Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 24 Apr 2014, 16:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
slacko-5.6 Final - plus testing next
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 30 of 31 [454 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 28, 29, 30, 31 Next
Author Message
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 3810
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Tue 26 Nov 2013, 04:02    Post subject:  

@bigpup:

Additional thought: if it was a 32-bit vs 64-bit thing, wouldn't we have a
similar bug each time we save to a large external drive on a 32-bit Puppy?

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 4631
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 26 Nov 2013, 10:46    Post subject:  

musher0 wrote:
@bigpup:

Additional thought: if it was a 32-bit vs 64-bit thing, wouldn't we have a
similar bug each time we save to a large external drive on a 32-bit Puppy?

Just bringing up ideas to check.
Not sure if this is a specific 32 bit operating system problem or more to do with what partition system is on the HDD and how it is supported by the operating system.

Example:
Quote:
Once a remote prospect, an important barrier in disk storage has become a reality: the venerable master boot record (MBR) partitioning scheme can't fully handle disks larger than 2.2TB (2TiB). With disks as large as 3TB readily available and with much larger RAID arrays common, alternatives to the MBR partitioning scheme have become important to understand. The heir apparent is the GUID Partition Table (GPT). Learn how to make sure your Linux system is fully prepared for the future of disk storage.

Info from:
http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/linux/library/l-gpt/

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 3810
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Tue 26 Nov 2013, 21:28    Post subject:  

musher0 wrote:
Hi, bigpup.

Do you mean you had trouble creating a pupsave on a large external
hard drive? (Your wording makes it unclear in my mind.)

In any case, it occurred to me tonight: what if the busybox blkid --
present in both wanderer's CE3 Puppy and 01micko's new slacko --
was the culprit?

The Lucid "breed" of Puppies offers an actual blkid utility and does not
have the pupsave bug.

Just a thought. It's not that important anymore, since we have relatively
easy-to-use work-arounds now.

BFN.

musher0


Hello, bigpup.

I did another test and actually, using the actual blkid utility instead of the
busybox one did solve the pupsave-creation bug at the code level. So we
now have 4 work-arounds and one real code solution. I gather Mick will
find an elegant way to integrate this solution in his next slacko.

Concerning the new GPT disk paradigm you mentioned -- It's good to
think ahead. But, speaking for myself, at present I have 22 % occupation
of a total 1.128 Tb disk capacity. I have about 10 Puppies on there, plus
XP, and 3 other Linux distros -- not to mention about 100 G worth of back-
ups. I feel it's a bit early for me to be concerned, since I've got 68 %
wiggle-room left. I suppose I'll cross that bridge when I get there -- in a
couple of years.

I'm sure I'm not the only Linuxian taking pleasure in "beating the system"
-- i.e. pushing an older machine to the max before considering buying
newer hardware. It's one of the strengths of Linux generally, and Puppy
has achieved resplendent results in this area. Let's hope BK's successors
-- the new Puppy "guard", so to speak -- will maintain that philosophy.

BFN.

musher0

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
01micko


Joined: 11 Oct 2008
Posts: 7547
Location: qld

PostPosted: Wed 27 Nov 2013, 02:40    Post subject:  

Hello friends!

I am building another now, made some relevant commits to woof, put blkid in the template is one (TY musher0), and also added some new ideas, some from Mr KRG. There are a few more from zigbert too, hope they work fine for you. Also added bugfixes for hiawatha, categories and other files (TY SFR).

My intent is to get slacko 5.7 out soon, then leave slacko alone for awhile and help pemasu port wheezy to woof-CE. I have already built raspberry pi (ZAP6) with debian wheezy armel bins and that pretty much worked so I'll add the infrastructure included there and get pemasu's advice as needed (when he has time, he's a busy guy ATM).

I think Upup will remain in petty good shape, oldyeller has his OVprecise using woof_CE, I urge you to test that too at your convenience.

As usual, when I get closer with these woof bugs, I'll get a non-PAE kernel out too. The only reason this one is PAE is that's what I had in my config at the time!

I'll build video drivers too, so it wont be a 'half arsed' release. I take some pride in my work!

If I get time after that, I'll do updates on thin and phat slacko variants. But as you can appreciate, there is a lot to do with woof alone. I wouldn't mind stepping back from slacko dev all together and letting some one else have a go.. but who would stick up their hand? You? [ Laughing ].

The next will be released in delta form only at first, full iso later, and I'll probably start a new thread as it will be "official alpha" or maybe I'll just leave the delta, squash a heap of bugs then go with a full iso for beta as the one after.. I struggle a bit with bandwidth here...[ Oh.. sheet.. can I use the term 'alpha' ? Laughing ].

Thanks everyone for reports and fixes.

Cheers!

_________________
Woof Mailing List | keep the faith Cool |
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
mister_electronico


Joined: 20 Jan 2008
Posts: 549
Location: Asturias_ España

PostPosted: Fri 29 Nov 2013, 13:49    Post subject: hi  

It may be possible that Pi Rasperry worked with Slacko? I'm looking to buy a Pi Rasperry soon.

Greetings.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10522
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Thu 05 Dec 2013, 01:51    Post subject:  

Barry and many others encourage us to use Slacko.

I am on old Lupu 528-005 so I obviously need big help.

I have put Firefox .mozilla directory on the /mnt/home/

for to not eat up the save file and it works very good on Lupu

So now I am lost at how that will interfere with doing the same
on Slacko?


I mean when I boot up lupu it update this .mozilla with my settings
of language and UTF8 and other preferences


If I do the same with Slacko these two different OS will use
the same .mozilla directory
Would it not crash it?

I think that is not a good thing? They will get confused would they not?

So how does one separate these so they does not mess up .mozilla
on the HD?

Dearly hope somebody can sort this out?

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
greengeek

Joined: 20 Jul 2010
Posts: 2111
Location: New Zealand

PostPosted: Wed 08 Jan 2014, 15:05    Post subject:  

Thanks 01mick0 for a really usable Puppy. I've just installed 5.6 to my Acer Aspire One netbook and I find that the SD slot works perfectly, which is really nice.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mini-jaguar

Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 461

PostPosted: Mon 13 Jan 2014, 14:46    Post subject:  

sorry if it's been covered before, but what does this icon above the clock in the lower right hand corner mean?
slacko560-symbols.png
 Description   
 Filesize   5.83 KB
 Viewed   691 Time(s)

slacko560-symbols.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mini-jaguar

Joined: 13 Nov 2008
Posts: 461

PostPosted: Fri 17 Jan 2014, 15:17    Post subject:  

Sometimes that little door is black like in the photo, sometimes just white with a black outline.

So no one knows, and no one cares? Is it indicating spyware or a back door? Only official packages were installed, none of which made that thing appear in other Slacko versions.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
James C


Joined: 26 Mar 2009
Posts: 5453
Location: Kentucky

PostPosted: Fri 17 Jan 2014, 15:48    Post subject:  

mini-jaguar wrote:
Sometimes that little door is black like in the photo, sometimes just white with a black outline.

So no one knows, and no one cares? Is it indicating spyware or a back door? Only official packages were installed, none of which made that thing appear in other Slacko versions.


FWIW, I'm running 4 or 5 Slacko installs (full and frugal) and I've never seen that here.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Keef


Joined: 20 Dec 2007
Posts: 562
Location: Staffordshire

PostPosted: Fri 17 Jan 2014, 15:50    Post subject:  

mini-jaguar

That is just a terminal window reduced to minimum size. Why it is there though, I have no idea.
Spyware/backdoors would be a bit crapif they advertised themselves that way, so I wouldn't worry that much.
Try running htop with no other progs running, and see what shows up.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
sixten

Joined: 22 Feb 2007
Posts: 18

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jan 2014, 16:52    Post subject: How can I mount sdxc (64 GB sd-card)?  

I have an sdxc card that I can't mount in slacko 5.6.
It says that the type exfat is unknown. How can I add it to my slacko? There is fuse-exfat for slackware, but it doesn't show up in the package manager.

Has anyone had the same problem and found a solution? Does anyone know how to do this?

Daniel
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 764
Location: Union New Jersey USA

PostPosted: Wed 22 Jan 2014, 17:56    Post subject: Video-editing in Slacko-5.6 non-pae  

Unexpectedly, both the openshot 1.4.2 and kdenlive SFSes Battleshooter built for Saluki seem to work fine OOTB in Slacko 5.6 non-Pae. Although I haven't noticed any conflicts with applications more recently built for Slacko 5.6, and none involving the applications I frequently use, I can't guaranty that there are none. But as the above are SFSes, the worst that can happen is you'd have to unload them.

Openshot can be found here: http://www.puppylinuxstuff.meownplanet.net/battleshooter/Saluki/openshot-1.4.2.sfs
It's best to read the short kdenlive thread, as it requires two SFSes: http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=753059#753059

Together with don570's cinelerra, http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=91418, avidemux (for non-destructive cutting) and ffmpeg for conversions, Slacko 5.6 has a panoply of tools for your video projects.

mikesLr

Last edited by mikeslr on Fri 24 Jan 2014, 16:47; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeslr


Joined: 16 Jun 2008
Posts: 764
Location: Union New Jersey USA

PostPosted: Thu 23 Jan 2014, 10:30    Post subject: Drive contents not displayed when desktop icon clicked
Subject description: SOLVED as mysteriously as it happened
 

Hi 01micko & all,

Ordinarily, when a desktop drive icon is clicked pmount mounts the drive/partition and then, automatically, rox displays its contents. In slacko 5.6 Final, however, clicking a drive icon, any drive icon, just initiates pmount offering to mount any drive or partition. When one is selected, rox opens it, but pmount remains open.
I don't recall this behavior from Thinslacko or phatslacko.

Perhaps it's just a bi-product of having immediately installed OpenboxPlus?

It's particularly annoying as it also happens when the "home" partition is clicked. As I frugally install almost all my pups to the same "home" partition, that is where I also keep many folders and files I may want to use with them. I developed a work-around, but it's not as convenient as just being able to click a drive icon. I added a second rox "desktop" to /usr/share/applications, called "Rox-opens-MntHome" using the execution argument "rox /mnt/home" and added that "application" to lxpanel. But being a creature of habit, I'd prefer not having to remember that clicking a desktop drive icon doesn't work as expected.

mikesLr

Last edited by mikeslr on Thu 23 Jan 2014, 21:42; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 8565
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 23 Jan 2014, 11:48    Post subject: Re: Drive contents not displayed when desktop icon clicked  

mikeslr wrote:
Perhaps it's just a bi-product of having immediately installed OpenboxPlus?

Have you tried a clean install to see if you can replicate the problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 30 of 31 [454 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 28, 29, 30, 31 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0919s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0147s) ][ GZIP on ]