Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 24 Oct 2014, 10:52
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Documents
Abiword 2.9.4 included in Slacko 5.6 is unstable
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
Wilhelm

Joined: 29 Dec 2013
Posts: 7
Location: Costa Rica

PostPosted: Tue 04 Feb 2014, 12:32    Post_subject:  Abiword 2.9.4 included in Slacko 5.6 is unstable
Sub_title: Abiword 2.9.4 in Slacko 5.6 fails!
 

Please do not include unstable software in Puppies people will use to do actual work!

I just lost my work because of an Abiword 2.9.4 failure using the new Slacko 5.6 (the non PAE version). Mad

After this highly annoying experience, I checked http://www.abisource.com/
As per this website, on February 4th 2014:

"Our latest development release is version 2.9.4. Development releases are aimed at developers, or people willing to test unstable software. They should not be used in a production environment."

My experience with Slacko Puppy has taught me that it is has always been one of the most reliable OS for doing my work, without having to worry about failures or unstable things Smile ... Until now. Crying or Very sad

I am going to use 5.5, which has proven to work perfectly, just to make sure I do not discover that other programs are also unstable versions, when it is already too late.

Please consider including unstable software only in Quirky Puppies, or clearly indicate that the version is not intended to be used to do any real work.
sav_err.png
 Description   It was also impossible to "save as" or "save as copy". And there weren't "too many open files" (there was only one).
 Filesize   25.94 KB
 Viewed   648 Time(s)

sav_err.png

w_err.png
 Description   Writing error when saving Abiword file.
 Filesize   18.44 KB
 Viewed   653 Time(s)

w_err.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
slavvo67

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 442
Location: The other Mr. 305

PostPosted: Sat 19 Apr 2014, 20:28    Post_subject:  

While this is an older post, for the record.... ABI Word is not stable regardless of the version. 2.8.6 is said to be the stable version but many have had issues with that, as well. Please look in the forum for other word processors that might better suit your needs.

Most believe Libre Office is the way to go but it is large, so you have to way the advantages / disadvantages. Meanwhile, Gnumeric is a very nice spreadsheet program and I haven't seen any real issues with that one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Colonel Panic


Joined: 16 Sep 2006
Posts: 1521

PostPosted: Sun 20 Apr 2014, 10:38    Post_subject:  

I think Softmaker Office is a good way to go instead of Libre Office. A lot of people like the free version, which has nearly all of the features of the paid for one, but Office 2008 is still very useable as long as you don't want to edit or write Office 2010 files.

Even the full, paid for version is very affordable if you can pick it up at a discount (it's occasionally offered at a reduced price).

It's a real shame though that Abiword is still so buggy; I don't know what's gone wrong there.

_________________
Stone Pentium IV (2.4 GHz), 2 GB of RAM, 160 GB hard drive running PuppEX 14.1, New Year's Pup 02, Puppy 4.31 Workhorse, Puppy X-Precise 2.4, Puppy Carolina 1.2, Puppy Legacy OS2 LTS, Puppy Diamond 528_512 (full) and Puppy Upup Raring 3.9.9.2.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 308

PostPosted: Sun 20 Apr 2014, 19:27    Post_subject:  

slavvo67 wrote:
While this is an older post, for the record.... ABI Word is not stable regardless of the version. 2.8.6 is said to be the stable version but many have had issues with that, as well. Please look in the forum for other word processors that might better suit your needs.

Most believe Libre Office is the way to go but it is large, so you have to way the advantages / disadvantages. Meanwhile, Gnumeric is a very nice spreadsheet program and I haven't seen any real issues with that one.

I tried abiword 2.9.x for a brief period and experienced a loss/crash like others. Switched to 2.8.6 and generally OK but again periodically trashed at the worst possible time.

I've since installed a portable Libre and whilst 380MB - that's outside of savefile space. I also use portable firefox. Combined with online email, my Puppy is lean (65MB puppy sfs size, 85MB with nvidia loaded).

i.e. boot using a very lean puppy (LiveCD, no savefile so all of ram/swap is in effect the 'savefile' space, but that isn't saved at shutdown). Data, browser, email, word processor (and spreadsheet) all outside of puppy savefile space. Load PET's/SFS's for the other things as and when needed (geany etc.).

For online banking, boot from read only CD, load a fresh copy of latest browser, loading into and running from clean RAM.

So far I'm impressed with Libre's vastly greater resilience/industrial strength compared to abiword.

Softmaker seemed ok'ish, but the menu/titles were a eye-strain. It also crashed after a brief stress test so I ditched it relatively quickly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MochiMoppel


Joined: 26 Jan 2011
Posts: 433
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Mon 21 Apr 2014, 03:05    Post_subject:  

rufwoof wrote:
I've since installed a portable Libre
Where did you get this from?
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Puppus Dogfellow


Joined: 07 Jan 2013
Posts: 612
Location: nyc

PostPosted: Mon 21 Apr 2014, 03:34    Post_subject:  

MochiMoppel wrote:
rufwoof wrote:
I've since installed a portable Libre
Where did you get this from?


there's this:

http://portableapps.com/apps/office/libreoffice_portable/
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
MochiMoppel


Joined: 26 Jan 2011
Posts: 433
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Mon 21 Apr 2014, 04:12    Post_subject:  

Maybe I should have added that I'm interested in a Linux version... Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 308

PostPosted: Mon 21 Apr 2014, 05:04    Post_subject:  

Quote:
Where did you get this from?

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=603569#603569

Its a old 3.3 Beta version, but seems stable (and usable). French thread (of which I speak/know very little - but the link works Smile )

I also downloaded a UK dictionary and opened that using the Libre Text Editor - which installed the dictionary.

Set the Libre options to uncheck Java and it doesn't complain at startup about Java being missing.

In my case I run using CD/ram boot Puppy (no savefile), so I installed to /mnt/sda4/libre_portable (hard disk) and copied the Libre config directory contents (under /root/.config) - after initially setting it up - to the hard disk directory. I also created a run libre script to start up libre and that deletes the /root/.config/libre directory and creates a symbolic link to the /mnt/sda4 based version of those config files (i.e. libre configuration persistence across reboots). I also changed the Libre Config PATHS choices to be more appropriate for my set up (directories on the HD rather than under /root (non persistence in my case as I don't save puppy sessions between reboots)).
dt.png
 Description   TOOLS, OPTIONS, LIBREOFFICE, MEMORY, QuickStarter (so can open text editor and/or spreadsheet using the tray icon)
 Filesize   127.48 KB
 Viewed   497 Time(s)

dt.png


Edited_times_total
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Puppus Dogfellow


Joined: 07 Jan 2013
Posts: 612
Location: nyc

PostPosted: Mon 21 Apr 2014, 05:10    Post_subject:  

MochiMoppel wrote:
Maybe I should have added that I'm interested in a Linux version... Laughing


you'd have to install wine,

Quote:
Download Details
SourceForge.net

Publisher: The Document Foundation & PortableApps.com (John T. Haller)
Date updated: 2014-04-17
System Requirements: Windows XP/Vista/7/8, Wine under Linux/UNIX/Mac
License: Free / Open Source (Launcher: GPL, LibreOffice LGPL)
Source Code: PortableApps.com Launcher, LibreOffice
MD5 Hash: 971ab7fe2612d4d3db59c4aae4794b65, All Languages: d6b5621dee9c3c60f4f0dd3bc9499195 (from http://portableapps.com/apps/office/libreoffice_portable/)


which you can apparently do as a portable:

http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=91748

so, ...that's the portable linux version. it's portable, and it's Linux/"linux." Laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8365

PostPosted: Mon 21 Apr 2014, 07:31    Post_subject:  

Abiword.... yes a long term unstable application that been with puppy for years... never saw the point myself and always the first thing i remove. Its ok if you only want to handle documents of 1 to 2 pages.

Softmaker office... surprised to hear of instability... we use it pretty regularly now and never had a problem and even barry's weird gtkdialog approach to running it should not affect that. Shame as its size for the word processor only is about the same as abiword.
Mind you we use older linux so perhaps its one of those precise mysteries.

My libre office sfs 3.4.4 sfs is around 100MB ... but its just its clunkiness and slow launching that puts the family off compared to softmaker...I'm sure a quad core gives better performance. As for compatibility it and softmaker give similar results.

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 308

PostPosted: Mon 21 Apr 2014, 11:15    Post_subject:  

My mistake. I scanned the directory size (right click, properties) and just noted the size, forgetting that I'd made a backup copy of the main compressed file and also 2 copies of the UK dictionary.

I'm finding that its pretty quick, especially if you leave the quicklaunch tray thing active (that does however disappear each time a jwm -restart occurs) i.e. start it with LibreOffice33portable -quickstart &

First time to load text editor 3 seconds, Subsequent loads near instant (single core PC).

Quicklaunch seems to use around 28MB of RAM
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
slavvo67

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 442
Location: The other Mr. 305

PostPosted: Mon 21 Apr 2014, 13:50    Post_subject:  

My one argument in keeping ABI Word around it that it may actually handle some document conversion better than Libre. Meaning when converting from one file format to another, ABI seems to keep the original more true to its form (at least in some instances).

I'm still testing that theory....
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 308

PostPosted: Tue 22 Apr 2014, 09:43    Post_subject:  

mikeb wrote:
Softmaker office... surprised to hear of instability... we use it pretty regularly now and never had a problem and even barry's weird gtkdialog approach to running it should not affect that. Shame as its size for the word processor only is about the same as abiword.

Looks like it might have been due to a circular reference somewhere within the 20+ worksheet heavy loaded spreadsheet I used for evaluation. I suspect that's crept in from being migrated between xls and ods and ... whatever several times now.

More generally, Softmaker's running well. The only annoyance is the menu text size. For some of it I have to squint closely at the screen - and I don't like having to lean forwards out of my comfortable laid back more usual posture Smile

So you know if Barry's gtk fix (?) improved upon that?
dt.png
 Description   
 Filesize   149.48 KB
 Viewed   433 Time(s)

dt.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8365

PostPosted: Tue 22 Apr 2014, 12:57    Post_subject:  

Barries 'fix' is just a complicated and dependency heavy (gtkdialog 4) way to take the user to sign up at the softmaker website...A little pointless really so nothing to do with the program itself as far as i can tell.

From google
Quote:

If you choose "Linux (system)" in Tools/Options/Appearance, SoftMaker Office inherits the colors and menu fonts from KDE or Gnome.


Well had a play with this and not much success. Other options that come to mind would be the system dpi settings or font configs in /etc/fonts... they do look like a crappy small windows type or bitmap.

mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 308

PostPosted: Tue 22 Apr 2014, 15:10    Post_subject:  

I've tried adjusting dpi and a load of other things. Even messed around with config (.ini) file values in /root/.softmaker but no luck.

I believe I saw in another thread that under openbox it did pick up the theme, so maybe its because jwm uses a 'non-conventional' approach.

Shame. Otherwise seems good. I do have a magnifier icon as the third icon in my tray by default, but I really don't want to be having to use that to see what the text editor options are.
dt.png
 Description   
 Filesize   107.18 KB
 Viewed   378 Time(s)

dt.png

Back to top
View user's profile Send_private_message 
Display_posts:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 Posts_count   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post_new_topic   Reply_to_topic View_previous_topic :: View_next_topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Documents
Jump to:  

Rules_post_cannot
Rules_reply_cannot
Rules_edit_cannot
Rules_delete_cannot
Rules_vote_cannot
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0954s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0044s) ][ GZIP on ]