Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 23 Aug 2014, 13:19
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to boot from HDD without using floppy ?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 2 of 2 [21 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Author Message
wscarl

Joined: 16 May 2005
Posts: 99
Location: NY

PostPosted: Mon 16 May 2005, 12:11    Post subject: Got this off the old forum use it with 1.0.1 it works  

This works
THis wiill install Puppy on single hard drive in hda1 (this is not for shared data it is one hard disk dedicated to Puppy
You will need one hard disk
Need One Puppy CD
THe blessing of the all knowing central Data bank ( need to DL)

* Boot up Puppy CD
* Go to rxvt command line (icon on desktop)
* type cfdisk [Enter] and create a primary hda1 Linux ext 2 partition
(Toggle Bootable)
* downlond "grubhd.zip" to root directory and click on it. This should load tkzip automatically (select all and unzip to root/) (http://www.geocities.com/petersieg/grubhd.zip)
* go to root with rxvt and type "./install-hdgrud.sh" [no quote marks]
* when you get a grud prompt type
root (hd0,0)
setup (hd0)
*reboot
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
achilles

Joined: 16 May 2005
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Mon 16 May 2005, 12:48    Post subject:  

I've been wrestling with attempts to install puppy on an
IDE hard disk. wscarl's posting has just (I hope) solved
my problem. However, I think there are a couple of
typos 'grud' for 'grub'.

Any suggestions for the ext2 partition size - 2gig
adequate for the time being?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
wscarl

Joined: 16 May 2005
Posts: 99
Location: NY

PostPosted: Tue 17 May 2005, 01:21    Post subject: 1.0.2rc or 1.0.2 new puppy has Grub in HD install script  

User the max of HD - New puppy is easyer
Install on 233mhz 64meg 3.2hd Laptop -the old dog runs like a new puppy!
for systems >128 ram (posted on how to install on 32meg system)
Boot from Puppy CD (1.0.2rc or 1.0.2)
Go to rxvt command line (icon on desktop)
type cfdisk [Enter] and create a primary (bootable) hda1 Linux ext 2 partition
run the HD install wizard
option 2
/dev/hda1
y to take over HD
n to floppy
y to grud
first choice on all grub
system and boot.
if nee any more info email me at: windowsystemcomputers@yahoo.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
TGZ
Guest


PostPosted: Wed 18 May 2005, 04:02    Post subject: Re: A brief HOWTO install GRUB in MS-DOS  

Hello
tried it but get error Kernel panic: No init found. Try passing init= option to kernel. ?
any idea?

Puppy on (hd0,0)


Thanks


Bruce B wrote:
There is a version of GRUB for MS-DOS in case anyone is interested. Very easy to install and doesn't modify the MBR (Master Boot Record) which you may find an advantage, depending on your setup. Installation is quite simple also.

You can download the package at:

www.ibiblio.org/pub/micro/pc-stuff/freedos/files/util/boot/grub013.zip

(I thought it should be ftp.ibiblio.org but gFTP accesses it at www.ibiblio.org)

Here is a brief step-by-step how to install it with MS-DOS (not FreeDOS because it only works with MS-DOS)

1) download grub013.zip

2) make directory c:\boot\grub

3) extract grub.exe and menu.lst from grub013.zip to c:\boot\grub (leave the other files in the zip package because these two files are all you need)

4) edit menu.lst for Puppy (see my example at end of post)

5) you can run grub.exe in config.sys with a menu system

use:
install=c:\boot\grub\grub.exe

or try shell statement I think this works also:
shell=c:\boot\grub\grub.exe

or in autoexec.bat

c:\boot\grub\grub.exe

------------

EXAMPLE MENU.LST

you will have to modify partition location and pupfile name and size
to suit your needs. this is for an example only.

===================

color white/blue black/light-gray
# default 0
# timeout 8


title Drive C:
root (hd0,0)
chainloader +1

# (example for type 1 install)
title Puppy
rootnoverify (hd0,4)
kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/ram PFILE=pup1-none-131072 PHOME=hda5
initrd /image.gz

# (example for type 2 install)
title Puppy (hda6)
kernel (hd0,5)/boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda6

title Floppy
root (fd0)
chainloader +1

title Reboot Computer
reboot
Back to top
Bruce B
Guest


PostPosted: Wed 18 May 2005, 04:29    Post subject: Ideas?  

This was my example:

# (example for type 1 install)
title Puppy
rootnoverify (hd0,4)
kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/ram PFILE=pup1-none-131072 PHOME=hda5
initrd /image.gz

----------

You are booting from hda1 - let's modify the example:

# (example for type 1 install)
title Puppy
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/ram PFILE=pup1-none-131072 PHOME=hda1
initrd /image.gz

----------

Note: In this example the following three files need to be on the root (C:\)

* vmlinuz
* image.gz
* usr_cram.fs

---------

What else? I think it best to not load drivers or anything like that, make a clean DOS boot.

Questions if you think they apply:

What FAT type?
How much free space?
How much RAM?
How are you running grub.exe?
Back to top
TGZ
Guest


PostPosted: Wed 18 May 2005, 05:18    Post subject: Re: Ideas?  

Hello
i fixed by Downloading ver 1.0.2, when will opera ver be out?

the only problem now is that only have usb keyboard so i am stuck at select keyboard screen.

Thanks

Bruce B wrote:
This was my example:

# (example for type 1 install)
title Puppy
rootnoverify (hd0,4)
kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/ram PFILE=pup1-none-131072 PHOME=hda5
initrd /image.gz

----------

You are booting from hda1 - let's modify the example:

# (example for type 1 install)
title Puppy
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/ram PFILE=pup1-none-131072 PHOME=hda1
initrd /image.gz

----------

Note: In this example the following three files need to be on the root (C:\)

* vmlinuz
* image.gz
* usr_cram.fs

---------

What else? I think it best to not load drivers or anything like that, make a clean DOS boot.

Questions if you think they apply:

What FAT type?
How much free space?
How much RAM?
How are you running grub.exe?
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 2 of 2 [21 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0580s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0067s) ][ GZIP on ]