can't access web pages anymore; PPPOE+fiber optic

Post Reply
Message
Author
User avatar
trilobyte
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun 15 Aug 2010, 17:50

can't access web pages anymore; PPPOE+fiber optic

#1 Post by trilobyte »

Puppy Precise 5.7.1
Broadcom 440x 10/100 ethernet card
ZTE-ZXA10-F660 fiber optic PON

I've been using Puppy for a few years and haven't had any real problems in the past with my ethernet/PPPOE connection. I have Puppy (frugal?) installed in a Windows partition a la Lin'n'Win. Although I can set up PPPOE with Roaring Penguin, I can no longer reach any web pages when I use Puppy.

I also have LinuxMint 14 installed on the same laptop in an ext4 partition and am on the internet all day long with the same ethernet card and PON. Every live CD/DVD I've ever tried with this laptop/ethernet card/PON lets me access web pages without any problems.

Maybe this stuff run under Puppy will help:

Code: Select all

# lspci -nn | grep -i network
# 0b:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Corporation BCM4311 802.11a/b/g [14e4:4312] (rev 01)

Code: Select all

# ifconfig
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:15:C5:19:87:B9  
          inet addr:192.168.1.11  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:298 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:200 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:30800 (30.0 KiB)  TX bytes:15893 (15.5 KiB)
          Interrupt:17 

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:65536  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

ppp0      Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol  
          inet addr:XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX  P-t-P:YYY.YYY.YYY.YYY  Mask:255.255.255.255
          UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST  MTU:1492  Metric:1
          RX packets:84 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:3 
          RX bytes:4991 (4.8 KiB)  TX bytes:61 (61.0 B)
I didn't use the internet for a while with Puppy and this problem may have started when I switched from ADSL to FTTH. I can't ping to any URL but traceroute works just fine. Does anyone know what's wrong?

User avatar
greengeek
Posts: 5789
Joined: Tue 20 Jul 2010, 09:34
Location: Republic of Novo Zelande

#2 Post by greengeek »

I do recall reading a thread somewhere (which I can't put my finger on at the moment but I think it may have been a very old post from jpeps...) where he described a similar symptom and said that once he deleted his DNS information the problem disappeared.

When I had a similar symptom recently I tried unsuccessfully to find the DNS info that needed deleting (I guess it could be in multiple places...) and I had to resort to deleting my savefile instead. Could you try renaming/hiding your savefile and see if the problem goes away?

EDIT : There is some really interesting background info (old but sometimes still relevant) in this post and the thread it came from:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewto ... 943#415943
(not the thread I was originally referring to but potentially helpful for understanding some pppoe issues...)

User avatar
ardvark
Posts: 1448
Joined: Tue 02 Jul 2013, 03:43
Location: USA

#3 Post by ardvark »

Hi...

Out of curiosity, why would you receive this output...

Code: Select all

# 0b:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Corporation BCM4311 802.11a/b/g [14e4:4312] (rev 01)
for what is supposed to be an ethernet connection? The above is a wireless adapter. No mention of such is listed in your output of ifconfig.

Regards...
Our Lord and Savior [url=http://peacewithgod.jesus.net/]Jesus Christ[/url] loves and cares about you most of all!

PLEASE READ! You don't have to end up [url=http://www.spiritlessons.com/Documents/BillWiese_23MinutesInHell_Text.htm]here![/url]

User avatar
trilobyte
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun 15 Aug 2010, 17:50

wireless vs. ethernet

#4 Post by trilobyte »

@ardvark: You'll have to ask the folks who wrote lspci why they did that. What do you get when you run

Code: Select all

# lspci -nn | grep -i network
Your wireless card or your ethernet card or both or something else?

Both my ethernet and wireless cards are made by Broadcom. What I should have posted is

Code: Select all

# lspci -nn | grep Ethernet
03:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Broadcom Corporation BCM4401-B0 100Base-TX [14e4:170c] (rev 02)

User avatar
ardvark
Posts: 1448
Joined: Tue 02 Jul 2013, 03:43
Location: USA

Re: wireless vs. ethernet

#5 Post by ardvark »

trilobyte wrote:@ardvark: You'll have to ask the folks who wrote lspci why they did that. What do you get when you run

Code: Select all

# lspci -nn | grep -i network
Your wireless card or your ethernet card or both or something else?
Interestingly enough, I get nothing...

Code: Select all

#  lspci -nn | grep -i network
# 
I'm guessing that's because I'm connected to a wireless network using my USB wireless adapter, not through the ethernet.

But what do you get when you just run...

Code: Select all

lspci -nn
I would hope that your ethernet chipset would show correctly there. If not, there's a problem. Pciutils doesn't normally behave that way. :?:

Regards...

Post Reply