Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Wed 27 Aug 2014, 05:05
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Lucid Puppy Revitalized as 5.2.8.6!
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 5 of 14 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 12, 13, 14 Next
Author Message
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2617
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Tue 07 Jan 2014, 10:38    Post_subject: Some updates  

May not be important, but some updates:

defaults-chooser-0.8.9-1
# add defaultterminal, check excutable before, opening splash
fix was wrong permissions
http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=749268#749268

ffconvert-1.4-1
fix was wrong owner/permissions
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=54056

grub4dos-0.4.4.v1.9.1
fix was failed full installs on usb flash, my puppy, safe mode options
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=51697
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2081
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 08 Jan 2014, 16:52    Post_subject: Lucid Puppy Revitalized as 5.2.8.6!  

Manual frugal install to hard drive, computer is a gateway desktop pc.

video-info-glx 1.5.3 Wed 8 Jan 2014 on Super Lucid 002 Linux 3.2.48 i686
0.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation Device 1082 (rev a1)
oem: NVIDIA
product: GF110 Board - 12630002 Chip Rev
X Server: Xorg Driver: nvidia
X.Org version: 1.7.6
dimensions: 1920x1080 pixels (602x343 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes
Number of GPUs: 1
GPU #0:
Name : GeForce GTX 560 Ti
UUID : GPU-7620a950-6e50-f76c-02ae-42352231249f
PCI BusID : PCI:1:0:0
Number of Display Devices: 1
Display Device 0 (DFP-0):
EDID Name : Ancor Communications Inc ASUS VE278
Minimum HorizSync : 24.000 kHz
Maximum HorizSync : 92.000 kHz
Minimum VertRefresh : 50 Hz
Maximum VertRefresh : 85 Hz
Maximum PixelClock : 170.000 MHz
Maximum Width : 1920 pixels
Maximum Height : 1080 pixels
Preferred Width : 1920 pixels
Preferred Height : 1080 pixels
Preferred VertRefresh : 60 Hz
Physical Width : 600 mm
Physical Height : 340 mm

I loaded the nvidia-glx-331.20-k3.2.48.sfs.
Is there a devx?
I installed a wine 1.7.9 pet that I made in Precise
5.7.1 + Fotowall from a Quirky 6.1 pet and they work fine.
VLC 2.1.2 and XBMC 12.3 run well under wine.
I installed firefox with quickpet and it updated to the latest version.

Looks good Smile
screenshot.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   28.19 KB
 Viewed   1174 Time(s)

screenshot.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1512
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Wed 08 Jan 2014, 18:27    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Is there a devx?
I think we can use the same devx as for the lupus. Just rename it from lupu_devx_528-4.sfs to sulu_devx_002-4.sfs. But before you do that, try using lupu_devx_528-4.sfs without changing the name.
EDIT: OK, I tried the bootmanager and found it does not accept the lupu name and requires both the "sulu" and "002", to make it show up in the left pane as a candidate.

I would like to simply include both the devx and appropriate kernel source packages on the CD, but am concerned that the larger download might discourage casual users from trying it. What do you think the proportion is of users wanting or not wanting the development packages? I suppose that users of the super lupus probably want the whole thing. Casual users probably have fast connections so would not mind the extra size of the ISO file.

I think, in the future, I will include those packages, unless I hear opposition to that.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Moose On The Loose


Joined: 24 Feb 2011
Posts: 513

PostPosted: Wed 08 Jan 2014, 22:03    Post_subject: The unmounting of things with loopbacks contained
Sub_title: In the current code, a loopback cause the unmount to fail
 

How to show the problem:
1) Mount a partition that has an SFS on it.
2) Mount the SFS within that partition by clicking on it
3) Try to unmount the partition

My partial solution:
I have been working on pmount and this little code fragment makes it unmount the loopbacks in the partition automatically. Unfortunately, the right click on the icon uses different code so I may want to make this into a stand alone script that gets called. Here it is for purpose of discussion.

Code:


  # mooseontheloose:  If a mounted partition has a SFS or ISO etc in it that is
  # mounted via loopback, the umount will fail.  To prevent this if the loopback
  # is not actually in use, we can loop and try to unmount any loopbacks
  ANYLOOPS=true
  while $ANYLOOPS ; do
    ANYLOOPS=false  # Default to not looping again
   while read LINE ; do
      if [[ "${LINE// /}" == "" ]] ; then
        continue
        fi
      LOOP=$( echo "$LINE" | cut -d " " -f 1)
      LOOP=$( losetup-FULL $LOOP | cut -d "(" -f 2 )
      LOOP="${LOOP/)/}"
      LINE=$( echo "$LINE" | cut -d " " -f 2)
      echo "LINE=$LINE  LOOP=$LOOP" >&2
      rox -D $LINE
      if filemnt $LOOP ; then
        ANYLOOPS=true
        fi
      done <<< "$( grep "/dev/loop" /etc/mtab | grep "+mnt+${DEVNAME}+"  | sort -r -b) "
    done
  # end mooseontheloose

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2081
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Wed 08 Jan 2014, 22:12    Post_subject:  

rerwin wrote:

EDIT: OK, I tried the bootmanager and found it does not accept the lupu name and requires both the "sulu" and "002", to make it show up in the left pane as a candidate.


I renamed the devx and installed the kernel source sfs, then compiled
the latest proprietary drive for my graphics card.
Turns out my Fotowall from Quirky didn't work after all, I needed to
install an older version of QT from wary pets that I have and then was
able to compile Fotowall in Super Lucid.

video-info-glx 1.5.3 Wed 8 Jan 2014 on Super Lucid 002 Linux 3.2.48 i686
0.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation Device 1082 (rev a1)
oem: NVIDIA
product: GF110 Board - 12630002 Chip Rev
X Server: Xorg Driver: nvidia
X.Org version: 1.7.6
dimensions: 1920x1080 pixels (602x343 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce GTX 560 Ti/PCIe/SSE2
OpenGL version string: 4.2.0 NVIDIA 304.117

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5096
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jan 2014, 01:26    Post_subject:  

Quote:
would like to simply include both the devx and appropriate kernel source packages on the CD

I vote not to do this.
Offer them as SFS files or pets, to add as needed.
Most people do not need them and it is easy to add when needed.

It has been a Puppy standard to have the devx and kernel souce packages, available, at the same download location as the Puppy version iso file.
If you need them, makes it very easy to find and download.

Recently, looking for the kernel source for Lupusuper1, was a bit of a search, but if it had been at the Lupu download site, no problem.

Keeping the initial download, as small as possible, is still a plus feature of any Puppy version.

Compiling graphics drivers is the biggest must have, that I can see a need for adding the devx and kernel source packages. However, a newbee would probably need help to do it.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5096
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jan 2014, 01:35    Post_subject: Re: The unmounting of things with loopbacks contained
Sub_title: In the current code, a loopback cause the unmount to fail
 

Moose On The Loose wrote:
How to show the problem:
1) Mount a partition that has an SFS on it.
2) Mount the SFS within that partition by clicking on it
3) Try to unmount the partition

Click on the SFS file to unmount it.
Then you can unmount the partition.

This has been the way to do it as long as I can remember.
If your code change works, sure would be nice to get it into Woof-CE.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Moose On The Loose


Joined: 24 Feb 2011
Posts: 513

PostPosted: Thu 09 Jan 2014, 10:42    Post_subject: Re: The unmounting of things with loopbacks contained
Sub_title: In the current code, a loopback cause the unmount to fail
 

bigpup wrote:
Moose On The Loose wrote:
How to show the problem:
1) Mount a partition that has an SFS on it.
2) Mount the SFS within that partition by clicking on it
3) Try to unmount the partition

Click on the SFS file to unmount it.
Then you can unmount the partition.

This has been the way to do it as long as I can remember.
If your code change works, sure would be nice to get it into Woof-CE.


The code works as part of pmount but as I explained pmount is not used when the unmount is done via the icon. I knew how to manually do it but the problem is that I often mount an SFS today and want to unmount the partition tomorrow when I have forgotten I did it.

For the new user, this error can be a puzzle because it doesn't directly say what the steps to fix it are. It just puts up the dialog with the message about perhaps killing the process.

I am going to dig into how the bit with the icons works so that I can make a pet that adds this improvement for both the pmount and the icons and then publish the pet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bruno

Joined: 08 Mar 2012
Posts: 70
Location: Belgium

PostPosted: Sat 11 Jan 2014, 10:17    Post_subject: md5  

The md5 checksums seem to be not yet updated to the 2014 builds?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1512
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sat 11 Jan 2014, 12:02    Post_subject:  

Sorry. I used the wrong name for the files -- lupu instead of lupuxxxx. I have corrected the names. Thanks for calling my attention to the inconsistency.

EDIT: I see that the checksum is wrong for lupusuper2 (20140109) and have corrected it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5096
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Sat 11 Jan 2014, 22:42    Post_subject:  

rerwin,

The added stuff for Lupusuper2 or whatever.
Could you put a download link for the Nvidia, devx, kernel, and other SFS or pet files, in the first or second post of this topic.

Soft drinks or large amounts of coffee, hot pockets and or pop tarts, for graphics driver kernel brain freeze Laughing Wink

Keep it up!

If only it was this easy Shocked Very Happy
smart-mouse (1).jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   78.39 KB
 Viewed   803 Time(s)

smart-mouse (1).jpg


_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
RickGT351

Joined: 27 Sep 2011
Posts: 63
Location: Auckland, New Zealand

PostPosted: Fri 17 Jan 2014, 15:20    Post_subject:  

I have downloaded lupu-libre and lupu. Neither work after being burned to a cd. The message is not a valid image - or something like that
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1512
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Fri 17 Jan 2014, 19:04    Post_subject:  

RickGT351,
Thanks for posting about your difficulty with the downloads. Assuming you downloaded from the mediafile site, please compare the names and md5sums of the downloaded files to these:
    273f93b0a59236be2f1ce04dd2056786 lupu-5.2.8.6-20140106.iso
    f352deb2a8a1d001745eb82e0d1b8258 lupulibre-5.2.8.6-4.1.4-20140106.iso
If they don't match, retry the downloads.

As a result of your message, I have now added the rest of the checksums to the set of lupu links.
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
drblock2

Joined: 19 Jan 2009
Posts: 141

PostPosted: Sat 18 Jan 2014, 09:54    Post_subject: Window Manager Problem  

Lucid revitalized is absolutely spectacular.

I have only encountered one problem thus far (with lupuplus):

I prefer JWM as window manager. Although I can switch from the OpenBox default with the WM Switcher, the change is not permanent. On the next boot, I am back to OpenBox (almost every time).

This was never a problem in the "classic" Lucid 5.2.8. Both the old save file and a new one created from scratch have this problem.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rerwin


Joined: 24 Aug 2005
Posts: 1512
Location: Maine, USA

PostPosted: Sun 19 Jan 2014, 21:35    Post_subject:  

drblock2,
Thanks for your supportive comment re 5.2.8.6 and your report on your difficulty with window manager selection and retention. Although I don't normally change window managers, I just now did that and saw no problem. I used menu > Desktop > Desktop Settings > WM Switcher to use JWM without retaining the current background. When I clicked 'Restart X' the background changed immediately to "Soldier's Point". When X was back up, the JWM taskbar was shown. Rebooting a few times, that setup remained!

I also tried starting in openbox, ctrl-alt-bksp to get to the command prompt, then typing "xwin jwm". X displayed the JWM taskbar but retained the openbox background.

In both cases, the window manager switching performed as one would expect. The background swap seems inconsistent, but not incorrect.

The components for window manager management seem to be the same versions as in 528-005. Is that what you mean by classic 528?

Can you tell me more about how you switch window managers? And anything else you do that could affect the window managers?
Richard
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 14 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, ..., 12, 13, 14 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Projects
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1132s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0180s) ][ GZIP on ]