Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 28 Nov 2014, 16:31
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Black screen with Slacko 5.7 and Intel Graphics
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Author Message
rb4linux

Joined: 11 May 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun 11 May 2014, 10:12    Post subject:  Black screen with Slacko 5.7 and Intel Graphics  

When booting Puppy slacko 5.7 on an older Intel atom board (with Intel Graphics) a black screen results and the system must be rebooted. Using the Non-PAE version.

If boot parameters nox,ram supplied then xorgwizard can be run to select a driver and then xwin can be run from the command line and the system runs fine for the most part. Apparently this feature/bug was introduced into puppy slacko 5.6. Now I can live with a work around but what about anyone who might be new to linux and Puppy in particular? Might not leave the best first impression.

Any possibility this problem can be fixed for version 5.7.1?

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
stemsee

Joined: 27 Jun 2013
Posts: 541
Location: London

PostPosted: Tue 13 May 2014, 04:20    Post subject: black screen
Subject description: ?
 

At what point does it boot to a black screen?
Do you mean the grub menu? If it is then edit menu.list and comment out with a # this line splashimage=/splash.xpm

so it will look like this
# splashimage=/splash.xpm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger 
bigpup


Joined: 11 Oct 2009
Posts: 5396
Location: Charleston S.C. USA

PostPosted: Tue 13 May 2014, 07:23    Post subject:  

Slacko 5.7 release notes:
Quote:
Known Issues

If you boot to blackscreen:

for intel cards:
i915.modeset=0

ATI/AMD radeon cards:
radeon.modeset=0

nvidia cards:
nouveau.modeset=0

Those strings must be placed after (example) "puppy pfix=ram i915.modeset=0" for live boot or on the kernel line of extlinux.conf, syslinux.conf, menu.lst, lilo.conf
Old nvidia N3x cards (mx440, fx5200 and some others) often do not render properly.
For those use this string in a similar fashion to above:
nouveau.noaccel=1

If you have an Intel® Brookdale graphics controller you must enable 8 MB of memory to the graphics in the BIOS of the computer.

_________________
I have found, in trying to help people, that the things they do not tell you, are usually the clue to solving the problem.
When I was a kid I wanted to be older.... This is not what I expected Shocked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
partsman

Joined: 06 Jun 2012
Posts: 261
Location: OHIO,USA

PostPosted: Wed 14 May 2014, 12:51    Post subject:  

I too have this problem on some puppies ! And here is best method I have found !
During boot-up when you are waiting for boot 5-sec on cd 10-sec if you use grub 4 dos During the countdown Hold down function key "usually blue and labled FN " and press brightness up key "Usually arrow up " "Some models differ" You will notice the screen gets a little dimmer when you do this Wink That's it ! This is the only way I have found to get the correct video driver loaded ! Wink Using for example i915.modeset=0 works BUT ! Video is not as good ! Hope this works for some others Wink Works great for me Wink It becomes second nature once you get used to it ! same problem with Ubuntu etc. Was fixed on later kernels Wink
This is not a puppy problem it is a kernel problem Wink

_________________
"PUPPY" POWERED BY PEOPLE
AKITA LINUX kernel 2.6.32.28
Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rb4linux

Joined: 11 May 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Mon 19 May 2014, 12:20    Post subject: Perhaps I did not identify the issue well enough
Subject description: Perhaps I did not identify the issue well enough
 

Perhaps I did not identify the issue well enough.

Yes using boot parameters: puppy pfix=ram i915.modeset=0
works as expected and I do not mind adding boot parameters.

However, I was trying to provide a perspective of a new user, who might not be used to adding boot parameters. I realize that the kernel might have changed from Puppy 5.5 to Puppy 5.7, but is there a way setup can be made easier for new users so that they do not have to specify command line arguments?

From the perspective of someone used to running Puppy 5.5 and earlier, this issue appears to be a bug (something has changed unexpectedly). An old XP machine can usually run Puppy. Making Puppy easier for new users to run can only help in the long term.

Can anything be done to make Puppy easier to run for new users with respect to automatic display setup? Many new users probably do not want to read documentation, especially about boot parameters.

Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
partsman

Joined: 06 Jun 2012
Posts: 261
Location: OHIO,USA

PostPosted: Mon 19 May 2014, 15:48    Post subject:  

@rb4linux
I totally agree with you ! Especially about having to read documentation Wink
I am curious though did my method work for you ?
you should see a big diff in glx gears and games Wink
I have searched far and wide for a better solution with no avail Confused
If we are to attempt to fix this issue we need to know what works best wouldn't you agree ? Wink

_________________
"PUPPY" POWERED BY PEOPLE
AKITA LINUX kernel 2.6.32.28
Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rb4linux

Joined: 11 May 2014
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu 22 May 2014, 19:57    Post subject: More info on Intel Graphics
Subject description: More info on Intel Graphics - brightness
 

@partsman

I have an old 101-style keyboard so the function key you were talking about could not be found on my keyboard.

I wonder if you are using a laptop.

Brightness does not seem to be an issue with this old PC/monitor.

A couple of things that might be of help to you (and you will have to do more research) might the kernel parameters
i915.invert_brightness=1 (default is 0)
video.brightness_switch_enabled=0 (default is 1)
or some other parameter

kernel.org/doc/Documentation/kernel-parameters.txt
looks to be somewhat aged.

If you could find a kernel param it might be useful to other people.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
partsman

Joined: 06 Jun 2012
Posts: 261
Location: OHIO,USA

PostPosted: Fri 23 May 2014, 12:11    Post subject:  

Hello rb4linux Very Happy

Quote:
I have an old 101-style keyboard so the function key you were talking about could not be found on my keyboard.

I am sorry i didnt think of that Confused
If i knew what was happening when i "Hold function & Press brightness up" at grub menu . Maybe it could be dealt with on a puppy level insted of a kernel level Wink
Ya know what i am saying Wink
The box i am using is a
http://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&ved=0CDYQFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.laptop-spec.com%2Facer%2Facer-aspire%2F57%2F5732%2Facer-aspire-5732-acer-aspire-5732-specs-acer-aspire-5732-specifications-acer-aspire-5732-reviews%2F&ei=p2x_U5ftKcmMqgbkiIDAAw&usg=AFQjCNGfm3xNzT5y5gf7iK5RGetXm3wIAA&bvm=bv.67720277,d.aWw&cad=rja
Running Racy 5.5 & Slacko 5.6 Wink
May I ask what kind of box you are using ?
Also yes i have tried numerous kernel parameters with no avail Mad
Using my method here is my video info :
Resolution = 1366x768
Xorg 1.12.4
Vendor = Tungsten Graphics , inc
Renderer = Mesa DRI mobile intel GM45 Express chipset x86/MMX/SSE2
Version = 2.1 mesa 8.0.4
Direct Rendering = Yes
That is with my method Wink
Now if use i915.modeset=o
It loads a diff driver Shocked
It works but not near as well Crying or Very sad
Example : neverball game plays super nice ! smooth ! perfect ! if i use "Hold function & Press brightness up" at grub menu" Very Happy
If i use : i915.modeset=o neverball game is choppy almost unplayable Crying or Very sad
I will continue to try and find an a solution Wink

_________________
"PUPPY" POWERED BY PEOPLE
AKITA LINUX kernel 2.6.32.28
Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ozsouth

Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Posts: 149
Location: S.E Australia

PostPosted: Tue 03 Jun 2014, 19:57    Post subject: Set intel brightness  

This should help avoid key presses on start - unzip & put in /root/Startup & reboot. If not bright enough, in line 5, change 3 to 4 & restart X. Intel only. Works under Slacko 5.7.0 on an Acer Aspire V5-132, which requires the modesetting driver.
setibklt.zip
Description 
zip

 Download 
Filename  setibklt.zip 
Filesize  292 Bytes 
Downloaded  84 Time(s) 

Last edited by ozsouth on Tue 03 Jun 2014, 20:02; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ozsouth

Joined: 01 Jan 2010
Posts: 149
Location: S.E Australia

PostPosted: Tue 03 Jun 2014, 20:01    Post subject:  

x
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
partsman

Joined: 06 Jun 2012
Posts: 261
Location: OHIO,USA

PostPosted: Wed 04 Jun 2014, 08:20    Post subject:  

Thanks ozsouth !
I am definitely gonna give it a try !
I will let you know how it works out Wink
Thank you very much ! ozsouth ! Wink

_________________
"PUPPY" POWERED BY PEOPLE
AKITA LINUX kernel 2.6.32.28
Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
partsman

Joined: 06 Jun 2012
Posts: 261
Location: OHIO,USA

PostPosted: Sun 08 Jun 2014, 23:54    Post subject:  

Hello ozsouth Very Happy
Thanks for the reply Wink
Yes this works in Slacko 5.7 Wink
My only problem with it is if i drop-out to command prompt I cannot see
anything Confused
In other words what if for some reason X fails to start the user cannot see to run Xorgwizard etc. Confused
This is definitely a step in the right direction though Wink
Very good job Wink
Thank you Very Happy
Sorry for the late reply Embarassed

_________________
"PUPPY" POWERED BY PEOPLE
AKITA LINUX kernel 2.6.32.28
Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [12 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Bugs ( Submit bugs )
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0830s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0119s) ][ GZIP on ]