Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sat 23 Aug 2014, 02:02
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
FluxPup-1.5 PAE Final
Moderators: Flash, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 6 [79 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Author Message
oldyeller


Joined: 15 Nov 2011
Posts: 779
Location: Mishawaka IN

PostPosted: Tue 01 Apr 2014, 14:37    Post subject:  

@dejan555 I will add the clock skins and fluxbox styles into the next build, along with using urxvt and taking out Pctorrent. Will also add the fluxbox wallpaper.

@Terry H there is a pet in the fluxpup repo that also has around 15 styles for fluxbox as well as the ones dejan555 has provided us with.

@slavvo67 I will probably keep the power-off the way it is for now. Try the vlc in fluxpup repo and the qt-4.8.2.sfs you can get from the SFS-Downloader. I have not had any problems with this as far as I can recall.

@Everyone final will be out around two weeks if nothing else is found. I wll be building an adrv and zdrv that will have programs in them to make the iso smaller. One can download these to add more programs or one can build their own. Any suggestions will be considered.

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Marv


Joined: 04 May 2005
Posts: 338
Location: SW Wisconsin

PostPosted: Tue 01 Apr 2014, 16:25    Post subject:  

oldyeller wrote:


@Everyone final will be out around two weeks if nothing else is found. I wll be building an adrv and zdrv that will have programs in them to make the iso smaller. One can download these to add more programs or one can build their own. Any suggestions will be considered.

Cheers


Any chance for a non-PAE? Just an old moan-and-groan Pentium M er.

_________________
tweaked 412 based boxpup, well honed 'lina-lite-005, alphaOS 321 Wink , X-slacko 2.1, Lxpup 14.07, and not to forget trusty Carolina/Carolite (now with 3.15 kernel). All lean and steady pups.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
slavvo67

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 372
Location: The other Mr. 305

PostPosted: Tue 01 Apr 2014, 22:15    Post subject:  

Yeller:

I haven't tried the VLC yet but I am playing more with the Gnome MPlayer. It seems to be randomly playing video and audio one time and just audio another on some files. Regardless, the right click option to view in full screen seems to work correctly so I guess that's okay.

Still playing and thanks again for the nice distro.

Best,

Slavvo67
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oldyeller


Joined: 15 Nov 2011
Posts: 779
Location: Mishawaka IN

PostPosted: Wed 02 Apr 2014, 11:47    Post subject:  

Marv wrote:
oldyeller wrote:


@Everyone final will be out around two weeks if nothing else is found. I wll be building an adrv and zdrv that will have programs in them to make the iso smaller. One can download these to add more programs or one can build their own. Any suggestions will be considered.

Cheers


Any chance for a non-PAE? Just an old moan-and-groan Pentium M er.


I will if I can get the kernel sources to compile.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4220
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Wed 02 Apr 2014, 12:20    Post subject:  

Hello @OldYeller and thanks for this work. Very nicely done. It operates smoothly and without complaints from any of the 32bit PCs tested. Works on all of them. GREAT!

The only item I would like to draw attention is a usability one on the default desktop in FluxPUP. Could there be a Menu>Desktop item to allows adding additional "workspaces" on the tab-bar at bottom of screen. (its not obvious where this is done)

Also, as an update, 01Micko's implementation of the LAN on the tab-bar, shows the IP address in the mouse-over. Current FluxPUP has not implemented that. Could that same be upgraded in next release?

My next tests will be videos/audios saved. Will continue testing, but, so far, clean,

Cheers

_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oldyeller


Joined: 15 Nov 2011
Posts: 779
Location: Mishawaka IN

PostPosted: Wed 02 Apr 2014, 14:40    Post subject:  

gcmartin
Quote:

The only item I would like to draw attention is a usability one on the default desktop in FluxPUP. Could there be a Menu>Desktop item to allows adding additional "workspaces" on the tab-bar at bottom of screen. (its not obvious where this is done)


You can add, remove or edit a workspace from here:
workspace.png
Description 
png

 Download 
Filename  workspace.png 
Filesize  176.67 KB 
Downloaded  130 Time(s) 
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
dejan555


Joined: 30 Nov 2008
Posts: 2647
Location: Montenegro

PostPosted: Wed 02 Apr 2014, 14:50    Post subject:  

Or middle click for instant workspace menu
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger 
oldyeller


Joined: 15 Nov 2011
Posts: 779
Location: Mishawaka IN

PostPosted: Wed 02 Apr 2014, 22:57    Post subject:  

dejan555 wrote:
Or middle click for instant workspace menu


Your right, I did forget that one Very Happy Very Happy

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
gcmartin

Joined: 14 Oct 2005
Posts: 4220
Location: Earth

PostPosted: Thu 03 Apr 2014, 00:49    Post subject:  

Thanks. You wont believe how many times I looked at that Menu category but never opened that particular entry. I did open several of the others. Wow! So close, yet ... Thanks for the guidance! Smile
_________________
Get ACTIVE Create Circles; Do those good things which benefit people's needs!
We are all related ... Its time to show that we know this!
3 Different Puppy Search Engine or use DogPile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Pelo


Joined: 10 Sep 2011
Posts: 3015
Location: Mer méditerrannée (1 kms°)

PostPosted: Thu 10 Apr 2014, 07:24    Post subject: Fluxpup 1.10
Subject description: Not easy ! size of pupsave first
 

Not easy ! step by step
resize file does not operate, it's the main problem. So I created a new pupsave, huge pupsave, to avoid having to increase for a long while. I will read the forum, ... after eating, because I am late ! Wink
Topic FluxPup-1.5 : I should be the only one failing resizing pupsave ? Well.
I check the subject deeper. the pupsaveresize.txt: 5 bytes is still there qfter reboot unused,
the keyboqrd is bqck to us version too< Hu;,,,

_________________
Puppy, il ne lui manque que la parole !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger 
slavvo67

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 372
Location: The other Mr. 305

PostPosted: Thu 10 Apr 2014, 20:41    Post subject:  

I'm not sure if my problem relates to Pelo's exactly but my pupsave file did corrupt in Fluxpup (usb installed). I think it's due to my cache size or something so I consider it more of a Puppy problem than that of only Fluxpup. I like keeping large cache files so maybe it's a "me issue."

As previously stated, the Fluxbox menu list is "garbled" when I first boot via USB. I fix by choosing the Fluxbox menu which luckily is conveniently separated by two white lines (so I can easily locate it even without being able to read it) and choosing "restart." After that, it's clean and works properly. This is a little inconvenient.

The Gnome Mplayer still has an issue where at times it will open and play an mp4 and other times it will just play the audio. Anyway, right clicking and choosing to play fullscreen works perfectly so the issue when left clicking on the video is insignificant. I chose not to pursue this further and didn't see the need of adding vlc or other players. It's good 'nuff for me.

I have Google Chrome, Opera and Seamonkey all running smoothly. Seamonkey is not showing thumbnail previews on certain webpages but it's probably a setting issue in Seamonkey. Not a big deal as the other two browsers work perfectly.

Overall, this is a very clean looking and well working puppy. I keep a live CD in one of my 3 test computers all the time. None of the above should be considered complaints. They are just my continued observations when testing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oldyeller


Joined: 15 Nov 2011
Posts: 779
Location: Mishawaka IN

PostPosted: Fri 11 Apr 2014, 09:59    Post subject: Re: Fluxpup 1.10
Subject description: Not easy ! size of pupsave first
 

Pelo wrote:
Not easy ! step by step
resize file does not operate, it's the main problem. So I created a new pupsave, huge pupsave, to avoid having to increase for a long while. I will read the forum, ... after eating, because I am late ! Wink
Topic FluxPup-1.5 : I should be the only one failing resizing pupsave ? Well.
I check the subject deeper. the pupsaveresize.txt: 5 bytes is still there qfter reboot unused,
the keyboqrd is bqck to us version too< Hu;,,,


I did a resize of 256mb and it did work, Also I had my wife do two of them on her computer at 32mb and 256mb and they both worked. Maybe it was something with your savefile.

As for the keyboard I know that this has been a problem with puppies build with precise, hopefully we will be able to fix that at some point.

Cheers
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
oldyeller


Joined: 15 Nov 2011
Posts: 779
Location: Mishawaka IN

PostPosted: Fri 11 Apr 2014, 10:08    Post subject:  

@slavvo67
Quote:

I'm not sure if my problem relates to Pelo's exactly but my pupsave file did corrupt in Fluxpup (usb installed). I think it's due to my cache size or something so I consider it more of a Puppy problem than that of only Fluxpup. I like keeping large cache files so maybe it's a "me issue."


So far on the 3 computers that this is running on there has been no issue with the savefile. I can start using the one on the usb and see if that is what is making the issue.

Quote:

As previously stated, the Fluxbox menu list is "garbled" when I first boot via USB


How is everything in the menu after doing a reboot or restarting X? I will be doing a non-pae once I get the release out hopefully next week.

Quote:

The Gnome Mplayer still has an issue where at times it will open and play an mp4 and other times it will just play the audio.


Maybe all of these problems are due to the files on the usb. Have you tried to copy the files onto the usb again and do a new savefile?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
RSH


Joined: 05 Sep 2011
Posts: 2398
Location: Germany

PostPosted: Fri 11 Apr 2014, 10:31    Post subject:  

Pelo wrote:
the keyboard is back to us version too

oldyeller wrote:
As for the keyboard I know that this has been a problem with puppies build with precise, hopefully we will be able to fix that at some point.


- boot puppy in RAM (pupmode=5)
- setup your language, country and keyboard
- restart X
- do a remaster
- keep the following files on a remaster (if they are there)

- - /etc/codepage
- - /etc/keymap
- - /etc/localtime
- - /etc/windowmanager
- - /etc/.numlock_set_on
- - /root/.jwm
- - /root/.jwmrc
- - /root/.jwmrc-tray
- - /root/Startup/numlockx

Which means (e.g.): do copy /etc/codepage to /tmp/etc/ # and so on


Note!

Do not copy file /etc/profile !!!

Put this here into a script and execute it:

LANG="`grep '^ *LANG=' /etc/profile | cut -f 2 -d =`"
SEDSCRIPT="s%^LANG.*%LANG=${LANG}%"
sed -i -e "$SEDSCRIPT" "/tmp/etc/profile"

Execute it when directory /tmp/etc is offered to be modified manually !!!

Edit:

Check file /tmp/etc/DISTRO_SPECS for this entry (needs to be there):

- DISTRO_XORG_AUTO='yes'


After this puppy should boot straight into your language, country and keyboard settings.

At least a useful tip: do NOT use save files...

_________________
LazY Puppy
RSH's DNA
SARA B.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
slavvo67

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 372
Location: The other Mr. 305

PostPosted: Fri 11 Apr 2014, 15:11    Post subject:  

Yes, Yeller. I had multiple installs on different USB's. I fix the "garbled menu" but it comes back every time I restart. I destroyed my puppy save on Trusty (or not so Trusty) Tahr, as well. I guess that I push these USB's and save files to the limit. Probably quite a few cache files getting saved, too. I have a script to clear them out but I kind of like keeping them around for a while.

I posed the question in another part of the forum but I believe if you fill up that save file, it'll corrupt and your done. I'm not the pro on this and it's clearly not the place to generalize.

I'm working on old Dell equipment. You're right, I usually go non-pae. No complaints--- just potential troubleshooting. If I'm the only one with the issues, it's a me thing. I'm used to that and I'm not concerned about losing a save file or two. I usually run live, anyway.

Best,

Slavvo
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 6 [79 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Puppy Derivatives
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1187s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0192s) ][ GZIP on ]