Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 16 Sep 2014, 15:31
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Check all your ext* and vfat partitions automatically
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 5 of 5 [74 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Author Message
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3444
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Fri 04 Apr 2014, 04:03    Post subject:  

1. "Sounds like you just left-clicked on the icon. If you right-click on it, there are other choices, among which there's a "mount".
Did you try that?
"
I was using the right-click menu to do stuff; that's what made possible the stuff I did.
Can't remember exactly what I did.
Like I said:
I dismounted the Lighthouse64 filesystem, ejected the DVD, then inserted the Precise-5.6.1 DVD, and did what I thought it took to view the contents of that.
I'm not convinced stuff was being done as I clicked.
The display on the desktop [of sr0] didn't change.
I'll repeat the exercise and take more careful note and report back.
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Report:

1. Booted Lighthouse64->multi-session. [typing this from it]
Loaded 2 folders.
SFS files copied from DVD->12 loaded.

2. Optical file system displayed on desktop = LH64-602MAR, not mounted.
a. R-click, "eject optical disk", removed from tray.
b. LH64-602MAR icon disappeared from desktop.
c. Placed "Precise-5.6.1" DVD-RW in tray, closed tray.
d. sr0 appeared on desktop.
e. Hovered cursor over sr0 and got: "sro Description: TSScorpCDDVDW SH-222BB size: 4.4 GiB".
f. Right-clicked on sr0->no mount option.
Chose:
AppDir "sr0"->"Look inside", and got:
AppRun
AppInfo.xml
g. Ran "Drive Manager 2.2", selcted:
"Optical->sr0" and got:
"Mount" was greyed out.
"Eject" was available.
h. A window was displayed showing the following info:
... /dev/sr0
Block Device, size 4.370 GiB
CD-ROM, 1 track, CDDB disk ID 023BFD01
Track 1: Data Track, 2.197 GiB.
----------------------------------------------------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
fixit


Joined: 16 Mar 2013
Posts: 664
Location: El Lago, Texas

PostPosted: Mon 07 Apr 2014, 18:02    Post subject: Check all your ext* and vfat partitions not working  

When this runs, this message appears.

There are no partition(s) of this type on your disk(s)

Disk has (2) ext 3 partitions and one ntfs.

Andy

_________________
Andy
Slacko Puppy 5.6.0
OpenSuse 13.1 KDE
Windows XP SP3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4231
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Mon 07 Apr 2014, 18:23    Post subject: Re: Check all your ext* and vfat partitions not working  

fixit wrote:
When this runs, this message appears.

There are no partition(s) of this type on your disk(s)

Disk has (2) ext 3 partitions and one ntfs.

Andy


Hi, Andy.

Were your partitions mounted before you ran the script?
I'll try to reproduce the bug, but I need that info. Thanks.

BFN.

musher0

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4231
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Mon 07 Apr 2014, 18:40    Post subject:  

@Sylvander:

So your DVD does have something on it:

Quote:
h. A window was displayed showing the following info:
... /dev/sr0
Block Device, size 4.370 GiB
CD-ROM, 1 track, CDDB disk ID 023BFD01
Track 1: Data Track, 2.197 GiB.


However that's not a data disk, it's very likely to be a music disk, judging from the ID. Please see
http://www.ask.com/wiki/CDDB#Example_calculation_of_a_CDDB1_.28FreeDB.29_disc_ID

Maybe your Puppy DVD is now under the computer magazines you consulted and over
which there is now a plate from which you ate your favorite sandwich the other day, and
where now your headphones sit?! (Looks a lot like my workstation!) Wink

So, if it's not a Puppy DVD, it can't boot Puppy, can it? Smile (Don't worry, it happens to all
of us every once in a while!)

BFN.

musher0

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
fixit


Joined: 16 Mar 2013
Posts: 664
Location: El Lago, Texas

PostPosted: Tue 08 Apr 2014, 09:12    Post subject:  

The partitions were unmounted.

When automverif is run from the menu, there is nothing showing up on the screen.

Andy

_________________
Andy
Slacko Puppy 5.6.0
OpenSuse 13.1 KDE
Windows XP SP3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4231
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Tue 08 Apr 2014, 12:01    Post subject:  

Hello, Andy.

You wrote:
fixit wrote:
[1)] The partitions were unmounted.

[2)] When automverif is run from the menu, there is nothing showing up on the screen.

Andy


As far as I can tell:
1) This script should run whether the partitions are mounted or not. If they're not all
mounted when the automverif starts running, you may get an additional message
from the fsck utility saying something like: "partition already unmounted, cannot
unmount this partition", but that's ok, it doesn't change anything, because the
partitions have to be unmounted for this checking script to run.

So the problem is elsewhere. The only plausible explanation I can come up with is:
Somehow the temporary partitions list created by the script in /tmp got erased. If the
script doesn't find its list, it thinks there are no partitions of any type -- and sends the
message you saw. Did you have to cleanup your /tmp directory for some reason
while the automverif script was running? That would have done it!

2) There was a "doubloon" in the the automverif.desktop file of v. 11a. (The "Exec="
appeared twice on the exec line.) It still did work properly on this machine, but
obviously on your computer, it didn't. Thanks for catching that. Give me a few
minutes, and I'll upload an edited version.

The two bugs are not related. I hope this helps.

BFN.

musher0

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)

Last edited by musher0 on Wed 09 Apr 2014, 17:14; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4231
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Tue 08 Apr 2014, 12:17    Post subject:
Subject description: Maintenance version 11b uploaded
 

Hello, all.

Version 11b uploaded in first post. "Doubloon" caught (thanks go to fixit) and various
typos corrected. So it's only a maintenance version.

REMINDER: It's advisable to remove all previous versions manually or better, through
the PPM, before installing a new version.

BFN.

musher0

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
fixit


Joined: 16 Mar 2013
Posts: 664
Location: El Lago, Texas

PostPosted: Tue 08 Apr 2014, 16:23    Post subject:  

I am still getting the same message.

Here are the files in /tmp

Code:

backg.log
bootcnt.txt
bootkernel.log
delayedrun_finished_flag
dmesg_e2fsck_warnings1
.frisbee
gtkdialog_splash_bg.svg
gtkdialog_splash_border.svg
gtkdialog-splash_gtkrc
.network_tray-use_wireless_control_menu_labels
.network_tray-wlan0_bound
partitions1.lst
pup_event_backend
pup_event_drvs_floppy
pup_event_drvs_optical
pup_event_frontend_d_curpos.log
pup_event_frontend_identify1_sr0
pup_event_frontend_identify2_sr0
pup_event_frontend_scrn_x
pup_event_frontend_scrn_y
pup_event_frontend_timeout_savecnt
pup_event_ipc
pup_event_ok_pin
pup_event_probedisk_startup
pup_event_sizefreem
PuppyPin
rc_d_rc_services_log
rc_sysinit
retrovol.pid
root
simple_network_setup
tmp.txt
udev
udevtrace.log
udevtrace-modem.log
wpa_supplicant.log
.X0-lock
.X11-unix
xerrs.log
yaf-splash

_________________
Andy
Slacko Puppy 5.6.0
OpenSuse 13.1 KDE
Windows XP SP3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4231
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Tue 08 Apr 2014, 18:25    Post subject:  

Remove /tmp/partitions1.lst and rerun?
_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
fixit


Joined: 16 Mar 2013
Posts: 664
Location: El Lago, Texas

PostPosted: Wed 09 Apr 2014, 10:41    Post subject:  

No change.
_________________
Andy
Slacko Puppy 5.6.0
OpenSuse 13.1 KDE
Windows XP SP3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4231
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Wed 09 Apr 2014, 13:28    Post subject:  

fixit wrote:
No change.


Hello, Andy.

Very strange.
It's worked on every Puppy version and / or setup I have, and I have many! Smile
If I may, I'd like to pinpoint where the problem is, with your help.

A) First things first:
Please check that all ".sh" scripts in that folder have permission to run.
In a terminal, with ls -og, the first column for the sh scripts should read : -rwxr-xr-x
In the ROX-Filer window, the name of the scripts should be in light green color.

The scripts in the pet file are shipped as executable, but something might have happened.

You can make double-sure the bunch of them become executable by typing, in that console:
Code:
chmod ug+rwx *automv*.sh


B) Could you please post a listing of /root/my-applications/Systeme/automverif/11/ ?
Either from console with
Code:
 ls -og

or with a screen capture of the corresponding ROX-Filer folder.
This to check the byte count.

C) While you are in the /root/my-applications/Systeme/automverif/11/ folder,
1) can you start the script by clicking on the launcher automverif11-direct.sh ?

2) If that fails, please open a terminal, in that folder. Is it possible for you to start
the script by typing
Code:
automverif11.sh

? The window will be too short to see an entire partition report at a glance, but the
script should run.

D) Finally, make sure that you have only the latest version. If all else fails, remove
the whole "automverif" folder at /root/my-applications/Systeme/. and re-install the latest
version of "automverif" from your downloaded pet file.

Many thanks in advance for your feedbacks and co-operation.

musher0

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
fixit


Joined: 16 Mar 2013
Posts: 664
Location: El Lago, Texas

PostPosted: Wed 09 Apr 2014, 14:22    Post subject:  

total 20
-rwxr-xr-x 1 634 Mar 28 15:26 automverif11-direct.sh
-rwxr-xr-x 1 5608 Mar 30 13:49 automverif11.sh
-rwxr-xr-x 1 1360 Mar 30 13:45 automverif11-wrapper.sh
-rw-r--r-- 1 0 Apr 9 13:39 dir.txt
-rwxr-xr-x 1 631 Mar 28 15:28 start_automverif11-wrapper.sh
lrwxrwxrwx 1 40 Mar 26 00:43 tuneDisks25.sh -> /root/my-applications/bin/tuneDisks25.sh

When I run the script (laptop) , it gives the same message.

I tried the script on my desktop and it works fine. ?

_________________
Andy
Slacko Puppy 5.6.0
OpenSuse 13.1 KDE
Windows XP SP3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
musher0


Joined: 04 Jan 2009
Posts: 4231
Location: Gatineau (Qc), Canada

PostPosted: Fri 11 Apr 2014, 09:24    Post subject:  

Hello, Andy.

Good! At least half of your equipment will have clean partitions! Smile

But seriously, I have no idea why the script would not work on your laptop.
Is this a very new laptop with the UEFI contraption instead of the regular BIOS?
Can it prevent disk operations?

BFN.

musher0

_________________
"Logical entities must not be multiplied needlessly." / "Il ne faut pas multiplier les êtres logiques inutilement." (Ockham)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
fixit


Joined: 16 Mar 2013
Posts: 664
Location: El Lago, Texas

PostPosted: Fri 11 Apr 2014, 20:23    Post subject:  

Desktop is about 5 years old.

It's no big deal.

_________________
Andy
Slacko Puppy 5.6.0
OpenSuse 13.1 KDE
Windows XP SP3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 5 of 5 [74 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » HOWTO ( Solutions )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.1124s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0331s) ][ GZIP on ]