Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Thu 18 Dec 2014, 01:50
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
My report on Quirky 6.0
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 41 of 61 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, ..., 59, 60, 61 Next
Author Message
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4833
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sun 16 Feb 2014, 07:28    Post_subject: 605  

Quote:
I may have to introduce strict rules in the install scripts, not to allow installation into too-small drives/partitions.

Thanks for rapid response! The HD seemed to have sda1ext4, sda2ext3, sda3f2s, maybe a swap? Had nothing vital, so have re-installed (partition) using new script.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Billtoo


Joined: 07 Apr 2009
Posts: 2183
Location: Ontario Canada

PostPosted: Sun 16 Feb 2014, 11:16    Post_subject: My report on Quirky 6.0  

New install of Quirky Tahr 6.0.5 to a 400x 16gb SDHC card.
Installed proprietary nvidia driver.
Took snapshot.
Updated PPM and installed applications from Ubuntu repos + compiled
wine 1.7.12
Took snapshot.
video-info-glx 1.5.3 Sun 16 Feb 2014 on Quirky Tahr 6.0.5 Linux 3.12.6 i686
0.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation GF110 [GeForce GTX 560 Ti OEM] (rev a1)
oem: NVIDIA
product: GF110 Board - 12630002 Chip Rev
X Server: Xorg Driver: nvidia
X.Org version: 1.15.0
dimensions: 1920x1080 pixels (602x343 millimeters)
depth of root window: 24 planes
direct rendering: Yes
server glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
server glx version string: 1.4
OpenGL vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation
OpenGL renderer string: GeForce GTX 560 Ti/PCIe/SSE2
OpenGL core profile version string: 4.3.0 NVIDIA 334.16

It's working great so far.

EDIT:
Added wbar.
image-3.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   6.77 KB
 Viewed   712 Time(s)

image-3.jpg

image-1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   60.11 KB
 Viewed   877 Time(s)

image-1.jpg


Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
broomdodger


Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 271
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

PostPosted: Sun 16 Feb 2014, 11:46    Post_subject:  

Barry wrote:
The busybox 'printf' applet might do an octal to base 10 conversion. It works like the C printf() function.
Barry,
hour=`date +"%I"` # returns "01-12"
hour=`date +"%H"` # returns "00-23"

The problem is 08-09 are invalid octal numbers.
Code:
# printf "%d" 09
bash: printf: 09: invalid octal number

printf works great for valid octal numbers.
Code:
# printf "%d" 077
63

You are correct, an alternate would be better,
because the '-' flag is not an option on the Mac.

Another option is to use these which are 1 char shorter! Smile
Quote:
%k hour, space padded ( 0..23)
%l hour, space padded ( 1..12)

Code:
#!/bin/sh
# Walk ON the hour

hour=`date +"%l"` # space padded " 1..12"

for i in 4 3 2 1 ; do
t=$(( ( hour + i ) * 100 ))
(( t >= 2400 )) && (( t = t - 2400 ))

exec urxvt -g 47x5-0+$((13*i)) +sb \
  -bg black -fg cyan \
  -w 0 -b 1 -bd green \
  -title "Take a Walk" \
  -e bash -c "leave ${t} && bash" &

sleep 0.1
done
Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4833
Location: GB

PostPosted: Sun 16 Feb 2014, 12:55    Post_subject:  

Q-T 605 new install to partition ext4
There have been problems:
Install crashed at 41%. Hard reset, reinstall. GRUB4Dos crash when trying to edit menu.lst.
G4D reinstalled from Slacko!
No default 'aluminium', set 'colour' instead. PPM FlashPlayer v11 doesn't work with BBC iPlayer/SM - will overwrite with v10 from stock since it is usually more reliable. Yes, success, just as Terryphi advised some while ago.
it's all getting a bit fraught with version numbers, two distinct Q- versions, install scripts and names. Don't envy the developer's housekeeping effort before gold.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
broomdodger


Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 271
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

PostPosted: Sun 16 Feb 2014, 14:35    Post_subject:  

BarryK wrote:
I noticed one thing wrong. When running as root (not spot), the default download directory is supposed to be pre-set in
/file/portable/chromium/profile/Default/Preferences
to download to
/file/downloads

However, when I did a download, it defaulted to /root/Downloads
I looked at Chromium settings, I thought it was already set to '/file/downloads', but decided to reset it to '/file/downloads' and now Chromium downloads to '/file/downloads'.

I wonder if the preset and bad chars in it.

Barry

Would you check to see that BOTH of these point to "/file/downloads"?

This is how they look AFTER manually [re]setting to "/file/downloads".

"download": {
"default_directory": "/file/downloads",
"directory_upgrade": true,
"extensions_to_open": "",
"prompt_for_download": true
},

"savefile": {
"default_directory": "/file/downloads"
},

Bill

Edited_time_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Jim1911

Joined: 19 May 2008
Posts: 2457
Location: Texas, USA

PostPosted: Sun 16 Feb 2014, 14:48    Post_subject: Quirky Tahr 6.05  

For those that require a Bible Study Tool, Bibletime works great on Barry's latest Quirky Tahr.

I have it installed on a flash drive and find that it works great and is exceptionally fast. It does require the whole partition or drive. Bibletime is installed by clicking on the install icon which runs the Quirky Package Manager. Be sure to first configure the package manager, otherwise your search may not find Bibletime and even if it is found it probably will not install.

Thank you Barry,
Jim
image-1.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   50.22 KB
 Viewed   837 Time(s)

image-1.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
broomdodger


Joined: 09 May 2008
Posts: 271
Location: Santa Cruz, CA

PostPosted: Sun 16 Feb 2014, 14:55    Post_subject:  

Quirky Tahr 6.0.5
Chromium installed from PPM

This Chromium is working great.
I removed ALL Flash Players and Chromium WILL play TED http://ted.com/talks but SeaMonkey will not.

Is there something about HTML5 not working in SeaMonkey for TED?

TED gives this message:
Quote:
It appears that we are unable to play this video in your browser for one of the following reasons:

+ you have JavaScript disabled
+ your device does not support HTML5 video
+ you have an old version of the Adobe Flash Player. Download the latest Flash player to view this video.
Bill
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
peebee


Joined: 21 Sep 2008
Posts: 1543
Location: Worcestershire, UK

PostPosted: Sun 16 Feb 2014, 15:29    Post_subject: Re: Quirky Tahr feedback  

BarryK wrote:
Without actually having hands-on at your computer, I don't really know what else to suggest.

You should be able to follow a logical procedure to determine why the code that I supplied did not work, whereas what you did before did work.


Hi Barry

I think the problem is that $INTERFACE is wlan0 whereas for rfkill it needs to be wlan - i.e. no zero

If I put your code into a test file BUT change $INTERFACE to wlan then it works correctly - but with wlan0 it fails because the rfkill list wlan0 command fails.

Hope this constitutes the necessary "logical procedure"...I can't test directly because I don't know what $INTERFACE actually contains

Cheers
peebee

_________________
LxPup-14.10 = Puppy + LXDE
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
roadkill13

Joined: 10 Aug 2011
Posts: 78
Location: United States

PostPosted: Sun 16 Feb 2014, 16:25    Post_subject:  

Quote:

broomdodger wrote:
BarryK wrote:
ETP wrote:
@roadkill13
Quote:
Acer Aspire 3680 laptop running Quirky Tahr 6.03 with Google Chrome browser.
For the record can you describe in detail how you managed to get Google Chrome running in Tahr?
Have you tried Chromium?

It is in the Ubuntu repository. I just noticed it there, using the Quirky Package Manager, haven't tried it though.
I tried Chromium... it said:
Quote:
Chromium can not be run as root.
Please start Chromium as a normal user. To run as root, you must specify an alternate --user-data-dir for storage of profile information.
I do not understand what to do. But I like to play and may solve.

Also after PPM install, it said 'gstreamer' was needed.
But I have service_pack-6.0.3_TO_6.0.4-tahr.pet installed, which was to add gstreamer.

EDIT:
Well I tried and it did not work:
Code:
# chromium-browser
/usr/bin/chromium-browser: line 99: lsb_release: command not found
/usr/bin/chromium-browser: line 100: lsb_release: command not found
[15304:15304:0213/171529:ERROR:chrome_browser_main_extra_parts_gtk.cc(50)] Startup refusing to run as root.

# chromium-browser --user-data-dir=/file/personal
/usr/bin/chromium-browser: line 99: lsb_release: command not found
/usr/bin/chromium-browser: line 100: lsb_release: command not found
[14854:14879:0213/171454:ERROR:nss_util.cc(445)] Error initializing NSS with a persistent database (sql:/root/.pki/nssdb): libmozsqlite3.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
[14854:14879:0213/171454:ERROR:nss_util.cc(211)] Error initializing NSS without a persistent database: NSS error code: -5925
[14854:14879:0213/171454:FATAL:nss_util.cc(213)] nss_error=-5925, os_error=0
Aborted
Oh my... what to do?

Bill


OK, fixed, see blog post:
http://bkhome.org/news/?viewDetailed=00063

There was rather a lot to do, to get it all right, but the next release of Quirky Tahr (6.0.5), which should be out very soon, will (hopefully) have it all sorted out.
_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/


The Google Chrome Fixator package takes care of the problem encountered with running in root and adds some parameters to the command line related to memory for those running Chrome from a save file.

Great news that all that is sorted out with 6.05. I am the glad beneficiary of all the hard work that has gone into this. Thank you.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message YIM 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7099
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 16 Feb 2014, 18:30    Post_subject: Re: 605  

Sage wrote:
Quote:
I may have to introduce strict rules in the install scripts, not to allow installation into too-small drives/partitions.

Thanks for rapid response! The HD seemed to have sda1ext4, sda2ext3, sda3f2s, maybe a swap? Had nothing vital, so have re-installed (partition) using new script.


Yes, but how big is the partition? That is, size, in MB or GB. Mouseover the icon on the desktop will tell you.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7099
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 16 Feb 2014, 18:34    Post_subject:  

broomdodger wrote:
BarryK wrote:
I noticed one thing wrong. When running as root (not spot), the default download directory is supposed to be pre-set in
/file/portable/chromium/profile/Default/Preferences
to download to
/file/downloads

However, when I did a download, it defaulted to /root/Downloads
I looked at Chromium settings, I thought it was already set to '/file/downloads', but decided to reset it to '/file/downloads' and now Chromium downloads to '/file/downloads'.

I wonder if the preset and bad chars in it.

Barry

Would you check to see that BOTH of these point to "/file/downloads"?

This is how they look AFTER manually [re]setting to "/file/downloads".

"download": {
"default_directory": "/file/downloads",
"directory_upgrade": true,
"extensions_to_open": "",
"prompt_for_download": true
},

"savefile": {
"default_directory": "/file/downloads"
},

Bill


Bill,
Ah, that must be it!
I have added that extra "savefile" entry into /usr/local/petget/hacks-postinstall.sh, also in the FIXUPHACKS file in the chromium template in the Quirky build system.

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7099
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Sun 16 Feb 2014, 19:00    Post_subject: Re: Quirky Tahr feedback  

peebee wrote:
BarryK wrote:
Without actually having hands-on at your computer, I don't really know what else to suggest.

You should be able to follow a logical procedure to determine why the code that I supplied did not work, whereas what you did before did work.


Hi Barry

I think the problem is that $INTERFACE is wlan0 whereas for rfkill it needs to be wlan - i.e. no zero

If I put your code into a test file BUT change $INTERFACE to wlan then it works correctly - but with wlan0 it fails because the rfkill list wlan0 command fails.

Hope this constitutes the necessary "logical procedure"...I can't test directly because I don't know what $INTERFACE actually contains

Cheers
peebee


peebee,
That's great!
OK, for sns at least, I have modified /usr/local/simple_network_setup/sns line 327 as follows:

Code:
#scan for networks...
 #140201 peebee reported need this... 140217...
 WIF="$(echo -n "$INTERFACE" | grep 'wlan' | sed -e 's%[0-9]$%%')" #convert wlan0 to wlan
 [ "$WIF" ] && [ "`rfkill list ${WIF} | grep 'Soft blocked: yes'`" != "" ] && rfkill unblock $WIF
 FLAGERR=

_________________
http://bkhome.org/news/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message Visit_website 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4833
Location: GB

PostPosted: Mon 17 Feb 2014, 04:00    Post_subject:  

Quote:
..how big is the partition

It was ~4Gb. All deleted and 605 re-installed /wipe option with the difficulties described above.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Rodney Byne

Joined: 31 Jan 2014
Posts: 41

PostPosted: Mon 17 Feb 2014, 09:06    Post_subject:  

After a clean install of QT 6.0.5 to flashdrive, I note
the yellow First Time SeaMonkey box still appears
on every launch of SeaMonkey.
Its intended purpose to only appear once is not working.

Could the symlink

ln -snf /usr/lib/seamonkey/seamonkey /usr/bin/seamonkey

be permanently included by default please in future releases.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Sage

Joined: 04 Oct 2005
Posts: 4833
Location: GB

PostPosted: Mon 17 Feb 2014, 13:00    Post_subject:  

Above, I wrote:
Quote:
PPM FlashPlayer v11 doesn't work with BBC iPlayer

Not sure what's different in recent Puppies but micko's Slacko64 doesn't work either with it's pre-installed FP. In that case there may be another issue? How can I convert a 32-bit v.10 into a 64-bit .pet?! Suspect that turn out to be rhetorical, esp. as it's proprietary code!
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 41 of 61 Posts_count   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, ..., 59, 60, 61 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1249s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0208s) ][ GZIP on ]