Light-Debian-Core-Live-CD-Wheezy + Porteus-Wheezy

For talk and support relating specifically to Puppy derivatives
Message
Author
User avatar
fredx181
Posts: 4448
Joined: Wed 11 Dec 2013, 12:37
Location: holland

#1881 Post by fredx181 »

Hi William, Toni
mcewanw wrote:
Toni, I'd like to try the Porteus-wheezy method of persistence using a changes directory rather than live-rw.

Download DebianDog-PorteusDog-test.iso and choose porteus boot if you boot from CD. For frugal install copy /live folder on top of a partition:
http://www.smokey01.com/saintless/Light ... g-test.iso
Code example to save changes in folder:
Code:
title DebianDog-Porteus
root (hd0,0)
kernel (hd0,0)/live/vmlinuz1 noauto from=/live/ changes=/debian/changes
initrd (hd0,0)/live/initrd1.xz
This assumes that "/debian/changes" exists.
It will fail if it doesn't exist.
And even when it exists you will get a "changes" folder inside "changes" so it will become: "/debian/changes/changes" which is probably not what we want, so better make it:

Code: Select all

title DebianDog-Porteus
root (hd0,0)
kernel (hd0,0)/live/vmlinuz1 noauto from=/live/ changes=/debian/
initrd (hd0,0)/live/initrd1.xz
The changes directory will then be automatically created in /debian/

Fred

User avatar
saintless
Posts: 3862
Joined: Sat 11 Jun 2011, 13:43
Location: Bulgaria

#1882 Post by saintless »

fredx181 wrote:The changes directory will then be automatically created in /debian/
Thank you, Fred! My post edited to avoid further problems.

Toni

User avatar
fredx181
Posts: 4448
Joined: Wed 11 Dec 2013, 12:37
Location: holland

#1883 Post by fredx181 »

Hi Toni
Use Administartion -> TimeZone to setup your time zone and it will correct the time.
Yes, works, Thanks!
We use in jwm.head default_web-browser from /usr/local/bin to point the default browser. We change the default browser from Utilities -> Set Default Apps.
How should default browser work? Installing new one auto-makes it default browser? I'm not sure how we should handle this so any suggestions are welcome.
Not sure how Utilities -> Set Default Apps works, but the following:

Code: Select all

ln -s /usr/bin/dillo /etc/alternatives/x-www-browser # first create link to make dillo official debian-browser
ln -snf /etc/alternatives/x-www-browser /usr/local/bin/default_web-browser # link default_web-browser to official debian-browser
worked for me.
After this I installed iceweasel and default_web-browser changed from dillo to iceweasel.
I have to make more desktop files for Terry's menu. It is added for testing and fixing the category list.
I'd like to save you the trouble to make .desktop files for these custom top items.
These are fixed items that won't need generating, right?
Then just put them, like they were once before, in the jwm.head file(Terry gave a choice to include or not).

Fred

User avatar
saintless
Posts: 3862
Joined: Sat 11 Jun 2011, 13:43
Location: Bulgaria

#1884 Post by saintless »

fredx181 wrote:the following:

Code: Select all

ln -s /usr/bin/dillo /etc/alternatives/x-www-browser # first create link to make dillo official debian-browser
ln -snf /etc/alternatives/x-www-browser /usr/local/bin/default_web-browser # link default_web-browser to official debian-browser
worked for me.
After this I installed iceweasel and default_web-browser changed from dillo to iceweasel.
Thank you, Fred! It seems the link in /etc/alternatives is created after installing debian browser from apt-get or synaptic.

Toni

User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

#1885 Post by sunburnt »

Fred; Or instead of changes=/debian/ , have changes=/DebianDog/ ?
This way it won`t possibly interfere with another installed Debian distro.

To have a Save folder is nice and simple, but I think Barry avoided this for a good reason.
A Save file or partition will fsck quickly, where as a folder can`t be fsck, only entire partition.
# We still need boot fsck of boot and live-rw file partitions...

# Also, we need a default time sync utility, then no setup guis are needed.


### mk-jwm.menu setup: 2 config. files in $HOME/.jwm controls it all:
# menu-root.lst file sets the root menu:
( Item ) . . . ( Icon )
Settings settings.png

# categories.lst file translates the desktop file entries: Categories= to root menu categories:
( Desktop ) ( Root Menu )
Theme Settings

The script /opt/bin/mk-jwm.menu runs the exec. file /opt/bin/mk-jwm.main
that reads the desktop files, and makes the $HOME/.jwm/jwm.main file.

The $HOME/.jwmrc file has the menu items at top & bottom of menu and Includes the files:
$HOME/.jwm/jwm.main and $HOME/.jwm/jwm.tail
# I`ll post the new menu setup as soon as we decide on it`s format.


## Toni; There are 2 Synaptics desktop files, one is for KDE, do we need it in our menu.?
And yes, it should have been Name=Synaptics , and GenericName=Package Manager
Then the 2 combined would be correct, but I think they were trying to fix "stupid menus".

I`ve thought about installing Firefox, etc. and how to change the top-of-menu items.
# Does anyone know what the standard method Firefox, etc. uses to set it as default browser.?
## Added: So Toni found the "Set as Default" for the browsers.? We can use it...

# I`ve made Xterm and browser point to default_ links, and made default_ icon links also.

# Yes, just add the new links along side the existing ones in /usr/local/bin
I have fixed the top-of-menu items in my menu setup already, no need for you to do it too...
# I will also put bottom-of-menu items into a sub menu, so that is done also.

# Shouldn`t Low-Ram menu setting remove menu icons ( maybe it does already...).?


## joewing; Thanks for the help, I think I see the .jwmrc fix for DebianDog.
.
Last edited by sunburnt on Thu 20 Mar 2014, 22:40, edited 5 times in total.

User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

#1886 Post by sunburnt »

# Toni; Did you try my: debmenu2desktop.convert exec.?
I made a bunch of desktop files from it.
But the only desktop files missing from: /etc/jwm/debian-menu was the 2 Ram-Mode files.

### I think everyone should submit a Root Menu items list.
The current list ( from file: $HOME/.jwm/menu-root.lst ):

Code: Select all

#Desktop x24.png
System pc24.png
Settings configuration24.png
Utility utility24.png
Graphics paint24.png
Office spread24.png
Network connect24.png
Internet www24.png
Multimedia multimedia24.png
Game games24.png
Misc module24.xpm
### If the Settings category gets filled with desktop stuff, we can move it to Desktop.

# Looking more at desktop files, so many the GenericName is more of a Comment,
and the file has no Comment. This makes using GenericName difficult.
LOTs of desktop files would need editing if Name + GenericName is used.
Probably over half of the desktop files do not conform to standards.
# I did make a Desktop Editor so it would be simple even for users to fix desktop files.

# gparted has an interesting alternative setup ( Gnome std. it appears...):

Code: Select all

## gparted.desktop
Name=GParted
GenericName=Partition Editor
X-GNOME-FullName=GParted Partition Editor
# Run these lines in Xterm to list all desktop files and Name= & GenericName=

Code: Select all

P=/usr/share/applications
for F in `ls "$P"` ;do echo -e "\n## $P/$F" ;egrep '(Name=|GenericName=)' "$P/$F" ;done
Last edited by sunburnt on Thu 20 Mar 2014, 22:49, edited 4 times in total.

User avatar
fredx181
Posts: 4448
Joined: Wed 11 Dec 2013, 12:37
Location: holland

#1887 Post by fredx181 »

Hi Terry
Installing audacity didn't show icon in menu.
The line in /root/.jwmrc for audacity;

Code: Select all

  <Program label="Audacity" icon="audacity">audacity</Program>
When changing audacity to audacity.png the icon shows.

Fred

User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

#1888 Post by sunburnt »

Fred; JWM must have the icon.ext, but desktop files seem to vary.
mk-jwm.main should find the file and make jwm.main with icon + ext.

I don`t have audacity installed, could you post it`s desktop file.?
.

User avatar
fredx181
Posts: 4448
Joined: Wed 11 Dec 2013, 12:37
Location: holland

#1889 Post by fredx181 »

Hi Terry
here's .desktop file of audacity:

Code: Select all

[Desktop Entry]
Name=Audacity
Name[de]=Audacity
Name[ru]=Audacity
GenericName=Sound Editor
GenericName[de]=Audio-Editor
GenericName[ru]=Редактор звуковых файлов
Comment=Record and edit audio files
Comment[de]=Audio-Dateien aufnehmen und bearbeiten
Comment[ru]=Запи

User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

#1890 Post by sunburnt »

3 possibilities, as all WM and DM icons are sized, /icons with many sizes is not needed.
# The icons dir is an old setup I believe, and it`s really stupid as it`s hard to find icon path.

# We need a default env. variable WM_THEME="hicolor" and set it when the theme is changed.

#1) Make links of all the dirs: /icon/$WM_THEME/SIZExSIZE/apps => /pixmaps
And copy all the 48x48 size icons to /pixmaps
This would have to be done for any new themes installed, or make custom themes.

#2) Run "find" on the /icon dir and see if that returns the icon.ext.
Then the lines below would need to be added to .jwmrc, or the icon copied to /pixmaps

#3) The other choice ( as we don`t know where the icon is ), add this to .jwmrc:
# And... This assumes that the icon is in a /apps dir. ( Not a reliable method. ).

Code: Select all

   <IconPath>/usr/share/icons/$WM_THEME/16x16/apps</IconPath>
   <IconPath>/usr/share/icons/$WM_THEME/22x22/apps</IconPath>
   <IconPath>/usr/share/icons/$WM_THEME/24x24/apps</IconPath>
   <IconPath>/usr/share/icons/$WM_THEME/32x32/apps</IconPath>
   <IconPath>/usr/share/icons/$WM_THEME/36x36/apps</IconPath>
   <IconPath>/usr/share/icons/$WM_THEME/48x48/apps</IconPath>
   <IconPath>/usr/share/icons/$WM_THEME/64x64/apps</IconPath>
   <IconPath>/usr/share/icons/$WM_THEME/72x72/apps</IconPath>
   <IconPath>/usr/share/icons/$WM_THEME/96x96/apps</IconPath>
   <IconPath>/usr/share/icons/$WM_THEME/128x128/apps</IconPath>
### Best method: mk-jwm.main could do the "find" and copy the icon to /pixmaps
Then the JWM menu would be able to find the icon without all the extra <IconPath>.
.

User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

#1891 Post by sunburnt »

Fred, Toni; Here`s the new mk-menu files.
I added "find /usr/share/icons" to the mk-jwm.main exec. file.
It also has the new .jwmrc file to <Include> jwm.main and jwm.tail.
There is no jwm.head file any more, it is now .jwmrc.
The file /root/.jwm/.jwmrc is a back up copy, /root/.jwmrc is the active file.
Replace all the old files with the new ones, all the new files are changed.
Copy the files into the dirs they are in ( /opt/bin, /root/.jwm, /root ).

# I`ve noticed that jwm -reload does not always fix the menu, jwm -restart is needed.
I`m not sure exactly what the circumstances for this are, but I`m sure we`ll find out.

# Fred; Try this out, it should find audacity`s icon and show it on the menu.
Attachments
mk-menu.zip
(24.64 KiB) Downloaded 219 times

mcewanw
Posts: 3169
Joined: Thu 16 Aug 2007, 10:48
Contact:

#1892 Post by mcewanw »

fredx181 wrote:better make it:

Code: Select all

title DebianDog-Porteus
root (hd0,0)
kernel (hd0,0)/live/vmlinuz1 noauto from=/live/ changes=/debian/
initrd (hd0,0)/live/initrd1.xz
The changes directory will then be automatically created in /debian/

Fred
I'm using the new DebianDog 01-v7.squashfs along with vmlinuz1 and initrd1.xz from DebianDog-PorteusDog-test.iso (which I had downloaded long time ago); all of these installed in /live. I'm using above menu.lst stanza except my files are in /dev/sdb1 so replacing above (hd0,0) with (hd1,0). Unfortunately, I am getting the following boot error message:

Code: Select all

loading kernel modules
searching for wheezy-i486.sgn file
from=cheatcode is incorrect, press enter to search through all devices
When I then press enter, I get further message "Porteus data not found"

I already have Porteus-Wheezy itself running on this machine, been using it as default OS for weeks because I like the changes directory. However, that one is using the vmlinuz (not vmlinuz1) Tony pointed me to when I was having trouble with the later Porteus-Wheezy new kernel. Now I want DebianDog running with that nice changes folder method of persistence too though.
github mcewanw

User avatar
saintless
Posts: 3862
Joined: Sat 11 Jun 2011, 13:43
Location: Bulgaria

#1893 Post by saintless »

Hi, Terry
sunburnt wrote:Fred, Toni; Here`s the new mk-menu files.
I added "find /usr/share/icons" to the mk-jwm.main exec. file..
Here is the output from the new mk-jwm.menu. I do not get icon for audacity but I can't test it proper till I fix the change menus way:

Code: Select all

root@debian:~# mk-jwm.menu
Usage: grep [OPTION]... PATTERN [FILE]...
Try 'grep --help' for more information.
Usage: grep [OPTION]... PATTERN [FILE]...
Try 'grep --help' for more information.
Usage: grep [OPTION]... PATTERN [FILE]...
Try 'grep --help' for more information.
find: paths must precede expression: .
Usage: find [-H] [-L] [-P] [-Olevel] [-D help|tree|search|stat|rates|opt|exec] [path...] [expression]
Usage: grep [OPTION]... PATTERN [FILE]...
...........
Try 'grep --help' for more information.
Usage: grep [OPTION]... PATTERN [FILE]...
Try 'grep --help' for more information.
sh: ./menu-root.lst: No such file or directory
I see you added jwm.main in include tags. Not sure if this is the reason yet but something breaks the existing change menu-debian <-> menu-puppy
In /opt/bin menu-puppy and menu-debian change the /opt/bin/update-menus link to point to mk-jwm.menu or /usr/bin/update-menus and after that run /opt/bin/menu1 or menu2.
I can not think of better scheme to make both debian and mk-jwm menus working for user and root.
It starts to be like never ending circle of small changes that break more and more.
I don't know how IceWM uses icons but it has only this as IconPath in preferences file:

Code: Select all

#  Icon search path (colon separated)
# IconPath="/usr/share/icons:/usr/share/pixmaps"
Converting desktop files from user when needed does not seems good approach to me.

Question to all: Way we try to replace well working and included in all debian wheezy packages debian menu method when not all desktop files follow the standards we try to include in mk-jwm.menu? I suggest we use Debian menu as default and fix mk-jwm.menu and make it default in some proper period of testing.

Terry, I might do something wrong, but desktop-convert gives this outputs. I make new desktop files by copy/paste from terminal to desktop file:

Code: Select all

root@debian:~# debmenu2desktop.convert /usr/share/menu/bash.desktop /tmp/desktop
cat: /usr/share/menu/bash.desktop: No such file or directory
cat: /usr/share/menu/bash.desktop: No such file or directory
root@debian:~# debmenu2desktop.convert /usr/share/menu/bash /tmp/desktop
###  bash.desktop
[Desktop Entry]
Terminal="true"
Categories="Applications;Shells"
Icon="/usr/share/pixmaps/xterm-color_32x32.xpm"
Name="Bash"
Exec="/bin/bash --login"

###  sh.desktop
[Desktop Entry]
Terminal="true"
Categories="Applications;Shells"
Icon="/usr/share/pixmaps/xterm-color_32x32.xpm"
Name="Sh"
Exec="/bin/sh --login"
Toni
Last edited by saintless on Fri 21 Mar 2014, 05:30, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
saintless
Posts: 3862
Joined: Sat 11 Jun 2011, 13:43
Location: Bulgaria

#1894 Post by saintless »

Hi, William.
You need not only initrd1.xz from DebianDog-PorteusDog .
You need to have /live/debian folder with all it content.
Also delete the two symlinks from /live/debian/base and create there new one /live/debian/base/01-v7.xzm pointing to /live/01-v7.squashfs
Or just move 01-v7.squashfs in /live/debian/base and rename it to 01-v7.xzm
Inside /live/debian folder you have this wheezy-i486.sgn file.

Toni

mcewanw
Posts: 3169
Joined: Thu 16 Aug 2007, 10:48
Contact:

#1895 Post by mcewanw »

Ok, Toni, that was what I was actually in the process of arranging. I'll let you know how it goes; should be fine I guess...
github mcewanw

User avatar
saintless
Posts: 3862
Joined: Sat 11 Jun 2011, 13:43
Location: Bulgaria

#1896 Post by saintless »

Hi, Terry.
# We still need boot fsck of boot and live-rw file partitions...
I'm working on this but it seems wheezy does not use fsck on boot. It has 6 months period check set. I'm not sure it will work the same way with downgraded initrd.img we use and with porteus-initrd file which is the second boot option.
To check the period fsck setup for every device use for sda1 for example:

Code: Select all

tune2fs -l /dev/sda1
Creating file /forcefsck and reboot -F options does not work to make fsck on next boot.
# Also, we need a default time sync utility, then no setup guis are needed.
What do you mean? Isn't it TimeZone setting menu entry enough? Every user will set up time zone once and it is done.
## Toni; There are 2 Synaptics desktop files, one is for KDE, do we need it in our menu.?
No, but I keep the second one with no extension end it des not appear in the menu. Better to keep it this way in case someone need it after installing KDE on DebianDog :)
## Added: So Toni found the "Set as Default" for the browsers.? We can use it...
yes, we can easy setup manual the default links in /usr/local/bin to point to different applications with Set-Default-apps. Personaly I do not like the idea every new installed browser auto-become default browser but we can do it as Fred suggested.
# Shouldn`t Low-Ram menu setting remove menu icons ( maybe it does already...).?
I don't think we will notice ram saving from removing menu icons and it makes the process more complicated.
### If the Settings category gets filled with desktop stuff, we can move it to Desktop.
I suggest to include Desktop from the beginning.

Toni

mcewanw
Posts: 3169
Joined: Thu 16 Aug 2007, 10:48
Contact:

#1897 Post by mcewanw »

Okay, DebianDog working with changes directory for persistence now, but including the extras Toni suggested I also used: changes=/live/debian/ rather than changes=/debian/ in my grub menu.li
st
github mcewanw

User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

#1898 Post by sunburnt »

Toni; For help, run: /root/0_BaCon/debmenu2desktop
This command filled /tmp/0 with only 66 ready to go desktop files ( not sure why not 70 ).

Code: Select all

# /root/0_BaCon/debmenu2desktop /usr/share/menu /tmp/0

	#####  Total Files:  70
#
# I`ll look at mk-menu, something simple I`m sure... :roll:
# I didn`t think about JWM actually searching sub dirs for icons, I assumed it only did the dir.

# I think there`s a way for the time sync web site to auto. get your location.?

# I see the renamed Synaptics file, I`ll have to check if mk-menu will ignore it.
### Yes it will ignore the renamed file.

# I`m still looking at the fsck thing...
.
Last edited by sunburnt on Fri 21 Mar 2014, 06:04, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
saintless
Posts: 3862
Joined: Sat 11 Jun 2011, 13:43
Location: Bulgaria

#1899 Post by saintless »

sunburnt wrote:Toni; For help, run: /root/0_BaCon/debmenu2desktop
This command filled /tmp/0 with only 66 ready to go desktop files ( not sure why not 70 ).

Code: Select all

# /root/0_BaCon/debmenu2desktop /mnt/sq/usr/share/menu /tmp/0

	#####  Total Files:  70
#
Thank you, Terry.
Maybe we should make menu entry to automate this process.

Toni

User avatar
sunburnt
Posts: 5090
Joined: Wed 08 Jun 2005, 23:11
Location: Arizona, U.S.A.

#1900 Post by sunburnt »

Just tested JWM IconPath, JWM does not search sub dirs.

Toni; Do you know if IceWM does search sub dirs. for icons.?

Post Reply