Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 27 Nov 2014, 00:24
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Virtualization
VirtualBox for many Puppies
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 12 of 13 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13 Next
Author Message
labbe5

Joined: 13 Nov 2013
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Thu 12 Dec 2013, 12:48    Post_subject: VirtualBox and XP
Sub_title: running XP in VirtualBox
 

Hi,
I learned a few days ago how to have a free running WindowsXP with VirtualBox. I didn't try it yet, but look forward to try it with one of your packages and Precise, one reason being a friend of mine lost Windows XP(crashed), and being a fan of games, couldn't live without XP. I learned too that XP is faster under VirtualBox. The limit of 90 days is bypassed by the snapshot capability of VirtualBox.
I know PlayOnLinux, Steam, Wine are diminishing the dominant role of Windows in the game category, but this friend is only familiar with this OS, so i will try combining Linux and WindowsXP, via VirtualBox.
Cheers!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sat 14 Dec 2013, 08:02    Post_subject: virtualbox-4.3.4  

virtualbox-4.3.4.sfs for Puppy 4.3.1 and most of Puppies 5.x including Lucid, Precise Puppy, Slacko-5.6 and more.
http://shino.pos.to/party/bridge.cgi?puppy/opt/

It has pre-build kernel modules for Puppy-4.3.1, Wary-511, Lucid, Precise-5.5/5.6.1/5.7.1, and Slacko-5.6.
As for the Puppy-4.3.1, need to install SDL.
ftp://distro.ibiblio.org/puppylinux/pet_packages-4/SDL-1.2.13-i386.pet
For other kernels, you need devx and kernel source packages to build the kernel modules.
Type 'virtualbox' on a terminal after loaded the virtualbox-xxx.sfs.
Note that this SFS does not support 64bit Puppies.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
labbe5

Joined: 13 Nov 2013
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Mon 16 Dec 2013, 13:10    Post_subject:  Virtualbox and installation of WindowsXP and other Linux OS
Sub_title: difficulty in installing any OS
 

Hi,

I tried my best to install WindowsXP in Virtualbox, without success. I first downloaded sfx file for Linux, extracted it into a Virtualbox file, followed instructions (in fact, the process seems quite simple, but...), and, although following instructions to the letter, i never quite coped with the difficulty to install WindowsXP, and for that matter, any ISO from Linux. I really don't know what i do wrong. How come some articles say it is a simple task to do, and i experience such a headache.
I tried with Virtualbox downloaded from Mint package manager, and from sfs package for Puppy Precise. I have had more success with sfs package, but only with XP in safe mode, not what i was expecting : a nice and sleek installation.
Can you help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
labbe5

Joined: 13 Nov 2013
Posts: 88

PostPosted: Tue 17 Dec 2013, 21:42    Post_subject:  success installing Virtualbox
Sub_title: WindowsXP installed
 

Hi,

Many thanks for Virtualbox. I had a need for WindowsXP, just to run some apps i could not run under Wine,
I read carefully Virtualbox manual, and your own explanation, and finally came to the realization that, using Slacko 5.6 and Virtualbox SFS, plus a registered ISO copy of WindowsXP, i would normally succeed. Now i have XP within Slacko, for occasional use. Smooth installation.
Thanks again.
Please, keep up updating Virtualbox.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Fabio T

Joined: 31 Aug 2007
Posts: 90
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Sun 02 Feb 2014, 14:41    Post_subject: How to compile myself 64 bit version of Virtualbox?
Sub_title: Compiling myself Virtualbox
 

Hi Shinobar,

can you explain how can we make a 64 bit .SFS file from the file .run that I download from Oracle site? I use a suitable script that downloads latest version of this useful package.

I would to install into FatDog64

I don't want to install Virtualbon into savefile , it grows enormously.

Thanks in advance.

Fabio
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sun 02 Feb 2014, 23:27    Post_subject: Re: How to compile myself 64 bit version of Virtualbox?
Sub_title: Compiling myself Virtualbox
 

Fabio T wrote:
can you explain how can we make a 64 bit .SFS file from the file .run that I download from Oracle site? I use a suitable script that downloads latest version of this useful package.

Just replace the stuff under /opt and under /lib in my SFS by the 64bit ones.
You need to run the .run file on the FatDog with the devx and a large savefile to get the 64bit stuff.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Fabio T

Joined: 31 Aug 2007
Posts: 90
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Mon 03 Feb 2014, 16:01    Post_subject:  

Thanx Shinobar.
But my question was: How to create .SFS directly from .run file downloaded from Oracle site?
Or I need to install .run file before create .sfs file?

Thanx again.

Fabio
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Mon 03 Feb 2014, 21:51    Post_subject: Install .run  

Fabio T wrote:
Or I need to install .run file before create .sfs file?

Yes.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Fabio T

Joined: 31 Aug 2007
Posts: 90
Location: Italy

PostPosted: Thu 13 Feb 2014, 17:20    Post_subject:  

Thanx Shinobar!

After a few trials I have got a working Updated Virtualbox 4.3.6_64 bit!

If U want I give you the .sfs file to copy in your repository.

Thnx again!

EDIT: Now I've created a 4.3.8._64 bit .SFS

Anyone interested?

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MyPuppysaysWauWau


Joined: 20 Feb 2014
Posts: 119
Location: Austria/Vienna

PostPosted: Thu 20 Feb 2014, 09:00    Post_subject:  checksum  

Quote:
virtualbox-4.3.4.sfs for Puppy 4.3.1 and most of Puppies 5.x including Lucid, Precise Puppy, Slacko-5.6 and more


Hi Shinobar,

Thx for all programs, you made! Smile I've downloaded the Virtualbox, but I have not found any checksum. Please can you tell me, where I can find this information?

P.S.: Do anybody have any experience about WinXP running in a VB (latest Puppy Precise, or Slacko) What should I keep in mind Question

Best regards from Vienna
Walter
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nancy reagan

Joined: 22 Jan 2009
Posts: 515

PostPosted: Thu 20 Feb 2014, 10:54    Post_subject: Re: checksum  

MyPuppysaysWauWau wrote:
Quote:
virtualbox-4.3.4.sfs for Puppy 4.3.1 and most of Puppies 5.x including Lucid, Precise Puppy, Slacko-5.6 and more


Hi Shinobar,

Thx for all programs, you made! Smile I've downloaded the Virtualbox, but I have not found any checksum. Please can you tell me, where I can find this information?

P.S.: Do anybody have any experience about WinXP running in a VB (latest Puppy Precise, or Slacko) What should I keep in mind Question

Best regards from Vienna
Walter


Being a noob and having "only 2GB" of RAM my experience is not too positive.

Because after you have xp running you have to install SP1 to 3 which makes it heavy..

At the beginning of the installation you are asked whether you want to make a "fixed" or a "slowly growing" hd.

I choose the latest for that would take up lass memory, but later I learned that a fixed drive seems to work faster.

Well this is the experience from a noob.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 324

PostPosted: Sat 01 Mar 2014, 00:10    Post_subject: Re: checksum  

nancy reagan wrote:
Being a noob and having "only 2GB" of RAM my experience is not too positive....

...but later I learned that a fixed drive seems to work faster.

Slacko 5.6 frugal, Installed VB 4.3.4 SFS and created a 3GB virtual machine file space into which I've currently loaded XP-SP2, Office 2003, Chrome, AVG, C-Cleaner.

AMD64 PC with 1.5GB mem runs office OK, but XP based browsing/youtubes can be dead slow due to CPU maxing out (HTOP showing using only around 500MB memory when loaded with Slacko watching a youtube (firefox), playing a MP4, with VB with XP machine running and also watching a youtube (chrome), and a Excel spreadsheet loaded.

For less intensive usage runs quite well. For instance Excel is perfectly usable and when you shut down the virtual machine you can save the current state such that when restarted it drops right back to where you were when you previously closed, taking just seconds to load (VB and XP Excel takes less time to start up than does a Slacko based OpenOffice spreadsheet)

It was all a really easy, first time ok experience for me. Dropped in the 4.3.4 SFS and it ran straight out of the box. Took some time however to install XP and other programs however (around a hour and a half).

I opted for a relatively small 3GB XP disk space as I intend to write a pristine install version to DVD along with Slacko 5.6. 10GB would be a better choice however. I also set memory to 192MB and perhaps allocating more might help with browsing from within XP. Better still however just leave browsing to be from within the Puppy environment.

Thanks to all concerned for the SFS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Burn_IT


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 1078
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Sat 01 Mar 2014, 07:14    Post_subject:  

I use Virtualbox as a means of getting a full portable XP.
Run Puppy and Virtualbox from a USB stick and XP inside it.
Works well on any reasonable machine with 2Gb of memory. 768Mb for Puppy the rest for XP.

_________________
I can't remember the last time I forgot something!

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 324

PostPosted: Sat 01 Mar 2014, 07:24    Post_subject:  

The setup I'm looking to achieve is have a pristine version of XP installed in a Virtual Machine, activated (before they pull the plug on supporting XP) and with a freshly installed Office etc. That will run in full screen mode on one Slacko 5.6 desktop and be used just for office type work (spreadsheets, documents).

The other desktop being used for browsing, multi-media etc (Slacko), again from a pristine image.

All data (documents, spreadsheets, music, photographs etc being in a commonly shared 'Documents' root directory.

All of that looks like it might fit onto a single DVD. 3GB windows file, rest for data and Puppy files (multi-media files (videos, music) might have to be copied to a second DVD). With backup and restores being mostly just a few single large files and where each of data, linux operating system (and programs), windows operating system (and programs) can all be backed up/restored individually.

Slacko with VM with XP and Office constantly running in desktop 2 looks to run at around 440MB of memory whilst idle. CPU running at around 33% with a browser also running under Slacko (i.e. as I write this).
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
nooby

Joined: 29 Jun 2008
Posts: 10557
Location: SwedenEurope

PostPosted: Sat 01 Mar 2014, 19:46    Post_subject:  

This may be the Debian version.

Run all windows inside a Debian Linux version of virtual ...
Sorry it is one aclock and my brain fails me. Smile

Robolinux.

http://sourceforge.net/projects/robolinux/?source=pdlp

http://distrowatch.com/?newsid=08308

So this is Puppy that do the opposit it run all win
within Dab Linux.

Would that be a good way to use Win through Linux.

I doubt Ms like it though.

_________________
I use Google Search on Puppy Forum
not an ideal solution though
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 12 of 13 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 10, 11, 12, 13 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Virtualization
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0948s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0080s) ][ GZIP on ]