Connecting two Puppy laptops by eth0 or wlan0 without router

For discussions about programming, programming questions/advice, and projects that don't really have anything to do with Puppy.
Message
Author
gcmartin

#21 Post by gcmartin »

The BENEFIT @Don570 shows is that the SAMBA server ONLY NEEDS TO BE STARTED ON THE DHCP server OR one of your static IP machines. Assuming you are using PUPs or almost EVERY Linux/MAC/Windows they have built-in (OOTB) stuff (clients) to access shared directories.

@Rcrsn51, @JamesBond, @Don570 are all steering you to the same very simple solution with NO changes required on ANY other PC except the one in the picture, below, marked "DHCP Server".

Simple, clean, no questions, little to no debug, no hassles, changes made on ONLY 1 PC.

wyzguy
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun 14 Oct 2012, 01:20

#22 Post by wyzguy »

Can you show the output from each computer for the device in question.

lspci -nnvv | egrep -i "^0|kernel"

User avatar
Karl Godt
Posts: 4199
Joined: Sun 20 Jun 2010, 13:52
Location: Kiel,Germany

#23 Post by Karl Godt »

jamesbond wrote:To set this thing, on every machine
a) killall wpa_supplicant conf
b) ifconfig wlan0 up
c) iwconfig wlan0 mode ad-hoc
d) iwconfig wlan0 essid "your-essid" # choose your own
e) iwconfig wlan0 channel 2 # choose your own
f) ifconfig wlan0 192.168.1.x # x=1 for machine 1, x=2 for machine 2, etc etc
Good luck.
The ordering of the code seems a little wrong :

Code: Select all

 #!/bin/sh

essid=`dmidecode -t1 | grep -iE 'Manufacturer|Product Name' | awk -F':' '{print $2}'`
essid=`echo $essid`
echo "essid='$essid'"
test "$essid" || essid="localhost-ran-$RANDOM"

ifconfig wlan0 down
iwconfig wlan0 mode ad-hoc
#http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=780052#780052
echo a
pidof wpa_supplicant && killall wpa_supplicant #conf

echo b
ifconfig wlan0 up
echo c
iwconfig wlan0 mode ad-hoc
#c
#Error for wireless request "Set Mode" (8B06) :
#    SET failed on device wlan0 ; Device or resource busy.
#d
echo d
iwconfig wlan0 essid "$essid" # choose your own
echo e
iwconfig wlan0 channel 2          # choose your own
echo f
#ifconfig wlan0 192.168.1.x        # x=1 for machine 1, x=2 for machine 2, etc etc
ifconfig wlan0 192.168.1.1
gives me

Code: Select all

ifconfig wlan0
wlan0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:C1:13:41:1C:55  
          inet addr:192.168.1.1  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::2c1:13ff:fe41:1c55/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:162 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:21735 (21.2 KiB)

iwconfig wlan0
wlan0     IEEE 802.11bgn  ESSID:"GREATWALL U310"  
          Mode:Ad-Hoc  Frequency:2.417 GHz  Cell: AA:1C:67:BC:B9:B3   
          Tx-Power=0 dBm   
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:off
iwlist scan finds both machines :
Itself :

Code: Select all

          Cell 03 - Address: AA:1C:67:BC:B9:B3
                    Channel:2
                    Frequency:2.417 GHz (Channel 2)
                    Quality=70/70  Signal level=0 dBm  
                    Encryption key:off
                    ESSID:"GREATWALL U310"
                    Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s
                              9 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s
                    Bit Rates:24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s; 48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
                    Mode:Ad-Hoc
                    Extra:tsf=0000000000000000
                    Extra: Last beacon: 1078014ms ago
                    IE: Unknown: 000E475245415457414C4C2055333130
                    IE: Unknown: 010882040B160C121824
                    IE: Unknown: 030102
                    IE: Unknown: 06020000
                    IE: Unknown: 32043048606C
                    IE: Unknown: DD070050F20200010
The notebook :

Code: Select all

          Cell 06 - Address: 0C:47:3D:1E:4C:0C
                    Channel:3
                    Frequency:2.422 GHz (Channel 3)
                    Quality=70/70  Signal level=-35 dBm  
                    Encryption key:off
                    ESSID:"ASUSTeK Computer INC. 1005HAG"
                    Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s
                              9 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s
                    Bit Rates:24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s; 48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
                    Mode:Ad-Hoc
                    Extra:tsf=00000163d69a5b94
                    Extra: Last beacon: 988ms ago
                    IE: Unknown: 001D4153555354654B20436F6D707574657220494E432E2031303035484147
                    IE: Unknown: 010882040B160C121824
                    IE: Unknown: 030103
                    IE: Unknown: 06020000
                    IE: Unknown: 32043048606C
                    IE: Unknown: DD070050F202000100
No Luck until now : ping does not work on / from both machines .

User avatar
Karl Godt
Posts: 4199
Joined: Sun 20 Jun 2010, 13:52
Location: Kiel,Germany

#24 Post by Karl Godt »

wyzguy wrote:Can you show the output from each computer for the device in question.
lspci -nnvv | egrep -i "^0|kernel"
The one machine
http://www.gadgets-reviews.com/great-wa ... board.html
with 4GB RAM and 500GB HDD has
if that helps :

Code: Select all

elspci -l
02:00.0 028000 1814:5390 <rt2800pci>
01:00.0 020000 10EC:8136 <r8169>
lspci -nm
01:00.0 "Class 0200" "10ec" "8136" -r02 "8136" "0123"
02:00.0 "Class 0280" "1814" "5390" "5390" "5390"
lspci -m
01:00.0 "Ethernet controller" "Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd." "RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller" -r02 "Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd." "0123"
02:00.0 "Network controller" "Ralink corp." "RT5390 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe" "Ralink corp." "RT5390 Wireless 802.11n 1T/1R PCIe"
lspci -nnvv
01:00.0 Class 0200: 10ec:8136 (rev 02)
02:00.0 Class 0280: 1814:5390
Ethernet on bus 01:00.0 is OK .

User avatar
Karl Godt
Posts: 4199
Joined: Sun 20 Jun 2010, 13:52
Location: Kiel,Germany

SOLVED CELL ID must be the same

#25 Post by Karl Godt »

Here found the answer :
http://superuser.com/questions/576661/h ... k-in-linux
you use iwconfig correctly, as you said the problem is that they don't get the same cell ID. On ad-hoc mode, MAC address is assigned as cell ID. You can force wifi devide to use a predefined cell ID by executing sudo iwconfig eth1 ap B6:D6:92:5D:E5:E4 ( e.g., after sudo iwconfig eth1 essid 'my wlan').

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh

essid=`dmidecode -t1 | grep -iE 'Manufacturer|Product Name' | awk -F':' '{print $2}'`
essid=`echo $essid`
echo "essid='$essid'"

test "$essid" || essid="localhost-ran-$RANDOM"

pidof wpa_supplicant && killall wpa_supplicant #conf

ifconfig wlan0 down
iwconfig wlan0 mode ad-hoc
iwconfig wlan0 ap FF:FF:01:01:F1:F1     #must be the same on both machines

#http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?p=780052#780052
iwconfig wlan0 essid "$essid" # choose your own
iwconfig wlan0 channel 2          # choose your own

#ifconfig wlan0 192.168.1.x        # x=1 for machine 1, x=2 for machine 2, etc etc
ifconfig wlan0 192.168.2.1 up

iwconfig wlan0
ifconfig wlan0
echo
ifconfig
bash-3.2# ftpget 192.168.2.2 wlan_testfile /root/.xinitrc
bash-3.2# ls
abc dir With SPACE new_file new_file3 wlan_testfile
caller.sh iwlist-HOME-GW310-2014-05-31.txt new_file2 new_file4

jamesbond
Posts: 3433
Joined: Mon 26 Feb 2007, 05:02
Location: The Blue Marble

#26 Post by jamesbond »

Karl Godt wrote:The ordering of the code seems a little wrong :
Haha, yeah. It worked on my machines, both of them (very different machines), but apparently the official way to do that is you down wlan0 first, set mode, then up it again before setting essid and channel/freq.
Fatdog64 forum links: [url=http://murga-linux.com/puppy/viewtopic.php?t=117546]Latest version[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/ke8sn5H]Contributed packages[/url] | [url=https://cutt.ly/se8scrb]ISO builder[/url]

Post Reply