Puppy Linux Discussion Forum Forum Index Puppy Linux Discussion Forum
Puppy HOME page : puppylinux.com
"THE" alternative forum : puppylinux.info
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

The time now is Sun 25 Jan 2015, 22:25
All times are UTC - 4
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Virtualization
VirtualBox for many Puppies
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
Page 13 of 13 [194 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13
Author Message
rufwoof

Joined: 24 Feb 2014
Posts: 502

PostPosted: Thu 06 Mar 2014, 17:11    Post subject:  

Quote:
So this is Puppy that does the opposite - it run all win within Linux.

Would that be a good way to use Win through Linux.

Having installed and activated Windows once to a virtual disk, its all in a single file and easy to restore (back to pristine original installed image) or even move to new/replacement PC.

My PC's single core and runs reasonably. With a dual/quad - so much the better. Not though if you use Windows for higher end/graphic intensive stuff.

My first ever youtube : http://youtu.be/THhUmr5iZWc
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MyPuppysaysWauWau


Joined: 20 Feb 2014
Posts: 125
Location: Austria/Vienna

PostPosted: Fri 07 Mar 2014, 13:25    Post subject:    

nancy reagan wrote:
Being a noob and having "only 2GB" of RAM my experience is not too positive.

Because after you have xp running you have to install SP1 to 3 which makes it heavy..

At the beginning of the installation you are asked whether you want to make a "fixed" or a "slowly growing" hd.

I choose the latest for that would take up lass memory, but later I learned that a fixed drive seems to work faster.

Well this is the experience from a noob.


Hi Nancy, Very Happy
my XPerience is much, much better. My XP runs pretty fast, and works great Exclamation (Dualcore @ 2Ghz 3,25 GB RAM)

Let my show you a few pics:

Der Vollbildmodus, so schaut XP (bei mir) normalerweise aus:




Der skalierte Modus (im Fenster) (O_O)




Der nahtlose Modus (o_O)
(hier des Vergleich zw. der Fensterdarstellung (Kacheln) in Linux (JWM) und XP (klassische Ansicht)



Thanks a bunch, Shinobar - well done Smile

Regards from Vienna,
Walter
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Tue 11 Mar 2014, 08:41    Post subject: virtualbox-4.3.8  

virtualbox-4.3.8.sfs
Available from http://shino.pos.to/party/bridge.cgi?puppy/opt/

It has pre-build kernel modules for Puppy-4.3.1, Wary-511/5.5, Racy-5.5, Lucid, Precise-5.5/5.6.1/5.7.1, and Slacko-5.6/5.7.
For other kernels, you need devx and kernel source packages to build the kernel modules.
Type 'virtualbox' on a terminal after loaded the virtualbox-xxx.sfs.
Note that this SFS does not support 64bit Puppies.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Sun 06 Apr 2014, 06:47    Post subject: virtualbox-4.3.10.sfs  

virtualbox-4.3.10.sfs
Available from http://shino.pos.to/party/bridge.cgi?puppy/opt/

It has pre-build kernel modules for Puppy-4.3.1, Wary-511/5.5, Racy-5.5, Lucid, Precise-5.5/5.6.1/5.7.1, and Slacko-5.6/5.7.
For other kernels, you need devx and kernel source packages to build the kernel modules.
Type 'virtualbox' on a terminal after loaded the virtualbox-xxx.sfs.
Note that this SFS does not support 64bit Puppies.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
shinobar


Joined: 28 May 2009
Posts: 2631
Location: Japan

PostPosted: Wed 02 Jul 2014, 08:24    Post subject: virtualbox-4.3.12.sfs  

virtualbox-4.3.12.sfs for Puppy 4.3.1 and most of Puppies 5.x including Lucid, Precise Puppy, Slacko and more.
Available from http://shino.pos.to/party/bridge.cgi?puppy/opt/

It has pre-build kernel modules for Puppy-4.3.1, Lucid, Precise-5.7.1, and Slacko-5.7.
For other kernels, you need devx and kernel source packages to build the kernel modules.
Type 'virtualbox' on a terminal after loaded the virtualbox-xxx.sfs.
Note that this SFS does not support 64bit Puppies.

_________________
Google Chrome portable
Downloads for Puppy Linux http://shino.pos.to/linux/downloads.html
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
slavvo67

Joined: 12 Oct 2012
Posts: 551
Location: The other Mr. 305

PostPosted: Mon 07 Jul 2014, 18:46    Post subject:  

My puppies are hanging in vbox at the "Making Filesystem Usable." 3HD, Fluxpup, Slacko (not the latest). I posted in "For the Regulars" with no responses. I figured someone here might be able to help.

Thanks,

Slavvo67
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Burn_IT


Joined: 12 Aug 2006
Posts: 1239
Location: Tamworth UK

PostPosted: Mon 07 Jul 2014, 18:51    Post subject:  

Look around/search the forum.
This is/was a known issue.

_________________
I can't remember the last time I forgot something!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
eadmaster

Joined: 09 Feb 2013
Posts: 37

PostPosted: Sun 13 Jul 2014, 09:52    Post subject:  

Hi, is there an SFS which has pre-built LKMs compatible with my kernel v3.8.2-upup (Precise-based)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website 
rupak504

Joined: 20 Aug 2014
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Tue 23 Sep 2014, 15:12    Post subject: base.pet failed to install
Subject description: I m using lucid puppy, its my first time virtual box install.
 

failed, any reason? solution? Shocked Rolling Eyes Shocked
fail.jpg
 Description   
 Filesize   27.39 KB
 Viewed   683 Time(s)

fail.jpg

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Semme

Joined: 07 Aug 2011
Posts: 4493
Location: World_Hub

PostPosted: Tue 23 Sep 2014, 18:42    Post subject:  

Yeah, avoid dbl-posting. Otherwise, forget about that old build and try this one.
_________________
>>>Free will is a gift you will never know how to use until you fight for it<<<
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MyPuppysaysWauWau


Joined: 20 Feb 2014
Posts: 125
Location: Austria/Vienna

PostPosted: Tue 25 Nov 2014, 04:46    Post subject:  Virtualbox 4.3.20 for Linux is out now, but...
Subject description: ...not for Puppy!?
 

Hi, is there any news?
_________________
Don't start because it's easy. Start because it's worth trying. Don't stop because it's hard. Stop because you tried your Best.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
MyPuppysaysWauWau


Joined: 20 Feb 2014
Posts: 125
Location: Austria/Vienna

PostPosted: Tue 09 Dec 2014, 08:36    Post subject:  Made an Icon  

Hi, if is anybody here, who've Windows in his box OR Puppy as guest in Win... I've made an cute icon. Smile I taped two pic, but I done the fine sanding. It was a lot of work...
pet2win2k.png
 Description   
 Filesize   2.46 KB
 Viewed   246 Time(s)

pet2win2k.png


_________________
Don't start because it's easy. Start because it's worth trying. Don't stop because it's hard. Stop because you tried your Best.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Moose On The Loose


Joined: 24 Feb 2011
Posts: 559

PostPosted: Sun 21 Dec 2014, 12:58    Post subject: Virtual box hosted on 5.28.006
Subject description: There seems to be another issue with the latest series 4 version
 

I installed the latest virtual box 4 onto a full install of 5.28.006 even though there were comments about the sound not working as well as on version 3.

After the virtual machine is started at some random time in the next 15 minutes, the computer totally hangs.

I have now been running a virtual machine on the series 3 virtual machine for nearly an hour without trouble.

I have used earlier versions of version 4 on the standard 5.28 without trouble in the past

Virtual:
512Meg
Puppy 5.28.006
All default settings

Host Machine:
Pentium based Asus mother board
4G RAM
Puppy 5.28.006 full install

Has anyone else seen this or do those with 528 puppies use Version 3 because of the sound issue?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
ProfeRonald

Joined: 28 Dec 2014
Posts: 5

PostPosted: Sun 28 Dec 2014, 10:27    Post subject: I need virtualbox por Tahrup 6.0  

I need virtualbox por Tahrup 6.0

Please, update for this relase....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message 
Display posts from previous:   Sort by:   
Page 13 of 13 [194 Posts]   Goto page: Previous 1, 2, 3, ..., 11, 12, 13
Post new topic   Reply to topic View previous topic :: View next topic
 Forum index » Advanced Topics » Additional Software (PETs, n' stuff) » Virtualization
Jump to:  

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
[ Time: 0.0850s ][ Queries: 13 (0.0117s) ][ GZIP on ]