Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 25 Jul 2014, 07:25
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Slacko 5.7 final
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 10 of 40 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, ..., 38, 39, 40 Next
Author Message
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7782
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 15 Dec 2013, 07:12    Post_subject:  

mavrothal wrote:
The http://01micko.com/testing/5.6.5/ is painfully slow (5k/sec)
Any plan B?


@TurnbullMalcolm.. he has plan B (Autralian federal communications Minister Sad ).

Those are the sorts of speeds I have to upload to overseas, that's why I upload locally. Sorry about that. Try aarf's links (updated first post).

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sun 15 Dec 2013, 07:13    Post_subject:  

Micko I tested the new Alpha
and I am as you know an absolute noob
Sure I know more than some noobs but
I am like a noob in that I fail to know what
to do next and fail to find that in the software.

So don't take this as a criticism at all
I love that you are at it and give us new Slacko
to test.

Now to what I did not like.

I wanted to play an WMA file.
You chose to use Pmusic
and maybe that is a good choice for WMA
I have no idea but the very bad thing with Pmusic
is that it decide on it's own what to do
instead of asking me first I did not want it to make a database.
Pmusic started to list all the wma files and that locked up
the player for many minutes before it could play
the chose file. Yes I understand it is only when one
use it the first time. But as a noob one trust something
got very wrong and hit the panic button to get out of
the faulty software not knowing it is set up that way
.

So I hit ctrl+alt+Backspace to get to a fresh start
and writing xwin or something I fail to remember.

Would a complete noob even know how to get out of it?

And would they know how to set up Pmusic to skip
that Database collection of all my music files? I doubt that
because I have no idea where to do that despite being
hers since 2008.

I do understand why you chose FF17 instead of
the current release FF 26 that I use on Lupu.

The internet connection was tricky though.
I am not sure of if a noob would know how to do it.
But it worked when I had hit the right buttons
but more out of pure chance and pure luck
me not knowing if I did it right or wrong.

To mavrothal it worked very fast when I downloaded some
30 minutes ago. say 2minutes or at most 3 minutes
I live in Sweden maybe our lines are faster?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1039

PostPosted: Sun 15 Dec 2013, 07:20    Post_subject:  

Damn, Ziggy's doing really great job - very nice those new icons are! Smile

Considering the latest changes in Woof (depreciation of ~/Startup/ and removing IceWM legacy stuff) I've done a quick test of some other WMs.
And yeah - empty tray in IceWM, Openbox and FluxBox (but my modified version of Peebee's LXDE/Compiz seems to be ok).
Additionaly lack of menu entries in IceWM (fixmenus throws icewm-xdgmenu: command not found).
Does it mean that all those packages need to be redone somehow to fit recent changes in Woof?

Thanks &
Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7782
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 15 Dec 2013, 07:33    Post_subject:  

SFR wrote:
And yeah - empty tray in IceWM, Openbox and FluxBox..


At this stage it's to be expected. It's a work in progress.

BTW, I did see your fix for the snapmerge and it is under consideration, plus the newer kernel in the 4g (non-PAE) has the patch for your wireless issue. (It wasn't fixed upstream at that time).

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3953
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sun 15 Dec 2013, 09:26    Post_subject:  

Short comment on 5.6.4 :
Have used the delta, replaced the 5.6.3.sfs on a USB vfat partition of 1GB
with the 5.6.4.sfs and it's vmlinuz and initrd.gz
and booted it and chose the old 5.6.3 save-file and everything went well so far .


Bootmanager went well to select the coretemp module : /etc/rc.d/MODULESCONFIG : ADDLIST=' coretemp '


About firmware :

lspci :
02:00.0 Network controller: Ralink corp. Device 5390

ifconfig wlan0 up

dmesg :
[ 84.292228] ieee80211 phy0: rt2x00lib_request_firmware: Info - Loading firmware file 'rt2860.bin'
[ 84.295442] ieee80211 phy0: rt2x00lib_request_firmware: Info - Firmware detected - version: 0.34

iwlist wlan0 scan | grep ESSID
ESSID:"HITRON-A440"
ESSID:"HITRON-7B20"
ESSID:"EasyBox-420206"
ESSID:"HITRON-6A80"
ESSID:"FRITZ!Box Fon WLAN 7320"
ESSID:"FRITZ!Box Fon WLAN 7112"
ESSID:"majo_wlan"
ESSID:"HITRON-9BC0"
ESSID:"lulu extra"

Time for party ! Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3953
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sun 15 Dec 2013, 11:32    Post_subject:  

Another building site :

PUPMODE=5

and ran shutdownconfig from console,

choose to save to file inside partition sdb6 on usb,

choose to change folder - renamed the folder as folderNEW ( appended NEW ),

the savefile was created correctly at the new place
exited to prompt,
typed reboot

and at the menu to choose the savefile
this new savefile on sdb6 did not show up,

though SAVEMARK file is in /initrd/mnt/dev_save top layer next to fsckme.flg
with content '6' .

The new savefile mounts correctly as
/dev/loop2: 0 /mnt/sdb6/WoofCEtestNEW/slackosave-2013_12_15.3fs
/dev/loop2 on /mnt/+mnt+sdb6+WoofCEtestNEW+slackosave-2013_12_15.3fs type ext3 (rw,relatime,errors=continue,user_xattr,acl,barrier=1,data=ordered)
Screenshot_2013-12-15_161003.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   37.42 KB
 Viewed   518 Time(s)

Screenshot_2013-12-15_161003.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3953
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sun 15 Dec 2013, 11:48    Post_subject:  

Karl Godt wrote:
Another building site :


though SAVEMARK file is in /initrd/mnt/dev_save top layer next to fsckme.flg
with content '6' .



/etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE :
PUPMODE=13
PDEV1='sdb1'
DEV1FS='vfat'
PUPSFS='sdb1,vfat,/WoofCEtest/puppy_slacko_5.6.4.sfs'

PSAVEMARK=''
PSUBDIR='/WoofCEtest'

/etc/rc.d/rc.shutdown :
#v3.97 BK 5 mar 2008, handle PSAVEMARK, see /etc/rc.d/PUPSTATE, init script.
SAVEMARK="`echo -n "$SAVEPART" | rev | sed -e 's%[a-z].*%%' | rev`" #ex: sdc2 becomes 2.
echo -n "$SAVEMARK" > ${aMNTPT}${xPSUBDIR}/SAVEMARK #file in boot partition. 'init' script reads this. 101020

I am wondering if the file should have the name PSAVEMARK or just SAVEMARK .
Screenshot_2013-12-15_165828.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   71.57 KB
 Viewed   506 Time(s)

Screenshot_2013-12-15_165828.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1365
Location: Malvern, Worcs, UK

PostPosted: Sun 15 Dec 2013, 12:48    Post_subject: svg icon problem with lxpanel  

The lxpanel system tray seems to have a problem with the new svg icons.

As you can see from the attached screenie, cpu usage goes to 100% and the icons for retrovol and firewall state never appear.

This phenomenon was seen to a lesser degree in Slacko5.6 where the Network icon in the system tray used svg icons - however the burst of 100% cpu usage was for a shortish defined period and then the icon did appear.

If anybody can suggest what diagnostic information to collect then I'm happy to try and provide clues as to what is happening.

Cheers
peebee
Screenshot-systemtray.png
 Description   
 Filesize   36.54 KB
 Viewed   483 Time(s)

Screenshot-systemtray.png


_________________
LxPup-14.03 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 600
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Sun 15 Dec 2013, 13:41    Post_subject: wifi  

Slacko-5.6.5

Fresh load into 'RAM' only, tried wifi connect... the only program that would connect was Frisbee!

Updated Slacko-5.6.3 to Slacko-5.6.5 Tried wifi connect... nothing would connect until I finally tried and deleted all previously saved network configurations (available function in Frisbee)... then, Frisbee was again the only program that would make the connection!

Wifi now working!!! Apparently deleting all previously saved wifi config's is a must on an upgrade where wifi did not work with prior Slacko's.

All your 'extra' efforts in the 5.6.5 build certainly show off mic! Nice piece of work!

On with the testing.

>>>---Indian------>
Desktop-5.6.5-1_2013-12-15_125056.png
 Description   
 Filesize   185.11 KB
 Viewed   471 Time(s)

Desktop-5.6.5-1_2013-12-15_125056.png


_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Karl Godt


Joined: 20 Jun 2010
Posts: 3953
Location: Kiel,Germany

PostPosted: Sun 15 Dec 2013, 13:50    Post_subject: Re: svg icon problem with lxpanel  

peebee wrote:
The lxpanel system tray seems to have a problem with the new svg icons.
As you can see from the attached screenie, cpu usage goes to 100% and the icons for retrovol and firewall state never appear.

I would try to recompile lxpanel .

lxpanel_0.5.6.orig.tar.gz 1,049.6 kB
lxpanel_0.5.12.orig.tar.gz 2,000.8 kB
http://packages.debian.org/source/jessie/lxpanel
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7782
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 15 Dec 2013, 17:19    Post_subject: Re: svg icon problem with lxpanel  

peebee wrote:
The lxpanel system tray seems to have a problem with the new svg icons.

As you can see from the attached screenie, cpu usage goes to 100% and the icons for retrovol and firewall state never appear.


I believe it's not the icons but the way lxpanel is starting them. Is there a conflict between lxpanel and openbox trying to start them? Which one is trying to start them?

They are started from the standard place which is $XDG_CONFIG_HOME/autostart/. If I start them manually ..
Code:
xdg-open XDG_CONFIG_HOME/autostart/retrovol.desktop
there is no issue.

So my deduction is that it's either a bug in lxpanel, openbox or something in between.

Happy hunting!

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 4984
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 15 Dec 2013, 17:42    Post_subject:  

Slacko 5.6.5
Frugal to USB flash drive\
First boot

You have done some really good work on the initial settings screens.
It was very easy to get all the graphics settings changed, to what works best for this computer.
The first boot guess setup was OK, but I have a wide screen monitor that needs settings that are not normal.

One thing I miss when I first start the browser.
It would be nice to have the browser start at

file:///usr/share/doc/home.htm

This home page is very useful for a new user of Puppy.

Would probably only need to have the browser configured to use this as it's home page and not the standard Firefox first start web site.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
SFR


Joined: 26 Oct 2011
Posts: 1039

PostPosted: Sun 15 Dec 2013, 18:10    Post_subject:  

RE: lxpanel

It's lxpanelx issue. The original lxpanel behaves ok with those icons.
Looks like that lxpanelx (or at least its tray plugin) is kinda buggy indeed - for example TrueCrypt's and JAVA apps' tray icons also aren't displayed properly, but I learned to live with this, in exchange for the ability to rearrange taskbar items manually (this feature should be available in every panel IMO; even M$ has implemented that since W7!).

I guess it works ok in 5.6, because the panel is already up and running when delayedrun is starting all tray apps.

Naturally, not knowing C, GTK, etc., I've no idea how to fix this, but temporugly [temporary+ugly] workaround could be to kill and restart those two tray apps...or get back to lxpanel. Rolling Eyes

Greetings!

_________________
[O]bdurate [R]ules [D]estroy [E]nthusiastic [R]ebels => [C]reative [H]umans [A]lways [O]pen [S]ource
Omnia mea mecum porto.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 4984
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sun 15 Dec 2013, 18:20    Post_subject:  

Slacko 5.6.5
Frugal to USB flash drive
Using save to entire USB flash drive option.

PPM (initial default setup)

Repositories showing in PPM are 5. OK.
Max number able to list at one time 5.

In configure PPM

6 repositories are selected initially, by default.

Too many checked.

The Puppy-noarch offical repository is not showing.
This one needs to be seen by a new user.

Need to un-check one of the other repositories for the default PPM config.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7782
Location: qld

PostPosted: Sun 15 Dec 2013, 18:26    Post_subject:  

It's definitely a bug in lxpanelx.

Now, the re-entry in /root/startup/1-lxde-startup.sh @line 6 lxpanelctl restart is the cause, but I see why you do it, because the backgrounds aren't the right colour. You need to report this to the developer as it is a bug. Or switch to lxpanel.

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 10 of 40 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, ..., 38, 39, 40 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1092s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0106s) ][ GZIP on ]