Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 24 Nov 2014, 01:14
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
How to configure grub to boot Precise from hdd?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
neidorff

Joined: 10 Mar 2014
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon 10 Mar 2014, 11:34    Post subject:  How to configure grub to boot Precise from hdd?  

I've been using linux for years, and am a little embarrassed that this is causing me problems.

I have an older system. Precise Puppy 5.7.1 boots just fine from the CD I created. But, I want to boot from the 30Gb IDE drive. There is, and will be, no windows or anything else on the drive. So, I got the PuppyLinux Grub page.
I copied vmlinuz, stage1, stage2, ext2fs_stage_1_5 to /boot/grub as instructed.

This is menu.lst:
default=0
timeout=3
title Puppy Linux
root (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinux root = /dev/sda/

When I boot, I get:
Verifying DMI pool data.....

and then....nothing more.

Is this the problem? I try to install grub like this:
#grub-install /dev/sda
and get the error message:
"Could not find device for /boot: Not found or not a block device"

I know something is missing. Please help....

Thanks,
Mark
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Galbi


Joined: 21 Sep 2011
Posts: 486
Location: Bs.As. - Argentina.

PostPosted: Mon 10 Mar 2014, 12:16    Post subject:  

Hi, and welcome.

I think that you're just copying files, but that it's not and installation. (talking about Grub).

So boot from the CD and use the install icon on the desktop (or in the menu should be an item, sorry I'm not in Puppy now to check it) and let Puppy do it all, it's well trained Smile
This method will install Grub the right way.
You'll be asked to choose to make a frugal or full installation. It's up to you the choice thou I would prefer a frugal one, since it's easier to make a back up of the system.

If you find troubles, ask here, we're to help.

Greetings

_________________
Remember: "pecunia pecuniam parere non potest"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Burn_IT


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 1063
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Mon 10 Mar 2014, 13:09    Post subject:  

Mine looks like:


title Puppy Linux Precise 5.71 frugal
find --set-root /Precise57/vmlinuz
kernel /Precise57/vmlinuz pmedia=idehd psubdir=Precise57
initrd /Precise57/initrd.gz

title Puppy Linux Precise 5.6 frugal
find --set-root /Precise56/vmlinuz
kernel /Precise56/vmlinuz pmedia=idehd psubdir=Precise56
initrd /Precise56/initrd.gz

title Puppy Linux Lucid 528 frugal
find --set-root /lupu5000/vmlinuz
kernel /lupu5000/vmlinuz pmedia=idehd psubdir=lupu5000
initrd /lupu5000/initrd.gz

I have several Puppies each in their own subdirectory.
I try to avoid the hard coding of disk numbers so that the code is more portable. The find -- set-root will scan all available boot devices that are attached, so will work whether the files are on USB,DISk, floppy, whatever. The only possible strange thing there is the PMEDIA=IDEHD which tells Puppy how and when to save.

_________________
I can't remember the last time I forgot something!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mill0001

Joined: 01 Feb 2007
Posts: 375
Location: "People's Republik of Kalifornia"

PostPosted: Mon 10 Mar 2014, 19:43    Post subject:  

Neidorff: initrd line is missing in your menulist.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8645

PostPosted: Tue 11 Mar 2014, 09:14    Post subject:  

forum dying glitch Very Happy
Last edited by mikeb on Tue 11 Mar 2014, 09:15; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8645

PostPosted: Tue 11 Mar 2014, 09:15    Post subject:  

Looks to me like a full install but
kernel /vmlinux root = /dev/sda/
looks wrong...
I suggest it should be
kernel /vmlinuz root=/dev/sda1

or wherever the install is no spaces
This would give the no device erroro message as the system could not find itself as it is.

If it IS a frugal install then yes its completely off the mark and an initrd line is required.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
neidorff

Joined: 10 Mar 2014
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Sat 15 Mar 2014, 08:52    Post subject:  

Thanks for all the replies. Last time I booted, I got a bad sector read error on the drive, so, after booting from an old live knoppix CD I ran badblocks. Then I did a fresh install, and correctly installed grub. It worked. I'm not sure which was solved the problem--"fixing" a badblock or total reinstall, but now up and running.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0558s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0061s) ][ GZIP on ]