Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Tue 29 Jul 2014, 04:42
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Can Puppy help me find a hardware problem?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 2 [18 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Author Message
_shut_up_thats_why_

Joined: 19 Apr 2014
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sat 19 Apr 2014, 21:05    Post subject:  Can Puppy help me find a hardware problem?
Subject description: Question on using Puppy linux to diagnose unknown issue with a desktop
 

I recently started looking at Puppy Linux to replace Windows XP on my wife's Eee PC. I also recently have been having problems loading any OS on my desktop. I have tried Ubunu, Windows 7, PClinuxOS, and most recently Puppy Linux. All freeze when loading the OS. If they have a bootloader that always works just fine. But when the actual OS starts to load the system freezes. I have run memtest and the ram seems to be fine and I borrowed a different video card and the exact same thing happens so I don't think that is the issue.

When trying Puppy for the first time I see something different. Not everything freezes. The process still stops but I see a flashing underscore. All the other times even the underscore stops flashing. This gives me hope that something is different with Puppy that will allow me to figure out the problem. The part in the load that the process stops is "updating... network-drivers-list"

My specs, if it helps, are

Processor: AMD FX-6350
Motherboard: Asus M5 A97 R2.0
Video Card: Sapphire Radeon 7850 1 GB
RAM: 2x4 GB Corsair Vengence
Hard drive: Kingston 128 GB SSD (Windows 7) & Samsung 128 GB SSD (Ubuntu 3.11)

I don't know where to go from here. Running off the RAM seems like it gives me the best shot to fix it or find the issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1783

PostPosted: Sun 20 Apr 2014, 00:19    Post subject:  

_shut_up_thats_why_ wrote:
Quote:
But when the actual OS starts to load the system freezes.

Does this also happen with XP?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
_shut_up_thats_why_

Joined: 19 Apr 2014
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun 20 Apr 2014, 00:27    Post subject:  

I don't know. The XP computer works fine and I don't have a copy of that OS. The freezing computer is a different one.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Dewbie

Joined: 15 Apr 2010
Posts: 1783

PostPosted: Sun 20 Apr 2014, 00:41    Post subject:  

Ahh...sorry, I misread you.
Please read this.
Also, check for dust build-up, which might cause overheating.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2772
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sun 20 Apr 2014, 00:53    Post subject:  

Do you hear a clicking sound coming from the system around the time it freezes? That would indicate a bad hard drive...
_________________
Loving X-Slacko 1.1! Get the PetGet patch on pg8; it's important.
Next system will be an HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo in an innovative case... if I ever get off my butt and build it Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
_shut_up_thats_why_

Joined: 19 Apr 2014
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun 20 Apr 2014, 01:11    Post subject:  

It happens when live booting from a CD with no hard drive attached so I don't think they are the problem. After reading Dewbie's link I am going to try my back up power supply and see how the voltages look.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
starhawk

Joined: 22 Nov 2010
Posts: 2772
Location: Everybody knows this is nowhere...

PostPosted: Sun 20 Apr 2014, 01:20    Post subject:  

Just looked at your specs -- nvm on the hard drive thing, clicking only happens to /mechanical/ drives...

Are you overclocking any? An unstable OC will screw up just about anything...

Also, you might run Memtest86+. Yeah, I know, Corsair -- and Corsair high-end gaming RAM at that -- but RAM is RAM (more or less) and sometimes it dies. My friend who runs the local tech shop always tells me eight hours is the barest white-knuckle minimum acceptable runtime for Memtest. Have fun Razz

_________________
Loving X-Slacko 1.1! Get the PetGet patch on pg8; it's important.
Next system will be an HP MOCA-AR + Core2Duo in an innovative case... if I ever get off my butt and build it Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
_shut_up_thats_why_

Joined: 19 Apr 2014
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun 20 Apr 2014, 01:47    Post subject:  

That's great to know! I ran memtest from the PClinuxOS but only for 3 passes for a total of about 3 hours. I'll run it over night tonight. I'm going to take one of the sticks out though so I know which one is most likely good.

Also I was overclocking but I ran with auto settings on every possible choice (power save, normal, and performance) and the same every time. I tried looking for a stable config for me stuff but I haven't found one. From what I did find my processor is running a bit fast with less volts.

Edit: I wasn't overclocking myself. Just using auto settings from the UEFI bios to do it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
cthisbear

Joined: 29 Jan 2006
Posts: 3394
Location: Sydney Australia

PostPosted: Sun 20 Apr 2014, 04:34    Post subject:  

Hirens and the Falcon boot cds have plenty of utilities.

Links on top of third page here:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=92885&start=30

Chris.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
mikeb


Joined: 23 Nov 2006
Posts: 8033

PostPosted: Sun 20 Apr 2014, 07:05    Post subject:  

if not a weird ram failure that manages to pass test (had one recently) I would suggest video/southbridge failing when warming up due to cracks in the lead free solder due to thermal stress.
Its a not uncommon problem with modern hardware if the cooling arrangements are not adequate (one machine i had cooled through the keyboard and overheated and failed when the lid was down for example)

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5000
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Mon 21 Apr 2014, 00:32    Post subject:  

Quote:
I wasn't overclocking myself. Just using auto settings from the UEFI bios to do it.


UEFI bios could be the issue.

With a computer this new, you need to be trying to use one of the newer versions of Puppy.
Fatdog64
Slacko 5.7
Precise 5.7.1

For 4GB or more of memory, you need a PAE version that can see and use all 4GB.

For Fatdog64 on a UEFI computer with Windows 8
http://distro.ibiblio.org/fatdog/web/faqs/secure-boot.html

This guy got his to work by doing this:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=81653
Quote:
n the ‘Advanced’ section of the BIOS there is a menu called ‘SATA configuration’ selecting this and then from the sub-menu select ‘SATA mode selection’ which has three options; IDE (the default), AHCI and disabled.

Changing the ‘SATA mode selection’ from IDE to AHCI solved the problem and I now have access as normal

Others say this helps:
In bios look for an option to turn off or Disable secure-boot.

Search for UEFI here may help:
http://puppylinux.us/psearch.html

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
_shut_up_thats_why_

Joined: 19 Apr 2014
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon 21 Apr 2014, 16:18    Post subject:  

starhawk wrote:
My friend who runs the local tech shop always tells me eight hours is the barest white-knuckle minimum acceptable runtime for Memtest. Have fun Razz


I ran memtest all Sunday and by this morning ~28 hours and 33 passed tests no errors.

mikeb wrote:
if not a weird ram failure that manages to pass test (had one recently) I would suggest video/southbridge failing when warming up due to cracks in the lead free solder due to thermal stress.
Its a not uncommon problem with modern hardware if the cooling arrangements are not adequate (one machine i had cooled through the keyboard and overheated and failed when the lid was down for example)

Mike


I've got a decent amount of cooling in the case and the video card itself has cooling, also I don't really know how to check if that is the problem. As for the RAM, while possible I do not think it is likely as I have tried both sticks separately and in multiple different slots and always get the same result.

[quote="bigpup"]With a computer this new, you need to be trying to use one of the newer versions of Puppy.
Fatdog64
Slacko 5.7
Precise 5.7.1

This guy got his to work by doing this:
http://www.murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=81653
Quote:
n the ‘Advanced’ section of the BIOS there is a menu called ‘SATA configuration’ selecting this and then from the sub-menu select ‘SATA mode selection’ which has three options; IDE (the default), AHCI and disabled.


I was trying to load the Precise 5.7.1.

I checked when I left this morning and my SATA mode was in AHCI. I didn't have time to test other settings but I do agree that it seems like a bios issue. The CPU seems to be running a bit higher than the target CPU lists and this may be causing a problem I want to replace my power supply with my back up but the reason I have a back up is that when I was building my computer people suggested that I replace my power supply with a better quality one. So I am worried I will just be switching bad for bad. Either way I am at least going to try tonight. Just not sure if it will give any meaningful results.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Sylvander

Joined: 15 Dec 2008
Posts: 3400
Location: West Lothian, Scotland, UK

PostPosted: Mon 21 Apr 2014, 17:33    Post subject: Re: Can Puppy help me find a hardware problem?
Subject description: Question on using Puppy linux to diagnose unknown issue with a desktop
 

_shut_up_thats_why_ wrote:
...been having problems loading any OS on my desktop...All freeze when loading the OS...when the actual OS starts to load the system freezes...I see a flashing underscore...The part in the load that the process stops is "updating network-drivers-list"

a. I've seen this happen with my own 2012 desktop PC harware that is all fully functional.
Works fine with certain Puppies, but others [booting a "live" CD-RW] boot to a flashing underscore.
I think the problem is that:
The kernel of the particular Puppy that does this...
Is short of a driver or 2 in the kernel included in that particular Puppy...
For 1 or more items of hardware included in the setup.
The problem might be your SSD.

b. There is a specific Puppy made to suit the EeePC [can't remember its name, made by Jemima methinks].

Bear in mind; I'm no Puppy expert.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
_shut_up_thats_why_

Joined: 19 Apr 2014
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Mon 21 Apr 2014, 18:22    Post subject:  

cthisbear wrote:
Hirens and the Falcon boot cds have plenty of utilities.

Links on top of third page here:

http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=92885&start=30

Chris.


Thanks! Just made the cd and going to try it out now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Ted Dog


Joined: 13 Sep 2005
Posts: 2298
Location: Heart of Texas

PostPosted: Mon 21 Apr 2014, 19:17    Post subject:  

sounds like a subsystem failure. if you can video tape record the boot sequence it would be one of the final items in the list. If your crypto system ( trusted system hardware ) is faulting mine did it was a plug in that was loose. UEFI system will freeze if that module is not able to track you.
Run BIOS mode and a very old version of linux kernel. ( before trusted platform hardware was forced into kernel )
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 2 [18 Posts]   Goto page: 1, 2 Next
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0895s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0042s) ][ GZIP on ]