Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Mon 16 Dec 2019, 08:38
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Radius and using an ecrypted password in wpa_supplicant.
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Author Message
pfazer

Joined: 02 Jul 2014
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Wed 02 Jul 2014, 10:45    Post subject:  Radius and using an ecrypted password in wpa_supplicant.
Subject description: Radius and using an ecrypted password in wpa_supplicant.
 

Hello All,

I have been able to connect and authenticate to our radius server using plain text username and password, using the below config.


ctrl_interface=/var/run/wpa_supplicant
ap_scan=1
update_config=1

network={
ssid="XXXXXXX"
scan_ssid=1
key_mgmt=WPA-EAP
proto=RSN
pairwise=CCMP
group=CCMP
eap=PEAP
identity="XXXXXXX"
password="XXXXXXXXXX"
phase2="auth=MSCHAPv2"
priority=10
}

I have read that I can generate a password hash by using echo -n password_here | iconv -t utf16le | openssl md4

But how do you use the hash password in the above config ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12813
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed 02 Jul 2014, 11:01    Post subject:  

Have a look at PeasyWiFi at the top of this section. It handles encrypted passphrases.

1. Move your current profile into the profiles folder, if it's not there already. It must be a one-word alpha-numeric filename.

2. Restart PeasyWiFi

3. Open the Encrypt tab. Select a 4-character PIN.

4. Connect. You will get a pop-up box asking for the PIN.

This would be the first test of PeasyWifi on something other than a vanilla WiFi server. Please report back.

--------------------------

Last edited by rcrsn51 on Sat 18 Apr 2015, 07:28; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pfazer

Joined: 02 Jul 2014
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Thu 03 Jul 2014, 12:12    Post subject:  

Hello rcrsn51,

Many Thanks for this. This works well, but I have some questions.

1. When the Encrypt feature is used, is the password stored in the bcrypt file (and referenced when needed)?

2. I have used the Auto feature, is there a setting to pull the pin, so that it is populated when peasywifi is Auto run?


3. Is it possible to have peasywifi to prompt for the password ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12813
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 03 Jul 2014, 12:30    Post subject:  

pfazer wrote:
This works well

Excellent! This is a great test result.

[Edit] See below.

Last edited by rcrsn51 on Sat 18 Apr 2015, 07:34; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12813
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Thu 03 Jul 2014, 13:35    Post subject:  

[Edit] An auto-started connection will also pop-up the PIN box.
Last edited by rcrsn51 on Sat 18 Apr 2015, 07:35; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
pfazer

Joined: 02 Jul 2014
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri 04 Jul 2014, 08:07    Post subject:  

Hello rcrsn51,

Thanks for you help and checking this out.

I wanted to check something about the encryption.

It looks that I cannot decrypt the file manually from the command prompt with the PIN, but only use the file in conjcution with PeasyWiFi application, which is more secure in my eyes.

Is this by design ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
rcrsn51


Joined: 05 Sep 2006
Posts: 12813
Location: Stratford, Ontario

PostPosted: Fri 04 Jul 2014, 08:18    Post subject:  

pfazer wrote:
Is this by design ?

Yes. If you look in the PeasyWiFi code, you will see why. It has to do with the minimum length of a blowfish encryption key.

I have decided to implement the Encrypt+Auto feature and will release v2.0 shortly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [7 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Hardware » Networking » Wireless
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0669s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0297s) ][ GZIP on ]