Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 21 Nov 2014, 23:07
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
How to Make a Bootable Flash Drive using ISObooter
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 9 of 9 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9
Author Message
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9256
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 20 Sep 2013, 09:52    Post_subject:  

@watchdog: My only experience with casper-rw is with a partition, not a file. But the file may have specific ownership/permissions that changed when you copied it to your hard drive. That might cause it to fail.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
watchdog

Joined: 28 Sep 2012
Posts: 635

PostPosted: Sat 21 Sep 2013, 01:25    Post_subject:  

These are my findings. It's not a permissions' problem. I think it's a bug (seeemingly already reported) of ubuntu. Ubuntu does not like a casper-rw file in hd. My hd is ext4 formatted. According to:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/LiveCD/Persistence

a loopback file as casper-rw can be created but I have found you have to copy it on a usb-stick as an alternative of saving in partition. The casper-rw file created by unetbootin is ext2 formatted inside and can be mounted by:

Code:
mkdir /mnt/casper-rw
mount -o loop /path-to/casper-rw /mnt/casper-rw


You can copy as you want the casper-rw file of your install but you have to put it in a usb-stick to get recognized. I used a fat32 formatted usb-stick.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9256
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Tue 14 Jan 2014, 23:35    Post_subject:  

ISObooter is an easy way to run Puppy and other Linuxes from USB. But if you only have a Windows machine and no optical drive to make a Puppy boot disc, how do you get started?

This little package lets you make an ISObooter flash drive from Windows. It only boots one Linux. But if you want to multi-boot, you can use the regular ISObooter once you have Puppy running. Some notes before you start:

a. You need a clean FAT32 formatted flash drive.
b. You need WinXP or newer.
c. Your BIOS must be able to boot off USB devices.

1. Copy the zip file isobooter-win.zip to a temporary location and unpack it.
2a. In XP, double-click on grubinst_gui.exe.
2b. In Win7, right-click and choose Run as Administator.
3. Click on Disk > Refresh
4. Select your USB drive from the drop-down list. You can probably identify it by its size. If you are not sure, STOP NOW.
5. Select Part List > Refresh > Whole disk (MBR)
6. Click Install
7. Copy the files grldr, menu.lst and isobooter onto the USB drive.
8. Copy a Linux ISO onto the USB drive.
9. Rename the ISO file as "linux.iso".
10. There should now be four files on the USB drive - grldr, menu.lst, isobooter and linux.iso.
11. Unmount the USB drive and reboot.
isobooter-win.zip
Description  Updated 2014-01-15
zip

 Download 
Filename  isobooter-win.zip 
Filesize  163.13 KB 
Downloaded  367 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Mike7

Joined: 18 Feb 2013
Posts: 130

PostPosted: Sun 02 Feb 2014, 02:39    Post_subject:  

Hi, Roc.

You may not remember me, but I was on this thread last March trying to use isobooter to install Puppeee 4.4 on a pendrive, unsuccessfully. I gave up, but eventually did get Puppeee 4.4 installed another way.

I'd still like to make isobooter work for me so I could try out other versions of Puppy, and in case some day I need to re-install Puppeee 4.4. I see that both the Windows and Linux versions of isobooter have been updated since March. Do you think they've changed enough so they might work for me now?

Sorry if this sounds like a silly question, but I don't have much time for experimenting, due to my medical issues.

Thanks once again for all your help.

Cheers!

Mike7
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4436
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Mon 03 Feb 2014, 12:30    Post_subject: Can Blu-Ray or DVD be used in the ISObooter framework?  

Hi @Rcrsn51 and everyone.

This is a very good product as it makes simple a boot process that merely requires adding an ISO to a USB and booting. It started as a Linux-USB solution and NOW, has been expanded to be a Windows-USB solution for initial setup and use. But, I have a question of ISObooter.

Question
  • Can this process be done using a DVD which embraces the ISO booting process?
Seems that with DVDs/Blu-Ray disc provides both the storage and options to offer an ISO boot process which initiates from these disc as well. But, I must assume that there is some known restrictions in doing so and am wondering what they are.;

Thanks in advance

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2469
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Mon 03 Feb 2014, 12:58    Post_subject:  

isobooter ideas should work on bluray and I have been reviewing booters that can allow multisession additions. IE can add more iso files and update config txt AFTER FIRST BURN to make this very useful.
So far syslinux family can not read config txt past first session. So it is out.

Reviewing a grub only methods this week as a project to iso-fy the new full install only Quirky6s. I had done a reverse from full install in early days of puppy and Grub worked great. It did not care if it was a hard drive or a hard drive image file on a DVD.

Grub4Dos does not function as cleanly when used outside of an actual hardware layer.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Mike7

Joined: 18 Feb 2013
Posts: 130

PostPosted: Mon 03 Feb 2014, 21:25    Post_subject:  

rcrsn51-

I started a post above with "Hi, Roc". I may have gotten your name confused with someone else's. If that's the case, I apologize.

I also apologize for not seeing through the Isobooter project in March. I really do have some serious chronic health issues that prevent me from paying attention to my computer all the time. But I am going to try again. I promise.

Cheers.

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
neerajkolte


Joined: 10 Feb 2014
Posts: 342
Location: Pune, India.

PostPosted: Sun 25 May 2014, 06:48    Post_subject:  

Looks good.
I will try that.

_________________
"One of my most productive days was throwing away 1000 lines of code."— Ken Thompson
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9256
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Sun 25 May 2014, 06:56    Post_subject:  

neerajkolte wrote:
Looks good. I will try that.

With all due respect, instead of posting a message about what you plan to do, try it first and post a message about how it worked.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
neerajkolte


Joined: 10 Feb 2014
Posts: 342
Location: Pune, India.

PostPosted: Mon 26 May 2014, 09:32    Post_subject:  

rcrsn51 wrote:
With all due respect, instead of posting a message about what you plan to do, try it first and post a message about how it worked.
Sorry if I have offended you. I currently don't have usb drive laying around. So I put that message so I could easily find the post later by clicking "view your posts" (Kind of bookmarking it, as I tend to forget sometimes).
I have only one 1gb usb drive that I have made multi ISO boot using Easy2boot.
I will try your tool and report back.
Thanks.

_________________
"One of my most productive days was throwing away 1000 lines of code."— Ken Thompson
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
neerajkolte


Joined: 10 Feb 2014
Posts: 342
Location: Pune, India.

PostPosted: Tue 27 May 2014, 23:03    Post_subject:  

Hi rcrsn51,

I didn't get my hand on spare USB stick. So I used Virtual method. (Thanks @gcmartin for suggesting that)

I created 8Gb virtual disk and booted as Fatdog guest in Fatdog host using KVM-Qemu.
Formatted Virtual disk to Fat32 gave Boot flag to it.
Copied all my ISOs to it.
Namely Ubuntu 13.10 64 bit, Mint 17 rc 64bit, Compizpup, Lxpup, Debiandog, Fatdog64, Lighthouse64, Precise 5.7.1, Puppy Arcade, Slacko64.
Ran isobooter script.
Then shutdown my Guest Fatdog. And used that Virtualdisk to boot in Qemu.

Every ISO boots well.

I forgot to add Win7 iso, I will also try that next.

Thanks

- Neeraj

_________________
"One of my most productive days was throwing away 1000 lines of code."— Ken Thompson
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3378
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 18 Aug 2014, 14:54    Post_subject:  

There's a link in the first post that doesn't work

grub-1.98-i486.pet

___________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 9256
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Mon 18 Aug 2014, 15:12    Post_subject:  

don570 wrote:
There's a link in the first post that doesn't work.

Thanks. Luckily, I still had a copy and uploaded it to datafilehost.com.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
don570


Joined: 10 Mar 2010
Posts: 3378
Location: Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 21 Aug 2014, 12:58    Post_subject:  

The Ubuntu Trusty Tahr ISO won't run properly on a 500MB machine.
Just too slow but on a 1.5 GB machine , it was fast.

All I had to do was make a Fat32 partition that had the boot flag.
EDIT: boot flag doesn't need to be set since grub4dos finds the partition
Drag ubuntu.iso to this partition

Add lines to menu.lst


Code:

title Ubuntu 14.4 Desktop ISO
find --set-root /ubuntu.iso
map /ubuntu.iso (0xff)
map --hook
root (0xff)
kernel /casper/vmlinuz boot=casper iso-scan/filename=/ubuntu.iso noeject noprompt splash --
initrd /casper/initrd.lz


Then boot up.
______________________________________________
_______________________________________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 9 of 9 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 7, 8, 9
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0896s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0070s) ][ GZIP on ]