Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 14:03
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Dropbox Filemanager
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Author Message
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8365

PostPosted: Fri 13 Dec 2013, 08:40    Post_subject:  Dropbox Filemanager  

Not sure if it should be in here or in filemanagers so move if necessary.

Ok for those who tend to use dropbox as a file host I made a gui around the excellent bash dropboxuploader script. Its not meant to be a substitute for full file syncing.
http://www.andreafabrizi.it/?dropbox_uploader
Basically you have dropbox control without the need for python so light and fluffy and should work on pretty much anything. All this needs is curl (I modified it to make it less fussy of the version but still handles url encoding) and gtkdialog3...think that covers most puppies.

My gui is pretty sparten but functional. It could do with some more work so I thought if I put it up here I might get motivated to do so.

Ok user manual time...
When first run you will need to make a profile.
Choose a name in the account box and hit new profile...a terminal will pop up ... follow the instructions.
Once done that account can be accessed by the name in account. This can be changed at any time ...just hit rescan. You can have multiple accounts. Don't leave the profile in root if you remaster and distibute...that would be sily Very Happy

Once you have a profile is similar to a 2 pane file manager...hopefully usage should be fairly obvious.
Folder creation involves adding the name in the address bar and hitting the new button/icon next to it...ok one to improve I know.
Delete has no warning (yet) so careful with that one.
'Get Link' gets you the direct download link but only for files in Public folder...this is still available for new users but you have to enable it...its very useful for example I stream flash movies and it avoids any intermedeate webpage.
Add and add all are for files...no folder uploading.

That's it... quick and simple hopefully..I find it quicker than using the webpage and at a 14k pet who can complain.

TODO
selective file upload/download/delete
renaming
confirmation prompts (yes it can delete without asking !!)
download links for non 'Public' shares
folder uploading
gui progress monitoring.
language support
Dropbox_GUI-0.1.pet
Description  Version 0.1
pet

 Download 
Filename  Dropbox_GUI-0.1.pet 
Filesize  11.91 KB 
Downloaded  339 Time(s) 
drop.png
 Description   
 Filesize   85.06 KB
 Viewed   1060 Time(s)

drop.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8365

PostPosted: Fri 13 Dec 2013, 08:44    Post_subject:  

Beans on toast.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
josejp2424

Joined: 01 Aug 2010
Posts: 221

PostPosted: Fri 13 Dec 2013, 09:30    Post_subject: dropbox
Sub_title: dropbox
 

Excellent , approve
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8365

PostPosted: Tue 28 Jan 2014, 19:50    Post_subject:  

I recently had to update my curl certificates. I have attached a recent bundle if anyone findes this a problem. You can disable the need in the dropbox_uploader script but that seemed a little lame.

they usually live in \usr\share\curl\

mike
curl-ca-bundle.zip
Description 
zip

 Download 
Filename  curl-ca-bundle.zip 
Filesize  131.04 KB 
Downloaded  211 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1776
Location: wales

PostPosted: Wed 29 Jan 2014, 07:56    Post_subject:  

been using this for a while ......

cheers mikeb

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=93998
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8365

PostPosted: Wed 29 Jan 2014, 08:00    Post_subject:  

I think short feedback is a good sign Smile

Glad its useful... I find it handy for files I post here.

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
666philb


Joined: 07 Feb 2010
Posts: 1776
Location: wales

PostPosted: Fri 31 Jan 2014, 19:27    Post_subject:  

hi mikeb,

i use this for managing part of quickpet

one thing i've found though is that it occasionally loses my login information and i have to re-enter it. any ideas?
(i maybe using an earlier version than the one posted here.... have you tweaked it?)

cheers

phil

_________________
Tahrpup, built with trusty tahr packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=93998
Quickpet_Precise, install popular apps quickly http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=83642
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8365

PostPosted: Fri 31 Jan 2014, 19:55    Post_subject:  

Hm not changed anything since uploading here.

Only thing I have had to do was update the curl certificate bundle.

The profile is created at droppox as part of their user api facilities and a local file is created in root with the details to log on with ...not much more to it than that.

from command line it would be something like
dropbox_uploader.sh mike list

assuming there was already a .dropbox_uploader-mike in root.

perhaps if it happens again see if the command line gives any clues.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8365

PostPosted: Sat 12 Apr 2014, 19:48    Post_subject:  

Ok openSSL farce has hit our humble dropbox uploader script...or more precisely curl.

If you are trying to be proper and use ssl and certificates it may no longer work since dropbox have changed their ssl handling .

dropbox_uploader.sh line 30 uncomment

CURL_ACCEPT_CERTIFICATES="-k"

and accept that security ain't what its cracked up to be,

You still need correct credentials to access so its not exactly risking any necks.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 319

PostPosted: Tue 06 May 2014, 15:43    Post_subject: ported DropboxGUI  

I use dropbox alot and like this gui.

I am mainly on alphaOS so I ported it to alphaos and updated dropbox_uploader.sh to
latest version 0.13 (arguments have changed a bit)

Had to change a little bit to get it to work with alphaos see this
http://alphaos.tuxfamily.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=1098

also changed "get link" to new behaviour of dropbox i.e. not using public folder
but share link

However there is something I cannot get right.

When I start dropbox_gui the local folder on the left side does not get displayed correctly.
Some files or dirs are not displayed all though they are there since I can click on them
although I can only see white background.

And what the H***, now that I wanted to take a screenshot it worked all the time Sad

But I have seen it many times. I just wanted to ask if it is something you've come across?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8365

PostPosted: Tue 06 May 2014, 17:14    Post_subject:  

Hi scooby

glad its useful to you and you were ok updating the script... i have not got around to adapting to the shared link method but thats just laziness on my part.

As for the folder contents...its always behaved for me but someone else did mention a problem ... from the description it sounded it had started off in something like a ./ folder rather than / but on the other hand his problem was more the paths were no right.

Not seen any loss of folders/files though is it possible were are dealing with a unicode issue and there is a problem with certain characters. As you will have seen find is used in a similar fashion to pburn's file browser.
/tmp/dbox-ls is the generated file list...might be worth looking in that if it happens again.

By the way have you had any curl/certificate/authentication problems?

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 319

PostPosted: Wed 07 May 2014, 12:07    Post_subject:  

mikeb wrote:

Not seen any loss of folders/files though is it possible were are dealing with a unicode issue and there is a problem with certain characters. As you will have seen find is used in a similar fashion to pburn's file browser.
/tmp/dbox-ls is the generated file list...might be worth looking in that if it happens again.

I'm not sure if it is a unicode problem. It only occurs at startup.
If I then go up one dir and down again everything is displayed fine.

I did check /tmp/dbox-ls, it looked OK.

mikeb wrote:

By the way have you had any curl/certificate/authentication problems?


I did.

In alphaos there is a script called update-ca-certificates, I guess it is from arch.
I added a call to it in DropboxGUI for automagic handling.

*edit*
see below for view at startup


Code:
> cat /tmp/dbox-ls
gtk-directory|Desktop/
gtk-directory|Downloads/
gtk-file|markup
gtk-file|markup.tar.gz
gtk-file|start_wifi


and after up and down ( now there was one extra file for the scrrentshot above )




Suggests something is happening in the code run at startup but I cannot find anything
strange about it.

seems to work OK for dirs other than /root/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8365

PostPosted: Wed 07 May 2014, 15:18    Post_subject:  

Hmm oddness.... it does look like the output from find is ok.

I notice the left pane is half missing so might be a gtkdialog issue,,, I use gtkdialog3 though 4 seems ok...not sure what arrangement you have. (3 symlinked to 4 perhaps)

All that happens is that text file populates the list pane... once you browse a refresh is performed on that list box.

One of those things that needs reproducing..
A config is made saving the last folder you were in...just curious if you exit when in say /mnt/sda1 for example.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Scooby

Joined: 03 Mar 2012
Posts: 319

PostPosted: Thu 08 May 2014, 12:24    Post_subject:  

mikeb wrote:

I notice the left pane is half missing so might be a gtkdialog issue,,, I use gtkdialog3 though 4 seems ok...not sure what arrangement you have. (3 symlinked to 4 perhaps)


Code:
> gtkdialog --version
gtkdialog version 0.8.4 release (C) 2003-2007 Laszlo Pere, 2011-2012 Thunor
Built with support for: GTK+ 3.


mikeb wrote:

.. once you browse a refresh is performed on that list box.

Can you perform a refresh from bash or only via <action> tags?


mikeb wrote:

A config is made saving the last folder you were in...just curious if you exit when in say /mnt/sda1 for example.

/mnt/sda1 works OK


Code:
 > ls -l /
total 0
lrwxrwxrwx   1 root root    7 Apr 16 15:33 bin -> usr/bin/
drwxrwxrwx   3 root root   27 Feb 25 12:22 boot/
drwxr-xr-x  15 root root 5.3K May  8 17:56 dev/
drwxrwxrwx  81 root root  160 May  8 17:59 etc/
drwxr-xr-x   3 root root   28 Apr 16 22:42 home/
lrwxrwxrwx   1 root root    7 Apr 16 15:33 lib -> usr/lib/
lrwxrwxrwx   1 root root    7 Apr 16 15:33 lib64 -> usr/lib/
drwxrwxrwx   5 root root  100 May  8 17:56 mnt/
drwxr-xr-x   3 root root   37 Apr 17 21:52 opt/
dr-xr-xr-x 205 root root    0 May  8 17:55 proc/
drwxrwxrwx  17 root root  260 May  8 17:59 root/
drwxr-xr-x   8 root root  140 May  8 17:56 run/
lrwxrwxrwx   1 root root    7 Apr 16 15:33 sbin -> usr/bin/
dr-xr-xr-x  13 root root    0 May  8 18:03 sys/
lrwxrwxrwx   1 root root   12 Apr 16 15:33 tmp -> mnt/live/tmp/
drwxrwxrwx 124 root root   80 May  8 17:56 usr/
drwxr-xr-x  52 root root  140 May  8 17:58 var/


All works except
/boot
/home
/mnt
/opt
/root
/run
/tmp
/usr

It seems if there are enough files to fill window and get scrollbar it works?
Can you see any other connections?

I tried to fill up /root with enough files and then it worked.

Do you have any input on this?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8365

PostPosted: Thu 08 May 2014, 12:53    Post_subject:  

lol ..oh this sounds like fun

Looks like gtkdialog4 and do you have gtk3?

I have gtkdialog4 built for for older systems to test with.

The pattern you suggest is that less than a full pane causes the problem..that smacks of a gtkdialog bug OR version 4 wants an extra parameter.... but perhaps a workaround would be to pad out with blank lines.....

tested with nearly empty directory and still ok.... but I'll see if I can reproduce it.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 4 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2, 3, 4 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Browsers and Internet
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0913s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0052s) ][ GZIP on ]