mini-turn.xpm">exec /etc/acpi/actions/acpi_suspend.sh</Program>


with this line:
Code:

<Program label="Suspend computer" icon="mini-turn.xpm">exec /etc/acpi/actions/suspend.sh</Program>


This should work. Will be fixed for last build.

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2089
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Tue 26 Nov 2013, 16:30    Post subject: OVPrecise 5.8 rc1
Subject description: suspend
 

I edited the file but suspend still isn't working.

<Menu label="Shutdown" icon="shutdown24.png" height="16">
<!-- <Exit confirm="false" label="Exit to prompt" icon="prompt16.xpm" /> -->
<Program label="Exit to prompt" icon="prompt16.xpm">exec wmexit</Program>
<Program label="Reboot computer" icon="mini-turn.xpm">exec wmreboot</Program>
<Program label="Suspend computer" icon="mini-turn.xpm">exec /etc/acpi/actions/suspend.sh</Program>
<Program label="Power-off computer" icon="mini-stop.xpm">exec /etc/acpi/actions/acpi_poweroff.sh</Program>
<Program label="Restart X server" icon="mini-x.xpm">restartwm</Program>
<Restart label="Restart JWM" icon="mini-windows.xpm"/>
<!-- <Program label="Change Window Manager" icon="mini-windows.xpm">changewm.sh</Program> -->
</Menu>

I use Ratpoison as a window manager and PupShutdown to turn off the
pc, I did try suspend in jwm before I installed Ratpoison though and it
didn't work then and now if I switch back to jwm it still doesn't work.

It's not a big deal for me, just wanted to test it for you, next
tester please Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 7 [93 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0894s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0069s) ][ GZIP on ]