Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Fri 19 Dec 2014, 02:34
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Does Puppy Allow Read-Only Access To NTFS Drives?
Moderators: Flash, Ian, JohnMurga
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Author Message
frenchrh

Joined: 29 Jul 2005
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jul 2005, 14:03    Post subject:  Does Puppy Allow Read-Only Access To NTFS Drives?  

Hi All,
Trying to find a simple linux tool kit that I can use on my machines. Insert is a knoppix linux which gives read/write access to NTFS partitions on a machine. I'm don't need and am not comfortable with write access from linux onto NTFS, and only need read access to NTFS partitions, to save files of crashed windows machines. Also I have good luck using puppy cd with a usb drive for the puppy001 file that it needs.
But playing with puppy, I don't see any way for it to recognize and let me mount NTFS partitions with read only access. This is like what I setup normally in my SuSe linux, in the fstab.
Can I read NTFS from Puppy?
Thanks r
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
BarryK
Puppy Master


Joined: 09 May 2005
Posts: 7099
Location: Perth, Western Australia

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jul 2005, 20:32    Post subject:  

yes
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
danleff


Joined: 08 May 2005
Posts: 294
Location: Albany, NY

PostPosted: Fri 29 Jul 2005, 20:56    Post subject:  

Remember, use it as read access only. Try from RXVT;

mount -t ntfs /dev/(location of drive) /mnt/windows

Assuming that you don't have that mount point used yet with the mount/unmount utility. So, if the NTFS partition is at hda1;

mount -t ntfs /dev/hda1 /mnt/windows

_________________
I love it when a plan comes together

--Hannibal Smith
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
raffy

Joined: 25 May 2005
Posts: 4798
Location: Manila

PostPosted: Sat 30 Jul 2005, 04:23    Post subject: at /mnt/home  

If you have only one Windows partition, it is usually in /mnt/home or /mnt/cdrive, automounted. But if not, use the MUT utility...
_________________
Puppy user since Oct 2004. Want FreeOffice? Get the sfs (English only).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 1 of 1 [4 Posts]  
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » House Training » Beginners Help ( Start Here)
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0503s ][ Queries: 12 (0.0114s) ][ GZIP on ]