Electrum Bitcoin Client

Requests go here. If you fill a request, give it a new thread in the appropriate category and then link to it in the request thread.
Post Reply
Message
Author
backi
Posts: 1922
Joined: Sun 27 Feb 2011, 22:00
Location: GERMANY

Electrum Bitcoin Client

#1 Post by backi »

I am looking for a bitcoin client called - Electrum -

possibbly for Puppy Precise ...... any chance ?
Thanks

User avatar
666philb
Posts: 3615
Joined: Sun 07 Feb 2010, 12:27
Location: wales ... by the sea

#2 Post by 666philb »

hi backi ....

use the ppm to install these and their dependencies

python-qt4
python-sip
python-setuptools
python-pip
libqt4-webkit
you will probably need the devx installed as well

to install electrum, open a terminal and type

Code: Select all

pip install https://download.electrum.org/Electrum-1.9.7.tar.gz#md5=5764f38d6e4bc287a577c8d16e797882
to run

Code: Select all

electrum
Bionicpup64 built with bionic beaver packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114311
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331

User avatar
Geoffrey
Posts: 2355
Joined: Sun 30 May 2010, 08:42
Location: Queensland

#3 Post by Geoffrey »

I have built the packages for Electrum and it's dependencies for Carolina, it seems to work, though I wouldn't have clue what to do with it, maybe someone would like to try it out and let me know if it's working as it should.

if you have Carolina you will find it in the repo.
Attachments
snapshot.jpg
(41.62 KiB) Downloaded 2013 times
[b]Carolina:[/b] [url=http://smokey01.com/carolina/pages/recent-repo.html]Recent Repository Additions[/url]
[img]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/ahfade8q4def1lq/signbot.gif[/img]

backi
Posts: 1922
Joined: Sun 27 Feb 2011, 22:00
Location: GERMANY

#4 Post by backi »

Hi geoffrey !

Would be nice if you could give me the link for that app ....

Thanks !

User avatar
Geoffrey
Posts: 2355
Joined: Sun 30 May 2010, 08:42
Location: Queensland

#5 Post by Geoffrey »

backi wrote:Hi geoffrey !

Would be nice if you could give me the link for that app ....

Thanks !
If you are planning to use Electrum in any pup other than Carolina it may not work.

Carolina packages are different to others in someways, here's a list of the dependencies I used.

Python-2.7.2-i486.pet

PyQt-4.9.4.pet

qt-4.8.0.pet

qt-webkit-4.8.0.pet

sip-4.13.3.pet

ecdsa-0.10.pet

slowaes-0.1a1.pet

Electrum-1.9.7.pet

If you want to try Electrum in precise then get the compatible packages, I packaged Electrum, PyQt, ecdsa, slowaes for Python 2.7 and the Carolina QT packages may not work for you,

I haven't linked them, but you can get them here http://smokey01.com/carolina/pet_packages-carolina/ or just install Carolina or Carolite and do an install from the PPM

Maybe someone will build the packages needed for Precise, I don't use it so I would be starting from scratch and I don't have the time.

Good luck :wink:
[b]Carolina:[/b] [url=http://smokey01.com/carolina/pages/recent-repo.html]Recent Repository Additions[/url]
[img]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/ahfade8q4def1lq/signbot.gif[/img]

User avatar
Geoffrey
Posts: 2355
Joined: Sun 30 May 2010, 08:42
Location: Queensland

#6 Post by Geoffrey »

backi wrote:Hi geoffrey !

Would be nice if you could give me the link for that app ....

Thanks !
Here are the packages to run it in XPrecise.

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic. ... 574#758574
[b]Carolina:[/b] [url=http://smokey01.com/carolina/pages/recent-repo.html]Recent Repository Additions[/url]
[img]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/s/ahfade8q4def1lq/signbot.gif[/img]

jss83

#7 Post by jss83 »

666philb wrote:hi backi ....

use the ppm to install these and their dependencies

python-qt4
python-sip
python-setuptools
python-pip
libqt4-webkit
you will probably need the devx installed as well

to install electrum, open a terminal and type

Code: Select all

pip install https://download.electrum.org/Electrum-1.9.7.tar.gz#md5=5764f38d6e4bc287a577c8d16e797882
to run

Code: Select all

electrum

I downloaded and installed more that 20 packages on tahrpup, but can't install electrum. Is there a bundled package somewhere?

User avatar
666philb
Posts: 3615
Joined: Sun 07 Feb 2010, 12:27
Location: wales ... by the sea

#8 Post by 666philb »

hi jss83

electrum is in tahrpups PPM
it also needs python-sip (type it into the find box)

it worked for me then .... if it's still not working for you run it in a terminal

Code: Select all

electrum
and post output here
Bionicpup64 built with bionic beaver packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114311
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331

jss83

#9 Post by jss83 »

I installed it from ppm itself, here's what I get when I enter electrum in terminal:

Code: Select all

# electrum
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/electrum", line 175, in <module>
    gui = gui.ElectrumGui(config, network)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/electrum_gui/qt/__init__.py", line 79, in __init__
    init_plugins(self)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/electrum/plugins.py", line 22, in init_plugins
    plugin_modules = [ __import__('electrum_plugins.'+name, fromlist=['electrum_plugins']) for name in plugin_names]
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/electrum_plugins/coinbase_buyback.py", line 19, in <module>
    from PyQt4.QtWebKit import QWebView
ImportError: libQtWebKit.so.4: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

User avatar
666philb
Posts: 3615
Joined: Sun 07 Feb 2010, 12:27
Location: wales ... by the sea

#10 Post by 666philb »

grab libqtwebkit from the PPM

tahrpup thinks it's already installed when it actually isn't, that was supposed to be fixed with the service pack .... but maybe didn't take properly
Bionicpup64 built with bionic beaver packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114311
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331

jss83

#11 Post by jss83 »

In ppm it is showing green tick, already installed?

User avatar
666philb
Posts: 3615
Joined: Sun 07 Feb 2010, 12:27
Location: wales ... by the sea

#12 Post by 666philb »

ignore the tick and click on it to install
Bionicpup64 built with bionic beaver packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114311
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331

jss83

#13 Post by jss83 »

Did that when the install completed it gave this message:

File /usr/lib/i386-linux-gnu/libQtWebKit.so.4.10.2 has these missing library files:
libgstapp-1.0.so.0 libgstpbutils-1.0.so.0 libgstvideo-1.0.so.0 libgstaudio-1.0.so.0 libgstbase-1.0.so.0 libgstreamer-1.0.so.0


Tried to run electrum in terminal:

Code: Select all

# electrum
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/electrum", line 175, in <module>
    gui = gui.ElectrumGui(config, network)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/electrum_gui/qt/__init__.py", line 79, in __init__
    init_plugins(self)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/electrum/plugins.py", line 22, in init_plugins
    plugin_modules = [ __import__('electrum_plugins.'+name, fromlist=['electrum_plugins']) for name in plugin_names]
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/dist-packages/electrum_plugins/coinbase_buyback.py", line 19, in <module>
    from PyQt4.QtWebKit import QWebView
ImportError: libgstapp-1.0.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

User avatar
666philb
Posts: 3615
Joined: Sun 07 Feb 2010, 12:27
Location: wales ... by the sea

#14 Post by 666philb »

ok this should be the last thing
in the find box....
gstreamer1.0-x
Bionicpup64 built with bionic beaver packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=114311
Xenialpup64, built with xenial xerus packages http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=107331

jss83

#15 Post by jss83 »

666philb wrote:ok this should be the last thing
in the find box....
gstreamer1.0-x
This worked :D

You sir are a genius! Thank you so much,

SuchG
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat 27 Jan 2018, 17:03

python3 pyqt5

#16 Post by SuchG »

Hi. I was trying to install electrum 3.05 as it is advised because older versions have dangerous bug.
I have installed python 3.6.4 from source.
Have pip 9.1 and python3tools in place.
Only pyqt5 is a problem. No version error.

Puppy xenial here 32bit

Post Reply