Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 25 Apr 2014, 04:48
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Upup Raring 3.9.9.2 with non-PAE 3.9.9 kernel. 13 July 2013
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 30 of 31 [465 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 28, 29, 30, 31 Next
Author Message
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4313
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Tue 07 Jan 2014, 21:59    Post subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
If I was in your situation, I would do the simplest thing - download the Windows installer for the configuration program, run it on a Windows machine and update the firmware through Windows.

That way, I could be done in minutes instead of spending days trying to do it in Linux.


Took your always-good advice.

Learned that downloading a .msi in Linux then transferring it to MSwin7 corrupts it somehow - so had to risk win7 online long enough to download it directly.

Felt dirty Rolling Eyes but it got the job done.

Thanks! David

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2541
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Tue 07 Jan 2014, 22:03    Post subject:  

starhawk wrote:
within Upup Raring, can I output to a secondary display with that, and if so, how?


Just poked around in the Laptop Tool wizard and figured this out Embarassed when all else fails go exploring (by which I mean press random buttons and watch what happens)...

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 1.1! Get the PetGet patch on pg8; it's important.
Next system will be an HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo in an innovative case... if I ever get off my butt and build it Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2541
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Tue 07 Jan 2014, 22:45    Post subject:  

....well, almost Rolling Eyes

Here's the problem. The display I'm using goes up to 1440x900 and looks the best there.

So I set it to 1440x900 (having manually created such a mode) with the resolution-changer wizard (without leaving X) and it doesn't change squat. Computer thinks it's smarter than I am (wrong!).

*sigh* go into rxvt, and...
Code:
xrandr --output VGA1 --mode 1440x900

Works fine, except that it screws up the background -- my wallpaper is now tiled and generally junky looking.

*bigger sigh* restart X. OH CRAP. The LCD for the netbook comes back on and makes everything 800x600.

*AARRGH!!* Dunno what to do at this point. I just want a 1440x900 display output and NOTHING from my netbook screen unless I reboot without the external monitor attached.

Help?

EDIT: temporary workaround is to re-set the wallpaper and drag the icons around to fill the screen. Quite clumsy and probably won't "stick" (reboot will undo everything, in other words)... but it'll do for now.

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 1.1! Get the PetGet patch on pg8; it's important.
Next system will be an HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo in an innovative case... if I ever get off my butt and build it Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4313
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Tue 07 Jan 2014, 23:53    Post subject:  

I am trying to recall as I used to use a large display with my Netbook & had to do this ...

I think I opened Utility --> Laptop Tool --> Change Resolution --> then twiddled with display settings - I think the external on Auto and Internal Off.

I do remember that it took several tries to get it right.

I also had to force it into Turbo mode daily but the external monitor resolution mode stuck once I found the right setting.

If I took the Netbook on the road then I had to reset things once to use the internal display then again to use the external display once back in the home office.

When switching to the internal display I the system defaulted to set-up resolution & I had to then set the Internal resolution to AUTO & the external to Off.

HTH ...

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2541
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Wed 08 Jan 2014, 00:25    Post subject:  

That's about what I did.

Unfortunately, I rebooted and it didn't work anymore Sad

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 1.1! Get the PetGet patch on pg8; it's important.
Next system will be an HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo in an innovative case... if I ever get off my butt and build it Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
edoc


Joined: 07 Aug 2005
Posts: 4313
Location: Southeast Georgia, USA

PostPosted: Wed 08 Jan 2014, 00:32    Post subject:  

Try a search, I prefer http://duckduckgo.com on "Samsung nb30" or "external monitor netbook"

Although my first post was ignored I recall that someone walked me through the solution in another thread somewhere.

Unless it was a private message ... if i find something there i will post it.

_________________
Thanks! David
Home page: http://nevils-station.com
Don't google Search! http://duckduckgo.com
Puppy upup Raring 3992 & Lighthouse64-b602
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2114
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 08 Jan 2014, 02:33    Post subject:  

starhawk wrote:
within Upup Raring, can I output to a secondary display with that, and if so, how? I only need (and want) one display active at a time.
I dont have any answer specific to your machine but when I did a similar thing on my Acer netbook I had an option available within Bios and had to use that.

It was a while ago but I seem to recall I had to force "external screen only" via bios then tinker with xorg.conf to make the screen parameters match the telly I was connecting to.

(I also found that the bios setting had no effect unless the telly was already plugged into the vga port when I first applied power to the netbook - I couldnt do the xorg change on the inbuilt screen then plug in the external. I had to work with a chunky poor-res display on the external while editing xorg.conf)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 3812
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Wed 08 Jan 2014, 08:16    Post subject:  

starhawk wrote:
....well, almost Rolling Eyes

Here's the problem. The display I'm using goes up to 1440x900 and looks the best there.

So I set it to 1440x900 (having manually created such a mode) with the resolution-(...)

*AARRGH!!* Dunno what to do at this point. I just want a 1440x900 display output and NOTHING from my netbook screen unless I reboot without the external monitor attached.

Help?

EDIT: temporary workaround is to re-set the wallpaper and drag the icons around to fill the screen. Quite clumsy and probably won't "stick" (reboot will undo everything, in other words)... but it'll do for now.


Hi, starhawk.

My suggestions :
1) sit on the ground in lotus position, chant "ooooohhhhmmmmmm" while you
meditate on the virtue of patience. Wink

2) once you're finished with your workaround, copy /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin to /root/Choices/ROX-Filer/PuppyPin.1440x900.
Also make a copy of your 800x600 resolution PuppyPin as PuppyPin.800x600 when you get the chance in the laptop"s "regular" mode.

Next time you choose the higher resolution, you can recall your previous design
with
Code:
cd /root/Choices/ROX-Filer
cp -f PuppyPin.1440x900 PuppyPin


You can even use it directly by issuing
Code:
rox -p=$PWD/PuppyPin.1440x900


Same goes for
Code:
rox -p=$PWD/PuppyPin.800x600

once you've created it.

With the commands you already discovered, and this, I'm sure you can compose a
script and a desktop file that'll allow you to change screens and resolutions with
only a click of the mouse.

Best of luck. BFN.

musher0
~~~~~~~~
PS.
Here's a script that I use to change backgrounds and icon positions on a 1280x
1024 screen. It's not the same thing, but it might give you some ideas. I create a
flag (/tmp/alterne) so the script knows what to do next.

The default ROX flag at < rox.sourceforge.net/ROX-Filer/panels > is of no use for this, it's for panels only.

Reasoning is as follows: "If the alternate screen flag is up, do such and such; if it
doesn't exist, create it and do the other thing."

Code:
#!/bin/sh
# ~/Choices/ROX-Filer/alternePPin.sh
# musher0, 9 sept.; 26, 29 déc. 2013
####
# variables
REP="/root/Choices/ROX-Filer"
ALTRN="/tmp/alterne"
HORLG="/root/my-applications/bin/horloge_noire+bisque-bas-dr.sh"
#
cd $REP
killall xclock
if [ ! -f $ALTRN ];then
   > $ALTRN &
   PUN="PuppyPin-leger?"
   L="a-gauche"
   $HORLG haut &
   killall conky &
   else
      rm -f $ALTRN &
      PUN="PuppyPin?"
      L=""
      conky -d -c /root/.conky-1ligne &
      $HORLG bas &
fi
PP="`ls -oghu $PUN | head -n +1 | awk '{ print $7 }'`"
rox -l=$L -p=$REP/$PP &


You may want to ignore the conky and the xclock ($HORLG) calls.

Two different pinboard names are used. The < ls -oghu $PUN > etc., line discovers
the last pinboard used by one or the other name and feeds it into the PP variable.

Simple as pie when you know how to do it! Cool It's a breeze changing backdrops now. (Took me a couple of years to notice what < ls -u > did, hehe. But now
saves me a lot of coding.) Rolling Eyes

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2541
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Wed 08 Jan 2014, 20:04    Post subject:  

Temporarily fixed -- by switching screens with Mom, oddly enough Laughing she's been using my old Samsung -- a smaller, 15" LCD that's 4:3 like I needed to make this thing smooth.

Right now she's trying out a nice Viewsonic widescreen, to see how she likes it. It's the one that was giving me headaches earlier Wink if she doesn't want it I'll probably see if the local tech shop will take it in trade for another screen that's 15" and 4:3.

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 1.1! Get the PetGet patch on pg8; it's important.
Next system will be an HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo in an innovative case... if I ever get off my butt and build it Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pelo


Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 2291
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Fri 10 Jan 2014, 00:43    Post subject: Set up keyboqrd neqded eqch boot
Subject description: Upup Raring 3.9.9.2.
 

Set up keyboqrd neqded eqch boot
Translation "Keyboard needs set-up -to fr- at each boot.
Please, need repair asap (as soon as possible) ! Confused
Theme aurora is a fine blue. Good.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
sszindian


Joined: 24 Apr 2010
Posts: 578
Location: Pennsylvania U.S.

PostPosted: Fri 10 Jan 2014, 21:10    Post subject: 3.9.9.2  

Update on Raring-3.9.9.2

Using Raring-3.9.9.2 since it came out!

No problems so far!!!

WiFi holding like a champ!!! (I only encountered one problem a few months ago and lost WiFi then but, I believe it was Internet-related as it never occurred again. Anyway, it corrupted my savefile but a pfix=fsck brought everything back to normal its working fine.)

Await the next version.

Just wanted to let you know pemasu, you're building some fine puppy's!!!!!!

>>>---Indian------>
Raring-4.png
 Description   
 Filesize   165.29 KB
 Viewed   433 Time(s)

Raring-4.png


_________________
Cloud Computing For Every Puppy (a .pet)
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=69192
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 3812
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Sat 11 Jan 2014, 11:39    Post subject:  

Yep, pemasu puts together some fine Puppies indeed.
But don't tell him, it might go to his head. Laughing

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2541
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sat 11 Jan 2014, 16:08    Post subject:  

Closing the lid (suspend) has two issues for me right now. Issue One is that it makes shutting down impossible except via power button. I get "Puppy is now shutting down" and then I get a hashtag prompt. Issue Two is a bit more serious. I'm pretty sure the fact that my flash drive has corrupted files, is due to the fact that I left it mounted when I put my netbook into suspend.

Full install to ASUS 1000HEB with 2gb RAM and a 64gb SSD.

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 1.1! Get the PetGet patch on pg8; it's important.
Next system will be an HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo in an innovative case... if I ever get off my butt and build it Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
charlie6

Joined: 30 Jun 2008
Posts: 940
Location: South of Belgium

PostPosted: Sun 12 Jan 2014, 09:46    Post subject: Re: Set up keyboqrd neqded eqch boot
Subject description: Upup Raring 3.9.9.2.
 

Pelo wrote:
Set up keyboqrd neqded eqch boot
Translation "Keyboard needs set-up -to fr- at each boot.


this has already been fixed by august 2013 >>> see page 17 this thread Pemasus's post by August 17th 2013 >>> just download libX11 link & install ...

enjoy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5453
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Sat 01 Feb 2014, 22:42    Post subject:  

Still running Raring every day.........
Raring.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   44.01 KB
 Viewed   170 Time(s)

Raring.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 30 of 31 [465 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 28, 29, 30, 31 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0894s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0116s) ][ GZIP on ]